Application Status
This action is written in response to applicant’s correspondence received 4/29/2026. Claims 1, 2, 5, 23,-25, 30-32, 48, 51, 64, 66-67, 69-70, 77, 85-86, and 89 are currently pending in the instant application.
Election/Restriction
Applicant’s election of the inventions of Group I and the species MS2, with traverse, is acknowledged but not found persuasive. Applicant argues that Jin is not directed to complexes that are capable of binding Type V Cas proteins. Furthermore, applicant argues Jin nor Strecker disclose the structural limitations of the claim, for example, a crRNA sequence that is 35 to 60 nucleotides with a Cas association region that is 18 to 30 nucleotides long.
Though applicant is persuasive in these assessments, unity of invention is not present because the special technical feature of a gRNA broadly comprising of 60 to 210 nucleotides (with the specific structural limitations of crRNA and tracrRNA) do not make a contribution over the prior art in view of the cited art (Teng et al., Repurposing CRISPR-Cas12b for mammalian genome engineering, Cell Discovery, Volume 4, Issue 63, published 11/27/2018). Teng discloses the structural limitations of the gRNA ligand binding complex presented in the instant claims. Furthermore, Teng teaches a base editing complex comprising of both active and deactivated AaCas12b Type V protein with a RuvC domain, sgRNA with a MS2 ligand binding moiety attached at different positions of the gRNA complex, and effector proteins of the ligand binding moiety (see results section). Applicant also argues there is no search burden of where the ligand binding moiety is attached to the gRNA ligand binding complex due to the commonality of the hybridization region, defined by both structure and function. The argument is not found persuasive as the instant application is a 371 U.S. national stage application where search burden is not a criteria that must be met for a proper restriction. In view of the foregoing, the restriction requirement and species election requirement is upheld.
Upon further consideration, examiner elects to rejoin the inventions of Group I, II, III, IV, V, VI, and VII. Therefore, the invention of Group I will be considered as a gRNA-binding complex with a ligand binding moiety and a base editing complex.
Applicant elects the invention of Group I, drawn to claims 1-2, 5, 23-25, 30-32, 48, 51, 64, 6-67, and 69-70, and the following species: MS2.
Claims 77, 85-86, and 89 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a non-elected invention.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claims 1-2, 5, 23-25, 30-32, 48, 51, 64, 6-67, and 69-70 are currently under examination in the instant application
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/011294, which claims priority to US provisional application 63/133,945, filed on 1/5/2021.
Specification
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract states “a novel gRNA-ligand binding complex is provided”. The term novel is inherently evaluative and subjective, and not objective and descriptive, as required by MPEP § 608.01(b). A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art. See form paragraph 6.14 regarding the content of abstract.
A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-2, 5, 23-25, 30-32, 48, 51, 64, 6-67, and 69-70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, applicant recites a gRNA-ligand binding complex, wherein the gRNA-ligand binding complex comprises: a gRNA, wherein the gRNA contains 60 to 210 nucleotides and the gRNA comprises (i) a crRNA sequence, wherein the crRNA sequence is 35 to 60 nucleotides and (ii) a tracrRNA sequence, wherein the tracrRNA sequence is 45-120 nucleotides.
If applicant were to claim a crRNA sequence that is 35 nucleotides with a tracrRNA sequence that is 45 nucleotides, the total minimum number of nucleotides for the gRNA is 80 nucleotides, exceeding the minimum claimed range of 60 nucleotides for the gRNA. Furthermore, if applicant claims the maximum range of nucleotide sequences for the crRNA and tracrRNA, the total maximum number of nucleotides for the gRNA is 180, leaving 30 nucleotides unaccounted for and undefined, as recited in the gRNA nucleotide length range (60-120) of claim 1. Therefore, the metes and bounds of the claim, as recited, are unclear as the range recited for the gRNA nucleotide length minimum is smaller than the minimum length of the claimed embodiments, and the maximum gRNA nucleotide length is also larger than the maximum of the length of the claimed embodiments.
Dependent claims listed above are rejected as they do not address the range issue present in claim 1.
