DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's preliminary amendment filed on April 24, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3-17, 20, 21, 25, 26, 29-33, 35-43, 45-50, 52, 55, 58-63, 65-71, 73, 74, and 76-97 have been canceled. Claims 1, 2, 18, 19, 22-24, 27, 28, 34, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, 57, 64, 72, and 75 are pending.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1, 2, 18, 19, 22-24, 27, 28, 34, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57) in the reply filed on April 24, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 64, 72, and 75 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 24, 2026.
Claims 1, 2, 18, 19, 22-24, 27, 28, 34, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57 are examined on the merits herein.
Priority
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on July 10, 2023, April 4, 2025, and February 27, 2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statements filed April 4, 2025 and February 27, 2026 fail to comply with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.98(a)(4) because it lacks the appropriate size fee assertion. It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
The drawings were received on July 3, 2023.
The drawings are objected to because 37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG."”. In addition, Figures 1B, 1C, 1D, 1E, 1G, 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 4C-4F, 5A, 5C, 8B-8K are blurry and difficult to read. Furthermore, it is difficult to differentiate between the shadings in the bar graphs for Figures 2A, 2B, 3A, 3B, 4A, 4B, 5A, 5B, 5C, 6, 7A, 7B, 8A, 9, and 10. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is less than 50 words in length and the abstract states "A novel gRNA-ligand binding complex is provided." The term “novel” is inherently evaluative and subjective, and not objective and descriptive, as required by MPEP § 608.01(b). A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01. See e.g., [00111] and [00159].
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 28, 44, 51, and 56 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 1 and 51 have periods within each claim at the bullet points. See MPEP 608.01(m).
Claim 28 recites in part “end of gRNA” and should recite “end of the gRNA” (emphasis added).
Claim 44 recites abbreviations which should be clearly written out at their first occurrence in the claim and should be followed by the abbreviation in parentheses.
Claim 56 recites in part “The base editing complex of any claim 51” and should recite “The base editing complex of claim 51”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 44 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 44 recites the broad recitation “Anti-His Tag”, and the claim also recites “(6H7)” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim 44 contains the trademark/trade name SNAP-Tag. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe a protein tag and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 18, 19, 22, 23, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smargon et al. (US 2017/0211142) in view of Kim (US 2021/0130827).
Regarding claims 1, 18, 19, 22, 23, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57, Smargon et al. teaches that when the CRISPR protein is a Class 2 Type VI-B effector, a tracrRNA is not required. In an engineered system of the invention, the direct repeat may encompass naturally-occurring sequences or non-naturally occurring sequences and can be 36 nt in length. In some embodiments, a direct repeat of the invention can include synthetic nucleotide sequences inserted between the 5′ and 3′ ends of naturally occurring direct repeat. Furthermore, a direct repeat may include insertions of nucleotides such as an aptamer or sequences that bind to an adapter protein (for association with functional domains) [0212]. Smargon et al. also teaches that Cas13b function is robust to 5′ or 3′ extensions of the crRNA and to extension of the crRNA loop. It is therefore envisages that MS2 loops and other recruitment domains can be added to the crRNA without affecting complex formation and binding to target transcripts [0352].
However, Smargon et al. does not teach a Type V Cas protein. Smargon et al. does not explicitly teach that the ligand binding moiety is directly bound to the 3’ end of the gRNA (claim 18) or the 5’ end of the gRNA (claim 19). Smargon et al. also does not teach a Type V Cas protein comprising an active RuvC domain or a deactivated RuvC domain (claims 53 and 54). Smargon et al. does not teach an effector attached to a ligand wherein the effector is a deaminase (claims 56 and 57).
