Response to Amendment
The amendment filed December 9, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 10-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant did not provide any arguments with respect to independent claim 9. Accordingly, the rejection of claim 9 is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0059054).
Regarding claim 9, Lee teaches “[a] method of operating a wireless communication device connectable to a communications network, the method comprising: obtaining, from the communications network, at least one configuration of one or more sporadically-on transmissions of tracking reference signals” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076]; the AGI may be considered to be one type of downlink control indicator (DCI) format (i.e., configuration obtained from the communications network); the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location (i.e., availability) of the A-TRS (i.e., sporadically-on transmissions of tracking reference signals) with respect to the AGI),
Lee further teaches “in accordance with one or more predefined rules, inferring at least one availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076]; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period (i.e., inferring at least one availability of the sporadically-on transmissions)), and
Lee further teaches “when operating in the disconnected mode: monitoring for the tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted by the communications network in accordance with the at least one availability, wherein the tracking reference signals are suitable for maintaining synchronization with the communications network” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], and [0073] – [0076]; use of an indicator that indicates the presence of grants during an on-duration of each DRX (i.e., when operating in disconnected mode) or CDRX cycle, the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 10-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Noh et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2019/0356444).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches “[a] method of operating a wireless communication device connectable to a communications network, the method comprising: - when operating in a disconnected mode: receiving, from the communications network, a downlink control information message on a downlink control channel, the downlink control information message comprising availability information indicative of at least one availability of one or more sporadically-on transmissions of tracking reference signals” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], and [0073] – [0076]; use of an indicator that indicates the presence of grants during an on-duration of each DRX (i.e., when operating in disconnected mode) or CDRX cycle, and is referred to herein as an Advanced Grant Indicator (AGI), but also generally as a “grant indicator” or simply “indicator”; the AGI may be configured to be a trigger for the A-TRS [aperiodic tracking reference signal(s)] (i.e., sporadically-on transmissions of tracking reference signals); the AGI may be considered to be one type of downlink control indicator (DCI) format (i.e., the AGI is a downlink control information message) for a PDCCH (downlink control channel); the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location (i.e., availability) of the A-TRS (i.e., sporadically-on transmissions of tracking reference signals) with respect to the AGI (i.e., the downlink control information message availability information indicative of at least one availability of one or more sporadically-on transmissions of tracking reference signals)), and
Lee further teaches “when operating in the disconnected mode: monitoring for the tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted by the communications network in accordance with the at least one availability” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076]; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI. Thus, reception of the AGI would configure the UE (communications device) to monitor for the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted)),
Lee further teaches “wherein the tracking reference signals are suitable for maintaining synchronization with the communications network” (see ¶¶ [0031] and [0032]; UE may use the periodic TRSs in the DL transmissions to achieve or maintain timing and frequency tracking, which is used for synchronization with incoming signals; when DRX or CDRX is configured, the occurrence of the periodic TRS signaling used in transmissions may not be aligned with the DRX or CDRX cycle and, thus, the UE may not have an updated tracking loop available during an on-duration of the DRX or CDRX cycle, which is the period of time in the cycle when DL reception is being performed; in order to better ensure that a UE device will have an updated tracking loop available during each DRX or CDRX cycle, use of an aperiodic tracking reference signal (A-TRS) at the beginning of a DRX or CDRX cycle, rather than a periodic TRS provided regardless of the DRX or CDRX cycle or point in the DRX or CDRX cycle. Thus, in DRX mode (disconnected mode) the A-TRS (the tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) is used for maintaining the synchronization with the communications network).