Applicant can overcome this rejection by amending the minimum length of the gRNA to comprise 80 nucleotides and either adjust the range for the upper threshold of 210 nucleotides, or define other missing elements contained within the gRNA such as a ligand binding moiety or a loop sequence between the Cas association region and the anti-repeat region, disclosed in claim 2.
Claims 23-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding these claims, claims 23, 24, and 25 recite wherein the gRNA has a 5’, 3’, or 5’ and 3’ end and the ligand binding moiety is directly bound to one of these ends. Claim 1 already recites where the ligand binding moiety is directly bound to the gRNA. Furthermore, it is an inherent structural feature of RNA molecules to have a 5’ and 3’ end. Therefore, it is unclear the limitations that further limit the independent claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5, 23, 25, 30, 31 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Teng et al. (Repurposing CRISPR-Cas12b for mammalian genome engineering, Cell Discovery, Volume 4, Issue 63, published 11/27/2018).
Regarding claim 1, Teng teaches a type V CRISPR-Cas12b/C2c1 system which has been identified as a dual-RNA guided DNA endonuclease system with distinct features from Cas9 and Cas12a (see introduction). Teng teaches a gRNA-ligand binding complex wherein the gRNA can be described in Fig. 1A, as shown below.
In Fig. 1A, Teng teaches the crRNA/tracrRNA duplex of CRISPR-Cas12b from Alicyclobacillu acidiphilus. The crRNA/tracrRNA duplex comprises a crRNA that comprises a 20 nucleotide protospacer or targeting sequence, and an approximate 31 nucleotide Cas association region (shown in blue) which combines to form a crRNA sequence of about 51 nucleotides. Furthermore, Fig. 1A shows a tracrRNA sequence (shown in blue and red) that comprises approximately 35 nucleotides for the anti-repeat region (shown in blue) and the distal region (shown in red), totaling approximately 135 nucleotides. Out of 20 consecutive nucleotides between the crRNA Cas association region and the anti-repeat region, there are approximately 19 nucleotides that are complimentary, which is over 80% as recited in claim 1. Teng also shows where the Cas association region and anti-repeat region can form a hybridization region.
In Fig. 1B, Teng shows in vitro cleavage activity of AaCas12b at various temperatures. Though Teng doesn’t explicitly state the hybridization region is capable of retaining association with an RNA binding domain of a Type V Cas protein, since AaCas12b is a Type V Cas protein (see abstract), and Teng shows cleavage activity of AaCas12b with the gRNA presented in Fig. 1A, it is inherent that the gRNA of Teng is capable of hybridizing to the RNA binding domain of a Type V Cas protein, such as AaCas12b, to guide said protein to the desired site of cleavage.
Regarding claim 1, Teng teaches further programmability of sgRNA modules by attaching a ligand binding moiety (functional MS2 RNA hairpin) to the sgRNA scaffold (see section titled ‘Multiplex genome engineering in mammalian cells using a chimeric single-guide RNA). Teng teaches that, as a proof of concept, sgRNAs were fused with MS2 (see section ‘gene activation based on deactivated AaCas12b). Teng also recites the art of Konermann et al. (Genome-scale transcriptional activation by an engineered CRISPR-Cas9 complex, Nature, Volume 517, Pgs. 583-588, published 12/10/2014), where Konermann discloses the effector domain (which comprises of crRNA and tracrRNA) is fused to dCas9 or MS2. The domain being fused to a ligand binding moiety, such as MS2, is evidence of a ligand binding moiety being directly bound to the gRNA. Therefore, Teng recites where the ligand binding moiety can be directly bound to the gRNA.
Regarding claim 2, Teng teaches genome editing in mammalian cells and mice using a chimeric single-guide RNA (sgRNA) (see introduction). It is known in the art that single-guide RNA is a single continuous RNA strand engineered to combine the functions of crRNA and tracrRNA. This is evidenced by Fig. 3A presented by Teng, wherein the crRNA and tracrRNA are connected by stem loop 3.
