DETAILED ACTION
Status of Application
2 This instant Office Action is in response to Amendment filed on 3/27/2026.
3. This Office Action is made Final.
4. Claims 1-17, 21, 28, and 57 are pending.
5. Claims 18-20, 22-27, 29-56, 58-74 were previously cancelled via preliminary amendment.
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments regarding the amendment presented on 3/27/2026 have been fully considered but are moot because of new grounds of rejection set forth herein with at least one new reference as necessitated by amendment. Although a prior reference is still applied in said rejection, it is not used to reject the argued amended claim limitation therefore arguments are considered moot.
2. In light of Applicant’s submission of updated Abstract, the objection to the abstract of specification has been withdrawn herein.
3. In light of Applicant’s submission of Updated Title to the specification, the objection to the specification has been withdrawn herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1-9, 12-13, 15-17, 21, 28 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bae et al. US 20230421302 hereafter Bae (Note: Provisional 63/104,456 filed on 10/22/2020 includes support for disclosure relied herein for example Fig. A1, Fig. A9, Pages 13, 15-17 etc.) in view of Kumagai et al. US 20230379098 hereafter Kumagai.
As to Claim 1. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses a method of operating a communications device [i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE] configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network [i.e. BS/Base Station/System] via a wireless radio interface [i.e. 5G Communication Unit-110 or Antenna] provided by the wireless communications network, the method comprising [Fig. 3, Sections 0002, 0056, 0081: The present disclosure relates to a wireless communication system. A UE transmit and/or receive data and/or control information (i.e. signals) with a base station (BS) referred to as radio access network. The communication unit-110 include transceiver/antenna-114; and information transmitted to/received from other devices through a wireless interface via the communication unit]:
receiving, from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], signals on one or more downlink channels [Sections 0065-0066: The 3GPP standards define DL/downlink channels (i.e. PDSCH and PDCCH) carry DL signals. The BS transmits PDCCH and PDSCH to the UE], each of the downlink channels [i.e. PDCCHs/PDSCHs or SPS PDSCHs] being within one of a plurality of downlink transmission occasions [Fig. 7 (Depicts PDCCHs and PDSCHs within Slots/Occasions), Figs. 8, 14, Sections 0091, 0213, 0244, 0330: DL transmissions (i.e. DL channels) are organized into durations, time units, number of slots/symbols (i.e. all known as occasions). A UE monitors PDCCH candidates in monitoring occasions and in search space of consecutive slots. The BS schedule a plurality of consecutive PDSCHs with duration in slot (i.e. occasion). A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213. Note: Per 0201: A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception],
determining, for each of the downlink channels [i.e. PDCCHs/PDSCHs or SPS PDSCHs], whether or not the signals have been successfully [i.e. HARQ-ACK/NACK] received by the communications device [Sections 0118, 0245: HARQ-ACK: A response to a DL; HARQ-ACK indicates whether the DL has been successfully received by a communication device. Separate codebooks (i.e. HARQ-ACK/NACK) formed/generated for feedback for a plurality of DL/downlink data channels for example a plurality of PDSCHs. NOTED: ACK means successfully received, NACK means not successfully received],
and transmitting, to the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], an uplink control channel [i.e. PUCCH/UCI] comprising [Section 0246: In 3GPP NR Rel-16, UE receives PDSCH by BS, and transmit a PUCCH carrying a HARQ ACK (Acknowledgement)] an acknowledgement [i.e. ACK] number indication [Figs. 14-15, Sections 0116, 0200, 0201: A PUCCH for UCI include HARQ-ACK information; the UCI bits include HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. ACK number indication). A HARQ-ACK payload consisting of HARQ-ACK bits for plural PDSCHs (i.e. received downlink channels). The HARQ-ACK transmitted through PUCCH determined based on the number of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to a combination of DL PDSCH transmission slots (i.e. occasions). Note: HARQ-ACK bits is defined as number indication],
wherein the acknowledgement number indication [i.e. HARQ-ACK bits] the number of the downlink transmission occasions [i.e. Slots/Timing/TDRA, Sections 0091, 0201: DL/downlink transmissions includes slots. A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception] within which the communications device [i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE] determines that the signals were successfully [i.e. ACK or HARQ-ACK] received on one of the downlink channels [Sections 0290, 0330: All HARQ-ACK bits associated with SPS PDSCH occasions in which the PDSCHs are received or in order of the starting symbols of each PDSCH occasion. A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213; and where HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to SPS PDSCH receptions],
Although Bae discloses the acknowledgement number indication it does not explicitly state “is a count of” corresponding to downlink transmission occasions.
