The present application, filed on or after 16 March 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s submission filed on30 June 2023. THIS ACTION IS NON-FINAL.
Status of Claims
Claims 1-18 are pending.
Claims 16 include limitations interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because it uses a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 for being directed to signal per se.
Claims 1-3, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable.
Claims 4-15 are objected to for depending on rejected laims.
There is no art rejection for claims 4-15.
Claim Interpretation
In claim 16, claim limitations "acquiring module", "constructing module", “computing module", “executing module" have been interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f), because they use a generic placeholder coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to achieve the function. The specification does not provide descriptions of the structure of these elements.
If applicant wishes to provide further explanation or dispute the examiner’s interpretation of the corresponding structure, applicant must identify the corresponding structure with reference to the specification by page and line number, and to the drawing, if any, by reference characters in response to this Office action.
For more information, see MPEP § 2173 et seq. and Supplementary Examination Guidelines for Determining Compliance With 35 U.S.C. 112 and for Treatment of Related Issues in Patent Applications, 76 FR 7162, 7167 (Feb. 9, 2011).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
112(b) Rejection
A claim is indefinite if, when read in light of the specification, it fails to inform, with reasonable certainty, those skilled in the art about the scope of the invention. Nautilus, Inc. v. Biosig Instruments, Inc., 110 USPQ.2d 1688, U.S. Supreme Court (2014).
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, "acquiring module", "constructing module", “computing module", “executing module", the specification does not provide limiting description to determine the scope of this limitation, the claim is therefore indefinite.
35 U.S.C. 112(a) Rejections
Claims 1-3, 6-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 16, "acquiring module", "constructing module", “computing module", “executing module”, The specification does not provide descriptions of the structure of these elements. The claim is therefore rejected for failing to comply with the written description requirement.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Non-Statutory Subject Matter
Claim 17 is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim does not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claim is directed to signal per se, as the storage medium could be transitory signal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cao et al, US-PGPUB NO.20200104740A1 [hereafter Cao] in view of Li et al, “A pre-processing hybrid algorithm for solving ill-conditioned linear equations”, Proceedings of the 2011 international conference on machine learning and cybernetics, Guilin, 10-13, July 2011 [hereafter Li].
With regards to claim 1, Cao teaches “A quantum preprocessing method for a linear system, characterized by comprising: acquiring element information of a first matrix A and a first vector b in a linear system Ax = b (Cao, FIG.1-7, [0054], [0065], [0074], [0101],
); … and constructing a first quantum circuit representing a quantum state evolution of a specific class of element in the second matrix and a second quantum circuit representing a quantum state evolution of a specific class of element in the second vector and executing a quantum state evolution operation respectively on the first quantum circuit and the second quantum circuit, to obtain an evolved quantum state of the first quantum circuit and an evolved quantum state of the second quantum circuit (Cao, FIG.2, 4-6,
)”.
Cao does not explicitly detail “constructing a new matrix M for linear system preprocessing; computing a second matrix A and a second vector b for constructing a quantum circuit, according to the new matrix M”.
However Li teaches “constructing a new matrix M for linear system preprocessing; computing a second matrix A and a second vector b for constructing a quantum circuit, according to the new matrix M (Li, 2. Ill-conditioned matrix pre-processing,
3. Pre-processing hybrid algorithm)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Cao and Li before him or her, to modify the quantum computing system and method of Cao to include linear transformation pre-processing as shown in Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce number of conditions (Li, Abstract).
With regards to claim 2, Cao in view of Li teaches “The method of claim 1, wherein the specific class of element are non-zero elements (Cao, FIG.1, [0113] ‘put the qubits 104 partially or entirely into non-zero state …’)”.
With regards to claim 3, Cao in view of Li teaches
“The method of claim 1”.
Cao does not explicitly detail “wherein the constructing a new matrix M for linear system preprocessing comprises: constructing the new matrix M for linear system preprocessing according to main diagonal elements of the first matrix A; wherein the computing a second matrix A’ and a second vector b’ for constructing a quantum circuit, according to the new matrix M comprises: computing the second matrix A’ and the second vector b’ according to an inverse matrix of the new matrix M, wherein the second matrix A’= M-1 A, and the second vector b'=M-1b”.
However Li teaches “wherein the constructing a new matrix M for linear system preprocessing comprises: constructing the new matrix M for linear system preprocessing according to main diagonal elements of the first matrix A; wherein the computing a second matrix A’ and a second vector b’ for constructing a quantum circuit, according to the new matrix M comprises: computing the second matrix A’ and the second vector b’ according to an inverse matrix of the new matrix M, wherein the second matrix A’= M-1 A, and the second vector b'=M-1b (Li, 2. Ill-conditioned matrix pre-processing, 3. Pre-processing hybrid algorithm)”.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having the teachings of Cao and Li before him or her, to modify the quantum computing system and method of Cao to include linear transformation pre-processing as shown in Li.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce number of conditions (Li, Abstract).
Claims 16-18 are substantially similar to claim 11. The arguments as given above for claim 1 are applied, mutatis mutandis, to claims 16-18, therefore the rejection of claim 1 are applied accordingly.
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure and is recorded on Form PTO-892. Applicant is required under 37 C.F.R. § 1.111 (c) to consider these references fully when responding to this action, with particular attention paid to:
Kerenidis et al., US-PGPUB NO.20210319351A1 [hereafter Kerenidis] shows quantum circuits.
Ulyanov et al., US-PATENT NO.6578018B1 [hereafter Ulyanov] shows quantum computing with quantum gates.
Conclusion
/TSU-CHANG LEE/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2128