DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
The office action is in response to the claim amendments and remarks filed on April 01, 2026 for the application filed July 03, 2023. Claims 1, 14, 17, and 19 have been amended. Claims 4, 5, and 7 have been newly canceled. Claims 22-26 have been added. Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16-17, 19, and 21-26 are currently pending
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 6, 8, 10, 14, 16-17, 19, 21-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US2022/0046498A1), in view of Roy et al. (US2020/0314914A1), Choi (US2024/0260078A1), and Kung et al. (US2022/0046510A1).
Regarding claim 1, Cheng teaches a method performed by a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), the method comprising: receiving, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN (Paragraph [0070]: In NTN, a serving satellite connected to a source BS may change to a target satellite connected to a different target BS from time to time, while the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an inter-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 5 illustrates an example where a serving satellite that is positioned between a first BS and a UE changes to a second satellite that is positioned between a second BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 5 illustrates the same LEO satellite 110, BS 140, and UE 160 as shown above, with reference to FIG. 1. However, as shown in FIG. 5, source LEO satellite 110 may be handed over to target LEO satellite 320, to which, another BS 520 and UE 160 may be connected. Also see paragraphs [0092] – [0095].)
suspending, based on the information, the connection in the first cell while maintaining a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration associated with the first cell; performing a cell switching on the information to select the second cell; and resuming the connection using the RRC configuration in the second cell (Paragraph [0064]: At operation 230, UE 202 may move to the serving cell, for example, by moving the RRC connection to the target cell (e.g., by detaching from the old serving cell and synchronizing with the new target cell). UE 202 may synchronize with the target cell and complete the RRC handover procedure. Paragraph [0077]: In some aspects of the present implementations, a UE may also transition from RRC Connected state 810 to RRC Inactive state 820 using an RRC Suspend. Paragraph [0078]: In some implementations, in an RRC_INACTIVE state, a UE may remain as Connection Management (CM)-CONNECTED (e.g., where the UE has signaling connection with AMF) and may move within an area configured by the NG-RAN (e.g., RNA) without notifying the NG-RAN. In the RRC_INACTIVE state, the last serving cell (e.g., associated with a gNB) and the UE itself may keep the UE context. Paragraph [0081]: In some implementations, the AS Context for a UE in RRC_INACTIVE state may be stored when the (RRC) connection is suspended (e.g., when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state) and may be restored/retrieved when the connection is resumed (e.g., when the UE transitions from the RRC_INACTIVE state to an RRC_CONNECTED state). The suspension of the RRC connection may be initiated by the network (e.g., the serving RAN). When the RRC connection is suspended, the UE may store the UE Inactive AS context (and any related configuration received from the network). When the RRC connection is resumed, the network may configure the UE according to the RRC connection resume procedure and based on the stored UE Inactive AS context (and any related RRC configuration received from the network). The RRC connection resume procedure may reactivate the AS security (and the NAS security) and reestablish the SRB(s) and DRB(s).)
Cheng does not explicitly teach receiving, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN.
However, Roy teaches receiving, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN (Paragraph [0019]: FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary 5G new radio NR(NR) wireless communication system 100 that supports efficient handover procedure in Low Earth Orbit (LEO) Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN) in accordance with a novel aspect. NR wireless communication system 100 comprises a first base station gNB 101, a second gNB 102, and a plurality of user equipments (UEs) 110. In the example of FIG. 1, the base stations gNB 101 and gNB 102 are LEO satellites orbit around the earth at a high speed (mobility), but over a predictable or deterministic orbit. In the example of FIG. 1, the plurality of UEs is initially served in a source cell by LEO satellite gNB 102. Once the LEO satellite moves to a new cell, most of the UEs will be handed over to a new target cell, e.g., served by LEO satellite gNB 101. Paragraph [0022]: In the example of FIG. 1, source gNB 102 broadcasts (or groupcasts) a downlink HO command message to all (or a group of predetermined) UEs in the serving cell. Paragraph [0032]: UE1-UEn belong to a group of UEs that are served by source base station gNB 501 in a serving cell. In step 514, source gNB 501 broadcasts or groupcasts HO command to the group of UE1-UEn. Paragraph [0033]: In step 521, UE1-UEn receive the broadcast or groupcast RRC message and start cell switching (handover to a target cell).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN, as taught by Roy in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can switch to another cell based on the information received from the LEO satellite which can estimate the target cell based on its movement and speed (Roy: Paragraphs [00005], [0019], [0022], [0032], [0033]).