Kim teaches Type V CRISPR-Cas effector proteins, deaminases, and fusion and recruiting nucleic acid constructs thereof [0002]. The Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein may be a Cas12a effector protein, Cas12a enzymes use a single guide RNA (gRNA, CRISPR array, crRNA), and Cas12a relies on a single RuvC domain to cleave both DNA strands [0102]. Kim teaches that a “recruiting guide nucleic acid” or “recruiting guide RNA” is a guide nucleic acid that comprises an RNA recruiting motif wherein the RNA recruiting motif may be linked to the 3′ end or the 5′ end of the recruiting guide nucleic acid. An RNA recruiting motif may be any RNA motif capable of being recognized by an affinity polypeptide (e.g., an MS2 phage operator stem-loop and an affinity polypeptide of MS2 Coat Protein (MCP)) [0118]. Kim teaches base editing nucleic acid constructs comprising: (a) a Type V CRISPR-Cas fusion protein comprising a Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein fused to a peptide tag; (b) a deaminase fusion protein comprising a deaminase fused to an affinity polypeptide that is capable of binding to the peptide tag; and (c) a guide nucleic acid [0088]. Kim teaches that the Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein may comprise a mutation in its nuclease active site (e.g., RuvC) or the Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein having a mutation in its nuclease active site may have impaired activity or reduced activity. In some embodiments, a Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein having a mutation in its nuclease active site may have impaired activity or reduced activity as compared to the same Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein without the mutation, e.g., a nickase such as a Cas12a nickase [0100].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gRNA-ligand binding complex of Smargon et al. wherein the Cas association region is capable of retaining association with an RNA binding domain of a Type V Cas protein because Smargon et al. taught a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the complex comprises a gRNA and a ligand binding moiety and Kim taught Type V CRISPR-Cas effector proteins, deaminases, and fusion and recruiting nucleic acid constructs thereof. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gRNA-ligand binding complex of Smargon et al. and Kim wherein the ligand binding moiety is directly bound to the 3’ end of the gRNA or the 5’ end of the gRNA because Smargon et al. taught a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the complex comprises a gRNA and a ligand binding moiety and Kim taught that an RNA recruiting motif may be linked to the 3′ end or the 5′ end of the recruiting guide nucleic acid. Kim also taught that an RNA recruiting motif may be any RNA motif capable of being recognized by an affinity polypeptide (e.g., an MS2 phage operator stem-loop and an affinity polypeptide of MS2 Coat Protein (MCP)). One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to combining known prior art elements to yield predictable results.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the base editing complex of Kim wherein the complex comprises the gRNA-ligand binding complex of claim 1 and a Type V Cas protein because Kim taught base editing nucleic acid constructs comprising: (a) a Type V CRISPR-Cas fusion protein comprising a Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein fused to a peptide tag; (b) a deaminase fusion protein comprising a deaminase fused to an affinity polypeptide that is capable of binding to the peptide tag; and (c) a guide nucleic acid [0088]. Kim also taught that the Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein may comprise a mutation in its nuclease active site (e.g., RuvC) or the Type V CRISPR-Cas effector protein having a mutation in its nuclease active site may have impaired activity or reduced activity and Smargon et al. taught a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the complex comprises a gRNA and a ligand binding moiety. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to combining known prior art elements to yield predictable results.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smargon et al. (US 2017/0211142) in view of Kim (US 2021/0130827) as applied to claims 1, 18, 19, 22, 23, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57 above, and further in view of Jin et al. (US 2018/0327784; reference cited by Applicant).
Regarding claim 2, the teachings of Smargon et al. and Kim are discussed above.
However, Smargon et al. and Kim do not teach wherein at least one of the gRNA and the ligand binding moiety comprises at least one modification.
Jin et al. teaches a system for targeted gene editing [abstract]. Jin et al. teaches
that the RNA scaffold may include one or more modifications. Such modifications may
include inclusion of at least one non-naturally occurring nucleotide, or a modified
nucleotide, or analogs thereof. Modified nucleotides may be modified at the ribose,
phosphate, and/or base moiety. In a preferred embodiment these modifications are
made to the RNA components, e.g. the guide RNA sequence [0073].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gRNA-ligand binding complex of Smargon et al. and Kim wherein at least one of the gRNA and the ligand binding moiety comprises at least one modification because Smargon et al. taught a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the complex comprises a gRNA and a ligand binding moiety and Jin et al. taught that the RNA scaffold may include one or more modifications such as inclusion of at least one non- naturally occurring nucleotide, or a modified nucleotide, or analogs thereof. Modified nucleotides may be modified at the ribose, phosphate, and/or base moiety and in a preferred embodiment these modifications are made to the guide RNA sequence. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to combining known prior art elements to yield predictable results.
