DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 10 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al (US 2010/0151317 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a cylindrical battery cell (rechargeable battery; Fig. 1 #100; paragraph [0030]), comprising:
a jelly-roll having a first electrode tab protruding upward and a second electrode tab protruding downward (electrode assembly #110 being cylindrical with layers of positive electrode #112 protruding upwards and layers of negative electrode #113 protruding downward in Fig. 1; paragraph [0033]);
a battery can configured to accommodate the jelly-roll through a top opening (case; Fig. 1 #120; paragraph [0030]) and electrically connected to the second electrode tab (case #120 is made of a conductive material and contacts protruding portions of negative electrode; paragraph [0032]);
a first current collecting plate coupled to the first electrode tab at an upper portion of the jelly-roll (positive electrode current collecting plate; Fig. 1 #138; paragraph [0034]);
an insulating shrink tube (insulating member; Fig. 3A #170; paragraph [0049]) having a first cover portion for covering at least a part of the first current collecting plate (flange of insulating member; Fig. 3A #172; paragraph [0046]) and a second cover portion for covering a top end of an outer circumference of the jelly-roll (body of insulating member; Fig. 3A #171; paragraph [0046]);
and a top cap electrically connected to the first current collecting plate and configured to cover the top opening (cap assembly; Fig. 1 #140; paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above and Kim disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising a diameter of the first current collecting plate corresponds to a diameter of the jelly-roll (diameter of the positive electrode current collecting plate #138 is the same as the diameter of the electrode assembly #110 in Fig. 1; paragraph [0030]).
Regarding claim 10, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above and Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising the first cover portion connected to the second cover portion (body #171 and flange #172 of insulating member connected together; paragraph [0046]) and wherein a length in a radial direction of the first cover portion is greater than a pressed-in-depth of a beading portion formed by pressing in an outer circumference of the battery can (flange of insulating member longer than the beading portion #123; Fig. 3A #172; paragraph [0046])
Regarding claim 13, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above and Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising an extension length of the second cover portion is greater than an extension length of the first electrode tab in a vertical direction (body #171 is greater in length than the length of the protruding portions of the layers of positive electrode in Fig. 1; paragraph [0046])
Regarding claim 14, Kim disclose a battery pack comprising at least one cylindrical battery cell according to claim 1 (pack comprising at least one rechargeable battery; paragraph [0005]).
Regarding claim 15, Kim discloses a vehicle comprising at least one battery pack according to claim 14 (hybrid electric vehicle comprising a pack; paragraph [0005])
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2010/0151317 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 3 as noted above and Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising the first cover portion covering both the first electrode tab and the first collecting plate (flange #172 covering protruding portions of positive electrode and positive electrode current collecting plate; Fig. 1; paragraph [0046]).
Kim does not disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising a diameter of the first current collecting plate being smaller than a diameter of the jelly-roll.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adjust the diameter of the positive electrode current collecting plate to be smaller than a diameter of the electrode assembly because doing allows for the insulating member to prevent external shocks or vibrations from damaging electrical connections between the current collecting plate and the electrode assembly (paragraph [0050] as reducing the diameter of the positive electrode current collecting plate would further result in more reduction in external shocks or vibrations.
The insulating member #170 presses against the positive electrode current collecting plate #138 which would cause the diameter of the positive electrode current collecting plate #138 to be smaller.
Claims 4-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2010/0151317 A1) in view of Uruno et al (JP 2016-115422 A).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above.
Kim does not disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising the jelly-roll includes a first region in which the first electrode tab has a first length, and a second region in which the first electrode tab has a second length, the second region being located at an outer perimeter of the first region.
