DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 06-30-2023, 09-19-2024, 04-10-2025, and 11-28-2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2021/0265699 hereinafter Lee in view of U.S. Pre-Grant Publication No. 2020/0168864 hereinafter Seo.
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a battery module [10] comprising: a battery stack [12] formed by stacking battery cells [14]; a module case (module frame) [60] in which the battery stack is housed and protected; first bus bar assembly and second bus bar assembly (bus bar frame) [20 and 30] formed at both ends of the battery stack; bus bars [22 and 32] connected to the electrode tabs [15 and 16] of the battery cells; a sensing unit (gas detection sensor) [90] coupled to the bus bar assemblies [20 and 30]; front and rear covers (bus bar cover portion) [72 and 74] that cover the bus bar assemblies; and a neutralizer housing portion [72a] formed on the bus bar cover portion (see description of the battery module in paragraphs 32-93 and annotated figure 2 below).
Lee does not specifically disclose that the electrode tabs (leads) [15 and 16] protrude through the bus bar assemblies (bus bar frame) [20 and 30] to be connected to the bus bars.
However, Seo teaches a battery module [10] that comprises a cell stack [100] and a module housing [20] for accommodating the cell stack (see figures 2-3), wherein the cell stack includes battery cells [110] comprising electrode leads [111] inserted into the bus bar frame [410] to facilitate the bending of the electrode lead for electrical connection between the battery cells (paragraph 47). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to form electrode leads that protrude through the bus bar frame to facilitate coupling thereof before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
In addition, the use of a known technique to improve similar products (methods) in the same way is likely to be obvious. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S._,_, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 - 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, C.).
Regarding Claim 2, the combination teaches that the sensing unit (gas detection sensor) [90] is adjacent to the bus bar (see annotated figure 3 above, paragraphs 86-93).
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, the combination teaches that the bus bar comprises a terminal bus bar, the sensing unit (gas detection sensor) is adjacent to a terminal of the terminal bus bar, and the bus bar cover portion covers the terminal of the terminal bus bar. (paragraphs 86-93).
Regarding Claims 5-6, the combination teaches that the battery module further comprises an end plate that covers the bus bar frame, and wherein the sensing unit (gas detection sensor) is between an upper part of the battery cell stack and the module frame (see figure 3 above).
Regarding Claims 7-12, the combination teaches a battery pack comprising the battery module that further comprises a neutralizer (see description above).
Regarding Claims 13-15, the combination teaches a method comprising: detecting and controlling gas leakage through the sensing unit (gas detection sensor) (paragraphs 86-93).
Conclusion
/OSEI K AMPONSAH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1752