However, Kumagai teaches “is a count of” or wherein the acknowledgement number [Section 0164: The UE bundle bits of HARQ-ACKs every specific number corresponding to a SPS transmission occasion in a time series of SPS transmission occasions configured in the UE] indication is a count of [i.e. Integer/Value N, N=2 or N=3] the number of the downlink transmission occasions within which the communications device determines that the signals were successfully received on one of the downlink channels [Figs. 6-7, 8-9, Sections 0169-0170, 0172: For example transmission occasions #1-4 are configured as transmission occasions for the UE; the UE has succeeded in SPS PDSCH reception in the transmission occasions #1-3 and has failed SPS PDSCH reception in the transmission occasion #4; the UE transmits a response ACK for occasion in which the reception processing has succeeded. For a case where N=2 is set as the value (i.e. count) of the bundling two HARQ-ACKs of transmission occasions since the HARQ-ACKs of the transmission occasions #1 and #2 are both ACK. For example, a case where N=3 is set as the value of the bundling unit for three HARQ-ACKs of the transmission occasions #1, #2, and #3 are all ACKs; and remaining occasion #4 is NACK].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Bae relating to HARQ-ACK bits indicating number of successful (i.e. ACK) received PDCCH/PDSCH (downlink channels) associated with occasions and UE reports/transmits the HARQ-ACK information bits for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions in which HARQ-ACK bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to receptions with the teaching of Kumagai relating to the UE bundle/compress response for succeeded reception in the transmission occasions and indicate bits/count of ACKs and NACKs, in which HARQ-ACK 2 bits means for example N=2 indicates a count of two successful transmission occasions out of four or HARQ ACK 3 bits N=3 indicates count of three successful occasions out of four. By combining the methods/systems, it is obvious per the 3GPP standards and standard operation of HARQ-ACK bits for the UE to indicate a count of number of successful downlink transmission occasions within which the downlink signals/information was received at least on one downlink channel without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 2. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, wherein the downlink transmission occasions [i.e. Slots, Time, Symbols, Occasions; see 0091] are indicated by Downlink Control Information (DCI) received by the communications device from the wireless communications network [Sections 0110, 0114, 0201: The UE (communication device) determines whether each slot is used for UL or DL and determines symbol allocation in each slot based on the SFI DCI and/or DCI for scheduling signal transmission. The BS (i.e. communication network) inform the UE the DL assignments and UL grants and transmission of a PDSCH is scheduled by DCI. For example, DL grant DCI includes scheduling PDSCH indicates k slot, a slot understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception].
As to Claim 3. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, wherein the downlink transmission occasions are Semi-Persistent Scheduling (SPS) resource instances forming an SPS group Fig. 7, Sections 0160, 0183, 0290: The BS allocate the DL resources (i.e. includes timing/occasions/TDRA see 0158) to the UE using SPS and configure a periodicity of DL assignment. On DL, the UE configured with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) per serving cells (i.e. each cell group of UE includes multiple serving cells, see 0061-0062, 0097). SPS PDSCH occasions (i.e. downlink transmission occasions) are arranged in order of SPS configuration indices. Note: DL SPS period/instance is determined in units of slots or slot group, and SPS grouped per cell],
wherein the SPS resource [Section 0191: Actual DL assignment for DL SPS provided by resource assignment fields (e.g., a TDRA field and/or FDRA field) in the DCI] instances are periodically located in a plurality of downlink resource units [i.e. RE or symbol/subcarriers or BWP and etc..] of the wireless radio interface [Fig. 5, Sections 0094, 0158, 0160, 0271: A resource grid of a slot/symbols in time domain, subscarriers, RBs, and REs are defined for DL/downlink; and the resource grid for a given antenna port (i.e. wireless radio interface). The DL resources are assigned to the UE by the BS through resource allocation that include time domain resource allocation (TDRA) and frequency domain resource allocation (FDRA). The BS allocate the DL resources to the UE using SPS and configure a periodicity of configured DL assignment. T may be determined through signaling from the BS, and T may be N symbol(s)/N subslot(s)/N slot(s) used for an associated SPS configuration].
