Detailed Action
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 13-17 and 23-27 in the reply filed on October 30, 2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that Group I and Group II relate to a single general inventive concept by sharing corresponding special technical features is found persuasive, therefore the restriction requirement is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 13 – 15, 18 – 21, 23 – 25 and 28 – 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Kaippallimalil US PGPub: US 2014/0185603 A1 Jul. 3, 2014 and in view of
Lee US PGPub: US 2022/0338000 A1 Oct. 20, 2022.
Regarding claim 13, Kaippallimalil discloses,
a method performed by a non-seamless wireless local area network WLAN offload NSWO function NSWOF entity in a wireless communication system (a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE includes setting up, by the network component, a link layer channel, sending, by the network component, an identifier of the link layer channel to the UE; and communicating, by the network component, with the UE over the link layer channel using a WLAN control protocol WLCP, wherein the WLAN comprises a trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN – ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0004 – 0007.
The WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover. Second, network-UE: L2 Point-to-Point Link Identifier, and may also include APN, PCO, or UE's IP address. Third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), the method comprising:
receiving, from a WLAN access network AN (the AAA server/proxy obtains the identifier of the link channel from a trusted WLAN access gateway TWAG – Figs. 4A, 4B, paragraph 0032), an extensible authentication protocol EAP identify ID response message (EAP-RSP/AKA’-IDENTITY – Fig. 4A/step 8. The EAP and authentication, authorization and accounting AAA protocol – i.e., remote authentication dial in user service RADIUS)/Diameter, are used to exchange this information – paragraph 0036) including a network access identifier NAI format (third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0048);
transmitting, to an authentication server function AUSF entity, a first authentication request message (the authentication, authorization and accounting AAA server/proxy obtains the identifier of the link channel from a TWAG. The identifier of the link channel may include a media access control MAC address of one of a trusted WLAN access gateway TWAG and a Trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN - paragraph 0029); and
receiving, from the AUSF entity, a first authenticate response message including an EAP request message (sent from the AAA to the UE in step 13a, step 13b - as a parameter of EAP-REQ – Figs. 4B/step 13a, 4B/ step 13b, paragraph 0043),
but, does not disclose, “including a subscription concealed identifier SUCI in” a network access identifier NAI format; and
a first authentication request message including the SUCI.
Lee teaches, a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor (ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 - 0025).
The subscriber UE may transmit an indicator for requesting 5G user activation, an identifier of the 5G user, and an identifier - e.g., subscription concealed identifier SUCI of the subscriber UE to the AMF. The 5G user activation request refers to that the 5G user specified by the 5G user identifier requests permission to access the mobile communication operator network using the subscriber UE (paragraph 0074).
The AMF 402 may receive a user verification information generation request, a subscriber identifier (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI, SUPI, etc.), and a user identifier from the subscriber UE 401, and may initiate an authentication procedure for the subscriber (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE of Kaippallimalil (Kaippallimalil ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), wherein the system of Kaippallimalil, would have incorporated a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor of Lee (Lee, ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 – 0025, 0074, 0131) for enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator (Lee, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 14, Kaippallimalil discloses,
the method of claim 13, wherein the NSWOF entity acts as a service based interface SBI (a service set identification SSID selected during authentication, configuration downloaded during authorization in a user profile, etc., – paragraph 0019, 0034) and an authentication, authorization, and accounting AAA proxy between the AUSF entity and the WLAN AN (proxy AAA is in-between 3GPP AAA server and Non-3GPP Access – Fig. 4A).
Regarding claim 15, Kaippallimalil discloses,
the method of claim 13, wherein the first authentication request message further includes a NSWO indicator, and wherein the NSWO indicator is used to indicate that the first authentication request message is for a NSWO (the WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover – paragraph 0025).
Regarding claim 18, Kaippallimalil discloses,
a method performed by a wireless local area network WLAN access network AN in a wireless communication system (a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE includes setting up, by the network component, a link layer channel, sending, by the network component, an identifier of the link layer channel to the UE; and communicating, by the network component, with the UE over the link layer channel using a WLAN control protocol WLCP, wherein the WLAN comprises a trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN – ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0004 – 0007.
The WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover. Second, network-UE: L2 Point-to-Point Link Identifier, and may also include APN, PCO, or UE's IP address. Third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment UE (a network component, such as a TWAG, sends an identifier of the link layer channel to the UE comprises sending by an authentication, authorization and accounting AAA server/proxy an identifier of a link channel to the UE in an extensible authentication protocol EAP message. The EAP message may include an EAP request – Figs. 4A/step 2, 4A/step 7 paragraph 0029), an extensible authentication protocol EAP identity ID request message (EAP-RSP/AKA’-IDENTITY – Fig. 4A/step 8. The EAP and authentication, authorization and accounting AAA protocol – i.e., remote authentication dial in user service RADIUS)/Diameter, are used to exchange this information – paragraph 0036);
receiving, from the UE, an EAP ID response message (EAP-RSP/IDENTITY – Figs. 4A/step 3, 4A/step 8) a network access identifier NAI format (third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0048); and
as a response to the EAP ID response message, transmitting, to a non-seamless wireless local area network WLAN offload NSWO function NSWOF entity (the WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover. Second, network-UE: L2 Point-to-Point Link Identifier, and may also include APN, PCO, or UE's IP address. Third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033. The authentication, authorization and accounting AAA server/proxy obtains the identifier of the link channel from a TWAG. The identifier of the link channel may include a media access control MAC address of one of a trusted WLAN access gateway TWAG and a Trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN - paragraph 0029),
but, does not disclose, “including a subscription concealed identifier SUCI in” a network access identifier NAI format; and
the EAP ID response message including the SUCI.
Lee teaches, a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor (ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 - 0025).
The subscriber UE may transmit an indicator for requesting 5G user activation, an identifier of the 5G user, and an identifier - e.g., subscription concealed identifier SUCI of the subscriber UE to the AMF. The 5G user activation request refers to that the 5G user specified by the 5G user identifier requests permission to access the mobile communication operator network using the subscriber UE (paragraph 0074).
The AMF 402 may receive a user verification information generation request, a subscriber identifier (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI, SUPI, etc.), and a user identifier from the subscriber UE 401, and may initiate an authentication procedure for the subscriber (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE of Kaippallimalil (Kaippallimalil ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), wherein the system of Kaippallimalil, would have incorporated a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor of Lee (Lee, ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 – 0025, 0074, 0131) for enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator (Lee, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 19, it is similar to claim 2 above, and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 20, Kaippallimalil discloses all the claimed features,
but, does not disclose, the method of claim 18, wherein transmitting the EAP ID response message is based on a realm part of the SUCI.
Lee teaches, a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor (ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 - 0025).
The subscriber UE may transmit an indicator for requesting 5G user activation, an identifier of the 5G user, and an identifier - e.g., subscription concealed identifier SUCI of the subscriber UE to the AMF. The 5G user activation request refers to that the 5G user specified by the 5G user identifier requests permission to access the mobile communication operator network using the subscriber UE (paragraph 0074).
The AMF 402 may receive a user verification information generation request, a subscriber identifier (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI, SUPI, etc.), and a user identifier from the subscriber UE 401, and may initiate an authentication procedure for the subscriber (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE of Kaippallimalil (Kaippallimalil ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), wherein the system of Kaippallimalil, would have incorporated a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor of Lee (Lee, ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 – 0025, 0074, 0131) for enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator (Lee, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 21, Kaippallimalil discloses,
the method of claim 18, the method further comprising: receiving, from the NSWOF entity, an EAP success message and a master session key MSK key, wherein the MSK key is based on a NSWO indicator (Extensible Authentication Protocol Method for 3rd Generation Authentication and Key Agreement (EAP-AKA – paragraph 0081. EAP-SUCCESS – Figs. 4B/steps 23a - 24).
Regarding claim 23, Kaippallimalil discloses,
a non-seamless wireless local area network WLAN offload NSWO function NSWOF entity in a wireless communication system (a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE includes setting up, by the network component, a link layer channel, sending, by the network component, an identifier of the link layer channel to the UE; and communicating, by the network component, with the UE over the link layer channel using a WLAN control protocol WLCP, wherein the WLAN comprises a trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN – ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0004 – 0007.
The WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover. Second, network-UE: L2 Point-to-Point Link Identifier, and may also include APN, PCO, or UE's IP address. Third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), the NSWOF entity comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 9/950); and
a controller (Fig. 9/910) configured to:
receive, from a WLAN access network AN (the AAA server/proxy obtains the identifier of the link channel from a trusted WLAN access gateway TWAG – Figs. 4A, 4B, paragraph 0032), an extensible authentication protocol EAP identify ID response message (EAP-RSP/AKA’-IDENTITY – Fig. 4A/step 8. The EAP and authentication, authorization and accounting AAA protocol – i.e., remote authentication dial in user service RADIUS)/Diameter, are used to exchange this information – paragraph 0036) including a network access identifier NAI format (third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0048);
transmit, to an authentication server function AUSF entity, a first authentication request message (the authentication, authorization and accounting AAA server/proxy obtains the identifier of the link channel from a TWAG. The identifier of the link channel may include a media access control MAC address of one of a trusted WLAN access gateway TWAG and a Trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN - paragraph 0029); and
receive, from the AUSF entity, a first authenticate response message including an EAP request message (sent from the AAA to the UE in step 13a, step 13b - as a parameter of EAP-REQ – Figs. 4B/step 13a, 4B/ step 13b, paragraph 0043),
but, does not disclose, “including a subscription concealed identifier SUCI in” a network access identifier NAI format; and
a first authentication request message including the SUCI.