The combination of Cheng and Roy does not explicitly teach wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell.
However, Choi teaches wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell (Paragraph [0171]: Referring to FIG. 10 b , the TN base station transmits RA related information on the NTN cell to a UE (S1011). Step S1011 may be performed, for example, in an environment in which the TN base station communicates with the UE in cooperation with an NTN base station that provides an NTN cell based on DC. In this case, the NTN cell may be adjacent to or include a TN cell. Paragraph [0172]: In step S1011, the RA related information may be transmitted by being included in an RRC message. Paragraph [0173]: the UE may perform handover more easily by receiving the RA related information on the NTN cell from the TN base station in advance through an RRC message. Paragraph [0175]: In one aspect, the RA related information may include a size (or the number of resource blocks) field of a frequency region allocated for random access preamble transmission. Paragraph [0176]: In another aspect, the RA related information may further include information on enhanced PRACH frequency resources for the NTN cell. Paragraph [0178]: For example, the UE may perform a random access procedure in order to access the NTN cell after receiving the RA related information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Cheng and Roy, so that the UE can perform handover to the second cell via the random access procedure (Choi: Paragraphs [0171], [0172], [0173], [0175], [0176], [0178]).
The combination of Cheng, Roy, and Choi does not explicitly teach receiving, from the first network node, a trigger for performing the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE.
However, Kung teaches receiving, from the first network node, a trigger for performing the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE (Paragraph [0435]: The Source Cell 606 may transmit 612 a message to the Target Cell 604, wherein the message comprises information of the UE 602 (e.g., the information may comprise a C-RNTI for the UE 602, reference signal information, a measurement report and/or one or more random access resources) for a mobility procedure (e.g., a possible mobility procedure). The Target Cell 604 may transmit 614 an acknowledgement to the Source Cell 606. In some examples, the acknowledgement may comprise one or more resources, for random access procedure, dedicated to the UE 602 (e.g., a SSB index, a CSI-RS index, one or more RACH occasions and/or a preamble). The Source Cell 606 may trigger and/or initiate 616 a mobility procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 mobility procedure, such as a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover). The Source Cell 606 may trigger and/or initiate 616 the mobility procedure by transmitting a signaling to the UE 602. The signaling may comprise a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may comprise a MAC CE. The signaling may comprise information for random access procedure of the Target Cell 604 (e.g., at least one of a preamble index, one or more reference signal indexes, one or more RACH occasions).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide receiving, from the first network node, a trigger for performing the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Cheng, Roy, and Choi, so that the UE can complete the mobility procedure upon receiving the trigger (Kung: Paragraph [0435]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information is included in an RRC message (Paragraph [0063]: At 220, BS 204 may decide whether to handover the UE (e.g., change the PCell on the same gNB in this example) based on the MeasurementReport and Radio Resource Management (RRM) information. After making such a decision, BS 204 may provide, at 225, the RRC configuration to UE 202. Paragraph [0064]: At operation 230, UE 202 may move to the serving cell, for example, by moving the RRC connection to the target cell (e.g., by detaching from the old serving cell and synchronizing with the new target cell). UE 202 may synchronize with the target cell and complete the RRC handover procedure. Paragraph [0081]: In some implementations, the AS Context for a UE in RRC_INACTIVE state may be stored when the (RRC) connection is suspended (e.g., when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state) and may be restored/retrieved when the connection is resumed (e.g., when the UE transitions from the RRC_INACTIVE state to an RRC_CONNECTED state). The suspension of the RRC connection may be initiated by the network (e.g., the serving RAN). When the RRC connection is suspended, the UE may store the UE Inactive AS context (and any related configuration received from the network). Paragraph [0093]: Source BS 204 may send an RRCReconfiguration message to UE 202 at 1040. This message may contain the configuration of CHO candidate cell(s) as well as the CHO execution condition(s). The message may also provide the SMTC associated with the target cell. UE 202 may send, at 1045, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to source BS 204.)