As to Claim 4. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 3, comprising: receiving Radio Resource Control (RRC) signalling from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], and determining, based on the RRC signalling, the plurality of SPS instances that form the SPS group [Figs. 7, 15, Sections 0183, 0271: On DL, the UE configured with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) per serving cell (i.e. each cell group of UE includes multiple serving cells, see 0061-0062, 0097) and per BWP by RRC signaling from the BS. T determined through higher layer signaling (i.e. RRC) from the BS, and T may be N symbol(s)/N subslot(s)/N slot(s) used for an associated SPS configuration].
As to Claim 5. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 3, comprising: receiving a dynamic indication from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], and determining, based on the dynamic indication, the plurality of SPS instances that form the SPS group [Fig. 7, Sections 0158, 0183, 0192: DL assignment is dynamically received by the UE on the PDCCH or semi-persistently (SPS) configured for the UE by the BS. On DL, the UE configured with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) per serving cells. DL SPS referred to as an SPS PDSCH dynamically scheduled by DCI carried on a PDCCH may be referred to as a dynamic grant (DG)].
As to Claim 6. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 5, comprising: receiving, from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], an activation DCI indicating that one or more of the SPS resource instances are activated, wherein a field of the activation DCI comprises the dynamic indication [Sections 0191-0192, 0252: Actual DL assignment for DL SPS provided by resource assignment fields (e.g., a TDRA field and/or FDRA field) in the DCI carried by a corresponding DL SPS scheduling activation. DL SPS referred to as an SPS PDSCH dynamically scheduled by DCI. The UE receive SPS activation DCI].
As to Claim 7. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 6, wherein the field of the activation DCI is a new field [i.e. New Data indicator] which is dedicated to the purpose of carrying the dynamic indication [Sections 0190-0191, 0252: A new data indicator field, the UE validates for scheduling activation, a DL SPS assignment PDCCH or configured UL grant. Actual DL assignment for DL SPS are provided by resource assignment fields (e.g., a TDRA field and/or FDRA field) in the DCI format carried by a corresponding DL SPS scheduling activation. DL SPS referred to as an SPS PDSCH dynamically scheduled by DCI].
As to Claim 8. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 7, wherein the new field indicates an identifier of the SPS group for each of the SPS resource instances [Sections 0183, 0190-0191, 0290: On DL, the UE configured with semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) per serving cells. A new data indicator field for an enabled transport block in which the UE validates, for a DL SPS assignment PDCCH; special fields for DL SPS. Actual DL assignment for DL SPS provided by resource assignment fields (e.g., a TDRA field or an FDRA field) in the DCI. SPS configuration index relates to DL slot index relates to PDSCH starting symbol and SPS PDSCH occasions are arranged in order of SPS configuration indices].
As to Claim 9. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 6, wherein the field of the activation DCI is an existing field which is additionally used to carry the dynamic indication [Sections 0190-0191, 0252: A new data indicator field, the UE validates, for scheduling activation, a DL SPS assignment PDCCH. Actual DL assignment for DL SPS in the DCI format carried by a corresponding DL SPS scheduling activation. DL SPS referred to as an SPS PDSCH dynamically scheduled by DCI].
As to Claim 12. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, comprising: receiving RRC signalling from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], and determining, based on the RRC signalling, the plurality of downlink transmission occasions [Sections 0091, 0094, 0158: DL transmissions (i.e. DL channels) are organized into durations, time units, number of slots and symbols (i.e. occasions). The slots (i.e. occasions) are indicated by higher layer signaling (RRC signaling). The DL resources are assigned to the UE by the BS through resource allocation include time domain resource allocation (TDRA) configured for the UE by the BS through RRC signaling].
