DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to communication filed on 7/1/2026.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments with respect to claims filed on 7/1/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 3-18 and 20-21 remain pending in this application and are currently under consideration for patentability under 37 CFR 1.104. Claims 2 and 19 are canceled from consideration. Claims 20 and 21 are newly added.
The amendments and remarks filed on 7/1/2026 are sufficient to cure the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection set forth in the Non-Final office action mailed on 4/1/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Motokawa et al. (US 20160006006 A1, provided on IDS filed on 9/5/2024).
Motokawa et al. teaches a battery pack (1, Fig. 1) comprising:
a battery module (4, Fig. 1) that houses (see Fig. 1(c); 5 is arranged and held in 6, see [0026]) battery cells (8, Fig. 1) and discharges gas (exhaust gas from the inside of batteries 5 is exhausted from the gas exhaust outlets of safety valves 9, see [0029]; 9 is on 5 housed in 4/6, see Fig. 1(c)) generated from the battery cells (8, Fig. 1);
a pack housing (3, Fig. 1) that houses the battery module (4, Fig. 1), the pack housing (3, Fig. 3) having an outlet port (24, Fig. 2; note: duct space 24 has an opening for discharging gas, see 25, Fig. 1) in a first surface (first surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2), the outlet port (24, Fig. 2) being configured to discharge gas (exhaust gas released through duct space 24 to the outside, see [0042]) from the battery module (4, Fig. 1);
a venting member (10, Fig. 2) configured to cover (via 14 of 10, see Fig. 2) the outlet port (24, Fig. 2) at an outer surface (outer surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pack housing (3, Fig. 2), to detachably couple (via 14 detachably couples to 16, see Figs. 1 and 2) to the outer surface (outer surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pack housing (3, Fig. 2), and to discharge gas (10 connects 3 and 4 to form 24, see Fig. 2; thus the exhaust gas from safety valves 9 released through duct space 24 from a predetermined exhaust port to the outside following flow 25, see [0042]) from inside (24 locates at inside of 3, see Fig. 2) the pack housing (3, Fig. 2); and
an elongate (16 has length L, see Fig. 1) protrusion (16, Fig. 2) located along the outer surface (outer surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pack housing (3, Fig. 2) in one direction (X direction, Fig. 1), the elongate protrusion (16, Fig. 2) extending away (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) from the outer surface (outer surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pack housing (3, Fig. 2),
wherein the venting member (10, Fig. 1) has an elongate (14 has length of Lo, see Fig. 1) groove (14, Fig. 1), a cross sectional shape of the elongate groove (14, Fig. 2) corresponding (see Fig. 2) to a cross sectional shape of the elongate protrusion (16, Fig. 2), and
wherein the venting member (10, Fig. 1) is configured to slidably and detachably couple (see Fig. 1) to the outer surface (outer surface, Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 2) of the pack housing (3, Fig. 1) by sliding the venting member (10, Fig. 1) along the one direction (X direction, Fig. 1) such that the elongate groove (14, Fig. 2) engages (see Fig. 2) with the elongate protrusion (16, Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, 7-8 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Terauchi et al. (US 20200358127 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hosokawa teaches a battery pack (vehicle battery pack, [0021]) comprising:
a battery module (5, Fig. 1) that houses battery cells (1, Fig. 1) and discharges gas generated from the battery cells (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]);
a pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) that houses the battery module (5, Fig. 1), the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) having an outlet port (11b, Figs 1 and 3A) in a first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1), the outlet port (11b, Fig. 1 and 3A) being configured to discharge gas from the battery module (evacuating the internal gas via 11b, see [0025]);
a venting member (31, Figs 1 and 3A) configured to cover the outlet port (11b, Figs 1 and 3A) at an outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), to detachably couple (31 detachably coupled to 11a, see Fig. 3A; [0027]) the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and to discharge gas from inside the pack housing (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]); and
a fastener (50, Fig. 3A) configured to detachably couple (see Fig. 3A) the venting member (31, Fig. 3A) to the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), the fastener (50, Fig. 3A) including a bolt (51, Fig. 3A) passing through the venting member (31, Fig. 3A) and a nut (52, Fig. 3A) into which the bolt (51, Fig. 3A) is inserted,
wherein a first of the bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) or the nut is affixed to the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and
wherein a second of the bolt or the nut (outer nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is configured to detachably couple (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) to the first of the bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) or the nut.