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information is included in a conditional RRC reconfiguration information element (Paragraph [0060]: FIG. 2 is a diagram 200 illustrating Intra-BS mobility in which a UE changes its primary cell (PCell), according to an example implementation of the present application. More specifically, a base station (e.g., a gNB) may modify the UE's RRC connection, for example, by explicitly signaling an RRC reconfiguration message to the UE. Paragraph [0063]: At 220, BS 204 may decide whether to handover the UE (e.g., change the PCell on the same gNB in this example) based on the MeasurementReport and Radio Resource Management (RRM) information. After making such a decision, BS 204 may provide, at 225, the RRC configuration to UE 202, for example, by sending an RRCReconfiguration message to the UE, which may include at least the cell ID and all other information required to access the target cell. Paragraph [0093]: Source BS 204 may send an RRCReconfiguration message to UE 202 at 1040. This message may contain the configuration of CHO candidate cell(s) as well as the CHO execution condition(s). The message may also provide the SMTC associated with the target cell. UE 202 may send, at 1045, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to source BS 204.).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a timing related to the switching and a Physical Cell Identity (PCI) associated with the second cell and/or a Synchronization Signal/Physical Broadcast Channel block (SSB) pattern associated with the second cell (Abstract: A method for a user equipment (UE) connected to a serving cell associated with a first satellite is provided. The method receives a measurement configuration including a plurality of synchronization signal block (SSB) measurement timing configurations (SMTCs). The method further receives a signal to perform a measurement procedure for a second cell associated with a second satellite and performs the measurement procedure based on the received plurality of SMTCs. Paragraph [0059]: As described above, according to the 3GPP specification, an SSB measurement timing configuration (SMTC) window has to be signaled to the UE for the UE to be able to detect the SSBs and perform measurements based on the detected SSBs. The SMTC configuration may include the periodicities and offsets of the SSB signals. Since in NTNs, all the signals include a propagation delay, the UE may miss the SSB measurement windows if it relies on the periodicities and offsets that are defined in the current SMTC configurations. As such, some of the present implementations provide one or more additional offset values that are different than the tradition offset values defined in the current SMTC configurations. This way, the UE may be able to identify the SSB signals that are received within their corresponding SMTC windows. Performing the measurements properly and accurately may enable the UE to perform an accurate handover procedure and switch from its current primary and/or secondary serving cell(s) to the best new candidate serving cell(s). Paragraph [0060]: FIG. 2 is a diagram 200 illustrating Intra-BS mobility in which a UE changes its primary cell (PCell). Paragraph [0061]: The first SMTC (SMTC1) may include the primary SSB measurement timing configuration. UE 202 may set up the first SMTC through the received periodicity and offset parameters (e.g., periodicityAndOffset parameter) that is included in the SMTC1 configuration. Paragraph [0062]: The second SMTC (SMTC2) may include a secondary measurement timing configuration for the SS/PBCH blocks corresponding to the Physical Cell ID (PCI) (e.g., listed in a pci-List parameter). When SMTC2 is present, for cells that are indicated in the pci-List parameter in SMTC2 (e.g., of the same MeasObjectNR), the UE may set up an additional SMTC. In some implementations, a pci-List parameter may include a list of physical cell identities, which may be used for different purposes. ssbFrequency is another parameter included in SMTC2 which indicates the frequency of the SSB associated with the MeasObjectNR carrying the second SMTC. Similarly, ssbSubcarrierSpacing is another parameter in SMTC2 that indicates the subcarrier spacing (SCS) of SS/PBCH block (SSB). Paragraph [0184]: In some implementations, the NW may indicate to the UE the timing for a satellite HO procedure, or a procedure that is involved with a satellite HO.)