Claims 24, 27, 28, and 34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smargon et al. (US 2017/0211142) in view of Kim (US 2021/0130827) as applied to claims 1, 18, 19, 22, 23, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57 above, and further in view of Zalatan et al. (Cell 2015; reference cited by Applicant).
Regarding claims 24, 27, 28, and 34, the teachings of Smargon et al. and Kim are discussed above.
However, Smargon et al. and Kim do not teach wherein the gRNA-ligand binding complex comprises the linker and the ligand binding moiety is bound to the gRNA through the linker (claim 24). Smargon et al. and Kim do not teach wherein the linker is bound to the 3’ end of the gRNA (claim 27) or bound to the 5’ end of the gRNA (claim 28). Smargon et al. and Kim also do not teach wherein the complex comprises two linkers and the ligand binding moiety is located between the first and second linker (claim 34).
Zalatan et al. teaches a single RNA hairpin domain to the 3’ end of the sgRNA
connected by a two-base linker [page 341, left column, second full paragraph]. Further,
one, two, or three MS2 RNA hairpins were introduced to the 3’ end of the sgRNA [page
341, right column, third full paragraph]. Zalatan et al. also constructed an alternative
RNA design in which double-stranded linkers were inserted between the two repeats of
the recruitment hairpins to enforce stable, local hairpin formation [page 341, right
column, fourth full paragraph]. Zalatan et al. also teaches that scRNA designs with recruitment sequences attached to the 5’ end of the sgRNA gave no significant activation [page 341, right column, first paragraph].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the gRNA-ligand binding complex of Smargon et al. and Kim wherein the ligand binding moiety is bound to the gRNA through the linker (claim 24), wherein the linker is bound to the 3’ end of the gRNA (claim 27) or the 5’ end of the gRNA (claim 28), and wherein the complex comprises two linkers and the ligand binding moiety is located between the first and second linker (claim 34) because Smargon et al. taught a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the complex comprises a gRNA and a ligand binding moiety and Zalatan et al. taught a single RNA hairpin domain to the 3’ end of the sgRNA connected by a two-base linker. Zalatan et al. also taught that one, two, or three MS2 RNA hairpins were introduced to the 3’ end of the sgRNA and also constructed an alternative RNA design in which double-stranded linkers were inserted between the two repeats of the recruitment hairpins to enforce stable, local hairpin formation. Zalatan et al. also taught scRNA designs with recruitment sequences attached to the 5’ end of the sgRNA. One of ordinary skill in the art would have made such a modification because it would have amounted to combining known prior art elements to yield predictable results.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 18, 19, 22-24, 27, 28, 34, 44, 51, 53, 54, 56, and 57 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 7, 11, 13, 17-19, 21, 25, 31, 35-37, 40, and 44 of copending Application No. 18/270,879 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims overlap in scope.
The instant application is drawn to a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the gRNA-ligand binding complex comprises a gRNA and a ligand binding moiety and a base editing complex comprising the gRNA-ligand binding complex of claim 1 and a Type V Cas protein.
Copending application ‘879 is drawn to a method for genetically modifying a cell by base editing comprising introduction into the cell and/or expression in the cell of i) a sequence-targeting protein; ii) an RNA-ligand binding complex comprising a guide RNA and a ligand binding moiety; and iii) two or more effector proteins. Copending application ‘879 is also drawn to a kit for genetically modifying a cell by base editing.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/C.T./
Examiner, Art Unit 1637
/Jennifer Dunston/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1637