Hosokawa does not teach wherein a first of the bolt or the nut is non-removably affixed to the first surface of the pack housing, and
wherein a second of the bolt or the nut is outside of the pack housing.
Terauchi et al. teaches wherein a first of the bolt (5, Fig. 5) or the nut is non-removably (5 fixed to 4 by swaging or welding, [0053]; note: both welding and swaging are considered non-removable (permanent) joining methods) affixed to the first surface (4b, Fig. 5) of the pack housing (4, Fig. 5), and
wherein a second of the bolt or the nut (6, Fig. 5) is outside (6 is outside of 4, see Fig. 5) of the pack housing (4, Fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the bolt and the nut taught by Hosokawa by rearranging the way of coupling the bolt and the nut, having the nut screwed onto the bolt, and placing the nut at the outside of the binding bar as taught by Terauchi et al. to prevent loosening of bolts over a long period of time (see Terauchi et al. [0005]) and by fixing the bolt via the swaging or welding taught by Terauchi et al. because swaging and welding are known joining methods in the art (see Terauchi [0053]).
Regarding claim 3, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. teaches wherein:
the first of the bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) or the nut is the bolt such that the bolt is a fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) non-removably affixed (swaging or welding, see Terauchi [0053]; note: after modification with Terauchi by swaging or welding, first of bolt of Hosokawa is non-removably attached to the top plate inside-out) to the first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1), and
the nut (52, Hosokawa Fig. 3A) comprises an outer nut (outer nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) configured to detachably couple (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) to the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) outside (note: outer nut is outside of 11 after modification with Terauchi) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 4, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. teaches wherein:
a housing hole (hole in 11 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 1, 3A) is formed in the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1), and
the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is arranged such that the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) passes through the housing hole (hole in 11 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 1, 3A) while being non-removably (swaging or welding, see Terauchi [0053]; note: after modification with Terauchi by swaging or welding, first of bolt of Hosokawa is non-removable joint) affixed to an inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. teaches wherein: the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) comprises a head part (head part, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) and a screw part (screw part, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5); note: modification with Terauchi makes the nut screwed onto the bolt), the head part (head part, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) being non-removably affixed (swaging or welding, see Terauchi [0053]; note: after modification with Terauchi by swaging or welding, first of bolt of Hosokawa is non-removable joint inside-out therefore the head part affixed to the inner surface of the cover plate) to the inner surface (inner surface, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1), the screw part (screw part, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5) extending from the head part (head part, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) and passing through the housing hole (hole in 11 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 1, 3A).
Regarding claim 7, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. teaches wherein:
a through hole (hole in 31 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 3A) is formed in the venting member (31, Hosokawa Fig. 3A), and
the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) is arranged such that an outside portion (after modification with Terauchi, the bolt is inside out, therefore an outside portion is the screw part, screw part see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) of the fixed bolt passes through the through hole (hole in 31 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 3A) where the outer nut (outer nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)) is configured to detachably couple (after modification with Terauchi, the outer nut is outside of the cover plate and screwed onto the first of bolt) to the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A (claim 5)).
Regarding claim 8, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. teaches wherein:
the fixed bolt (first of bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is non-removably affixed (note: after modification with Terauchi by swaging or welding, first of bolt of Hosokawa is non-removably attached to the top plate inside-out) to the first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1) of the pack housing by a welding junction (swaging or welding, see Terauchi [0053]) or an adhesive.
Regarding claim 17, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. does not teach further comprising: a pack housing cover that covers an opened upper part of the pack housing.
