DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s response dated 10/8/26 is acknowledged and entered. Claims 44-74 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 44-47, 49, 52, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Anczewski, et al. (“Inductive power transfer for unmanned aircraft vehicles”, published in the 2017 Progress in Applied Electrical Engineering (PAEE), 25-30 June 2017, herein Anczewski)1 in view of Gayarovich, et al. (Espacenet English machine translation of RU 2,760,429 C1, herein Gayarovich).2 3 Regarding claim 44, Anczewski teaches a docking and charging station for an unmanned aerial vehicle (UAV) comprising:4 a power supply unit that receives power from said power harvesting unit (Section II: supply inverter), a communication module (Section II: wireless communication module), and a docking port arranged underneath the housing, for receiving and docking a docking and charging unit extending upwardly from an UAV, said docking port and said docking unit providing an electrical connection for charging a docked UAV (Fig. 6 & Section IV: landing site and attachment to the drone (or UAV)), wherein the power harvesting section comprises a plurality of current transformer units each having its own a short-circuiting shunt (Section IV: air transformer), rectification circuit (Section III: diode rectifier), and smoothing capacitor (Section IV: compensating capacitor), and which are parallel connected to a common power supply output (Figs. 4(c) & 4(d)) , and wherein a secondary winding of each current transformer is configured to be short- circuited a current shunt when not needed (Section III), and wherein the DC power output connection of each rectifier of the current transformer unit(s) is connected in parallel (Fig. 4). Anczewski does not explicitly teach a housing configured to be clamped onto a conductor of an overhead power line, and a power harvesting section for harvesting power from the electromagnetic field surrounding the conductor. Gayarovich teaches a housing configured to be clamped onto a conductor of an overhead power line (paragraph 0013: current clamp), and a power harvesting section for harvesting power from the electromagnetic field surrounding the conductor (paragraph 0021). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to combine the teachings of Anczewski and Gayarovich, because such a combination aids in reliably holding onto the overhead power line (paragraph 0008 of Gayarovich). Regarding claim 45, Gayarovich further teaches the station is powered only by said power harvesting unit (paragraph 0021). Regarding claim 46, Gayarovich further teaches charging unit for fast-charging the UAV, powered by said power harvesting unit (paragraph 0021). Regarding claim 47, Gayarovich further teaches a power storage device powered by said power harvesting unit (paragraph 0022: battery). Regarding claim 49, Gayarovich further teaches the docking port comprises a guiding and securing portion for controllably docking, securing, storing/parking, and releasing said UAV (paragraph 0013). Regarding claim 52, Gayarovich further teaches the docking port is adapted to be releasably attached to the housing, and wherein the docking port is configured to be secured to the housing and to provide a docking socket for releasably securing said UAV to said housing (paragraph 0013). Regarding claim 54, Gayarovich further teaches a system for providing docking, charging and data communication with UAVs, said system comprising: at least one docking and charging station as defined in claim 44 (see rejection of claim 44 above), one or more UAV (paragraph 0012), and wherein the one or more UAV each comprises said docking and unit configured to mate to the docking port of the docking and charging station, said docking unit being arranged on the top said each UAV (paragraph 0015).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 48, 50-51, 53, and 55-74 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/8/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that the cited art does not render the instant claims obvious. Applicant’s Remarks dated 10/8/26, pages 2-5. However, the cited art discloses all limitations of the claims and renders them obvious. Applicant first argues that “Anczewski does not include an overhead station, a docking port underneath a housing, and/or an upwardly extending docking probe on a UAV.” Id. at 3. However, this is a piecemeal analysis of the cited art. Anczewski was not used to disclose the overhead station; Gayarovich discloses this feature. As for the docking port, Fig. 6 shows a housing, and the docking port coils are under the housing. This serves as “underneath a housing”, as claimed. Applicant next argues that Anczewski “merely depicts a standard secondary-side bridge rectifier and DC/DC step-down converter on a drone.” Applicant’s Remarks, page 3. However, the disclosed bridge rectifier serves as the claimed rectification circuit. In addition, Anczewski discloses a current transformer in Section II as a “current regulator that controls the UDC voltage of the charger.” The disclosed capacitors serve as the smoothing capacitor of the claims. Applicant’s arguments with regards to Gayarovich are piecemeal. One cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). It is the combination of Anczewski and Gayarovich that creates the overhead housing that is clamped onto the power line, not each reference individually.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MATTHEW MIKELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876
1 See Non-patent literature dated 4/10/26.
2 See Non-patent literature dated 4/10/26.
3 In addition to the cited portions of each reference, please see also the associated figures.
4 See additional discussion below.
5 The Examiner can also be reached at matthew.mikels@uspto.gov.