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1).
Cheng further teaches wherein the information related to switching includes an identifier for a plurality of UEs including the UE (Paragraph [0069]: Source BS 202 may provide the RRC configuration to the UE by forwarding, at 225, an RRCReconfiguration message. The RRCReconfiguration message may include at least a cell ID, a new Cell Radio Network Temporary Identifier (C-RNTI), and the system information of the target cell.)
Cheng does not explicitly teach an identifier for a plurality of UEs including the UE.
However, Roy teaches an identifier for a plurality of UEs including the UE (Paragraph [0033]: In step 521, UE1-UEn receive the broadcast or groupcast RRC message and start cell switching (handover to a target cell). The RRC message carries at least an addressing configuration and a security configuration. The security configuration contains a key to be used with legacy PDCP security. The address configuration contains an RNTI for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressing, which is used for scheduling of the broadcast or groupcast RRC message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide an identifier for a plurality of UEs including the UE, as taught by Roy in the system of Cheng, so that the scheduling of the groupcast message for cell switching or handover can be performed (Roy: Paragraph [0033]).
The combination of Cheng, Roy, and Choi does not explicitly teach that the trigger is addressed to the identifier.
However, Kung teaches that the trigger is addressed to the identifier (Paragraph [0435]: The Source Cell 606 may transmit 612 a message to the Target Cell 604, wherein the message comprises information of the UE 602 (e.g., the information may comprise a C-RNTI for the UE 602, reference signal information, a measurement report and/or one or more random access resources) for a mobility procedure (e.g., a possible mobility procedure). The Target Cell 604 may transmit 614 an acknowledgement to the Source Cell 606. In some examples, the acknowledgement may comprise one or more resources, for random access procedure, dedicated to the UE 602 (e.g., a SSB index, a CSI-RS index, one or more RACH occasions and/or a preamble). The Source Cell 606 may trigger and/or initiate 616 a mobility procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 mobility procedure, such as a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover). The Source Cell 606 may trigger and/or initiate 616 the mobility procedure by transmitting a signaling to the UE 602. The signaling may comprise a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may comprise a MAC CE. The signaling may comprise information for random access procedure of the Target Cell 604 (e.g., at least one of a preamble index, one or more reference signal indexes, one or more RACH occasions). The mobility completion message may comprise a C-RNTI MAC CE, a PUCCH transmission and/or a RRC message. The C-RNTI may be provided by the Source Cell 606 (e.g., the C-RNTI may be included in the RRC message transmitted at 608 and/or in the signaling transmitted to trigger and/or initiate 616 the mobility procedure).)
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng further teaches wherein each of the first network node and the second network node includes a gateway or a base station (Paragraph [0070]: In NTN, a serving satellite connected to a source BS may change to a target satellite connected to a different target BS from time to time, while the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an inter-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 5 illustrates an example where a serving satellite that is positioned between a first BS and a UE changes to a second satellite that is positioned between a second BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 5 illustrates the same LEO satellite 110, BS 140, and UE 160 as shown above, with reference to FIG. 1. However, as shown in FIG. 5, source LEO satellite 110 may be handed over to target LEO satellite 320, to which, another BS 520 and UE 160 may be connected. Paragraph [0060]: FIG. 2 is a diagram 200 illustrating Intra-BS mobility in which a UE changes its primary cell (PCell), according to an example implementation of the present application. Paragraph [0065]: In NTN, a serving satellite between a BS and a UE may change from time to time, while the BS and the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an intra-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 3 illustrates an example in which a serving satellite between a BS and a UE changes to a second satellite between the BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application.)
Regarding claim 14, Cheng teaches a method performed by a first network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), the method comprising: transmitting, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN for use by the UE in performing a cell switching to select the second cell; maintaining a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration associated with the first cell in a case where the UE suspends the connection in the first and performs the cell switching based on the information, to select the second cell; and resuming the connection using the RRC configuration in the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng does not explicitly teach transmitting, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN.