Regarding claim 5, Teng teaches the sgRNA construct of Fig. 1A, displayed above, which comprises of two strands, not connected, wherein one strand is crRNA and the other is tracrRNA. In the case of the word “first” and “second”, applicant does not specify the function or importance of order, therefore, first and second can be interpreted to fit either the crRNA strand or tracrRNA strand. In the case where the two strands need to be connected, Teng discloses Fig. 3A, also shown above.
Regarding claim 23, 25, 30 and 31, Teng discloses supplemental Fig. 5D where the ligand binding moiety (MS2) is bound to the 5’ of the sgRNA (where the tracrRNA is located), as shown below in sgRNA3.8.1 or the loop sequence of the gRNA as shown in sgRNA3.8.3. Teng further teaches that, as a proof of concept, sgRNAs were fused with MS2 (see section ‘gene activation based on deactivated AaCas12b). Teng also recites the art of Konermann et al. (Genome-scale transcriptional activation by an engineered CRISPR-Cas9 complex, Nature, Volume 517, Pgs. 583-588, published 12/10/2014), where Konermann discloses the effector domain (which comprises of crRNA and tracrRNA) is fused to dCas9 or MS2. The domain being fused to a ligand binding moiety, such as MS2, is evidence of a ligand binding moiety being directly bound to the gRNA. Therefore, Teng recites where the ligand binding moiety can be directly bound to the gRNA.
Regarding claim 48, Teng teaches further programmability of sgRNA modules by attaching a functional MS2 RNA hairpin to the sgRNA scaffold (see section titled ‘Multiplex genome engineering in mammalian cells using a chimeric single-guide RNA), which recognizes ligands from MS2.
Regarding claim 64, Teng teaches a base editing complex comprising of a gRNA-ligand binding complex (see Fig. 1A) complexing with Cas12b (Type V Cas protein) from Alicyclobacillus acidiphilus, which enables robust genome editing in mammalian cells and mice (see introduction).
Regarding claim 66 and 67, Teng teaches where AaCas12b can robustly edit the mammalian genomes. Furthermore, Teng teaches abolishing the nuclease activity of AaCas12b through point mutations in the RuvC domain (see Fig. 4a, shown below). Therefore, Teng teaches AaCas12b with an active RuvC domain and tested gene activation based on deactivated AaCas12b through point mutations in
the RuvC domain.
Regarding claim 69, Teng teaches where as a proof of concept, 293T cells were co-transfected with deactivated AaCas12b, sgRNAs with MS2 fusion, and the MCP-VP64, or MCP-VPR effectors (see section ‘Gene activation based on deactivated AaCas12b (dAaCas12b).
Regarding 70, Teng teaches the use of MCP-VP64 for endogenous gene activation (see Fig. 4D). MCP-VP64 is a MS2 Coat Protein with a VP64 transcriptional activator. Therefore, MCP-V64 is an effector that is a transcriptional regulator.
In view of the foregoing, claims 1, 2, 5, 23, 25, 30, 31 and 48 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Teng.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (Repurposing CRISPR-Cas12b for mammalian genome engineering, Cell Discovery, Volume 4, Issue 63, published 11/27/2018) in view of Zalatan et al. (Engineering Complex Synthetic Transcriptional Programs with CRISPR RNA Scaffolds, Cell, Volume 160, Issue 1-2, Pgs. 339-350, published 1/15/2015), Mullally et al. (5’ modifications to CRISPR-Cas9 gRNA can change the dynamics and size of R-loops and inhibit DNA cleavage, Nucleic Acids Research, Volume 48, Issue 12, pgs. 6811-6823, published 6/4/2020), and Kocak et al. (Increasing the specificity of CRISPR systems with engineered RNA secondary structures, Nature Biotechnology, Issue 37, pgs. 657-666, published 2019).
Regarding claim 24, Teng teaches the composition of claim 2, which is the gRNA ligand complex structure, as described above.
Teng teaches the binding of a ligand moiety, specifically MS2 hairpin structures to the 5’ end of the gRNA. Teng further specifies binding to the end of the tracrRNA (see Fig. 1A, disclosed above).