Lee teaches, a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor (ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 - 0025).
The subscriber UE may transmit an indicator for requesting 5G user activation, an identifier of the 5G user, and an identifier - e.g., subscription concealed identifier SUCI of the subscriber UE to the AMF. The 5G user activation request refers to that the 5G user specified by the 5G user identifier requests permission to access the mobile communication operator network using the subscriber UE (paragraph 0074).
The AMF 402 may receive a user verification information generation request, a subscriber identifier (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI, SUPI, etc.), and a user identifier from the subscriber UE 401, and may initiate an authentication procedure for the subscriber (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE of Kaippallimalil (Kaippallimalil ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), wherein the system of Kaippallimalil, would have incorporated a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor of Lee (Lee, ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 – 0025, 0074, 0131) for enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator (Lee, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 24, it is similar to claim 2 above, and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 25, it is similar to claim 3 above, and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 28, Kaippallimalil discloses,
a wireless local area network WLAN access network AN in a wireless communication system (a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE includes setting up, by the network component, a link layer channel, sending, by the network component, an identifier of the link layer channel to the UE; and communicating, by the network component, with the UE over the link layer channel using a WLAN control protocol WLCP, wherein the WLAN comprises a trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN – ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0004 – 0007.
The WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover. Second, network-UE: L2 Point-to-Point Link Identifier, and may also include APN, PCO, or UE's IP address. Third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), the WLAN AN comprising:
a transceiver (Fig. 9/950); and
a controller (Fig. 9/910) configured to:
transmit, to a user equipment UE (a network component, such as a TWAG, sends an identifier of the link layer channel to the UE comprises sending by an authentication, authorization and accounting AAA server/proxy an identifier of a link channel to the UE in an extensible authentication protocol EAP message. The EAP message may include an EAP request – Figs. 4A/step 2, 4A/step 7 paragraph 0029), an extensible authentication protocol EAP identity ID request message (EAP-RSP/AKA’-IDENTITY – Fig. 4A/step 8. The EAP and authentication, authorization and accounting AAA protocol – i.e., remote authentication dial in user service RADIUS)/Diameter, are used to exchange this information – paragraph 0036);
receive, from the UE, an EAP ID response message (EAP-RSP/IDENTITY – Figs. 4A/step 3, 4A/step 8) a network access identifier NAI format (third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0048); and
as a response to the EAP ID response message, transmitting, to a non-seamless wireless local area network WLAN offload NSWO function NSWOF entity (the WLCP allows exchange of the following parameters. First, UE-network: APN/Non-Seamless WLAN Offload NSWO indication, Protocol Configuration Options PCO and Request Type – i.e., initial/handover. Second, network-UE: L2 Point-to-Point Link Identifier, and may also include APN, PCO, or UE's IP address. Third, other parameters such as IMSI, NAI, UE's MAC address or other identity of UE in the network – paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033. The authentication, authorization and accounting AAA server/proxy obtains the identifier of the link channel from a TWAG. The identifier of the link channel may include a media access control MAC address of one of a trusted WLAN access gateway TWAG and a Trusted WLAN Access Network TWAN - paragraph 0029),
but, does not disclose, “including a subscription concealed identifier SUCI in” a network access identifier NAI format; and
the EAP ID response message including the SUCI.
Lee teaches, a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor (ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 - 0025).
The subscriber UE may transmit an indicator for requesting 5G user activation, an identifier of the 5G user, and an identifier - e.g., subscription concealed identifier SUCI of the subscriber UE to the AMF. The 5G user activation request refers to that the 5G user specified by the 5G user identifier requests permission to access the mobile communication operator network using the subscriber UE (paragraph 0074).