In a different embodiment (note: this is the embodiment when a gas exhaust hole is provided in the tray member, see [0011]; alternatively, when 11b and 31 are provided on 12, see Fig. 1), Hosokawa teaches further comprising: a pack housing cover (10 Fig. 1) that covers an opened upper part (see Fig. 1) of the pack housing (20, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. by putting/relocating the through hole and the closing member onto the tray member as taught by Hosokawa because Hosokawa teaches that such configuration is known in the art (see Hosokawa [0011]). Further, it has been held that combining two embodiments disclosed adjacent to each other in a prior art patent does not require a leap of inventiveness and involves only routine skill in the art.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Terauchi et al. (US 20200358127 A1) in view of Nierhoff et al. (DE 102016115037 A1, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 6, Hosokawa in view of Terauchi et al. does not teach wherein: the fixed bolt is non-removably affixed to the outer surface of the pack housing.
Nierhoff et al. teaches wherein: the fixed bolt (16, Fig. 1) is non-removably affixed (16 is a welding bolt on top surface of 4 (with the head of bolt welded on top surface of 4), see [0057] and Fig. 1) to the outer surface (top surface of 4, see Fig. 1) of the pack housing (1a, Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the Hosokawa by adding the welding bolts and the weld nut taught by Nierhoff et al. to avoid any additional opening being formed into the inner region of the housing (see Nierhoff et al. [0057]). When the welding bolts are added to the top plate and the weld nut added to the closing member of Hosokawa, the closing member can then be screwed onto the welding bolts of the top plate without any additional opening/hold being formed into the top plate.
Claims 1, 9-10, 12-13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (JP 2016102576 A, provided on IDS filed on 6/30/2023, citations see machine translation).
Regarding claim 1, Hosokawa teaches a battery pack (vehicle battery pack, [0021]) comprising:
a battery module (5, Fig. 1) that houses battery cells (1, Fig. 1) and discharges gas generated from the battery cells (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]);
a pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) that houses the battery module (5, Fig. 1), the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) having an outlet port (11b, Figs 1 and 3A) in a first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1), the outlet port (11b, Fig. 1 and 3A) being configured to discharge gas from the battery module (evacuating the internal gas via 11b, see [0025]);
a venting member (31, Figs 1 and 3A) configured to cover the outlet port (11b, Figs 1 and 3A) at an outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), to detachably couple (31 detachably coupled to 11a, see Fig. 3A; [0027]) the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and to discharge gas from inside the pack housing (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]); and
a fastener (50, Fig. 3A) configured to detachably couple (see Fig. 3A) the venting member (31, Fig. 3A) to the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), the fastener (50, Fig. 3A) including a bolt (51, Fig. 3A) passing through the venting member (31, Fig. 3A) and a nut (52, Fig. 3A) into which the bolt (51, Fig. 3A) is inserted,
wherein a first of the bolt or the nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is affixed to the first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and
wherein a second of the bolt (outer bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) or the nut is configured to detachably couple to the first of the bolt or the nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) outside of the pack housing (at least part of the outer bolt is outside of 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A).
Hosokawa does not teach non-removably affixed.
Kawaguchi et al. teaches non-removably affixed (6 permanently fixed to 2 after adhesive 8 cured, see Fig. (d) and [0019]-[0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection how the fixed nut coupled to the inner surface of the top plate taught by Hosokawa by adding the adhesive and thus to be permanently fixed after the adhesive cured as taught by Kawaguchi et al. to fix the nut to the to-be-fastened member by simple equipment and simple work without requiring large-scale equipment and complicated work such as welding (see Kawaguchi et al. [0021]).
Regarding claim 9, Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. teaches wherein:
the first of the bolt or the nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is the nut such that the nut is a fixed nut non-removably affixed (when the adhesive 8 cured, see Kawaguchi Fig. (d) and [0019]-[0020]) to an inner surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and
the bolt (outer bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) comprises an outer bolt (outer bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) configured to detachably couple (see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) to the fixed nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) outside of the pack housing (at least part of the outer bolt is outside of 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 10, Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. teaches wherein:
a housing hole (hole in 11 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 1, 3A) is formed in the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1), and
the fixed nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is non-removably affixed (when the adhesive 8 cured, see Kawaguchi Fig. (d) and [0019]-[0020]) to the inner surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1), the fixed nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) being arranged to cover the housing hole (hole in 11 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 1, 3A).
