DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
4. In response to the amendment received on 8/21/2026:
Claims 1-9 are pending in the current application. Claim 1 has been amended.
The cores of the previous prior art-based rejections have been overcome in light of the amendment. All changes made to the rejection are necessitated by the amendment.
Claim Interpretation
5. All “wherein” clauses are given patentable weight unless otherwise noted. Please see MPEP 2111.04 regarding optional claim language.
Claim Objections
6. Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: The term “proved” in the claim should read “provided”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US PG Publication 2020/0287179 in view of Huff US PG Publication 2018/0351144 and Haga WO 2016/208335, as evidenced by “Mica as an insulator” NPL (https://aximmica.com/mica-as-an-insulator/).
Regarding Claim 1, Wang discloses a battery pack comprising a plurality of battery modules 120 (e.g. a group of two secondary battery cell array structures which are considered modules under broadest reasonable interpretation; see annotated Fig. 10 below), each battery module of the plurality of battery modules including a plurality of battery cells 102, and a pack frame 2/3 in which the plurality of battery modules are housed, wherein at least two battery modules of the plurality of battery modules form a first battery module group, wherein at least two battery modules of the plurality of battery modules form a second battery module group, wherein the second battery module group is located above (see below for explanation of “above”) the first battery module group, wherein a partition member (fireproof member) 171 is arranged between the first battery module group and the second battery module group, and wherein the partition member 171 comprises an insulating sheet having thermal and electrical insulation (the sheet is mica, para 0110, which is a thermally and electrically insulating material; see highlighted portions of evidentiary reference “Mica as an insulator” NPL) (see entire disclosure of Wang and especially Fig. 10 and paras 0110; 0116-0117). Although Wang does not specifically recite that the second battery module group is “above” the first battery module group, Wang’s battery pack could be used in an orientation (e.g. rotated from the position shown in Figs 1 and 10) that would place the second battery module group above the first battery module group and so the term of relative positioning “above” is met by Wang. For example, if the battery pack shown in Fig. 1 is rotated 90 degrees clockwise, then the module shown in Fig. 10 would be rotated 90 degrees clockwise, and accordingly, the second battery module group would be above the first battery module group.
Wang does not specifically disclose that the battery cells of the plurality of battery modules forming the first battery module group are stacked in a same direction as the at least two battery modules forming the first battery module group and the battery cells of the plurality of battery modules forming the second battery module group are stacked in a same direction as the at least two battery modules forming the second battery module group. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery design using multiple battery modules, Huff discloses that a multi-module battery system comprises cell modules 400, 100, 420, which can be aligned end-to-end in the same direction as the stacking direction of the battery cells 410, 412, 414, … 120, 122, 124… within each module and recites that this configuration allows for interchangeablility between individual modules and provides a known capacity for multi-modular battery system (see entire disclosure and especially Figs 1-8 and e.g. paras 0047-0049). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery pack of Wang such that the battery cells of the plurality of battery modules forming the first battery module group are stacked in a same direction as the at least two battery modules forming the first battery module group and the battery cells of the plurality of battery modules forming the second battery module group are stacked in a same direction as the at least two battery modules forming the second battery module group because Huff discloses that a multi-module battery system comprises cell modules which can be aligned in the same direction as the stacking direction of the battery cells within each module and recites that this configuration allows for interchangeablility between individual modules in a module group and provides a known capacity for multi-modular battery system.
Wang modified by Huff discloses connection members such as bus bars 12 and acquisition boards 15 between adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules (see e.g. Figs 10/13 and e.g. paras 0122) but does not specifically recite that the connection member is provided between each of adjacent battery modules of the plurality of battery modules. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery pack design, Haga discloses a connecting member including 38 and 13 which are provided between each of adjacent battery modules to connect them together to provide a fully connected system, including detecting cell voltage (see entire disclosure and especially at least Figs 7-8 and pp 13-16, highlighted portions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to provide a connection member between each adjacent battery module of the plurality of battery modules of Wang and Hull because Haga teaches that this connectivity is known to provide a complete system, including detecting cell voltage, and the use of a known technique to improve similar devices (methods or products) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Wang teaches that the partition member 171 (analogous to 17) prevents thermal runaway propagation between battery cells (see e.g. para 110) but does not specifically disclose wherein the partition member is specifically configured to prevent propagation of a thermal runaway event beyond each connection member. However, it would have bene obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to protect all parts of the battery pack of Wang modified by Hull and Haga such that thermal runaway cannot propagate beyond each connection member and to other modules because applying a known technique to a known device (method or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, D.).