As to Claim 13. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, comprising: receiving a dynamic indication from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], and determining, based on the dynamic indication, the plurality of downlink transmission occasions [Sections 0091, 0158, 0160: DL transmissions (i.e. DL channels) are organized into durations, time units, number of slots and symbols (i.e. occasions). The DL resources are assigned to the UE by the BS through resource allocation include time domain resource allocation (TDRA) configured for the UE by the BS, DL assignment is dynamically received by the UE. On DL, the BS dynamically allocate DL resources to the UE using SPS].
As to Claim 15. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, wherein the acknowledgement number indication is indicated by a cyclic shift amount used for the transmission of the uplink control channel [Sections 0116, 0127, 0131: A PUCCH include HARQ-ACK information include HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. ACK number indication). Configuration for PUCCH includes the following parameters for a corresponding PUCCH resource: an index for initial cyclic shift for PUCCH transmission. Cyclic shifts (CS) applied to UCI (i.e. uplink control information on PUCCH)].
As to Claim 16. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 15, wherein one or more of the cyclic shift amounts indicate more than one number of the downlink transmission occasions within which the communications device determines that the signals were successfully received on one of the downlink channels [Sections 0091, 0201, 0290: Each slot includes symbols based on a cyclic prefix/shift. The HARQ-ACK determined based on the number of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to a combination of DL scheduling slots (i.e. occasions) or PDSCH transmission slots. All HARQ-ACK bits associated with SPS PDSCH occasions in order of the indices (i.e. number) of DL slots in which the PDSCHs are received].
As to Claim 17. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, wherein the acknowledgement number indication [i.e. HARQ-ACK bits/payload] indicates one of a plurality of sets [i.e. codebook/payload] of acknowledgement numbers [Sections 0200, 0330: A HARQ-ACK payload consisting of HARQ-ACK bit(s) for one or plural PDSCHs referred to as a HARQ-ACK codebook. A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH reception(s) within M occasions for PDSCH receptions as determined, where HARQ-ACK information bits in response to SPS PDSCH receptions].
As to Claim 21. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, wherein the acknowledgement number indication [i.e. HARQ-ACK bits] indicates in one or more bits, the number of the downlink transmission occasions [i.e. Slots/Timing/TDRA, Sections 0091, 0201: DL/downlink transmissions includes slots. A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception] within which the communications device determines that the signals were successfully [i.e. ACK or HARQ-ACK] received on one of the downlink channels [Sections 0290, 0330: All HARQ-ACK bits associated with SPS PDSCH occasions in which the PDSCHs are received or in order of the starting symbols of each PDSCH occasion. A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213; and where HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to SPS PDSCH receptions].
As to Claim 28. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses a communications device [i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE] configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a wireless communications network, the communications device comprising: transceiver circuitry [Transceiver(s)-114] configured to transmit signals and receive signals via a wireless radio interface [i.e. 5G Communication Unit-110 or Antenna] provided by the wireless communications network [Fig. 3, Sections 0002, 0056, 0081: The present disclosure relates to a wireless communication system. A UE transmit and/or receive data and/or control information (i.e. signals) with a base station (BS) referred to as radio access network. The communication unit-110 include transceiver/antenna-114; and information transmitted to/received from other devices through a wireless interface via the communication unit]:
and controller circuitry [Control unit-120] configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry [Sections 0081, 0083: The communication unit-110 include transceiver/antenna-114. The control unit 120 and the communication unit 110 may be connected; the control unit may be configured by a set of one or more processors]