Teng does not teach where the ligand binding moiety is attached to the 3’ end of the sgRNA, or near the crRNA protospacer region.
Zalatan teaches scRNA designs with MS2 sequences attached to the 5’ end of scRNA for cas12b systems but provided no significant reporter gene activation (see Fig. S1) (It is important to note that in Zalatan, the 5’ end of the scRNA is the crRNA which corresponds with the 3’ end of the gRNA of the instant application).
Mullally teaches the binding of a 20bp RP hairpin to the 5’ of gRNA in Cas9 systems, which is a model for any structured RNA aptamer (see section ‘A structured RNA hairpin at the 5’ end of gRNA…). It is important to note, in this case, Mullally defines the 5’ of the gRNA as the protospacer region of the crRNA (as shown in Fig. 1B from Mullally, listed below), which is the 3’ end of the gRNA described in the instant application.
Mullally teaches that adding a structured RNA hairpin at the 5’ end of gRNA can produce shorter hyper stable R-loops that do not support DNA cleavage (see Fig. 5A-5I).
Kocak also teaches implementing a designed RNA secondary structure such as a hairpin on the 5’ end of the sgRNA (crRNA) of Cas9 systems. Kocak teaches where the resulting hairpin structure could then serve as a steric and energetic barrier to R-loop formation, which could allow R-loop formation at on-target site but could be impeded at off-target sites (see section ‘Main’). Since R-loop formation is the critical process governing the conformational change of SpCas9, to an active nuclease, this would block off-target nuclease activity and result in an increase in specificity (see ‘Main’ and ‘Discussion’).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Teng, Zalatan, Mullally, and Kocak, to arrive at a gRNA ligand binding complex, where the gRNA-ligand binding complex associates with a Type V Cas protein and has a ligand binding moiety that is directly bound to the 3’ (or crRNA) end of the gRNA.
One would expect a reasonable chance of success as Zalatan characterizes the effects of successfully integrating a MS2 RNA hairpin structure on the crRNA end of the gRNA, near the spacer region, in a Type V Cas system.
One would be motivated to add a ligand binding moiety onto the end of the crRNA as Mullally describes the modification of gRNA with the RP hairpin on the crRNA end had a striking effect on preventing DNA cleavage due, most likely, to the formation of an incomplete R-loop corresponding to the seed sequence (see discussion). Mullally further describes where modification to the tracrRNA is more likely to be successful if DNA cleavage is required, but if only DNA binding is required (without cleavage), then modification to the crRNA could be used (see introduction). Furthermore, Kocak provides motivation by disclosing that modified RNA hairpin structures on the crRNA of gRNA could increase Cas system specificity, while allowing some endonuclease activity. Though Mullally and Kocak are directed to Cas9 systems, Cas9 and Cas12 are analogous systems and the support of Zalatan provides one with the motivation to combine the inventions above to make a gRNA ligand binding complex with a Type V Cas protein that has a ligand binding moiety on the 3’ end of the gRNA. This could result in a system that has greater specificity in binding and on-target effects and when optimal endonuclease activity is not required.
In view of the foregoing, claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date.
Claim 32 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teng et al. (Repurposing CRISPR-Cas12b for mammalian genome engineering, Cell Discovery, Volume 4, Issue 63, published 11/27/2018) in view of Zalatan et al. (Engineering Complex Synthetic Transcriptional Programs with CRISPR RNA Scaffolds, Cell, Volume 160, Issue 1-2, Pgs. 339-350, published 1/15/2015).
Regarding claims 32, Teng teaches the gRNA binding complex with a ligand binding moiety as described above.
Regarding claim 51, Teng teaches supplemental Fig. S5D, where the MS2 RNA hairpin is inserted into AaCas12b sgRNA stem loop 1 and 3, therefore indicating that two ligand binding moieties are inserted into the sgRNA.
Regarding claim 32 and 51, Teng does not teach where the ligand binding moiety is attached to the gRNA of the gRNA-ligand binding complex through a linker, however, Teng does disclose Zalatan et al.