Lee does not explicitly disclose “wherein the availability information comprises one or more of the following: - a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions; - an indication of a currently active sporadically-on transmission selected from multiple sporadically-on transmissions; - an index selected from a plurality of predefined indices of a codebook of indices, the index specifying a currently active or inactive sporadically-on transmission selected from multiple sporadically-on transmissions; and - an indicator indicative of the at least one availability in accordance with a codebook that is fixed in a communications protocol or that is defined in a configuration information provided by the communications network” of claim 1. However, foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Noh teaches “wherein the availability information comprises one or more of the following: - a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions; - an indication of a currently active sporadically-on transmission selected from multiple sporadically-on transmissions; - an index selected from a plurality of predefined indices of a codebook of indices, the index specifying a currently active or inactive sporadically-on transmission selected from multiple sporadically-on transmissions; and - an indicator indicative of the at least one availability in accordance with a codebook that is fixed in a communications protocol or that is defined in a configuration information provided by the communications network” (see ¶¶ [0164] and [0165]; BWP change for TRS transmission (i.e., update at least one configuration) can be explicitly or implicitly indicated; base station may instruct the terminal to perform BWP switching through a BWP indicator field of DCI for PDSCH scheduling; if it is determined that the TRS transmission is required in the BWP changed, the base station may trigger an A-TRS (one or more sporadically-on transmissions) to the terminal through a CSI request field of DCI for PUSCH scheduling; therefore, either of the BWP indicator field or the CSI request field of DCI received by the terminal can be a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Noh to have the DCI also indicate a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve efficiency in transmitting and receiving a reference signal (see ¶ [0006] of Noh).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the downlink control information message comprises scheduling information for a further communication, wherein the further communication comprises a paging message or a system information block message transmitted by the communications network on a downlink shared channel” (see ¶¶ [0068], [0070], and [0075] of Lee; allocate one or more REs to carry DL control information; the PDCCH may be a downlink (DL) grant to schedule a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (i.e., scheduling information for further communication on a downlink shared channel); one or more REs may be allocated for user data or traffic data, such as to carry system information blocks (SIBs)).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the downlink control information message comprises an information element explicitly indicative of the at least one availability” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] of Lee; the AGI may be considered to be one type of downlink control indicator (DCI) format; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots (i.e., explicitly indicative of the at least one availability) to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS with respect to the AGI. Thus, an information element within the DCI explicitly indicates the at least one availability of the tracking reference signal sporadically transmitted).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the downlink control information message comprises a checksum that is scrambled using one of multiple predefined temporary identifiers, wherein a selection of the one of the multiple predefined temporary identifiers is indicative of the at least one availability” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076], and [0082] – [0086] of Lee; the AGI could be scrambled with a Radio Network Temporary Identifier (RNTI) or similar identifier; the information within the AGI may include an identifier (ID) when used for a particular UE, a group ID when used for a group of UEs; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location (availability) of the A-TRS).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the availability information comprises a validity of the at least one availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period (i.e., validity duration during the availability of tracking reference signal is valid)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the availability information comprises one or more of the following: - multiple availabilities for multiple sporadically-on transmissions” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] and [0080], and FIG. 4 of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS; multiple A-TRS (sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals) signals occurring is shown within a slot of frame. Thus, the availability information of AGI comprises multiple availabilities for multiple sporadically-on transmissions).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 1, and further teaches “selecting between said monitoring for the tracking reference signals and monitoring for further reference signals of an always-on transmission of the further reference signals, depending on the at least one availability” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], [0073] – [0076], and [0092] of Lee; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; transmission includes an additional reference signal (RS) (i.e., further reference signal) placed prior to the AGI in time that may be used to facilitate AGI detection, where the RS is located in time prior to the AGI and the base station sends an additional reference signal (RS) in time prior to the AGI itself in order to facilitate AGI detection. Thus, if the additional RS (further reference signals) will arrive first, the UE will monitor for the additional RS (further reference signals) first and then the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted), else it will monitor for the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted)).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches the method of claim 7, and further teaches “wherein said selecting is further depending on a predefined or network-defined validity of the availability information” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] and [0092] of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period (i.e., validity duration during the availability of tracking reference signal is valid). Since the base station transmits the AGI, the slot or slots in which A-TRS will be available can be predefined or network-defined).