to receive, from the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], signals on one or more downlink channels [Sections 0065-0066: The 3GPP standards define DL/downlink channels (i.e. PDSCH and PDCCH) carry DL signals. The BS transmits PDCCH and PDSCH to the UE], each of the downlink channels [i.e. PDCCHs/PDSCHs or SPS PDSCHs] being within one of a plurality of downlink transmission occasions [Fig. 7 (Depicts PDCCHs and PDSCHs within Slots/Occasions), Figs. 8, 14, Sections 0091, 0213, 0244, 0330: DL transmissions (i.e. DL channels) are organized into durations, time units, number of slots/symbols (i.e. all known as occasions). A UE monitors PDCCH candidates in monitoring occasions and in search space of consecutive slots. The BS schedule a plurality of consecutive PDSCHs with duration in slot (i.e. occasion). A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213. Note: Per 0201: A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception],
to determine, for each of the downlink channels [i.e. PDCCHs/PDSCHs or SPS PDSCHs], whether or not the signals have been successfully [i.e. HARQ-ACK/NACK] received by the communications device [Sections 0118, 0245: HARQ-ACK: A response to a DL; HARQ-ACK indicates whether the DL has been successfully received by a communication device. Separate codebooks (i.e. HARQ-ACK/NACK) formed/generated for feedback for a plurality of DL/downlink data channels for example a plurality of PDSCHs. NOTED: ACK means successfully received, NACK means not successfully received],
and to transmit, to the wireless communications network [i.e. Base Station/BS], an uplink control channel [i.e. PUCCH/UCI] comprising [Section 0246: In 3GPP NR Rel-16, UE receives PDSCH by BS, and transmit a PUCCH carrying a HARQ ACK (Acknowledgement)] an acknowledgement [i.e. ACK] number indication [Figs. 14-15, Sections 0116, 0200, 0201: A PUCCH for UCI include HARQ-ACK information; the UCI bits include HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. ACK number indication). A HARQ-ACK payload consisting of HARQ-ACK bits for plural PDSCHs (i.e. received downlink channels). The HARQ-ACK transmitted through PUCCH determined based on the number of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to a combination of DL PDSCH transmission slots (i.e. occasions). Note: HARQ-ACK bits is defined as number indication],
wherein the acknowledgement number indication [i.e. HARQ-ACK bits] the number of the downlink transmission occasions [i.e. Slots/Timing/TDRA, Sections 0091, 0201: DL/downlink transmissions includes slots. A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception] within which the communications device [i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE] determines that the signals were successfully [i.e. ACK or HARQ-ACK] received on one of the downlink channels [Sections 0290, 0330: All HARQ-ACK bits associated with SPS PDSCH occasions in which the PDSCHs are received or in order of the starting symbols of each PDSCH occasion. A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213; and where HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to SPS PDSCH receptions],
Although Bae discloses the acknowledgement number indication it does not explicitly state “is a count of” corresponding to downlink transmission occasions.
However, Kumagai teaches “is a count of” or wherein the acknowledgement number [Section 0164: The UE bundle bits of HARQ-ACKs every specific number corresponding to a SPS transmission occasion in a time series of SPS transmission occasions configured in the UE] indication is a count of [i.e. Integer/Value N, N=2 or N=3] the number of the downlink transmission occasions within which the communications device determines that the signals were successfully received on one of the downlink channels [Figs. 6-7, 8-9, Sections 0169-0170, 0172: For example transmission occasions #1-4 are configured as transmission occasions for the UE; the UE has succeeded in SPS PDSCH reception in the transmission occasions #1-3 and has failed SPS PDSCH reception in the transmission occasion #4; the UE transmits a response ACK for occasion in which the reception processing has succeeded. For a case where N=2 is set as the value (i.e. count) of the bundling two HARQ-ACKs of transmission occasions since the HARQ-ACKs of the transmission occasions #1 and #2 are both ACK. For example, a case where N=3 is set as the value of the bundling unit for three HARQ-ACKs of the transmission occasions #1, #2, and #3 are all ACKs; and remaining occasion #4 is NACK].