Regarding claim 32 and 51, Zalatan teaches a single RNA hairpin domain to the 3’ end of the sgRNA, connected by a two base linker (see results section). Furthermore, Zalatan discloses that one, two, or three MS2 RNA hairpins have been inserted into a CRISPR RNA scaffold and where Zalatan constructed an alternative RNA design in which double-stranded linkers were inserted between the two repeats of the recruitment hairpins to enforce stable, local hairpin formation (see section titled ‘Multivalent Recruitment to scRNAs’).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Teng and Zalatan, to arrive at a gRNA ligand binding complex and a ligand binding moiety, wherein the ligand binding moiety is attached to the gRNA through a linker or where multiple ligand binding moieties are attached to the gRNA through multiple linkers.
One would expect a reasonable chance of success as Zalatan discloses a CRISPR RNA scaffold with a MS2 RNA hairpin ligand binding moiety attached to the gRNA with a two base linker to activate gene expression in yeast and where multiple MS2 RNA hairpins are attached to the CRISPR RNA scaffold through multiple linkers (see citations described above).
One would be motivated to use linkers to attach a ligand moiety or ligand moieties to increase gene activation and enhance construct stability. Zalatan teaches the introduction of one, two, or three MS2 RNA hairpins to the 3’ end of the sgRNA (see section titled ‘Multivalent Recruitment to scRNAs). Surprisingly, reporter gene expression decreased with increasing numbers of MS2 hairpins (see Fig. Supplemental 1C). Northern blot analysis indicated that steady state RNA levels decreased with two or three MS2 hairpins, suggesting that RNA expression or stability is limiting for these constructs (See Fig. Supplemental 2A). To address the apparent stability problem of multi-hairpin scRNAs, linkers were inserted between the two repeats of recruitment hairpins to enforce stable, local hairpin formation. These alternative designs produced stronger reporter gene activation for both MS2 and PP7 modules relative to the analogous single hairpin scRNAs (see Fig. 2C).
Therefore, Zalatan teaches that multiple ligand binding moieties (MS2 hairpins) increases gene activation, however, linkers are needed to enhance the stability of said constructs to maintain steady state RNA levels.
In view of the foregoing, claims 32 and 51 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being prima facie obvious, before the effective filing date.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 23, 32, and 48 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 19, 24, and 44 of copending Application No. 18/270,740, in view of Hsieh-Feng et al. (Efficient expression of multiple guide RNAs for CRISPR/Cas genome editing, aBIOTECH, Volume 1, Issue 2, pgs.123-124, published 4/2020).
Regarding the claims listed above, the structural limitations of the gRNA ligand binding complex, such as binding target, crRNA length, and ligand binding moiety, are identical. However, the claims differ in that the copending application recites a gRNA-ligand binding complex without tracrRNA.
Hsieh-Feng teaches CRISPR/Cpf1 is a multiplex editing system which is analogous to CRISPR/Cas9. Cpf1 (known as Cas12a, a Type V Cas protein) overcomes the limitations of Cas9 for its smaller size and having the ability to process crRNAs without additional nucleases (see Fig. 2F). Moreover, Cpf1 recognizes AT-rich cutting sites and produces staggered end cuts differently from Cas9, enabling the Cpf1 system to target additional genome sites and has better performance in directional DNA insertion (see section titled ‘Diverse strategies for expressing multiple gRNAs’).
It is obvious, to one skilled in the art, that removing the tracrRNA from the instant claims would yield a patentably indistinct invention from the claims listed in the copending application.
One would expect a reasonable chance of success as Hsieh-Feng teaches that tracrRNA is not required for Cas12 systems, which is the system recited in the instant claims.
One would be motivated to remove the tracrRNA from the gRNA ligand binding complex of the instant claims as doing so would result in a smaller expression cassette, which overcomes limitations of the Cas9, such as delivery inefficiencies due to its size (see section titled ‘Diverse strategies for expressing multiple gRNAs’).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/D.T.Y./Examiner, Art Unit 1635
/RAM R SHUKLA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1635