Regarding claim 12, Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. teaches wherein:
a through hole (hole in 31 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 3A) is formed in the venting member (31, Hosokawa Fig. 3A), and
the outer bolt (outer bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) sequentially passes through the through hole (hole in 31 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 3A) and the housing hole (hole in 11 where 51 is located, see Hosokawa Fig. 1, 3A) to be fastened to the fixed nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 13, Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. teaches wherein:
the fixed nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is non-removably affixed (when the adhesive 8 cured, see Kawaguchi Fig. (b) and (d) and [0019]-[0020]) to the inner surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1) by a welding junction or an adhesive (8, Kawaguchi Fig. (b)).
Regarding Claim 18, Hosokawa teaches a device (vehicle, see abstract) comprising the battery pack according to
a battery pack (vehicle battery pack, [0021]) comprising:
a battery module (5, Fig. 1) that houses battery cells (1, Fig. 1) and discharges gas generated from the battery cells (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]);
a pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) that houses the battery module (5, Fig. 1), the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) having an outlet port (11b, Figs 1 and 3A) in a first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1), the outlet port (11b, Fig. 1 and 3A) being configured to discharge gas from the battery module (evacuating the internal gas via 11b, see [0025]);
a venting member (31, Figs 1 and 3A) configured to cover the outlet port (11b, Figs 1 and 3A) at an outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), to detachably couple (31 detachably coupled to 11a, see Fig. 3A; [0027]) the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and to discharge gas from inside the pack housing (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]); and
a fastener (50, Fig. 3A) configured to detachably couple (see Fig. 3A) the venting member (31, Fig. 3A) to the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), the fastener (50, Fig. 3A) including a bolt (51, Fig. 3A) passing through the venting member (31, Fig. 3A) and a nut (52, Fig. 3A) into which the bolt (51, Fig. 3A) is inserted,
wherein a first of the bolt or the nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) is affixed to the first surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and
wherein a second of the bolt (outer bolt, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) or the nut is configured to detachably couple to the first of the bolt or the nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) outside of the pack housing (at least part of the outer bolt is outside of 11, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A).
Hosokawa does not teach non-removably affixed.
Kawaguchi et al. teaches non-removably affixed (6 permanently fixed to 2 after adhesive 8 cured, see Fig. (d) and [0019]-[0020]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the connection how the fixed nut coupled to the inner surface of the top plate taught by Hosokawa by adding the adhesive and thus to be permanently fixed after the adhesive cured as taught by Kawaguchi et al. to fix the nut to the to-be-fastened member by simple equipment and simple work without requiring large-scale equipment and complicated work such as welding (see Kawaguchi et al. [0021]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (JP 2016102576 A, provided on IDS filed on 6/30/2023, citations see machine translation) in view of Suenaga et al. (US 20220013852 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. teaches wherein:
the fixed nut (fixed nut, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A) being non-removably affixed (when the adhesive 8 cured, see Kawaguchi Fig. (b) and (d) and [0019]-[0020]) to the inner surface (inner surface/interior surfaces of 12, see Examiner’s Annotated Fig. 3A; 12 see Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Hosokawa Fig. 1).
Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. does not teach wherein:
the fixed nut comprises a columnar main body formed with screw threads on an inner surface, and an attachment part configured to extend from the columnar main body.
Suenaga et al. teaches wherein:
the fixed nut (53, Fig. 8(b)) comprises a columnar main body (53b, Fig. 8(b); cylindrical, See [0092]) formed with screw threads (53a, Fig. 8(b)) on an inner surface (formed inside, See [0092]), and an attachment part (53t, Fig. 8(b)) configured to extend from the columnar main body (53b, Fig. 8(b)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to substitute the fixed nut (while keeps the location of the fixed nut and the method of coupling the nut to top plate via cured adhesive) taught by Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. with the fixed nut with the stud nut taught by Suenaga et al. to have the battery case fixed on the vehicle body side (see Suenaga et al. [0093]). When the fixed nut being replaced by Suenaga’s stud nut, the brim part permanently fixed to the top plate of Hosokawa via the cured adhesive.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Kawaguchi et al. (JP 2016102576 A, provided on IDS filed on 6/30/2023, citations see machine translation) in view of in view of Aoyanagi et al. (JP 2013089375 A, provided on IDS filed 6/30/2023, citation see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 16, Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. is silent wherein:
the venting member comprises a venting cap in which a venting hole is formed, a support ring in contact with the pack housing and a rupture disk located between the venting cap and the support ring.