The AMF 402 may receive a user verification information generation request, a subscriber identifier (e.g., SUCI, 5G-GUTI, SUPI, etc.), and a user identifier from the subscriber UE 401, and may initiate an authentication procedure for the subscriber (paragraph 0131).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify a method in a network component for establishing a control channel with a user equipment UE of Kaippallimalil (Kaippallimalil ABSTRACT, Figs. 2 – 4B, paragraphs 0025, 0030, 0031, 0033), wherein the system of Kaippallimalil, would have incorporated a communication technique for converging, with IoT technology, a 5th generation 5G or pre-5G communication system for supporting a higher data transfer rate beyond the 4th generation 4G communication system such as long term evolution LTE; and a system therefor of Lee (Lee, ABSTRACT, Figs. 5 – 7, paragraphs 0018 – 0025, 0074, 0131) for enable a 5G system to generate a user identifier, to provide optimization performance regarding a more improved user experience by using the same, and to provide a service to devices and a user other than a 3GPP operator (Lee, paragraph 0016).
Regarding claim 29, it is similar to claim 2 above, and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 30, it is similar to claim 20 above, and is rejected on the same grounds.
Regarding claim 31, it is similar to claim 21 above, and is rejected on the same grounds.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16, 17, 22, 26, 27 and 32 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The prior arts made and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicants disclosure.
Faccin US PGPub: US 2015/0020168 A1 Jan. 15, 2015.
A method to support two scenarios in trusted wireless local area network (WLAN) access is provided herein. The method may be performed, for example, by a user equipment (UE). The method generally includes requesting a nonseamless wireless offload (NSWO) connection to a network during an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) procedure and receiving, after successful authentication, at least one of an internet protocol (IP) address or a reason code from a network entity indicating NSWO is not allowed.
Hsu US PGPub: US 2003/0236982 A1 Dec. 25, 2003.
Inter-Working Function (IWF) for interfacing between a Wireless Local Area Network (WLAN) and a communication system. The IWF may contain sufficient information to authenticate a user access to the WLAN, or the IWF may need to request authentication from the communication system. In one embodiment, the IWF sends an access challenge to the WLAN for a user. The IWF may then pass a response to the challenge on to the communication system for authentication. The IWF allows the WLAN to use the authentication capability of the communication system for local authentication.
Zhong US PGPub: US 2020/0252850 A1 Aug. 6, 2020.
A method of automatically switching between WLAN and LTE networks and communication terminal. The method comprises: receiving measurement parameters of signals reported by WLAN and LTE networks; acquiring preset information of network priorities, the network priorities being used to indicate a preferential network used for bearing communication services when WLAN and LTE networks co-exist; and performing a switching operation according to the measurement parameters of signals and the preset information of the network priorities.
Nix US PGPub: US 2020/0162269 A1 May 21, 2020.
Mutually authenticated an ephemeral elliptic curve Diffie Hellman key exchange ECDHE key exchange for a device and a network using multiple PKI key pairs.
A device can (i) store public keys Ss and Sn for a network and (ii) record private key sd. A network can record a corresponding private keys ss and sn. The device can (i) generate a device ephemeral PKI key pair (Ed, ed) and (ii) send public key Ed to the network. The device can receive an ephemeral public key Es from the network. The device can calculate values for A: an elliptic curve point addition over Ss, Sn, and Es, and B: (sd+ed) mod n. The device can input values for X and Y into an elliptic curve Diffie Hellman key exchange (ECDH) in order to determine a mutually derived shared secret X5, where the network can also derive shared secret X5. The device can (i) use X5 to derive a key K2 and (ii) decrypt a ciphertext from the network using key K2.
So US PGPub: US 2013/0308531 A1 Nov. 21, 2013.
A communications system includes a trusted wireless access gateway, a broadband network gateway and a user equipment. The user equipment is configured to transmit an attachment request. The broadband network gateway is configured to receive the attachment request from the user equipment and determine whether the attachment request is an extensible authentication protocol (EAP) authentication request and forward to the trusted wireless gateway the attachment request when is determined that the attachment request is an EAP authentication request. The trusted wireless access gateway is configured to fulfill the attachment request based on a type of the attachment request.
Zamora US PGPub: US 2022/0408249 A1 Dec. 22, 2022.
Initiating primary reauthentication of a communication device by a home network (UDM or AUSF) is provided. A trigger to initiate a primary reauthentication request of a communication device is detected. An authentication status of the subscription permanent identifier (SUPI) of the communication device is checked. Responsive to the authentication status of the SUPI being obsolete or null, a reauthentication message is transmitted towards an access and mobility management function (AMF) node. A reauthentication confirmation message is received. A determination is made as to whether to continue, abort, or postpone any steering of roaming (SoR) updates, any user equipment parameter updates (UPU updates) or any authentication and key agreement for applications (AKMA) procedures based on the reauthentication confirmation message.
Contact Information
/NIMESH PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2642