Regarding Claim 2, Wang shows that the partition member 171 covers an upper surface of the first battery module group, but does not specifically recite that the partition member 171 covers an entire upper surface of the first battery module group. However, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to design the battery pack of Wang modified by Huff such that the partition member 171 covers an entire upper surface of the first battery module group in order to fully protect the entire upper surface of the first battery module group from vented gases since Wang uses the partition member 171 to protect the first battery module group from gases vented from the second battery module group.
Regarding Claims 3-5, Wang modified by Huff discloses wherein the plurality of battery cells of each battery module of the plurality of battery modules are stacked along a first direction and are perpendicular to a bottom part of the pack frame, said bottom part being formed extending in the first direction when the pack frame halves are brought together, such that the battery cells extend in a direction perpendicular to the first direction, and at least two battery modules included in the first battery group and at least two battery modules included in the second battery group are also arranged in the first direction (meeting Claims 4 and 5) (see annotated Fig. 1 below and annotated Fig. 10 above).
Regarding Claim 9, Wang discloses in para 0003 that the battery pack design is relevant to the field of energy storage power stations and electric vehicles, for example, and while Wang does not specifically disclose these devices (or the parts of these structures that are the devices that would be powered by the battery pack of Wang), it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the battery pack of Wang in one of said devices because Wang teaches that these uses are relevant and the combination of familiar elements is likely to be obvious when it does no more than yield predictable results. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, A.).
8. Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US PG Publication 2020/0287179 in view of Huff US PG Publication 2018/0351144 and Haga WO 2016/208335, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Juzkow US PG Publication 2021/0226189.
Regarding Claim 6, Wang modified by Huff and Haga discloses the claimed battery pack as described in the rejection of Claim 1, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Wang modified by Huff discloses battery cells that are apparently prismatic in shape and does not specifically disclose wherein each battery cell of the plurality of battery cells is a pouch-type battery cell. However, in the same field of endeavor of battery pack design in the area of protection against fire propagation, for example, Juzkow discloses that three types of battery cells are used in EVs: cylindrical, prismatic, and pouch cells (para 0024) and so it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use pouch cells in the battery pack of Wang modified by Huff and Haga because Juzkow teaches that they are functionally equivalent for use in EVs and the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.).
9. Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang US PG Publication 2020/0287179 in view of Huff US PG Publication 2018/0351144 and Haga WO 2016/208335, as applied to Claim 1, and further in view of Wynn US PG Publication 2019/0386264.
Regarding Claims 7-8, Wang modified by Huff and Haga discloses the claimed battery pack as described in the rejection of Claim 1, which is incorporated herein in its entirety. Wang discloses that the partition member is formed of e.g. mica (para 0110) but does not specifically recite that the insulating sheet comprises a polymer resin or that the partition member further comprises base plates and the insulating sheet comprises a polymer resin. However, in the same field of endeavor of fire proof separating members/partitions between battery cells, Wynn discloses a protective laminate design that includes a core layer having high strength such as steel or carbon fiber woven with flame retardant resin (para 0027) to support relatively fragile outer layers, such as mica or dielectric coating to provide electrical insulation (para 0027) or flame-retardant material (para 0028) or paper doped with flame resistant resin and coated with flame-resistant resin (para 0040) or a carbon fiber layer woven with flame retardant resin with a dielectric coating (para 0029) to prevent electrical shorts between cells if issues arise in the cells – and teaches that this type of partition is inexpensive, lightweight, and provides improved protection for battery cells to reduce the impact of thermal runaways and the venting of hot gas (as in Wang) (see entire disclosure and especially para 0026-0042). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use a laminate partition structure in the battery pack of Wang modified by Huff such as that taught by Wynn including a polymer resin in the insulating sheet, e.g. forming the laminate from paper highly doped with flame resistant resin and having flame-retardant resin base plates sealing in the paper therebetween and obvious to form the partition member to further comprise base plates sandwiching the insulating sheet (e.g. the flame-retardant resin base plates seal in the paper insulating sheet therebetween) since Wynn teaches that this type of partition is inexpensive, lightweight, and provides improved protection for battery cells to reduce the impact of thermal runaway and the venting of hot gas. Although Wynn does not say that the sheet of paper that is highly doped with flame-resistant resin is an insulating sheet, Wynn makes it clear that they layers of the laminate should prevent electrical shorts between cells and reduce the impact of thermal runaways and the skilled artisan would find it obvious to use a flame-resistant resin that is electrically and thermally insulating such as that prevents short-circuit in order to maintain electrical and thermal isolation between batteries in case thermal runaway takes place.
The selection of a known material, which is based upon its suitability for the intended use, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (see MPEP § 2144.07).
Response to Arguments
10. Applicant's arguments with respect to the claims are based on the claims as amended. The amended claims have been addressed in the new rejection above.
Conclusion
/LISA S PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1729