DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered and are persuasive with respect to claims 21-23 (which present an amended variations on prior claims 1, 6 and 12).
Applicant's arguments filed 1/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive with respect to the rejections of claims 1-17 and 20 under 35 U.S.C. 103, as well as to claims 24-26 (which present an amended variations on prior claims 1, 6 and 7).
With respect to claims 1-17 and 20, Kellhammer has applied to address applicant’s amendments removing mechanical connectors from the list of connectors. Kellhammer discloses and makes obvious an electromechanical connector which also includes electrical and pneumatic connectors.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
The Vignali reference discloses much of the claim 1 and 17. However, as noted in the prior action, “Vignali discloses auxiliary unit modules (such as the other of the stations or labeling groups shown in Figure 17-18, including the cutting device 10, printing device 42, gluing device 43, service conveyor 45 and web feeding unit 5) but does not disclose wherein the label conveyor has several module docking stations, and the at least one auxiliary unit module is releasably connected to one of the several module docking stations.”1 Carmichael is then applied to make obvious the use of docking stations and modules applied to docking stations.
Vignali discloses nearly all of the structure of the claims, minus the docking stations to a label conveyor. Carmichael discloses that docking stations are known in the labeling arts for connecting modules to an article conveyor, and thus supports the solution of using docking stations in general adjacent a conveyor to connect other modules. Additionally, MPEP 2144.04 V B through D supports the combination. These sections of the MPEP support the proposition that making elements integral, making elements separable, and making elements adjustable are all often obvious, and therefore would make obvious modifying Vignali to be integral, separable and adjustable. In this case, one would look to the structures of Carmichael in order to provide the structure of a docking station adjacent a conveyor that would result in the connection being integral, separable and adjustable to provide a method of docking a modular operative group in a straightforward, low-cost manner.
Additionally, Kellhammer makes obvious combining electrical, mechanical and pneumatic connectors.
The result is that the combination of Vignali and Carmichael and Kellhammer takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure and therefore such a reconstruction is proper.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (that the front side printing is a different side than the gluing side) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant that the limitation of “wherein the printing device is arranged for printing of a front side of the label” is not disclosed by the prior art due to printing on the same side as later gluing. However, claims 24-26 make no mention of gluing, and therefore applicant’s arguments are not commensurate with the scope of the claims.
Claim Interpretation
Several of the claims recite limitation of “at least one” followed by a list of alternatives. Examples include language such as “at least one auxiliary unit module from the group of” (such as in claim 1) or “having at least one of the following features” (such as in claim 2), or “each of the several movement devices has at least one of…” (such as in claim 10), or “has at least one of the following features” (such as in claim 15). For these claims, only one of the alternatives is necessary to read on the claims.
Similarly, several of the claims recite limitation of “and/or” to separate a list of options. See for example, claim 4 (“and/or” in line 4); claim 7 (“and/or” in line 3); claim 17 (“docking and/or undocking”). Under the broadest reasonable interpretation standard, the term “and/or” can be interpreted broadly as covering either “or”, “and” or “and/or”. For these claims, only one of the and/or options is necessary to read on the claims.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“movement device” in claim 1. The specification discloses numerous possible corresponding structures, including that “the movement devices 20 are equipped with permanent magnets”, that “the movement devices 20 are equipped with individually excitable electromagnets”, “the movement devices 20 can have a cuboid or disk shape” and “The movement devices 20 can carry label holders for holding the labels 2. The label holders can hold the labels in any suitable manner, e.g., mechanically, electrostatically, or pneumatically, etc.”.
“cutting device for cutting” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The specification discloses that “The cutting device 10 can have, for example, a housing 40 and a blade 41.”
“printing device for printing” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The specification discloses that “The printing device 42 can be configured, for example, as an inkjet printing device or a laser printing device.”
“adhesive device for applying an adhesive” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The specification discloses that “The adhesive device 43 can, for example, be a glue atomizer, a glue roller, or what is known as a Gluejet.”
“label web feed unit for feeding” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The specification discloses that “The label web feed unit 5 can have several rolls11 of the web 6. The rolls 11 can each have separate drives for rotating the rolls 11.”
“splicing device for connecting” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The specification discloses that “the splicing device can have a punch, which presses together and optionally welds the two label webs.”
“buffer device for buffering” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The specification discloses that “The buffer can thus constitute what is known as a dancer.”
“label holder for holding” in claim 10. The specification discloses that “the label holders can, for example, have at least one movable gripper,”, that “the label holders can be electrostatically charged with one of a negative or positive charge”, or “the label holders preferably hold the labels 2 pneumatically. On end faces of the label holders, connections or openings can be arranged, for example, in a perforated plate, which can alternatively be used to produce suction pressure or overpressure on the web 6 or the label 2.”
“setting device which is configured to change an angle” in claim 15. The specification discloses that “The setting device 94 can be configured, for example, as an actuator - for example, an electromagnet.”
