DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
The claims recite an apparatus with structural limitations and material worked upon by the apparatus. While there is nothing wrong with claiming the material worked upon, such limitations are only given weight to the extent that they limit the structure of the claimed apparatus. See MPEP 2115. See In re Rishoi (94 USPQ 71), In re Smith (3 USPQ 315), and In re Young (25 USPQ 69).
In Rishoi, a film of liquid was claimed as part of an apparatus, it being clear that the liquid film is only present during use of the apparatus. It was held that the liquid film is not a structural limitation and therefore cannot impart patentability to those claims which are otherwise unpatentable. It was further stated that there is no patentable combination between a device and the material upon which it works.
In Smith, a particular web material having an extra length of carbons was claimed as part of an apparatus. The web material is worked upon by the apparatus. The court considered the possibility of combining the specified web with an old machine to provide a patentable combination, but it was held that a person may not patent a combination of a device and material upon which the device works, nor limit other persons from the use of similar material by claiming a device patent.
In Young, a concrete structure upon which an apparatus works was claimed as part of the apparatus. It was held that the inclusion of the material worked upon may not lend patentability to the apparatus.
In view of the cited cases and MPEP 2115, the claimed material worked upon has only been given weight to the extent that such limitations indicate structural limitations of the claimed apparatus.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 9-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung et al. (KR20140118418, of record see attached machine translation for text citations) in view of Moriyama et al. (JP 2006286936, of record see attached machine translation for text citations), and further in view of Chang (TWI435402, see attached machine translation for text citations)
In both claim 1 and claim 6, The electronic component is material to be worked upon.
**Claim 1 does not expressly require the housing member and associated recess as part of the suction device. As such a suction device capable of performing the required functions for a housing with the recess will meet the claim limitations. The dimensional limitations of the recess recited in claim 1 do not further limit the structure of the suction head, because the recess is not part of the suction head.
As to claims 1 and 6, Jung discloses a suction unit, comprising: a suction head 1000; a housing member 500/700 having a recess for housing an electronic component (figs 1a-b, 5, 8, para 47-63, 99-116, 132-142); a movement control unit (suction headed moved vertically para 111) that causes the suction head to move between a first position for suction of the electronic component housed in the recess of the housing member and a second position further separated from the electronic component than the first position (para 111, fig 8); and a suction control unit (device that causes suction through suction passage, para 50, 132-140, fig 8) that causes suction of the electronic component to the suction head when the suction head is located at the first position, wherein when located at the first position, the suction head has a contact portion that comes into contact with a first surface on an outer side of a region where the recess in the housing member is opened (para 50, 132-140), and a small-diameter portion 111 (fig 8) that protrudes from the contact portion when the contact portion is in contact with the first surface of the housing member performs the suction of the electronic component from the recess (fig 8, para 137); , wherein when an outer diameter of the contact portion is L1, an outer diameter of the small-diameter portion is L2, a length of a long side of the recess is L3, and a length of a short side of the recess is L4 (fig 7a shows recess has L2 and L3), a relational expression of L2<L4<L3<L1 is satisfied (see annotated figure below, fig 7a, and discussion of material to worked upon above); a detection unit (load detector 700,730,900) that detects a load acting on the suction head based on a height position of the suction head measured by an encoder and a driving force output from the movement control unit to the suction head and detects that the contact portion is in contact with the first surface of the housing member according to a change in the load is further comprised (para 31, 159-167; fig 1a-b, 4, 5, 8 para 47-63, 92-116, 132-142).
With regard to the L2<L4<L3<L1 requirement, the contact portion diameter is larger than L2 as shown below. Additionally, it’s larger than both L3 and L4 as the outermost edges do not enter the recess as shown in fig 8 and below. L2 is smaller than L3 and L4 because the small diameter portion fits inside the recess as shown.
While Jung discloses the stopping of the movement of the suction head (fig 3, 5, 8), Jung does not expressly the suction control unit stops movement of the suction head on condition that it is detected by the detection unit that the contact portion of the suction head is in contact with the first surface of the housing member and causes the suction of the electronic component to the suction head.
Moriyama discloses the suction control unit (load cell) stops movement of the suction head (nozzle) on condition that it is detected by the detection unit that the contact portion of the suction head is in contact with the first surface of the housing member and causes the suction of the electronic component to the suction head (para 35).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Jung such that the suction control unit stops movement of the suction head on condition that it is detected by the detection unit that the contact portion of the suction head is in contact with the first surface of the housing member and causes the suction of the electronic component to the suction head as taught by Moriyama above as such reduces the damage to electron component.
Jung discloses an air flow path 130 (para 133, fig 8) formed through the suction head in a height direction to open on a lower end surface of the small-diameter portion, but stops short of disclosing said air path comprises a plurality of air paths. Chang discloses a plurality of suction air flow paths 51 extending through a suction device (figs 1, 2, 5, para 6-8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention, to modify Jung and Moriyama such that air flow path comprises a plurality of air flow paths as taught by Chang as such enables the device to have more uniform suction force on a substrate (para 6-8). Additionally, and/or alternatively, the number of suction paths is a design choice obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 VI(B).
As to claim 3, Moriyama discloses a gap is interposed between the suction head and the electronic component when the suction head is located at the first position (fig 10-11, para 26-28)
As to claim 4 and 9, Moriyama discloses the contact portion comes into contact with the first surface of the housing member on at least two opposing sides of the recess when the suction head 28a is located at the first position (fig 10-11, para 26-28)
As to claims 5, 10 and 11, Moriyama discloses the contact portion comes into contact with the first surface of the housing member while surrounding the recess when the suction head is located at the first position (fig 10-11, para 26-28).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/9/26 have been fully considered but are either not persuasive or moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant asserts Jung does not disclose the claimed geometrical relationships of the amended claims. This is not accurate, and the examiner detailed why Jung meets the L2<L4<L3<L1 limitation in the body of the rejection above. Applicant is referred to such. Applicant’s arguments directed toward the plurality of flow paths are moot.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Mantz (US 2005/0006916), directed to stopping the movement of a suction head based load cell detection.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER T SCHATZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746