Aoyanagi et al. teaches wherein:
the venting member (1, Fig. 2) comprises a venting cap (30/40, Fig. 2) in which a venting hole (102, Fig. 2) is formed, a support ring (10, Fig. 2) in contact with the pack housing (101, Fig. 2) and a rupture disk (20, Fig. 2) located between the venting cap (30/40, Fig. 2) and the support ring (10, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the closing member taught by Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi et al. by adding the retainer/protective plate in which the exhaust hole is formed, the gasket and the rupture disc located between the retainer/protective plate and the gasket as taught by Aoyanagi et al. to have a rupture disc which partially breaks at a predetermined internal pressure and to have a protective plate protecting the rupture disc from being damaged accidentally and preventing the entry of foreign matter (see Aoyanagi et al. [0006], [0010], [0019]).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Gau et al. (US 20100136425 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Hosokawa teaches a battery pack (vehicle battery pack, [0021]) comprising:
a battery module (5, Fig. 1) that houses battery cells (1, Fig. 1) and discharges gas generated from the battery (internal gas goes from 1 to 5 to outside of battery; see [0025]);
a pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) that houses the battery module (5, Fig. 1), the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1) having an outlet port (11b, Fig. 1) in a first surface (11a, Fig. 1), the outlet port (11b, Fig. 1) being configured to discharge gas (evacuating internal gas, [0025]) from the battery module (5, Fig. 1); and
a venting member (31, Fig. 1) configured to cover the outlet port (11b, Fig. 1) at an outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), to detachably couple (31 detachably coupled to 11a via 50(51/52), see Fig. 3A) to the outer surface (11a/surface of 12, Fig. 1) of the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1), and to discharge gas from inside (evacuating internal gas, [0025]) the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1),
thereby detachably coupling (31 detachably coupled to 11a via 50(51/52), see Fig. 3A) the venting member (31, Fig. 1) with the pack housing (10/20, Fig. 1).
Hosokawa does not teach wherein the pack housing comprises an assembly member extending from the outer surface of the pack housing, the assembly member having a coupling portion configured to rotate independently of the pack housing,
wherein an assembly groove is formed in the venting member,
wherein an assembly protrusion is formed in the coupling portion of the assembly member, and
wherein when the assembly member rotates toward the venting member, the assembly protrusion engages with the assembly groove.
Gau et al. teaches wherein the pack housing (21, Fig. 3C) comprises an assembly member (23, Fig. 3C) extending from the outer surface (2131, Fig. 3C) of the pack housing (21, Fig. 3C), the assembly member (23, Fig. 3C) having a coupling portion (231, Fig. 3C) configured to rotate independently (see Fig. 4C) of the pack housing (21, Fig. 4C),
wherein an assembly groove (2122, Fig. 3C; note: 2122 form a groove to match 2311, see Fig. 4D) is formed in the venting member (212, Fig. 3C),
wherein an assembly protrusion (2311, Fig. 3C) is formed in the coupling portion (231, Fig. 3C) of the assembly member (23, Fig. 3C), and
wherein when the assembly member (23, Fig. 3C) rotates toward (see Fig. 4C and 4D) the venting member (212, Fig. 3C), the assembly protrusion (2311, Fig. 4D) engages with the assembly groove (2122, Fig. 4D).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to replace the bolt/nut connection of the cover member and the closing member taught by Hosokawa with the connection formed by adding the handle with the clamping blocks and by adding the stopping blocks taught by Gau et al. to form an interference constraint once the clamping block is engaged with the stopping block such that to resist an unexpected external force (see Gau et al. [0025]). When the handle with the clamping blocks added on the top plate and the stopping blocks added on the closing member, the handle rotates toward the closing member and the clamping blocks engage with the stopping blocks to have the closing member detachably coupled with the top plate.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Motokawa et al. (US 20160006006 A1, provided on IDS filed on 9/5/2024) in view of in view of Aoyanagi et al. (JP 2013089375 A, provided on IDS filed 6/30/2023, citation see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 20, Motokawa et al. is silent wherein:
the venting member comprises a venting cap in which a venting hole is formed, a support ring in contact with the pack housing and a rupture disk located between the venting cap and the support ring.
