DETAILED ACTION
Notice of AIA Status
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 15-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geissler (US 2017/0228627, of record) in view of Martin (US 10402600).
Regarding claim 15, Geissler discloses a medical implant comprising: an integrated port comprising: a housing comprising: a first portion coupled to a second portion ([0107], Fig. 6: “valve assembly 610” is second portion, “integrated port dome 620” is first portion); wherein the first portion and the second portion comprise different materials (Fig. 6: “coil 616” and “patch 622- are of different materials); and a cover over an opening into the housing (Fig. 6: “patch 622” is considered a cover as shown in Fig. 7; “integrated port dome 310” performs a similar function of covering); wherein the first portion faces the cover and allows transmission of electromagnetic signals through the first portion, the first portion being between the second portion and the cover (Fig. 6: “coil 616” emits electromagnetic signals which penetrate at least the first portion, i.e. integrated port dome 620”). Geissler does not explicitly disclose that the second portion includes a material that blocks, attenuates, or prevents transmission of RFID signals from the electromagnetic coil through the second portion in a direction away from the cover. However, Martin teaches a reflective material that blocks transmission of RFID signals (4:6-36). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply the reflective/deflective surface of Martin to the claimed second portion as taught by Geissler, as to provide a manner of concentrating and directing radiation for detection.
Regarding claim 16, Geissler discloses a flexible shell ([0104]: “implant shell may be made of silicone”); wherein the cover of the integrated port is coupled to an inner/outer surface of the shell (Fig. 7A: the patch or integrated port dome is coupled to an outer surface of “shell 700”).
Regarding claim 17, while Geissler does not explicitly disclose that the cover is coupled to the shell with an adhesive, Geissler teaches sealing or bonding is used for attachment to the shell ([0074]). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to apply an adhesive, as to provide enhanced sealing against the shell.
Regarding claim 18, Geissler discloses that there is a shell including silicone ([0102], [0104]: “implant shell may be made of silicone”) and that the cover of the integrated port comprises silicone ([0106]: “integrated port dome 310 may be made of a self-sealing material, such as a silicone material”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JASON M IP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3793