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Bae relating to HARQ-ACK bits indicating number of successful (i.e. ACK) received PDCCH/PDSCH (downlink channels) associated with occasions and UE reports/transmits the HARQ-ACK information bits for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions in which HARQ-ACK bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to receptions with the teaching of Kumagai relating to the UE bundle/compress response for succeeded reception in the transmission occasions and indicate bits/count of ACKs and NACKs, in which HARQ-ACK 2 bits means for example N=2 indicates a count of two successful transmission occasions out of four or HARQ ACK 3 bits N=3 indicates count of three successful occasions out of four. By combining the methods/systems, it is obvious per the 3GPP standards and standard operation of HARQ-ACK bits for the UE to indicate a count of number of successful downlink transmission occasions within which the downlink signals/information was received at least on one downlink channel without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 57. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses an infrastructure equipment [i.e. BS/Base Station/System] forming part of a wireless communications network configured to transmit signals to and/or to receive signals from a communications device [i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE], the infrastructure equipment comprising [Fig. 3, Sections 0002, 0056: The present disclosure relates to a wireless communication system. A UE transmit and/or receive data and/or control information (i.e. signals) with a base station (BS) referred to as radio access network]:
transceiver circuitry [Transceiver-206] configured to transmit signals and receive signals via a wireless radio interface [Antenna-208] provided by the wireless communications network, and controller circuitry [Processor-202] configured in combination with the transceiver circuitry [Fig. 2 (BS-200), Sections 0075: The device-200 (BS-200 see 0073) include one or more processors-202 and additionally include one or more transceivers and/or one or more antennas 208; processor(s) control the transceiver(s); the transceiver(s) connected to the processor and transmit and/or receive radio signals through one or more antennas]:
to transmit, to the communications device[i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE], signals on one or more downlink channels [Sections 0065-0066: The 3GPP standards define DL/downlink channels (i.e. PDSCH and PDCCH) carry DL signals. The BS transmits PDCCH and PDSCH to the UE], each of the downlink channels [i.e. PDCCHs/PDSCHs or SPS PDSCHs] being within one of a plurality of downlink transmission occasions [Fig. 7 (Depicts PDCCHs and PDSCHs within Slots/Occasions), Figs. 8, 14, Sections 0091, 0213, 0244, 0330: DL transmissions (i.e. DL channels) are organized into durations, time units, number of slots/symbols (i.e. all known as occasions). A UE monitors PDCCH candidates in monitoring occasions and in search space of consecutive slots. The BS schedule a plurality of consecutive PDSCHs with duration in slot (i.e. occasion). A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213. Note: Per 0201: A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception],
and to receive, from the communications device, an uplink control channel [i.e. PUCCH/UCI] comprising [Section 0246: In 3GPP NR Rel-16, UE receives PDSCH by BS, and transmit a PUCCH carrying a HARQ ACK (Acknowledgement)] an acknowledgement number indication [Figs. 14-15, Sections 0116, 0200, 0201: A PUCCH for UCI include HARQ-ACK information; the UCI bits include HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. ACK number indication). A HARQ-ACK payload consisting of HARQ-ACK bits for plural PDSCHs (i.e. received downlink channels). The HARQ-ACK transmitted through PUCCH determined based on the number of HARQ-ACK bits corresponding to a combination of DL PDSCH transmission slots (i.e. occasions). Note: HARQ-ACK bits is defined as number indication],
wherein the acknowledgement number indication [i.e. HARQ-ACK bits] the number of the downlink transmission occasions [i.e. Slots/Timing/TDRA, Sections 0091, 0201: DL/downlink transmissions includes slots. A slot is understood/replaced as/with a candidate occasion for DL reception] within which the communications device [i.e. Wireless device/User Equipment/UE] has successfully [i.e. ACK or HARQ-ACK] received the signals on one of the downlink channels [Sections 0290, 0330: All HARQ-ACK bits associated with SPS PDSCH occasions in which the PDSCHs are received or in order of the starting symbols of each PDSCH occasion. A UE reports HARQ-ACK information in a PUCCH for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions for candidate PDSCH receptions as determined 9.1.2.1 of 3GPP TS 38.213; and where HARQ-ACK information bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to SPS PDSCH receptions],
Although Bae discloses the acknowledgement number indication it does not explicitly state “is a count of” corresponding to downlink transmission occasions.