However, Uruno discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising the jelly-roll includes a first region in which the first electrode tab has a first length (current collection tab 3a at aggregation part is long; pg. 4 of Uruno translation), and a second region in which the first electrode tab has a second length (current collection tab 3a has an extension length in the second electrode region C2; pg. 4 of Uruno translation), the second region being located at an outer perimeter of the first region (second electrode region C2 is outside the aggregation part; pg. 4 of Uruno translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Kim to include the varying lengths of current collection tab 3aof Uruno for the electrode tab of Kim because doing so provides reduced electrical resistance of the electrode group and increased storage capacity (pg. 5 of Uruno translation).
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 4 as noted above.
Kim does not disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising the first length is formed to be longer than the second length.
However, Uruno discloses the first length is formed to be longer than the second length (length of aggregation part is longer than length at second electrode region C2; pg. 4 of Uruno translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Kim to include the varying lengths of current collection tab 3aof Uruno for the electrode tab of Kim because doing so provides reduced electrical resistance of the electrode group and increased storage capacity (pg. 5 of Uruno translation).
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 5 as noted above.
Kim does not disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising a distance from an inner circumference of the battery can to a boundary between the first region and the second region is equal to or longer than the pressed-in depth of a beading portion formed by pressing in the outer circumference of the battery can.
However, Uruno discloses a cylindrical battery cell comprising a distance from an inner circumference of the battery can to a boundary between the first region and the second region is equal to or longer than the pressed-in depth of a beading portion formed by pressing in the outer circumference of the battery can (length from aggregation part to second electrode region; pg. 4 of Uruno translation).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Kim to include the varying lengths of current collection tab 3aof Uruno for the electrode tab of Kim because doing so provides reduced electrical resistance of the electrode group and increased storage capacity (pg. 5 of Uruno translation).
Regarding claim 7, Kim and Uruno disclose the cylindrical battery cell of claim 6 as noted above and Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising the beading portion is located below a lowermost end of the first current collecting plate (Fig. 1; paragraph [0032]).
Regarding claim 8, Kim and Uruno disclose the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above and Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising the first current collecting plate covers the first region of the jelly-roll (Fig. 1 #138; paragraph [0035]).
Regarding claim 9, Kim and Uruno disclose the cylindrical battery cell of claim 8 as noted above and Kim discloses the cylindrical battery cell comprising the first cover portion covers the second region of the jelly-roll and the first current collecting plate (flange #172; paragraph [0046]).
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US 2010/0151317 A1) in view of Kim (KR 20200037599 A).
Kim (US 2022/0069335 A1) is being used as the English translation for Kim (KR 20200037599 A).
Regarding claim 11, Kim ‘317 discloses the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above.
Kim ‘311 does not disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising the insulating shrink tube includes a thermally shrinkable material that shrinks when heat is applied.
However, Kim ‘335 discloses a cylindrical battery cell comprising the insulating shrink tube includes a thermally shrinkable material that shrinks when heat is applied (insulating member #152 comprises polyethylene terephthalate; paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Kim ‘317 to substitute the material of the insulating member of Kim ‘311 for the polyethylene terephthalate of the insulating member of Kim ‘335 because doing so insulates the electrode assembly from the can (paragraph [0045] of Kim ‘335).
Regarding claim 12, Kim ‘317 disclose the cylindrical battery cell of claim 1 as noted above and Kim ‘317 disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising an electrolyte accommodated in the battery can (case accommodates electrolytic solution; paragraph [0030]).
Kim ‘317 does not disclose the cylindrical battery cell comprising the insulating shrink tube is a material that does not chemically react with the electrolyte.
However, Kim ‘311 discloses an cylindrical battery cell comprising the insulating shrink tube is a material that does not chemically react with the electrolyte (insulating member #152 comprises polyethylene terephthalate; paragraph [0045]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the cylindrical battery cell of Kim ‘317 to substitute the material of the insulating member of Kim ‘311 for the polyethylene terephthalate of the insulating member of Kim ‘335 because doing so insulates the electrode assembly from the can (paragraph [0045] of Kim ‘335).
Conclusion
For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SATHAVARAM I REDDY/Examiner, Art Unit 1785