Regarding claim 10, Lee teaches “[a] method of operating a wireless communication device connectable to a communications network, the method comprising: - when operating in a disconnected mode: receiving, from the communications network, a downlink control information message on a downlink control channel, the downlink control information message comprising scheduling information for a further message” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], [0068], and [0073] – [0076]; use of an indicator that indicates the presence of grants during an on-duration of each DRX (i.e., when operating in disconnected mode) or CDRX cycle; the AGI may be considered to be one type of downlink control indicator (DCI) format (i.e., the AGI is a downlink control information message) for a PDCCH (downlink control channel); allocate one or more REs to carry DL control information; the PDCCH may be a downlink (DL) grant to schedule a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (i.e., scheduling information for further communication on a downlink shared channel)),
Lee further teaches “when operating in the disconnected mode: receiving, in accordance with the scheduling information and from the communications network, the further message on a downlink shared channel, the further message comprising availability information indicative of at least one availability of at least one sporadically-on transmission of tracking reference signals” (see ¶¶ [0068] – [0076]; the frame portion includes AGI, which indicates availability of A-TRS (i.e., the sporadically-on transmission of tracking reference signals)), and
Lee further teaches “when operating in the disconnected mode: monitoring for the tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted by the communications network in accordance with the at least one availability” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076]; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI. Thus, reception of the AGI would configure the UE (communications device) to monitor for the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted),
Lee further teaches “wherein the tracking reference signals are suitable for maintaining synchronization with the communications network” (see ¶¶ [0031] and [0032]; UE may use the periodic TRSs in the DL transmissions to achieve or maintain timing and frequency tracking, which is used for synchronization with incoming signals; when DRX or CDRX is configured, the occurrence of the periodic TRS signaling used in transmissions may not be aligned with the DRX or CDRX cycle and, thus, the UE may not have an updated tracking loop available during an on-duration of the DRX or CDRX cycle, which is the period of time in the cycle when DL reception is being performed; in order to better ensure that a UE device will have an updated tracking loop available during each DRX or CDRX cycle, use of an aperiodic tracking reference signal (A-TRS) at the beginning of a DRX or CDRX cycle, rather than a periodic TRS provided regardless of the DRX or CDRX cycle or point in the DRX or CDRX cycle. Thus, in DRX mode (disconnected mode) the A-TRS (the tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) is used for maintaining the synchronization with the communications network).
For example, Noh teaches “wherein the availability information comprises one or more of the following: - a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions; - an indication of a currently active sporadically-on transmission selected from multiple sporadically-on transmissions; - an index selected from a plurality of predefined indices of a codebook of indices, the index specifying a currently active or inactive sporadically-on transmission selected from multiple sporadically-on transmissions; and - an indicator indicative of the at least one availability in accordance with a codebook that is fixed in a communications protocol or that is defined in a configuration information provided by the communications network” (see ¶¶ [0164] and [0165]; BWP change for TRS transmission (i.e., update at least one configuration) can be explicitly or implicitly indicated; base station may instruct the terminal to perform BWP switching through a BWP indicator field of DCI for PDSCH scheduling; if it is determined that the TRS transmission is required in the BWP changed, the base station may trigger an A-TRS (one or more sporadically-on transmissions) to the terminal through a CSI request field of DCI for PUSCH scheduling; therefore, either of the BWP indicator field or the CSI request field of DCI received by the terminal can be a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Noh to have the DCI also indicate a change indicator indicative of an update of at least one configuration of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve efficiency in transmitting and receiving a reference signal (see ¶ [0006] of Noh).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 10 and further teaches “wherein the downlink control information message is indicative of the availability information having been changed by the communications network with respect to a further availability information previously provided by the communications network” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] of Lee; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI. Since the AGI indicates the availability of the A-TRS, transmission of recent AGI indicates the availability information having been changed (e.g., from a previous availability) to the availability indicated by the AGI (i.e., a further availability information)).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 10 and further teaches “wherein the further message is a system information block” (see ¶¶ [0068], [0070], and [0075] of Lee; allocate one or more REs to carry DL control information; the PDCCH may be a downlink (DL) grant to schedule a Physical Downlink Shared Channel (PDSCH) (i.e., scheduling information for further communication on a downlink shared channel); one or more REs may be allocated for user data or traffic data, such as to carry system information blocks (SIBs)).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the availability information comprises a validity of the at least one availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period (i.e., validity duration during the availability of tracking reference signal is valid)).