Aoyanagi et al. teaches wherein:
the venting member (1, Fig. 2) comprises a venting cap (30/40, Fig. 2) in which a venting hole (102, Fig. 2) is formed, a support ring (10, Fig. 2) in contact with the pack housing (101, Fig. 2) and a rupture disk (20, Fig. 2) located between the venting cap (30/40, Fig. 2) and the support ring (10, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the lid taught by Motokawa et al. by adding the retainer/protective plate, the gasket and the rupture disc located between the retainer/protective plate and the gasket as taught by Aoyanagi et al. to have a rupture disc which partially breaks at a predetermined internal pressure and to have a protective plate protecting the rupture disc from being damaged accidentally and preventing the entry of foreign matter (see Aoyanagi et al. [0006], [0010], [0019]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A, citations see machine translation) in view of Gau et al. (US 20100136425 A1) in view of in view of Aoyanagi et al. (JP 2013089375 A, provided on IDS filed 6/30/2023, citation see machine translation).
Regarding Claim 21, Hosokawa in view of Gau et al. is silent wherein:
the venting member comprises a venting cap in which a venting hole is formed, a support ring in contact with the pack housing and a rupture disk located between the venting cap and the support ring.
Aoyanagi et al. teaches wherein:
the venting member (1, Fig. 2) comprises a venting cap (30/40, Fig. 2) in which a venting hole (102, Fig. 2) is formed, a support ring (10, Fig. 2) in contact with the pack housing (101, Fig. 2) and a rupture disk (20, Fig. 2) located between the venting cap (30/40, Fig. 2) and the support ring (10, Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to modify the closing member taught by Hosokawa in view of Gau et al. by adding the retainer/protective plate in which the exhaust hole is formed, the gasket and the rupture disc located between the retainer/protective plate and the gasket as taught by Aoyanagi et al. to have a rupture disc which partially breaks at a predetermined internal pressure and to have a protective plate protecting the rupture disc from being damaged accidentally and preventing the entry of foreign matter (see Aoyanagi et al. [0006], [0010], [0019]).
Response to Arguments
Regarding claims 1 and 3-13: regarding Hosokawa and Cho, applicant states that neither Hosokawa nor Cho teaches either the bolt 51 or the nut 52 are non-removably affixed to the first surface of the pack housing.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, Examiner agrees with the applicant that neither Hosokawa nor Cho teaches the amended recitation in claim 1 “bolt or nut is non-removably affixed to the first surface of the pack housing”. However, the aforementioned recitation has been taught by Terauchi (bolt non-removably affixed to the first surface of the pack housing by swaging or welding, see [0053] and Fig. 5) and by Kawaguchi (nut non-removably affixed to the first surface of the pack housing by the cured adhesive, see Fig. (d)). Therefore, new ground rejection of claim 1 has been relied on the combination of Hosokawa in view of Terauchi or the combination of Hosokawa in view of Kawaguchi.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground (see rejection above) of rejection (claim 14 relies on Motokawa (US 20160006006 A1)) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding claims 15-18, applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground (see rejection above) of rejection (claim 15 relies on Hosokawa (JP 2014107178 A) in view of Gau (US 20100136425 A1)) does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Further, the Examiner respectfully points out that claims 16-18 are not depend from independent claim 15, thus arguments with respect to claims 16-18 are moot.
Therefore, for the aforementioned reason a new rejection of the claims in view of the amendments is made (see rejection above).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1723 /TIFFANY LEGETTE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1723