However, Roy teaches transmitting, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN, as taught by Roy in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can switch to another cell based on the information received from the LEO satellite which can estimate the target cell based on its movement and speed (Roy: Paragraphs [0005], [0019], [0022], [0032], [0033]).
The combination of Cheng and Roy does not explicitly teach wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell.
However, Choi teaches wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Cheng and Roy, so that the UE can perform handover to the second cell via the random access procedure (Choi: Paragraphs [0171], [0172], [0173], [0175], [0176], [0178]).
The combination of Cheng, Roy, and Choi does not explicitly teach transmitting, to the UE, a trigger for the UE to initiate the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE.
However, Kung teaches transmitting, to the UE, a trigger for the UE to initiate the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide transmitting, to the UE, a trigger for the UE to initiate the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Cheng, Roy, and Choi, so that the UE can complete the mobility procedure upon receiving the trigger (Kung: Paragraph [0435]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 14, further comprising (see rejection for claim 14);
Cheng further teaches controlling the second cell; and relocating a UE context associated with the UE from another network node controlling the first cell before resuming the connection in the second cell (Paragraph [0078]: In some implementations, in an RRC_INACTIVE state, a UE may remain as Connection Management (CM)-CONNECTED (e.g., where the UE has signaling connection with AMF) and may move within an area configured by the NG-RAN (e.g., RNA) without notifying the NG-RAN. In the RRC_INACTIVE state, the last serving cell (e.g., associated with a gNB) and the UE itself may keep the UE context (e.g., the UE (Inactive) Access Stratum (AS) context of the UE) and the UE-associated NG connection with the serving AMF and UPF. Paragraph [0079]: In some implementations, for NR connected to 5GC network, a UE's identity (e.g., full I-RNTI and/or short I-RNTI) may be used to identify the UE context (and the anchor cell/BS which stores the UE context) in the RRC_INACTIVE state. The I-RNTI may provide the new NG-RAN node with a reference to the UE context corresponding the old NG-RAN node. Paragraph [0080]: A UE specific reference may include a reference to the UE context within a logical NG-RAN node.)
Regarding claim 17, Cheng teaches a user equipment (UE) configured to communicate via a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), the UE comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to: (Paragraph [0020]: In a second aspect, a UE connected to a serving cell associated with a first satellite is provided. The UE includes one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer-executable instructions to perform measurements. The UE also includes at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media, and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions. Paragraph [0046]: The software implementation may comprise computer executable instructions stored on computer readable medium such as memory or other type of storage devices. Paragraph [0065]: In NTN, a serving satellite between a BS and a UE may change from time to time, while the BS and the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an intra-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 3 illustrates an example in which a serving satellite between a BS and a UE changes to a second satellite between the BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application.)
receive, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN; suspend, based on the information, the connection in the first cell while maintaining a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration associated with the first cell; perform a cell switching based on the information to select the second cell; and resume the connection using the RRC configuration in the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng does not explicitly teach to receive, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN.
However, Roy teaches to receive, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive, from a first network node, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN, as taught by Roy in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can switch to another cell based on the information received from the LEO satellite which can estimate the target cell based on its movement and speed (Roy: Paragraphs [00005], [0019], [0022], [0032], [0033]).
The combination of Cheng and Roy does not explicitly teach wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell.
However, Choi teaches wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Cheng and Roy, so that the UE can perform handover to the second cell via the random access procedure (Choi: Paragraphs [0171], [0172], [0173], [0175], [0176], [0178]).
The combination of Cheng, Roy, and Choi does not explicitly teach to receive, from the first network node, a trigger for performing the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE.
However, Kung teaches to receive, from the first network node, a trigger for performing the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to receive, from the first network node, a trigger for performing the random access procedure via the second cell, wherein the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Cheng, Roy, and Choi, so that the UE can complete the mobility procedure upon receiving the trigger (Kung: Paragraph [0435]).