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the availability information comprises one or more of the following: - multiple availabilities for multiple sporadically-on transmissions” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] and [0080], and FIG. 4 of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS; multiple A-TRS (sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals) signals occurring is shown within a slot of frame. Thus, the availability information of AGI comprises multiple availabilities for multiple sporadically-on transmissions).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 1 and further teaches “wherein the availability information is obtained by the wireless communication device in a first paging occasion of a plurality of paging occasions, wherein said monitoring for the tracking reference signal is in a second paging occasion of the plurality of paging occasions different from the first paging occasion” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] and FIG. 4 of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period. The AGI indicating the availability of A-TRS can be the first paging occasion, and the reception of the A-TRS in the indicated slot can be the second paging occasion).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 10 and further teaches “selecting between said monitoring for the tracking reference signals and monitoring for further reference signals of an always-on transmission of the further reference signals, depending on the at least one availability” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], [0073] – [0076], and [0092] of Lee; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; transmission includes an additional reference signal (RS) (i.e., further reference signal) placed prior to the AGI in time that may be used to facilitate AGI detection, where the RS is located in time prior to the AGI and the base station sends an additional reference signal (RS) in time prior to the AGI itself in order to facilitate AGI detection. Thus, if the additional RS (further reference signals) will arrive first, the UE will monitor for the additional RS (further reference signals) first and then the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted), else it will monitor for the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted)).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 16 and further teaches “wherein said selecting is further depending on a predefined or network-defined validity of the availability information” (see ¶¶ [0073] – [0076] and [0092] of Lee; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (sporadically-on transmissions of the tracking reference signals) with respect to the AGI; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period (i.e., validity duration during the availability of tracking reference signal is valid). Since the base station transmits the AGI, the slot or slots in which A-TRS will be available can be predefined or network-defined).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 7 and further teaches “wherein said selecting is further depending on one or more predefined or network-defined trigger events for a temporary on-availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], [0073] – [0076], and [0092] of Lee; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; transmission includes an additional reference signal (RS) (i.e., further reference signal) placed prior to the AGI in time that may be used to facilitate AGI detection, where the RS is located in time prior to the AGI and the base station sends an additional reference signal (RS) in time prior to the AGI itself in order to facilitate AGI detection. Thus, the additional RS can be the one or more predefined or network-defined trigger events for AGI, which indicates the A-TRS, which is temporary on-availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 7 and further teaches “wherein said monitoring for the tracking reference signals is at or before a paging occasion of a plurality of paging occasions, wherein said selecting is further depending on whether the paging occasion is included or not included in a predefined subset of the plurality of paging occasions” (see ¶¶ [0031] – [0033], [0073] – [0076], and [0092] of Lee; the AGI may be configured with information indicating which slot or slots to monitor within a DRX on-duration time or period; the AGI may include information indicating the presence or location of the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted) with respect to the AGI; transmission includes an additional reference signal (RS) (i.e., further reference signal) placed prior to the AGI in time that may be used to facilitate AGI detection, where the RS is located in time prior to the AGI and the base station sends an additional reference signal (RS) in time prior to the AGI itself in order to facilitate AGI detection. Therefore, if the additional RS (further reference signals) will arrive first, the UE will monitor for the additional RS (further reference signals) first and then the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted), else it will monitor for the A-TRS (tracking reference signals sporadically transmitted)). Thus, the additional reference signal (RS) can be a paging occasion and the monitoring for the A-TRS will happen before if the additional reference signal (RS) (paging occasion) is not sent).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Lee and Noh teaches claim 7 and further teaches “wherein said selecting is further depending on one or more predefined or network-defined negative trigger events for a temporary off-availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions” (see ¶ [0079] of Lee; in a system the AGI may be configured such that the default is that grants are assumed to be present by the UE and thus the UE will, by default, monitor for grants. In such case, the AGI will then indicate the lack of the presence of grants [a “negative grant indicator”] (i.e., negative trigger event), thereby signaling the UE that monitoring of grants is not necessitated (i.e., temporary off-availability of the one or more sporadically-on transmissions)).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ji et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0239103) teaches transmission of TRS and changing configuration of TRS.
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475