“control unit which is configured to operate” in claim 15. The specification discloses that “Preferably, the term, "control unit," can refer to an electronic system (e.g., having microprocessor(s) and data memory) and/or a mechanical, pneumatic, and/or hydraulic controller which can take over control tasks and/or regulate tasks and/or processing tasks, depending upon the design.”
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step”, or a generic placeholder for “means”, but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
“camera device for monitoring” in claim 1, 21 and 24. The camera is sufficient structure to perform the function of “for monitoring”.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1).
As to claim 24, Vignali discloses a device for labeling objects, wherein the device comprises:
an object conveyor for conveying the objects (such as carousel conveyor 4, see page 6, line 20, disclosing “articles 3 are carried by conveyor 4 with their axes A parallel to axis B and are advanced along path P”);
a label conveyor (label transfer device 7) for conveying several labels along a circulating conveyor track by use of several movement devices (see page 7, line 1, disclosing: “a label transfer device 7 receiving a web 6 of labelling material from the web feeding unit 5 at an input station 8 and adapted to transfer label sheets 2 to carousel conveyor 4 at an application station”);
an application region (application station 9) in which the labels conveyed by the label conveyor can be applied to the objects conveyed by the object conveyor (see page 10, line 6, disclosing: “application station 9 is arranged in correspondence of vertex 24 of track 19 and is substantially tangent to carousel conveyor”); and
at least one auxiliary unit module from the group of:
a cutting device for cutting the labels from a label web (see page 7, line 6, disclosing: “a cutting device 10 for cutting the web 6 of labelling material”),
a printing device for printing on the labels (see page 12, line 20, disclosing: “a printing device 42 (known per se and only schematically shown) for printing given patterns or bar codes on label sheets”),
an adhesive device for applying an adhesive to the labels (see page 12, line 23, disclosing: “a gluing device 43 (known per se and only schematically shown), e.g. a glue sprayer, for applying glue to label sheets 2”),
a service conveyor for unloading movement devices from the label conveyor and loading movement devices onto the label conveyor (see page 13, line 8, disclosing “a closed-loop service conveyor 45 arranged laterally with respect to conveyor 18 in front of branch 23 of track 19”),
at least one label web feed unit for feeding label webs (see page 6, line 25 through to page 7, line 4, disclosing “a web feeding unit 5; - a label transfer device 7 receiving a web 6 of labelling material from the web feeding unit 5 at an input station 8 and adapted to transfer label sheets 2 to carousel conveyor 4 at an application station 9”),
wherein: the label conveyor has a long-stator linear drive, a short-stator linear drive, or a planar drive for magnetically-inductive driving of the several movement devices (See Vignali, page 10, line 17, disclosing:
In the preferred embodiment shown in the enclosed figures, track 19 houses a stator armature formed by a plurality of individually-excitable solenoids 27 (known per se and only schematically shown in figure 2), and carts 20 house respective permanent magnets 28 (known per se and only schematically shown in figures 2 to 4); carts 20 are independently moved along track 19 by individually controlling the solenoids 27.
According to a possible alternative not shown, track 19 may be also provided with the permanent magnets and carts 20 may house the individually-excitable solenoids.
See also the abstract, reciting “the transfer conveyor (18) comprises a closed-loop transfer track (19) and at least two label holders (20, 20', 20'') movable on the transfer track (19) by means of a magnetic-inductive interaction.”.)
See Figure 1, below:
Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels. However, these elements are listed as “at least one of” alternatives to other limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.
Vignali discloses wherein: the printing device (“a printing device 42 (known per se and only schematically shown) for printing given patterns or bar codes on label sheets 2”) is arranged adjacent the circulating conveyor track (see Figure 1, relationship of bock 42 and label transfer device 7), and is considered capable of operation wherein the printing device is arranged for printing of a front side of the label (for example, if the front side of the label is interpreted as the same side than the glue side, or alternatively, if the label is intended to be reversed).
It should be noted that the structure of claim 24 does not prohibit the front side of the label being the same side as in the label sides in Vignali as the claim does not structurally define which side is a front side or rear side or how they differ.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) as applied to claim 24 above, and optionally further in view of Baumli (US 20040177931 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) has been applied to claim 24 above (under section 102). Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 24, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Baumli, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls. See paragraph 0062, disclosing:
[0062] FIG. 6 shows a schematic drawing of a label applying apparatus 100 for applying the rolls of labels described and shown in FIGS. 1 to 4 over the neck of a bottle. The apparatus includes an automatic splicing means which enables continuous operation of the labelling apparatus 100. The apparatus includes a framework 100A on which various components of the apparatus are mounted including two reel loading stations 102, 104. Each loading station includes a proximity switch, not illustrated, which provides a signal to an operator and/or to a control means 101 when the reel is close to finishing. Each reel 102, 104 has an associated unwind arm, 106, 108 respectively, which feeds web material 110 from the respective reels towards guide means 112, 114.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls in order to enable continuous operation.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) as applied to claim 24 above, and optionally further in view of Sindermann (US 20050034423 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) has been applied to claim 24 above (under section 102). Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 24, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Sindermann, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels. See paragraphs 0096 and 0107, disclosing:
[0096] There is shown in FIG. 8 in a simplified plan view of a labeling machine or station that comprises two alignment modules 34 and 35, a labeling module 36, a printing module 37, and an inspecting module 38. These modules may be examples of aggregates which may be above the base support 1 of the transport device 2.