Regarding claim 19, Cheng teaches a first network node configured to communicate with a user equipment (UE) via a Non-Terrestrial Network (NTN), the first network node comprising: a memory storing instructions; and at least one processor configured to process the instructions to (Paragraph [0201]: As illustrated in FIG. 19, memory 1928 may store computer-readable, computer-executable instructions 1932 (e.g., software codes) that are configured to, when executed, cause processor 1926 to perform various functions described herein. Paragraph [0202]: Processor 1926 may include an intelligent hardware device, for example, a central processing unit (CPU), a microcontroller, an ASIC, etc. Processor 1926 may include memory. Processor 1926 may process data 1930 and instructions 1932 received from memory. [0065]: In NTN, a serving satellite between a BS and a UE may change from time to time, while the BS and the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an intra-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 3 illustrates an example in which a serving satellite between a BS and a UE changes to a second satellite between the BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application.)
transmit, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN for use by the UE in performing a cell switching to select the second cell; maintain a Radio Resource Control (RRC) configuration associated with the first cell in a case where the UE suspends the connection in the first; and performs the cell switching based on the information, to select the second cell; and resume the connection using the RRC configuration in the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng does not explicitly teach to transmit, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN.
However, Roy teaches to transmit, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, to the UE, information related to switching a connection from a first cell served by the first network node to a second cell served by a second network node in the NTN, as taught by Roy in the system of Cheng, so that the UE can switch to another cell based on the information received from the LEO satellite which can estimate the target cell based on its movement and speed (Roy: Paragraphs [00005], [0019], [0022], [0032], [0033]).
The combination of Cheng and Roy does not explicitly teach wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell.
However, Choi teaches wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide wherein the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Cheng and Roy, so that the UE can perform handover to the second cell via the random access procedure (Choi: Paragraphs [0171], [0172], [0173], [0175], [0176], [0178]).
The combination of Cheng, Roy, and Choi does not explicitly teach to transmit, to the UE, a trigger for the UE to initiate the random access procedure via the second cell, the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE.
However, Kung teaches to transmit, to the UE, a trigger for the UE to initiate the random access procedure via the second cell, the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE (see rejection for claim 1);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to transmit, to the UE, a trigger for the UE to initiate the random access procedure via the second cell, the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Cheng, Roy, and Choi, so that the UE can complete the mobility procedure upon receiving the trigger (Kung: Paragraph [0435]).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng further teaches wherein the first cell and the second cell are both in the NTN (Paragraph [0070]: In NTN, a serving satellite connected to a source BS may change to a target satellite connected to a different target BS from time to time, while the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an inter-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 5 illustrates an example where a serving satellite that is positioned between a first BS and a UE changes to a second satellite that is positioned between a second BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application. FIG. 5 illustrates the same LEO satellite 110, BS 140, and UE 160 as shown above, with reference to FIG. 1. However, as shown in FIG. 5, source LEO satellite 110 may be handed over to target LEO satellite 320, to which, another BS 520 and UE 160 may be connected. Paragraph [0060]: FIG. 2 is a diagram 200 illustrating Intra-BS mobility in which a UE changes its primary cell (PCell), according to an example implementation of the present application. Paragraph [0065]: In NTN, a serving satellite between a BS and a UE may change from time to time, while the BS and the UE may remain the same. This scenario may be called an intra-BS satellite handover procedure. FIG. 3 illustrates an example in which a serving satellite between a BS and a UE changes to a second satellite between the BS and the UE, according to an example implementation of the present application.)
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1 (see rejection for claim 1);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information related to switching is received, by the UE and from the first network node, via any of an RRC reconfiguration message (Paragraph [0063]: At 220, BS 204 may decide whether to handover the UE (e.g., change the PCell on the same gNB in this example) based on the MeasurementReport and Radio Resource Management (RRM) information. After making such a decision, BS 204 may provide, at 225, the RRC configuration to UE 202. Paragraph [0064]: At operation 230, UE 202 may move to the serving cell, for example, by moving the RRC connection to the target cell (e.g., by detaching from the old serving cell and synchronizing with the new target cell). UE 202 may synchronize with the target cell and complete the RRC handover procedure. Paragraph [0081]: In some implementations, the AS Context for a UE in RRC_INACTIVE state may be stored when the (RRC) connection is suspended (e.g., when the UE is in an RRC_INACTIVE state) and may be restored/retrieved when the connection is resumed (e.g., when the UE transitions from the RRC_INACTIVE state to an RRC_CONNECTED state). The suspension of the RRC connection may be initiated by the network (e.g., the serving RAN). When the RRC connection is suspended, the UE may store the UE Inactive AS context (and any related configuration received from the network). Paragraph [0093]: Source BS 204 may send an RRCReconfiguration message to UE 202 at 1040. This message may contain the configuration of CHO candidate cell(s) as well as the CHO execution condition(s). The message may also provide the SMTC associated with the target cell. UE 202 may send, at 1045, an RRCReconfigurationComplete message to source BS 204.)
The combination of Cheng, Choi, and Kung does not explicitly teach a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices.
However, Roy teaches a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices (Paragraph [0032]: In step 514, source gNB 501 broadcasts or groupcasts HO command to the group of UE1-UEn. The HO command is carried by an RRC connection reconfiguration message, which can be sent on a separate broadcast or groupcast signaling radio bearer (SRB). The group of UEs (UE1-UEn) are estimated by the network that they are located in relatively close proximity and can be handover from the source base station to the same target base station simultaneously based on the predicable mobility patterns of the satellites. Paragraph [0033]: In step 521, UE1-UEn receive the broadcast or groupcast RRC message and start cell switching (handover to a target cell). The RRC message carries at least an addressing configuration and a security configuration. The security configuration contains a key to be used with legacy PDCP security. The address configuration contains an RNTI for physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) addressing, which is used for scheduling of the broadcast or groupcast RRC message.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices, as taught by Roy in the combined system of Cheng, Choi, and Kung, so that the plurality of UEs can complete the handover procedure based on the group handover command message (Roy: Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 14 (see rejection for claim 14);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information related to switching is transmitted, to the UE
and from the first network node, via any of an RRC reconfiguration message (see rejection for claim 22);
The combination of Cheng, Choi, and Kung does not explicitly teach a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices.
However, Roy teaches a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices, as taught by Roy in the combined system of Cheng, Choi, and Kung, so that the plurality of UEs can complete the handover procedure based on the group handover command message (Roy: Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the UE according to claim 17 (see rejection for claim 17);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information related to switching is received, by the UE and from the first network node, via any of an RRC reconfiguration message (see rejection for claim 22);
The combination of Cheng, Choi, and Kung does not explicitly teach a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices.
However, Roy teaches a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices, as taught by Roy in the combined system of Cheng, Choi, and Kung, so that the plurality of UEs can complete the handover procedure based on the group handover command message (Roy: Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the first network node according to claim 19 (see rejection for claim 19);
Cheng further teaches wherein the information related to switching is transmitted, to the UE
and from the first network node, via any of an RRC reconfiguration message (see rejection for claim 22);
The combination of Cheng, Choi, and Kung does not explicitly teach a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices.
However, Roy teaches a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices (see rejection for claim 22);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide a group handover command message, the group handover command message being of a broadcast from the first network node and to a group of mobile devices, and the UE is included in the group of mobile devices, as taught by Roy in the combined system of Cheng, Choi, and Kung, so that the plurality of UEs can complete the handover procedure based on the group handover command message (Roy: Paragraphs [0032], [0033]).
Regarding claim 26, the combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches the method according to claim 1, further comprising: (see rejection for claim 1);
The combination of Cheng and Roy does not explicitly teach performing the random access procedure using the random access preamble and the resource.
However, Choi teaches performing the random access procedure using the resource (Paragraph [0171]: Referring to FIG. 10 b , the TN base station transmits RA related information on the NTN cell to a UE (S1011). Step S1011 may be performed, for example, in an environment in which the TN base station communicates with the UE in cooperation with an NTN base station that provides an NTN cell based on DC. In this case, the NTN cell may be adjacent to or include a TN cell. Paragraph [0172]: In step S1011, the RA related information may be transmitted by being included in an RRC message. Paragraph [0173]: the UE may perform handover more easily by receiving the RA related information on the NTN cell from the TN base station in advance through an RRC message. Paragraph [0175]: In one aspect, the RA related information may include a size (or the number of resource blocks) field of a frequency region allocated for random access preamble transmission. Paragraph [0176]: In another aspect, the RA related information may further include information on enhanced PRACH frequency resources for the NTN cell. Paragraph [0178]: For example, the UE may perform a random access procedure in order to access the NTN cell after receiving the RA related information.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide performing the random access procedure using the resource, as taught by Choi in the combined system of Cheng and Roy, so that the UE can perform handover to the second cell via the random access procedure (Choi: Paragraphs [0171], [0172], [0173], [0175], [0176], [0178]).
The combination of Cheng, Roy, and Choi does not explicitly teach performing the random access procedure using the random access preamble and the resource.
However, Kung teaches performing the random access procedure using the random access preamble and the resource (Paragraph [0435]: The Source Cell 606 may transmit 612 a message to the Target Cell 604, wherein the message comprises information of the UE 602 (e.g., the information may comprise a C-RNTI for the UE 602, reference signal information, a measurement report and/or one or more random access resources) for a mobility procedure (e.g., a possible mobility procedure). The Target Cell 604 may transmit 614 an acknowledgement to the Source Cell 606. In some examples, the acknowledgement may comprise one or more resources, for random access procedure, dedicated to the UE 602 (e.g., a SSB index, a CSI-RS index, one or more RACH occasions and/or a preamble). The Source Cell 606 may trigger and/or initiate 616 a mobility procedure (e.g., a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 mobility procedure, such as a Layer-1 and/or Layer-2 handover). The Source Cell 606 may trigger and/or initiate 616 the mobility procedure by transmitting a signaling to the UE 602. The signaling may comprise a DCI. Alternatively and/or additionally, the signaling may comprise a MAC CE. The signaling may comprise information for random access procedure of the Target Cell 604 (e.g., at least one of a preamble index, one or more reference signal indexes, one or more RACH occasions).)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide and the resource, as taught by Kung in the combined system of Cheng, Roy, and Choi, so that the UE can complete the mobility procedure upon receiving the trigger (Kung: Paragraph [0435]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed April 01, 2026 with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 7, 10, 14, 16, 17, 19 and 21 being rejected under 35 USC 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (US 2022/0046498), in view of Roy et al. (US2020/0314914) and Choi (US 2024/0260078); claims 4, 5, and 8 being rejected under 35 USC 103 as unpatentable over Cheng in view of Roy et al., Choi, and Jeon et al. (US 2020/0314917) have been fully considered.
Applicant submits that Cheng and Roy do not disclose or suggest the limitations of amended independent claim 1 which recites in part: “the information related to switching includes information identifying a resource to be used by the UE for the random access procedure via the second cell”. However, Choi teaches that the first base station (TN) transmits random access (RA) related information to the UE, so that the UE may perform handover more easily by receiving the RA related information on the NTN cell from the TN base station. The RA related information includes information on a size (or the number of resource blocks) field of a frequency region allocated for random access preamble transmission, and may also include information on enhanced PRACH frequency resources to perform a random access procedure in order to access the NTN cell.
Applicant submits that Choi does not disclose or suggest the limitations of amended independent claim 1 which recites in part “the trigger includes a Medium Access Control (MAC) Control Element (CE) and information identifying a random access preamble for the UE”. However, Kung teaches that the source cell may trigger and/or initiate the mobility procedure by transmitting a signaling to the UE, where the signaling may comprise a MAC CE. The signaling may comprise information for random access procedure of the target cell, such as a preamble, one or more reference signal indexes, one or more RACH occasions.
The combination of Cheng, Roy, Choi, and Kung teaches amended independent claim 1, and also amended independent claims 14, 17, and 19, which recite similar limitations.
Conclusion
/L.C./Examiner, Art Unit 2461
/HUY D VU/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2461