However, Kumagai teaches “is a count of” or wherein the acknowledgement number [Section 0164: The UE bundle bits of HARQ-ACKs every specific number corresponding to a SPS transmission occasion in a time series of SPS transmission occasions configured in the UE] indication is a count of [i.e. Integer/Value N, N=2 or N=3] the number of the downlink transmission occasions within which the communications device has successfully received the signals on one of the downlink channels [Figs. 6-7, 8-9, Sections 0169-0170, 0172: For example transmission occasions #1-4 are configured as transmission occasions for the UE; the UE has succeeded in SPS PDSCH reception in the transmission occasions #1-3 and has failed SPS PDSCH reception in the transmission occasion #4; the UE transmits a response ACK for occasion in which the reception processing has succeeded. For a case where N=2 is set as the value (i.e. count) of the bundling two HARQ-ACKs of transmission occasions since the HARQ-ACKs of the transmission occasions #1 and #2 are both ACK. For example, a case where N=3 is set as the value of the bundling unit for three HARQ-ACKs of the transmission occasions #1, #2, and #3 are all ACKs; and remaining occasion #4 is NACK].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have combined the methods of Bae relating to HARQ-ACK bits indicating number of successful (i.e. ACK) received PDCCH/PDSCH (downlink channels) associated with occasions and UE reports/transmits the HARQ-ACK information bits for SPS PDSCH receptions within M occasions in which HARQ-ACK bits (i.e. number indication) is in response to receptions with the teaching of Kumagai relating to the UE bundle/compress response for succeeded reception in the transmission occasions and indicate bits/count of ACKs and NACKs, in which HARQ-ACK 2 bits means for example N=2 indicates a count of two successful transmission occasions out of four or HARQ ACK 3 bits N=3 indicates count of three successful occasions out of four. By combining the methods/systems, it is obvious per the 3GPP standards and standard operation of HARQ-ACK bits for the UE to indicate a count of number of successful downlink transmission occasions within which the downlink signals/information was received at least on one downlink channel without undue experimentation.
2. Claims 10-11, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Bae et al. US 20230421302 hereafter Bae in view of Kumagai et al. US 20230379098 hereafter Kumagai and in further view of Park et. al US 20230041764 hereafter Park.
As to Claim 10. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 9, a resource unit of the wireless radio interface in which the uplink control channel [i.e. PUCCH] should be transmitted, and wherein the method comprises [Sections 0094, 0097: A resource grid are defined for UL/uplink; and the resource grid for a given antenna port (i.e. wireless radio interface). Each cell group of the UE includes one or more serving cells and PUCCH cell for which PUCCH resources are configured]
Although Bae discloses PUCCH resources, SPS resource instances and field indicators it does not explicitly state “existing field” and Although Kumagai discloses the phrase “existing field” [Sections 0101, 0140: The UE determine existing field defined in Rel. 15/16 included in the specific DCI format is a field indicating SPS HARQ-ACK bundling. The DCI may include information regarding the target SPS configuration may be a specific field newly defined in Rel. 17 or an existing field defined in Rel. 15/16] it does not correlate the existing filed to SPS resources. Thus the combination of Bae and Kumagai do not explicitly state wherein the existing field indicates, for each of the SPS resource instances, determining that the SPS group is formed by the plurality of SPS instances when the existing field indicates that the uplink control channel should be transmitted in the same resource unit for all of the plurality of SPS instances.