…
[0107] The function of the `inspecting` module comprises, for example, the checking of the labeling result. This can be an inspection that merely inquires whether a label is present, or it may comprise an expanded inquiry that additionally examines the proper position of the labels. For realization of this function there is also provided use of at least one camera and/or other sensors, with the operation of the sensors encompassing all methods known in the state of the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels in order to examine the proper position of labels.
Claim(s) 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) as applied to claim 24 above, and optionally further in view of Williamson (US 20030010433 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) has been applied to claim 24 above (under section 102). Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 24, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Williamson, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a buffer device for buffering labels. See paragraphs 267, disclosing:
[0026] As will be appreciated, when the brake 23 is actuated, there will be a momentary stoppage in the movement of that portion of the web 12 between the brake 23 and the vacuum drum 40, but not a corresponding stoppage of movement of that portion of the web 12 between the feed roller 21 and the supply roll 10. In order to insure that tension is placed continually on the web 12 in the area between the feed roller 21 and supply roll 10, the dancer roller 27, mounted on the pivotedly mounted dancer arm 28, is moveable relative to the idler rollers 26 and 29 in order to take up any slack resulting from the momentary stoppage caused by the brake 23. A leather belt 17 passes around the supply roll 10 and engages the rolled web on the supply roll 10 to place some resistance to rotation of the supply roll 10 as is well known in the art. One end of the belt 17 is affixed to the frame 16 and the other end of the leather belt is affixed to a tension means, such as a spring which is itself affixed to the frame 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a buffer device for buffering labels in order to take up any slack resulting from the momentary stoppage.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1), Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1).
As to claim 1, Vignali discloses a device for labeling objects, wherein the device comprises:
an object conveyor for conveying the objects (such as carousel conveyor 4, see page 6, line 20, disclosing “articles 3 are carried by conveyor 4 with their axes A parallel to axis B and are advanced along path P”);
a label conveyor (label transfer device 7) for conveying several labels along a circulating conveyor track by use of several movement devices (see page 7, line 1, disclosing: “a label transfer device 7 receiving a web 6 of labelling material from the web feeding unit 5 at an input station 8 and adapted to transfer label sheets 2 to carousel conveyor 4 at an application station”);
an application region (application station 9) in which the labels conveyed by the label conveyor can be applied to the objects conveyed by the object conveyor (see page 10, line 6, disclosing: “application station 9 is arranged in correspondence of vertex 24 of track 19 and is substantially tangent to carousel conveyor”); and
at least one auxiliary unit module from the group of:
a cutting device for cutting the labels from a label web (see page 7, line 6, disclosing: “a cutting device 10 for cutting the web 6 of labelling material”),
a printing device for printing on the labels (see page 12, line 20, disclosing: “a printing device 42 (known per se and only schematically shown) for printing given patterns or bar codes on label sheets”),
an adhesive device for applying an adhesive to the labels (see page 12, line 23, disclosing: “a gluing device 43 (known per se and only schematically shown), e.g. a glue sprayer, for applying glue to label sheets 2”),
a service conveyor for unloading movement devices from the label conveyor and loading movement devices onto the label conveyor (see page 13, line 8, disclosing “a closed-loop service conveyor 45 arranged laterally with respect to conveyor 18 in front of branch 23 of track 19”),
at least one label web feed unit for feeding label webs (see page 6, line 25 through to page 7, line 4, disclosing “a web feeding unit 5; - a label transfer device 7 receiving a web 6 of labelling material from the web feeding unit 5 at an input station 8 and adapted to transfer label sheets 2 to carousel conveyor 4 at an application station 9”).
See Figure 1, below:
Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels. However, these elements are listed as “at least one of” alternatives to other limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.
Vignali discloses auxiliary unit modules (such as the other of the stations or labeling groups shown in Figure 17-18, including the cutting device 10, printing device 42, gluing device 43, service conveyor 45 and web feeding unit 5) but does not disclose wherein the label conveyor has several module docking stations, and the at least one auxiliary unit module is releasably connected to one of the several module docking stations, and does not disclose the several module docking stations and/or the at least one auxiliary unit module each have an electrical connector and/or a pneumatic connector;
However, Carmichael discloses and makes obvious that the label conveyor has several module docking stations (a plurality of a pair of docking elements 5), and the at least one auxiliary unit module is releasably connected to one of the several module docking stations in the context of modules adjacent to conveyors, and the several module docking stations and/or the at least one auxiliary unit module each have a mechanical connector and/or an electrical connector and/or a pneumatic connector (such as the mechanical connector of docking element 5 and docking elements 40, see Figures 1-4);.
See paragraphs 0022-27, disclosing:
Carousel 3 comprises a radially outer periphery 14 with respect to axis A and a plurality of pair of docking elements 5 for docking respective labelling groups 4 to carousel 3
Docking elements 5 are arranged radially inner with respect to periphery 14.
Furthermore, it is possible to identify, for each labelling group 4, a direction G, which is radial with respect to axis A.
In the following of the present description, only one labelling group 4 will be described, being all labelling groups 4 identical to one another.
Labelling group 4 is in the embodiment shown a so-called "roll-fed" labelling group and substantially comprises (Figures 17 and 18), in the embodiment shown,: a pair of shafts 6 for rotatably supporting relative reels (off which a strip of labels is unwound and fed along a feed an application station 15); a plurality of guide rollers 16 for guiding the strip along the feed path; a cutting element (not-shown) for cutting, one after the other, labels from the strip; a glue roller 12 for applying glue onto cut labels; and a transfer element 13 for transferring cut and glue-covered labels along an arc-shaped trajectory to application station 15.
Labelling group 4 comprises (Figures 1 to 8) a frame 10 (indicated only in Figure 17), which supports shafts 6, rollers 16, glue roller 12 and transfer element 13.
See also paragraphs 0033, disclosing:
In detail, labelling group 4 can be set in: an initial approach position (Figures 1 and 2), in which labelling group 4 is not docked to carousel 3, and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 are spaced parallel to axis A; a pre-docked position (Figures 3 and 4), in which walls 22, 23 are inclined with respect to floor 24 and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 contact with one another but are not blocked with one another; a fully docked position (Figures 5 and 6), in which walls 22, 23 are inclined with respect to floor 24 and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 are firmly blocked with one another blocked with one another; and a docked and levelled position (Figures 7 and 8), in which walls 22, 23 are again substantially parallel to floor 24 and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 are firmly blocked with one another.
See Figures 1-8, below:
See also Figures 9-16, showing an alternative embodiment.
Paragraph 0015 teaches that “It is an object of the present invention to provide a method of docking a modular operative group to a carousel of an article-handling machine for carrying out an operation on a plurality of articles, which meets the afore-mentioned need in a straightforward, low-cost manner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein the label conveyor has several module docking stations, and the at least one auxiliary unit module is releasably connected to one of the several module docking stations as taught by Carmichael to provide a method of docking a modular operative group in a straightforward, low-cost manner.
Kellhammer makes obvious the several module docking stations and/or the at least one auxiliary unit module each have an electrical connector and/or a pneumatic connector in combination with a mechanical connector.
See especially paragraphs 0050-53, disclosing:
[0050] The link line 40 is installed in FIG. 1 at, in particular inside, the main machine 10. The connection device 30 is arranged at one end of the link line 40. The connection line 50 is plugged into the connection device 30 to connect the labeling module 20 to the connection device 30 and, thus, to the link line 40 and to the electrical cabinet 11. To achieve this, the connection line 50 has at its end, for example, connector elements, which can be plugged into the connection device 30 being implemented as a socket for establishing an electric link. Alternatively, it is also possible that the connection line 50 is implemented at its end as a socket, which can receive connectors of the connection device 30 for establishing an electric link. The connection device 30 and the connection line 50 are thus configured as an electromechanical connector system.
[0051] FIG. 2 shows the connection side of the connection device 30 in more detail. Hence, the three phase conductors and the neutral conductor of a rotating current conductor can be connected via connection elements 31, 32, 33, 34 to the connection device 30. Additionally, the connection device 30 comprises at its connection side media connections 35, 36, 37 for connecting of media, which are not shown and which can be used in the operation of the labeling module 20. The media can be liquid and/or gaseous, for example. In particular, compressed air, water, etc. are possible media.
[0052] In the connection device 30, the connection elements 31 to 34 do not serve only for the electric energy supply of the labeling module 20. The connection elements 31 to 34 additionally serve for a realization of a transmission of data signals to the labeling module 20 as it is described later in more detail. In contrast thereto, the media contacts 35 to 37 serve as a connection unit for non-electrical media, that is they do not serve as a connection unit for electric current or electric signals.
[0053] Consequently, for realizing a transmission of data signals from the main control device 12 and/or the electrical cabinet 11 to the labeling module 20, the connection device 30 according to the present embodiment does not have a separate connection or a connection separated from the electric current supply. The connection device 30 comprises only connections for an electric power supply and a supply with other non-electrical media.
Paragraphs 0014-16 discloses some of the benefits of the electromechanical connector system, teaching that:
[0014] The object is solved by a labeling machine comprising at least one labeling module for labeling containers with a label, and a connection device for connecting a labeling module to an electric current line with which electric current can be supplied to the labeling module for operating the labeling module, wherein the connection device it configured such that a data link for transmitting a data signal between the labeling module and the labeling machine is realized via the connection for the electric current line.
[0015] With the realization of the data connection in the above-described manner, the connection device and, thus, its housing have smaller space requirements than a conventional connection device. Further, only the current line has to be sealed against the intrusion of dust and/or liquid.
[0016] In such a connection device, the system for transmitting electric current and data is less afflicted with wear than in a conventional connection device. Additionally, in the connection device, the system for transmitting electric current and data is more resistant against contamination than in a conventional connection device.
[0017] A further advantage of the connection device, results from the fact that the installation of the components necessary for the realization is less intricate. Herein, it is as needed no longer required to provide a separate space for the connection of a data line in the connection device. Thereby, the connection device becomes cheaper in the production. Additionally, the installation and servicing of the labeling machine becomes less intricate and thus cheaper. Should it be, however, sufficient to save only the data line and the necessary socket outlet and to ameliorate the realization of the data link thereby, the powerline modem can however also be integrated into the connection device or can be arranged at the connection device.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein the several module docking stations and/or the at least one auxiliary unit module each have an electrical connector and/or a pneumatic connector as in Kellhammer in order to achieve a connection device having smaller space requirements which is more resistant against contamination and which enables the installation and servicing of the labeling machine becomes less intricate and thus cheaper.
As to claim 2, Vignali does suggest the several modules are arranged on several peripheral sides of the label conveyor (see especially Figure 1).
Vignali does not disclose having at least one of the following features:
at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is selectively connectable to each of the module docking stations;
the several module docking stations are formed identically;
the several module docking stations each have at least two, mutually-spaced module docking sites for connecting to the same auxiliary unit module;
the several module docking stations are arranged at least in part on an inner peripheral side with respect to the circulating conveyor track; and
the several module docking stations are arranged on several peripheral sides of the label conveyor.
However, Carmichael discloses at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is selectively connectable to each of the module docking stations (see paragraph 0056, disclosing “Labelling group 4 further comprises actuators 28 for selectively moving respective pedestals 27 parallel to respective axes B between respective extended positions and withdrawn positions.” See also paragraph 0066, disclosing “Labelling group 4 further comprises a pair of actuators 36 for selectively moving respective wheels 35 parallel to respective axes C between respective extended positions and withdrawn positions.”); the several module docking stations are formed identically (see especially Figure 17, showing a pair of identical module docking stations); the several module docking stations each have at least two, mutually-spaced module docking sites for connecting to the same auxiliary unit module (a pair of docking elements 5 and 40; see especially the top view of Figures 2 and 4).
Carmichael does not disclose the several module docking stations are arranged at least in part on an inner peripheral side with respect to the circulating conveyor track; and the several module docking stations are arranged on several peripheral sides of the label conveyor.
However, these elements are listed as “at least one of” alternatives in a group to other limitations that Carmichael does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim. In any event, Vignali does suggest the several modules are arranged on several peripheral sides of the label conveyor (see especially Figure 1), although without disclosing docking stations, and rearrangement of parts (MPEP 2144.04) would have been obvious, including arranging the several module docking stations to be arranged at least in part on an inner peripheral side with respect to the circulating conveyor track.
Paragraph 0015 teaches that “It is an object of the present invention to provide a method of docking a modular operative group to a carousel of an article-handling machine for carrying out an operation on a plurality of articles, which meets the afore-mentioned need in a straightforward, low-cost manner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize having at least one of the following features: at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is selectively connectable to each of the module docking stations; the several module docking stations are formed identically; the several module docking stations each have at least two, mutually-spaced module docking sites for connecting to the same auxiliary unit module; the several module docking stations are arranged at least in part on an inner peripheral side with respect to the circulating conveyor track; and the several module docking stations are arranged on several peripheral sides of the label conveyor as taught by Carmichael to provide a method of docking a modular operative group in a straightforward, low-cost manner.
As to claim 3, Vignali does not disclose wherein: at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is mounted movably on rollers.
However, Carmichael discloses wherein: at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is mounted movably on rollers. See wheels 35 and 45. See also paragraph 0060, disclosing:
Labelling group 4 further comprises: a pair of frontwards wheels 35, which rotate about a common rotation axis E; and a pair of rearwards wheels 45, which rotate about a common rotation axis F.
See also paragraph 0061-0117, which discusses the wheel operation in further detail. Paragraph 0015 teaches that “It is an object of the present invention to provide a method of docking a modular operative group to a carousel of an article-handling machine for carrying out an operation on a plurality of articles, which meets the afore-mentioned need in a straightforward, low-cost manner.” Paragraph 0111 teaches that “In this way, the docking of labelling group 4, 4' to carousel 3 is eased, when labelling group 4, 4' is particularly heavy or when floor 24 is not regular.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein: at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is mounted movably on rollers as taught by Carmichael to provide a method of docking a modular operative group in a straightforward, low-cost manner and to enable docking when the module is particularly heavy or the floor is not regular.
As to claim 6, Vignali discloses wherein: the label conveyor has a long-stator linear drive, a short-stator linear drive, or a planar drive for magnetically-inductive driving of the several movement devices. See Vignali, page 10, line 17, disclosing:
In the preferred embodiment shown in the enclosed figures, track 19 houses a stator armature formed by a plurality of individually-excitable solenoids 27 (known per se and only schematically shown in figure 2), and carts 20 house respective permanent magnets 28 (known per se and only schematically shown in figures 2 to 4); carts 20 are independently moved along track 19 by individually controlling the solenoids 27.
According to a possible alternative not shown, track 19 may be also provided with the permanent magnets and carts 20 may house the individually-excitable solenoids.
See also the abstract, reciting “the transfer conveyor (18) comprises a closed-loop transfer track (19) and at least two label holders (20, 20', 20'') movable on the transfer track (19) by means of a magnetic-inductive interaction.”.
As to claim 7, Vignali discloses wherein: the printing device (“a printing device 42 (known per se and only schematically shown) for printing given patterns or bar codes on label sheets 2”) is arranged adjacent the circulating conveyor track (see Figure 1, relationship of bock 42 and label transfer device 7).
Vignali does not disclose wherein: the printing device is arranged within the circulating conveyor track; and/or the printing device is arranged for printing through a passage in the circulating conveyor track when printing on the labels.
However, reversal of parts and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Vignali discloses that: the printing device is arranged adjacent the circulating conveyor track, and it would have been an obvious reversal and rearrangement of parts wherein: the printing device is arranged within the circulating conveyor track; and/or the printing device is arranged for printing through a passage in the circulating conveyor track when printing on the labels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein: the printing device is arranged within the circulating conveyor track; and/or the printing device is arranged for printing through a passage in the circulating conveyor track when printing on the labels as an obvious reversal and rearrangement of parts such as the printing device of Vignali.
As to claim 8, Vignali discloses wherein: the circulating conveyor track has, in a plan view of the device, substantially a triangular shape (see Figure 5) or a rectangular shape; and/or the circulating conveyor track is oriented substantially vertically.
Vignali does not disclose or a rectangular shape; and/or the circulating conveyor track is oriented substantially vertically. However, these elements are listed as “or” or “and/or” alternatives to other limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.
As to claim 11, Vignali discloses further comprising feature (a) and at least one of features (b) and (c):
(a) the service conveyor has a circulating conveyor track (closed loop service conveyor 45) along which the several movement devices (carts 20, “carts 20 house respective permanent magnets 28”, or alternative, “may house the individually-excitable solenoids” ) can be moved; and
(c) and/or the service conveyor has a long stator which is arranged above or below the circulating guide track of the service conveyor (see for example, figure 3, which shows an arrangement of the long stator below the permanent magnets 28) and/or is arranged so as to be vertically offset with respect to a long stator of the label conveyor (“a closed-loop service track 46, equipped with a plurality of individually-excitable solenoids (identical to solenoids 27 and not shown)”).
See Vignali, page 10, line 17, disclosing:
In the preferred embodiment shown in the enclosed figures, track 19 houses a stator armature formed by a plurality of individually-excitable solenoids 27 (known per se and only schematically shown in figure 2), and carts 20 house respective permanent magnets 28 (known per se and only schematically shown in figures 2 to 4); carts 20 are independently moved along track 19 by individually controlling the solenoids 27.
According to a possible alternative not shown, track 19 may be also provided with the permanent magnets and carts 20 may house the individually-excitable solenoids.
See page 13, line 8, disclosing:
Labelling machine 1 advantageously also comprises a closed-loop service conveyor 45 arranged laterally with respect to conveyor 18 in front of branch 23 of track 19 and adapted to selectively receive carts 20 from label transfer device 7 for cleaning and/or maintenance thereof or adapted to selectively replace carts 20 with others of different type in case of switching of label format.
In particular, service conveyor 45 is of linear-motor type and comprises a closed-loop service track 46, equipped with a plurality of individually-excitable solenoids (identical to solenoids 27 and not shown).
Tracks 19 and 46 have branch 23 in common, along which carts 20 can be exchanged between the tracks 19, 46 themselves when production is stopped.
In particular (figure 5) , in case of change of label format, by appropriately controlling and operating conveyors 18, 45, it is possible to replace the carts 20 currently in use (shown in white in figure 5) with new ones (shown in grey in figure 5) suitable for the new label format .
See also page 16, line 6, disclosing:
Carts 20 that need to be replaced, cleaned or subjected to maintenance are conveniently and selectively directed to service conveyor 45 through common branch 23, by controlling solenoids 27 of tracks 19 and 46, when the production is stopped.
In this particular condition, carts 20 in use are preventively disconnected from respective pipes 34, 37 and the new or cleaned carts 20 entering track 19 need to be connected to such pipes 34, 37 prior to starting production.
Vignali does not disclose (b) the circulating conveyor track of the service conveyor has a smaller number of guide rails, arranged one above the other, for supporting the several movement devices than the label conveyor. However, these elements are listed as “and/or” to the feature (c) alternative limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.
As to claim 12, Vignali discloses wherein the several movement devices each have a pneumatic holder (ports 31, which provide either suction or pressure, see page 11, line 4, disclosing “on their front faces 30, respective ports 31 which can be alternatively used to produce suction or a positive pressure on the respective web 6 or label sheet 2.”), for holding the labels, and wherein: the label conveyor has a suction line system (from a vacuum source or pump) having a stationary inlet, and a fluid connection (pipe 34) between the inlet and the pneumatic holder occurs, during a movement of the respective movement device along the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor, by way of sliding contact to the stationary inlet and/or the label conveyor has a compressed air line system (from a compressor), having a stationary outlet and a fluid connection (pipe 37) between the outlet and the pneumatic holder occurs, during a movement of the respective movement device along the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor, by way of sliding contact to the stationary outlet.
See page 11, line 15, disclosing:
With particular reference to figures 1, 2 and 5, label transfer device 7 further comprises a first annular rotating tank 32, connected in a known manner to a vacuum source (not shown) , such as a vacuum pump, and a first rotating distributor 33, connected on one side to the tank 32 and the vacuum source and on another side to each cart 20 by a respective pipe 34.
Label transfer device 7 also comprises a second annular rotating tank 35, connected in a known manner to a compressor (not shown) , and a second rotating distributor 36, connected on one side to the tank 35 and the compressor and on another side to each cart 20 by a respective pipe 37.
Tanks 32, 35 and distributors 33, 36 are all mounted to rotate about a common vertical axis E parallel to axes A, B and C. In addition, tanks 32, 35 and distributors 33, 36 are arranged substantially in the central area delimited by track 19 and are stacked up on each other.
As visible in figure 3, each pipe 34, 37 is provided with an ON/OFF valve 38, 39 to enable or disable connection of the respective cart 20 with either distributor 33 or distributor 36.
As to claim 13, Vignali discloses wherein: the label conveyor has at least one sliding seal, stationary on the label conveyor and/or movable on the several movement devices, which is arranged for sealing the sliding contact; and/or the inlet and/or the outlet is arranged above, below, or at the level of the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor.
See Figure 2, showing the inlet and/or the outlet being arrange above the level of the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor. Figure 2 also shows that the sliding seal is movable on the several movement devices.
Additionally, reversal of parts and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, an arrangement wherein: the label conveyor has at least one sliding seal, stationary on the label conveyor and/or movable on the several movement devices, which is arranged for sealing the sliding contact; and/or the inlet and/or the outlet is arranged above, below, or at the level of the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor would have been a reversal and rearrangement of the parts disclosed is Vignali.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize the full limitation of wherein: the label conveyor has at least one sliding seal, stationary on the label conveyor and/or movable on the several movement devices, which is arranged for sealing the sliding contact; and/or the inlet and/or the outlet is arranged above, below, or at the level of the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor as a reversal and rearrangement of the parts disclosed is Vignali.
As to claim 16, Vignali as modified by Carmichael discloses and makes obvious a system comprising: a first device according to claim 1.
However, Vignali does not disclose a second device having a module docking station, wherein the label conveyor of the first device can be docked on the second device, or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules of the first device can be docked at least indirectly on the module docking station of the second device.
However, duplication of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Reversal and rearrangement of parts is also often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. The addition of a second device having a module docking station, wherein the label conveyor of the first device can be docked on the second device, or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules of the first device can be docked at least indirectly on the module docking station of the second device would have been an example of duplication of parts and/or reversal and rearrangement of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize a second device having a module docking station, wherein the label conveyor of the first device can be docked on the second device, or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules of the first device can be docked at least indirectly on the module docking station of the second device as a duplication of parts and/or reversal and rearrangement of parts of Vignali and Carmichael.
As to claim 17, Vignali discloses a method for operating a label conveyor (“label transfer device 7” which includes a “track 19”), comprising:
providing the device,
conveying labels by the label conveyor by use of several movement devices driven independently of one another (“carts 20 are independently controlled and moved along track 19”);
labeling objects (see the abstract, reciting “adapted to feed single label sheets (2) to respective articles (3) at an application station (9)”);
treating the labels at least indirectly using the auxiliary unit module (such as “cutting device 10”, “printing device 42”, “gluing device 43”).
See Figure 1, below:
Vignalil does not disclose the full limitation of providing the device according to claim 1. However, Carmichael and Kellhammer have been applied to address the full limitation of the device of claim 1.
Additionally, Vignali does not disclose docking and/or undocking an auxiliary unit module on or from the label conveyor,
However, Carmichael discloses and makes obvious that docking and/or undocking an auxiliary unit module (such as the other of the stations or labeling groups shown in Figure 17-18) on or from the label conveyor (via a plurality of a pair of docking elements 5),
See paragraphs 0022-27, disclosing:
Carousel 3 comprises a radially outer periphery 14 with respect to axis A and a plurality of pair of docking elements 5 for docking respective labelling groups 4 to carousel 3
Docking elements 5 are arranged radially inner with respect to periphery 14.
Furthermore, it is possible to identify, for each labelling group 4, a direction G, which is radial with respect to axis A.
In the following of the present description, only one labelling group 4 will be described, being all labelling groups 4 identical to one another.
Labelling group 4 is in the embodiment shown a so-called "roll-fed" labelling group and substantially comprises (Figures 17 and 18), in the embodiment shown,: a pair of shafts 6 for rotatably supporting relative reels (off which a strip of labels is unwound and fed along a feed an application station 15); a plurality of guide rollers 16 for guiding the strip along the feed path; a cutting element (not-shown) for cutting, one after the other, labels from the strip; a glue roller 12 for applying glue onto cut labels; and a transfer element 13 for transferring cut and glue-covered labels along an arc-shaped trajectory to application station 15.
Labelling group 4 comprises (Figures 1 to 8) a frame 10 (indicated only in Figure 17), which supports shafts 6, rollers 16, glue roller 12 and transfer element 13.
See also paragraphs 0033, disclosing:
In detail, labelling group 4 can be set in: an initial approach position (Figures 1 and 2), in which labelling group 4 is not docked to carousel 3, and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 are spaced parallel to axis A; a pre-docked position (Figures 3 and 4), in which walls 22, 23 are inclined with respect to floor 24 and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 contact with one another but are not blocked with one another; a fully docked position (Figures 5 and 6), in which walls 22, 23 are inclined with respect to floor 24 and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 are firmly blocked with one another blocked with one another; and a docked and levelled position (Figures 7 and 8), in which walls 22, 23 are again substantially parallel to floor 24 and in which corresponding docking elements 40, 5 are firmly blocked with one another.
See Figures 1-8, below:
See also Figures 9-16, showing an alternative embodiment.
Paragraph 0015 teaches that “It is an object of the present invention to provide a method of docking a modular operative group to a carousel of an article-handling machine for carrying out an operation on a plurality of articles, which meets the afore-mentioned need in a straightforward, low-cost manner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize docking and/or undocking an auxiliary unit module on or from the label conveyor as taught by Carmichael to provide a method of docking a modular operative group in a straightforward, low-cost manner.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1), Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 above, and optionally further in view of Baumli (US 20040177931 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) and Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) have been applied to claim 1 above. Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 1, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Baumli, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls. See paragraph 0062, disclosing:
[0062] FIG. 6 shows a schematic drawing of a label applying apparatus 100 for applying the rolls of labels described and shown in FIGS. 1 to 4 over the neck of a bottle. The apparatus includes an automatic splicing means which enables continuous operation of the labelling apparatus 100. The apparatus includes a framework 100A on which various components of the apparatus are mounted including two reel loading stations 102, 104. Each loading station includes a proximity switch, not illustrated, which provides a signal to an operator and/or to a control means 101 when the reel is close to finishing. Each reel 102, 104 has an associated unwind arm, 106, 108 respectively, which feeds web material 110 from the respective reels towards guide means 112, 114.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls in order to enable continuous operation.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1), Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 above, and optionally further in view of Sindermann (US 20050034423 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) and Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) have been applied to claim 1 above. Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 1, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Sindermann, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels. See paragraphs 0096 and 0107, disclosing:
[0096] There is shown in FIG. 8 in a simplified plan view of a labeling machine or station that comprises two alignment modules 34 and 35, a labeling module 36, a printing module 37, and an inspecting module 38. These modules may be examples of aggregates which may be above the base support 1 of the transport device 2.
…
[0107] The function of the `inspecting` module comprises, for example, the checking of the labeling result. This can be an inspection that merely inquires whether a label is present, or it may comprise an expanded inquiry that additionally examines the proper position of the labels. For realization of this function there is also provided use of at least one camera and/or other sensors, with the operation of the sensors encompassing all methods known in the state of the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels in order to examine the proper position of labels.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1), Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, 17, 18, and 17 above, and optionally further in view of Williamson (US 20030010433 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) and Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) have been applied to claim 1 above. