DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the communication filed 29 April 2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant' s Information Disclosure Statement(s) (IDS). The IDS(es) has/have been considered.
Priority
The application’s status as a 371 of PCT/CN2021/141742 is acknowledged.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of the Group 1 Species 1 embodiment in the reply filed on 24 February 2025 is acknowledged.
Accordingly, claims 12, 13, 16, and 18 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Response to Arguments
Rejections under §§ 102 and 103
Applicant's arguments filed 29 April 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claim 1, Applicant states:
That is, in Angioni, ultraviolet light is used to separate and process the quantum dots from the interior of the crosslinked material; obviously, it is completely different from the method claimed in currently amended claim 1 of the present application. . . . That is, in the present application, the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by the ultraviolet light (UV) . . . . It can be seen that, due to the different application scenarios of UV light, and since Angioni does not contain any information that can indicate that the UV light is applied to a side of the electron transport layer on the laminated structure consisting of the quantum dot light-emitting layer and the electron transport layer, the applicant believes that Angioni does not disclose "the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by an ultraviolet light after the laminated structure has been prepared", as required in currently amended claim 1.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 29 April 2026) at 9 (emphasis omitted). The Examiner respectfully disagrees. Shown in, for example, FIGS. 12A-E, Angioni discloses application of UV light to a mixture 1203 of cross-linkable material 1205 and quantum dots 1206. Angioni discloses wherein the cross-linkable material may include, among other components, electron transport material, in order to form the charge transport and emissive layer (CCTEL). See, e.g., [0007] (“In some embodiments, the quantum dots are dispersed in, but do not form a part of, the cross-linked network of the cross-linked layer. In other embodiments, the quantum dots are dispersed in, and form a part of, the cross-linked network of the cross-linked layer. In embodiments where the cross-linked material is a charge transport material (e.g., hole transport material or electron transport material), this layer may also be referred to as a combined charge transport and emissive layer (CCTEL) of a QLED.”). Accordingly, the Examiner respectfully asserts that Angioni discloses the limitation wherein “the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by an ultraviolet light after the laminated structure has been prepared” as required by currently amended claim 1.
Applicant further states:
That is, in Angioni, ultraviolet light is used to separate and process the quantum dots from the interior of the crosslinked material; obviously, it is completely different from the method claimed in currently amended claim 1 of the present application.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 29 April 2026) at 9 (emphasis omitted). The Examiner respectfully notes that currently amended claim 1 uses broad and encompassing language to describe the processing steps for preparing the light-emitting device, such that numerous different method steps may be encompassed by the claim, including those disclosed in Angioni.
Applicant further states:
In the present application, the laminated structure is irradiated by the ultraviolet light (UV), through the irradiating by the ultraviolet light, the electrons of oxygen in the metal oxide transport material in the electron transport laver are excited to form complexes with active metal elements such as a zinc in the quantum dot light-emitting layer. The formation of the complexes optimizes the interface between ETL-QD, the interface defect is reduced, which facilitates the injection of electrons from the electron transport laver into the quantum dot light-emitting layer.
That is, in the present application, the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by the ultraviolet light (UV), the temperature at the interface between the electron transport laver and the quantum dot light-emitting laver is increased, the bonding electrons are activated, the crystals in the electron transport layer is promoted to re-grow, the internal physical structure defects and surface roughness of the electron transport layer are reduced, and the interface bonding tightness between the QD-ETL is better, the electron accumulation center inside the electron transport layer and at the interface between the QD-ETL is reduced, the electron injection efficiency in the light-emitting layer is improved.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 29 April 2026) at 9 (emphasis omitted). In response to Applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, the Examiner respectfully notes that the features upon which Applicant relies (e.g., “In the present application, the laminated structure is irradiated by the ultraviolet light (UV), through the irradiating by the ultraviolet light, the electrons of oxygen in the metal oxide transport material in the electron transport laver are excited to form complexes with active metal elements such as a zinc in the quantum dot light-emitting layer.”; “The formation of the complexes optimizes the interface between ETL-QD, the interface defect is reduced, which facilitates the injection of electrons from the electron transport laver into the quantum dot light-emitting layer”; “That is, in the present application, the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by the ultraviolet light (UV), the temperature at the interface between the electron transport laver and the quantum dot light-emitting laver is increased, the bonding electrons are activated, the crystals in the electron transport layer is promoted to re-grow, the internal physical structure defects and surface roughness of the electron transport layer are reduced, and the interface bonding tightness between the QD-ETL is better, the electron accumulation center inside the electron transport layer and at the interface between the QD-ETL is reduced, the electron injection efficiency in the light-emitting layer is improved.”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further states:
Obviously, the technical solution disclosed in Nie pertains to the preparation of the "quantum dot light-emitting laver", and the parameters of UV light irradiation used in it are all for the side of the "quantum dot light-emitting layer" that is being irradiated. However, in the currently amended claims 1, which clearly defines that "the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by an ultraviolet light after the laminated structure has been prepared"; obviously, the component irradiated by UV light in the present application is completely different from that in Nie.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 29 April 2026) at 10-11 (emphasis omitted). The Examiner respectfully notes that Angioni is cited as disclosing the steps of “preparing a laminated structure of a quantum dot light-emitting layer and an electron transport layer between an anode and a cathode; wherein the electron transport layer comprises a metal oxide transport material; and the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by an ultraviolet light after the laminated structure has been prepared; wherein the step of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprises: irradiating the laminated structure for 10 to 60 minutes under conditions of an ultraviolet light wavelength of 250-420 nm and a light wave density of 10-300 mJ/cm2; and wherein conditions of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprise: . . . a temperature being 80-120 °C,” not Nie.
Applicant further states:
Since the component irradiated by UV light in the present application is completely different from that in Nie, without any technical inspiration, the skilled personnel in this field would not think of applying the specific parameters "conditions of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprise: under an environment of a H20 content being less than 1 ppm, and a temperature being 80-120 °C", to the "quantum dot light-emitting layer" for UV light processing.
Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment (filed 29 April 2026) at 11 (emphasis omitted). The Examiner respectfully notes that both Nie and the instant Application disclose methods of forming light emitting devices. Compare, e.g., claim 1 of the instant application (“A method for preparing a light-emitting device, comprising a following step . . . .”) with Translation of CN112018270A (Nie) at 6-7 (“In a specific embodiment, a QLED device includes a substrate, a bottom electrode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport layer, a quantum dot light emitting layer, an electron transport layer, and a top electrode in order from bottom to top. Wherein, the quantum dot light-emitting layer is obtained by the method for preparing the quantum dot film in the embodiment of the present invention.”).
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments regarding claim 1 are unpersuasive.
Applicant presents no further arguments regarding claims 2, 4, 6-11, 14, 15, 17, and 20 aside from their dependency from claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant’s arguments regarding claims 2, 4, 6-11, 14, 15, 17, and 20 are unpersuasive.
Specification Amendments
Regarding the new matter objections and rejections appearing below, the Examiner respectfully notes that Applicant does not allege the amendment corrects an obvious error or similar circumstances. See MPEP § 2163(I)(B) (citing In re Oda, 443 F.2d 1200, 170 USPQ 268 (CCPA 1971)) (“An amendment to correct an obvious error does not constitute new matter where the ordinary artisan would not only recognize the existence of the error in the specification, but also recognize the appropriate correction.”); see also MPEP § 2163.07(II) (“Where a U.S. application as originally filed was in a non-English language and an English translation thereof was subsequently submitted pursuant to 37 CFR 1.52(d), if there is an error in the English translation, applicant may rely on the disclosure of the originally filed non-English language U.S. application to support correction of an error in the English translation document.”).
Drawings
The objections to the drawings are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
The drawings were received on 29 April 2026. These drawings are acceptable.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed features:
Of claim 1: “preparing a laminated structure of a quantum dot light-emitting layer and an electron transport layer between an anode and a cathode”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The amendment filed 29 April 2026 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. § 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. § 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows: Applicant appears to have amended the specification by deleting the phrase “laminated composite structure” everywhere it appears, including on pages 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, 9, 10, and 15 of the substitute specification filed 29 April 2026, and adding the phrase “laminated structure.” The term “laminated structure” is not supported by the original disclosure.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The § 112(b) rejections of claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 19 are withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claims.
The § 112(d) rejection of claim 20 is withdrawn, responsive to Applicant’s amendment of the claim.
New rejections of the claims under § 112 appear below.
Claims 1 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 1: claim 1 states, in relevant part: “preparing a laminated structure . . . .” The Examiner respectfully asserts that nowhere in the original disclosure is a “laminated structure” disclosed. Only a “laminated composite structure” is disclosed, which clearly implies a structure and method that are different from those involving a laminated structure.
Claims 2, 4, 6-11, 14, 15, 17, and 20, which depend from claim 1, are rejected under § 112(a) for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 20: claim 20 states, in relevant part: “wherein when the thickness of the electron transport layer is higher than 80 nm, a duration of irradiating by the ultraviolet light is 30 minutes to 60 minutes.” The Examiner respectfully asserts that Applicant discloses a single duration range when the thickness of the electron transport layer is higher than 80 nm, which is 30 minutes to 90 minutes. Nowhere in the original disclosure does Applicant disclose wherein when the thickness of the electron transport layer is higher than 80 nm, a duration of irradiating by the ultraviolet light is 30 minutes to 60 minutes as recited in claim 20. See [0040] of the instant application (“In other specific embodiments, when the thickness of the electron transport layer is higher than 80 nm, the duration of UV irradiation treatment is 30 minutes to 90 minutes.”); see also MPEP § 2163.05 (“The failure to meet the written description requirement of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, commonly arises when the claims are changed after filing to either broaden or narrow the breadth of the claim limitations, or to alter a numerical range limitation or to use claim language which is not synonymous with the terminology used in the original disclosure.”).
Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims, or present a sufficient showing that the claims comply with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9-11, 14, 15, 17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0408417 (filed June 24, 2020) (hereinafter “Angioni”) in view of Chinese Patent Publication No. CN112018270A (published Dec. 1, 2020) (hereinafter “Nie”).
Regarding independent claim 1, Angioni discloses: A method for preparing a light-emitting device, comprising a following step:
preparing a laminated structure of a quantum dot light-emitting layer and an electron transport layer (FIG. 3, combined charge transport layer and emissive layer (CCTEL) 307, wherein the charge transport layer material may be an electron transport material, [0074]-[0077]) between an anode (FIG. 3, either of first electrode 302 or second electrode 304, which may be either an anode or a cathode, [0076]) and a cathode (FIG. 3, either of first electrode 302 or second electrode 304, which may be either an anode or a cathode, [0076]);
wherein the electron transport layer comprises a metal oxide transport material (FIG. 3, [0077]: “In exemplary embodiments, the electron transport and/or electron injection layers may include individual or combinations of: ZnO, 8-quinolinolato lithium (Liq.), LiF, Cs2CO3, MgxZn1−xO, AlxZn1−xO, GaxZn1−xO, 2,2′,2″-(1,3,5-benzinetriyl)-tris(1-phenyl-1-H-benzimidazole) (TPBi), TiO2, ZrO2, N4,N4′-Di(naphthalen-1-yl)-N4,N4′-bis(4-vinylphenyl)biphenyl-4,4′-diamine (VNPB), 9,9-Bis[4-[(4-ethenylphenyl)methoxy]phenyl]-N2,N7-di-1-naphthalenyl-N2,N7-diphenyl-9H-Fluorene-2,7-diamine (VB-FNPD), where 0≤x≤1.”); and
the electron transport layer of the laminated structure is irradiated by an ultraviolet light (FIGS. 3/12A-E, depicting wherein the electron transport material of the CCTEL, along with the quantum dots, are irradiated by UV light; [0132], [0082]: “Additionally or alternatively, the quantum dots may be segregated within the crosslinked material at least in part in response to the activation stimulus, such as in response to exposure to UV light.”);
wherein the step of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprises: irradiating the laminated composite structure for 10 to 60 minutes (FIG. 3, [0140]: “For example, UV exposure time may range from 0.001 seconds to 15 minutes . . . .”) under conditions of an ultraviolet light wavelength of 250-420 nm (FIG. 3, [0140]: “The morphology of the emissive material may in some embodiments be controlled using one or more of UV exposure times, UV-intensity, amount of photo initiator, a ratio between QDs and cross-linkable material, concentration of the ligands of the QDs total concentration of the mixture, type and thickness of the deposition surface, and the like.”) and a light wave density of 10-300 mJ/cm2 (FIG. 3, [0140]: “UV exposure intensity may range from 0.001 to 100,000 mJ/cm2.”; [0141]: “In an exemplary embodiment, the UV exposure intensity ranges from 0.01 to 100 mJ/cm2”).
Angioni discloses wherein conditions of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprise a temperature being 80-120° C (FIG. 3, [0138]: “The annealing may be performed at any suitable temperature that effectuates evaporation of the solvent while also maintaining the integrity of the quantum dots and charge transport material. In exemplary embodiments, annealing may be performed at a temperature ranging from 5° C. to 150° C., or at a temperature ranging from 30° C. to 150° C., or at a temperature ranging from 30° C. to 100° C.”; [0139]: “As another example, application of UV light as shown in FIGS. 12D1/12D2 and annealing (e.g., heating) may be performed in parallel.”). Angioni does not specifically disclose wherein conditions of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprise: under an environment of a H2O content being less than 1 ppm.
In the same field of endeavor, Nie discloses a method for preparing a quantum dot light-emitting diode, the method comprising a step of carrying out the process under an environment of a H2O content being less than 1 ppm (“The substrate of the initial quantum dot film was treated under 365nm UV under argon atmosphere for 10 minutes . . . .” Translation of CN112018270A at 7). Regarding the argon atmosphere Nie further states: “In the method for preparing the quantum dot film provided by the embodiment of the present invention, ultraviolet light treatment can break the binding force between the first ligand and the quantum dot on the surface of the initial quantum film exposed to ultraviolet, so as to facilitate the solvent cleaning Ligand; specifically, the time of the ultraviolet light treatment is 1-60 min; the temperature of the ultraviolet light treatment is 50-150°C, preferably the temperature temperature is 80-120°C. In the above temperature and time range, the first ligand on the surface of the initial quantum film exposed to ultraviolet can be better shed.” Translation of CN112018270A at 4.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the disclosed method of Angioni with the step of irradiating the substrate with UV light in an inert Ar atmosphere in order to facilitate solvent cleaning of the substrate. See Translation of CN112018270A at 4.
Regarding claim 2, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein the quantum dot light-emitting layer comprises a quantum dot material with a core-shell structure (FIG. 3, [0053]: “It will be appreciated that while the present disclosure primarily describes the QDs as core-shell QDs, in some embodiments the QDs may not be of the core-shell type or they may be of a core/multiple-shells type having more than one shell. The non-core-shell type QDs may be made from one or more of the above-mentioned materials, and the QDs in accordance with the present disclosure may not include a core-shell configuration.”), and
a shell layer of the quantum dot material contains a zinc element (FIG. 3, [0077]: “The EML may include: QD nanoparticles which include one or more of: InP, CdSe, CdS, CdSexS1−x, CdTe, CdxZn1−xSe, CdxZn1−xSeyS1−y, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnSTe, ZnSeTe, perovskites of the form ABX3, ZnwCuzIn1−(w+z)S, carbon, where O≤w, x, y, z≤1 and (w+z)≤1.”).
Regarding claim 4, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein the step of irradiating by the ultraviolet light comprises: irradiating by the ultraviolet light from a side of the electron transport layer (FIGS. 12A-E, depicting wherein the CCTEL is formed by irradiation from a side of the electron transport layer).
Regarding claim 6, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein the metal oxide transport material is at least one selected from the group consisting of ZnO, TiO2, Fe2O3, SnO2, and Ta2O3 (FIG. 3, [0077]: “In exemplary embodiments, the electron transport and/or electron injection layers may include individual or combinations of: ZnO, 8-quinolinolato lithium (Liq.), LiF, Cs2CO3, MgxZn1−xO, AlxZn1−xO, GaxZn1−xO, 2,2′,2″-(1,3,5-benzinetriyl)-tris(1-phenyl-1-H-benzimidazole) (TPBi), TiO2, ZrO2, N4,N4′-Di(naphthalen-1-yl)-N4,N4′-bis(4-vinylphenyl)biphenyl-4,4′-diamine (VNPB), 9,9-Bis[4-[(4-ethenylphenyl)methoxy]phenyl]-N2,N7-di-1-naphthalenyl-N2,N7-diphenyl-9H-Fluorene-2,7-diamine (VB-FNPD), where 0≤x≤1.”).
Regarding claim 7, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein the metal oxide transport material is at least one selected from the group consisting of ZnO, TiO2, Fe2O3, SnO2, and Ta2O3 doped with a metal element, and the metal element is at least one selected from the group consisting of aluminum, magnesium, lithium, lanthanum, yttrium, manganese, gallium, iron, chromium, and cobalt (FIG. 3, [0077]: “In exemplary embodiments, the electron transport and/or electron injection layers may include individual or combinations of: ZnO, 8-quinolinolato lithium (Liq.), LiF, Cs2CO3, MgxZn1−xO, AlxZn1−xO, GaxZn1−xO, 2,2′,2″-(1,3,5-benzinetriyl)-tris(1-phenyl-1-H-benzimidazole) (TPBi), TiO2, ZrO2, N4,N4′-Di(naphthalen-1-yl)-N4,N4′-bis(4-vinylphenyl)biphenyl-4,4′-diamine (VNPB), 9,9-Bis[4-[(4-ethenylphenyl)methoxy]phenyl]-N2,N7-di-1-naphthalenyl-N2,N7-diphenyl-9H-Fluorene-2,7-diamine (VB-FNPD), where 0≤x≤1.”).
Regarding claim 9, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein the shell layer of the quantum dot material comprises an alloy material formed by at least one or at least two selected from the group consisting of ZnS, ZnSe, ZnTe, CdZnS and ZnCdSe (FIG. 3, [0077]: “The EML may include: QD nanoparticles which include one or more of: InP, CdSe, CdS, CdSexS1−x, CdTe, CdxZn1−xSe, CdxZn1−xSeyS1−y, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnSTe, ZnSeTe, perovskites of the form ABX3, ZnwCuzIn1−(w+z)S, carbon, where O≤w, x, y, z≤1 and (w+z)≤1.”).
Regarding claim 10, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein when the shell layer of the quantum dot material is made of the ZnS (FIG. 3, [0077]: “The EML may include: QD nanoparticles which include one or more of: InP, CdSe, CdS, CdSexS1−x, CdTe, CdxZn1−xSe, CdxZn1−xSeyS1−y, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnSTe, ZnSeTe, perovskites of the form ABX3, ZnwCuzIn1−(w+z)S, carbon, where O≤w, x, y, z≤1 and (w+z)≤1.”), a wavelength of irradiating by the ultraviolet light is 250-355 nm (FIG. 3, [0140]: “The morphology of the emissive material may in some embodiments be controlled using one or more of UV exposure times, UV-intensity, amount of photo initiator, a ratio between QDs and cross-linkable material, concentration of the ligands of the QDs total concentration of the mixture, type and thickness of the deposition surface, and the like.”), and the light wave density is 50-150 mJ/cm2 (FIG. 3, [0140]: “UV exposure intensity may range from 0.001 to 100,000 mJ/cm2.”; [0141]: “In an exemplary embodiment, the UV exposure intensity ranges from 0.01 to 100 mJ/cm2”).
Regarding claim 11, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein a thickness of the electron transport layer is 10-200 nm (FIGS. 3/5, deposition surface 502, [0096]: “The deposition surface 502 can be the surface of . . . the ETL/EIL . . . . ”; [0140]: “The thickness of the deposition surface may range from 0.1 to 100 nm.”).
Regarding claim 14, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein when the thickness of the electron transport layer is less than 80 nm (FIGS. 3/5, deposition surface 502, [0096]: “The deposition surface 502 can be the surface of . . . the ETL/EIL . . . . ”; [0140]: “The thickness of the deposition surface may range from 0.1 to 100 nm.”), a duration of irradiating by the ultraviolet light is 15 minutes to 45 minutes (FIGS. 3/5, [0140]: “For example, UV exposure time may range from 0.001 seconds to 15 minutes, and/or UV exposure intensity may range from 0.001 to 100,000 mJ/cm2.”).
Regarding claim 15, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses a step of preparing a hole functional layer (FIGS. 3/5, disclosing wherein the hole transport layer may include a hole transport layer and hole injection layer, and depicting wherein the hole transport layer may be plural, [0145]: “The hole transport and/or hole injection layers may include individual or combinations of: poly(3,4-ethylenedioxythiophene):poly(styrenesulfonate) (PEDOT:PSS), poly(9,9-dioctylfluorene-co-N-(4-sec-butylphenyl)-diphenylamine) (TFB), poly(9-vinylcarbazole) (PVK), poly(N,N′-bis(4-butylphenyl)-N,N′-bisphenylbenzidine) (PolyTPD), V2O5, NiO, CuO, WO3, MoO3, 2,3,5,6-tetrafluoro-7,7,8,8-tetracyanoquinodimethane (F4TCNQ), 1,4,5,8,9,11-hexaazatriphenylenehexacarbonitrile (HATCN), N4,N4′-Bis(4-(6-((3-ethyloxetan-3-yl)methoxy)hexyl)phenyl)-N4,N4′-diphenylbiphenyl-4,4′-diamine (OTPD), N4,N4′-Bis(4-(6-((3-ethyloxetan-3-yl)methoxy)hexyloxy)phenyl)-N4,N4′-bis(4-methoxyphenyl)biphenyl-4,4′-diamine (QUPD), N,N′-(4,4′-(Cyclohexane-1,1-diyl)bis(4,1-phenylene))bis(N-(4-(6-(2-ethyloxetan-2-yloxy)hexyl)phenyl)-3,4,5-trifluoroaniline) (X-F6-TAPC), 3,5-di-9H-carbazol-9-yl-N,N-bis[4-[[6-[(3-ethyl-3-oxetanyl)methoxy]hexyl]oxy]phenyl]-benzenamine (Oxe-DCDPA).”) between the anode and the quantum dot light-emitting layer (FIGS. 3/5, depicting wherein the hole transport and hole injection layers may be between the electrode 302/304 acting as an anode and the CCTEL 307).
Regarding claim 17, Angioni in view of Nie further discloses wherein when the shell layer of the quantum dot material is made of the ZnSe (FIG. 3, [0077]: “The EML may include: QD nanoparticles which include one or more of: InP, CdSe, CdS, CdSexS1−x, CdTe, CdxZn1−xSe, CdxZn1−xSeyS1−y, ZnSe, ZnS, ZnSTe, ZnSeTe, perovskites of the form ABX3, ZnwCuzIn1−(w+z)S, carbon, where O≤w, x, y, z≤1 and (w+z)≤1.”), a wavelength of irradiating by the ultraviolet light is 280-375 nm (FIG. 3, [0140]: “The morphology of the emissive material may in some embodiments be controlled using one or more of UV exposure times, UV-intensity, amount of photo initiator, a ratio between QDs and cross-linkable material, concentration of the ligands of the QDs total concentration of the mixture, type and thickness of the deposition surface, and the like.”), and the light wave density is 30-120 mJ/cm2 (FIG. 3, [0140]: “UV exposure intensity may range from 0.001 to 100,000 mJ/cm2.”; [0141]: “In an exemplary embodiment, the UV exposure intensity ranges from 0.01 to 100 mJ/cm2”).
Regarding claim 20, Angioni discloses wherein the thickness of the electron transport layer is higher than 80 nm (FIGS. 3/5, deposition surface 502, [0096]: “The deposition surface 502 can be the surface of . . . the ETL/EIL . . . . ”; [0140]: “The thickness of the deposition surface may range from 0.1 to 100 nm.”). Angioni does not specifically disclose wherein a duration of irradiating by the ultraviolet light is 30 minutes to 60 minutes.
In [0140], however, Angioni states: “The morphology of the emissive material may in some embodiments be controlled using one or more of UV exposure times, UV-intensity, amount of photo initiator, a ratio between QDs and cross-linkable material, concentration of the ligands of the QDs total concentration of the mixture, type and thickness of the deposition surface, and the like. For example, UV exposure time may range from 0.001 seconds to 15 minutes, and/or UV exposure intensity may range from 0.001 to 100,000 mJ/cm2. The amount of photo initiator may range from 0.001 to 15 wt % of the total concentration of the QDs and the cross-linkable material in the mixture. The ratio between QDs and cross-linkable material may range from 0.001 to 1, and the total concentration of the QDs and the cross-linkable material in the mixture may range from 0.1 to 20 wt %. The concentration of the ligands of the QDs may range from 10 to 45 wt % of the overall weight of the QD including the core-shell structure and ligands. Concentration may also be referred to as “content” or “amount”. The thickness of the deposition surface may range from 0.1 to 100 nm.” Thus, the UV exposure time is a result-effective variable for optimizing the morphology of the emissive material, and thus the light emitting properties of the device.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the UV exposure time, identified by Angioni as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a UV exposure time ranging from 30 to 60 minutes in order to achieve a desired emissive material morphology disclosed in Angioni in [0140]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Angioni in view of Nie, and further in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2022/0393130 (filed Sept. 26, 2019) (hereinafter “Iwata”).
Regarding claim 8, Angioni in view of Nie does not specifically disclose wherein a particle size of the metal oxide transport material is less than or equal to 10 nm.
In the same field of endeavor, Iwata discloses forming a quantum dot light-emitting diode, wherein a particle size of the n-type semiconductor particles, which may be metal oxide materials (FIG. 1, [0039]: “Note that, in the present embodiment, a case where inorganic nanoparticles consisting of, for example, zinc oxide (for example, ZnO) which are electron-transporting inorganic nanoparticles, are used as the n-type semiconductor particles 36 is described as an example. However, the disclosure is not limited thereto, and any one of, for example, inorganic nanoparticles consisting of titanium oxide (for example, TiO2), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of indium oxide (for example, In2O3), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of gallium oxide (for example, Ga2O3), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of tin oxide (for example, SnO2), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of zinc sulfide (for example, ZnS), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of zinc telluride (for example, ZnTe), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of vanadium oxide (for example, V2O5), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of molybdenum oxide (for example, Mo0 3), inorganic nanoparticles consisting of tungsten oxide (for example, WO3), and inorganic nanoparticles consisting of gallium nitride (for example, GaN) may be used as long as the inorganic nanoparticles are electron-transporting inorganic nanoparticles.”), have a particle size that is less than or equal to 10 nm (FIG. 1, [0040]: “Note that, although the particle size of the n-type semiconductor particles 36 in the electron transport layer 33 is not particularly limited, the particle size is preferably equal to or greater than 1 nm”). Regarding the particle size, in [0040], Iwata states: “Note that, although the particle size of the n-type semiconductor particles 36 in the electron transport layer 33 is not particularly limited, the particle size is preferably equal to or greater than 1 nm from the viewpoint of suppressing aggregation of particles, and the particle size is preferably equal to or less than 30 nm from the viewpoint of reducing the surface roughness of the electron transport layer 33 and the surface roughness of the electroluminescent element XR.” Thus, particle size is a result-effective variable for optimizing suppression of aggregation of particles and surface roughness.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vary, through routine optimization, the particle size of the metal oxide transport material, identified by Iwata as a result-effective variable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to arrive at a particle size less than or equal to 10 nm in order to achieve a desired balance surface roughness and suppression of aggregation of particles as disclosed in Iwata in [0040]. See MPEP § 2144.05 (“[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.”) (quoting In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456 (C.C.P.A. 1955)).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ADAM D WEILAND/Examiner, Art Unit 2813
/STEVEN B GAUTHIER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2813