However, Park teaches wherein the existing field indicates, for each of the SPS resource instances [Sections 0202-0203, 0293: Method Uses the Existing Field within the DCI Format Indicating DL SPS Activation. When one field within the DCI format indicating DL SPS activation indicates a specific value, a field indicating time resource information used to indicate set of DL SPS transmission periods. The UE receives DL SPS configuration and index information for DL SPS, and configured DL SPS information is activated into groups in which the UE periodically receives information on DL SPSs in resources]
determining that the SPS group is formed by the plurality of SPS instances when the existing field indicates that the uplink control channel [i.e. PUCCH; Section 0149: A PUCCH resource indicated by the PUCCH resource field indicated in DCI scheduled] should be transmitted in the same resource unit for all of the plurality of SPS instances [Sections 0164, 0197, 0310, 0327: DL SPS transmission period determined in units of slots or symbol groups. The BS can configure the DL SPS transmission period in a bitmap type; and interval indicated by the bitmap size and the corresponding bit may be a slot, a symbol, or a symbol group. Therefore, the UE configures an HARQ-ACK codebook for DL SPSs received in slots and transmits the same in the PUCCH. A maximum number of DL SPSs which can be included in one PUCCH for each SPS; for SPSs having the same index in one PUCCH].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods of Bae relating to UE device receiving DL SPS assignments/scheduling which includes SPS resource instances/time and field indicators then transmitting PUCCH carrying feedback HARQ-ACK information and the method of Kumagai relating to UE determine existing field defined in Rel. 15/16 included in DCI format is a field indicating SPS HARQ-ACK bundling and DCI may include information regarding the target SPS configuration may an existing field defined in Rel. 15/16 with the teaching of Park relating to method of using existing field within DCI/control information to determine SPS groups linked to SPS transmission periods and transmitting PUCCH in the same resource. By combining the method/systems, the existing field as defined by the REL 15-16 standards can indicate multiple information relating to DL SPS and PUCCH transmission thereby allowing the UE to submit PUCCH on same resource for efficiency as suggested by Park without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 11. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 3, comprising [Section 0062: In DC, two medium access control (MAC) entities are configured for the UE]:
Although Bae discloses that UE include MAC CE entities for communicating and Kumagai discloses MAC CE signaling (Section 0044), the combination do not correlate MAC CE with SPS instances therefore they do not explicitly teach determining, based on a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, within one of the received downlink channels, the plurality of SPS instances that form the SPS group.
However, Park teaches determining, based on a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE), within one of the received downlink channels, the plurality of SPS instances that form the SPS group [Sections 0055, 0164, 0198, 0262: In the disclosure, BS transmits a signal to the UE through a downlink data channel of a physical layer and referred to as a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). DL SPS transmission period determined in units of slots or symbol groups. The BS configure two or more DL SPS transmission periods. The UE may transmit and receive data to and from multiple TRPs in operation through a MAC CE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods/systems of Bae and Kumagai relating to UE device includes MAC entities for communicating using MAC CE with the teaching of Park relating to BS transmits MAC CE signals within downlink data channel (i.e. PDSCH) and DL SPS periods/slots form groups. By combining the methods/systems, it is obvious that the UE can determine MAC CE within received downlink channel relating to SPS and used the scheduled resources to perform uplink transmission without undue experimentation.
As to Claim 14. (Currently Amended) Bae discloses the method according to Claim 1, comprising [Section 0062: In DC, two medium access control (MAC) entities are configured for the UE]:
Although Bae discloses that UE include MAC CE entities for communicating and Kumagai discloses MAC CE signaling (Section 0044), the combination do not correlate MAC CE with downlink transmission occasions therefore they do not explicitly teach determining, based on a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) within one of the received downlink channels, the plurality of downlink transmission occasions.
However, Park teaches determining, based on a Medium Access Control, MAC, Control Element, CE, within one of the received downlink channels, the plurality of downlink transmission occasions [Sections 0055, 0198, 0231, 0262: In the disclosure, BS transmits a signal to the UE through a downlink data channel of a physical layer and referred to as a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE). The BS configure two or more DL SPS transmission periods (i.e. occasions). The UE receives SPS PDSCH including a transmission period mapped to MAC table. The UE may transmit and receive data to and from multiple TRPs in operation through a MAC CE].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date to have combined the methods/systems of Bae and Kumagai relating to UE device includes MAC entities for communicating using MAC CE with the teaching of Park relating to BS transmits MAC CE signals within downlink data channel (i.e. PDSCH) and DL SPS periods/slots form groups. By combining the methods/systems, it is obvious that the UE can determine MAC CE within received downlink channel relating to SPS and used the scheduled resources to perform uplink transmission without undue experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: 1. Babaei et al. US 20220061074 in particular the title “Multiple SPS And Configured Grant Configurations”
2. Takahashi et al. US 20220338225
Furthermore, each additional prior arts cited on PTO-892 but not applied in rejection contains a disclosed description related to the claimed subject matter found either in the Figures, description summary and/or disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
June 9, 2026
/JAEL M ULYSSE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2477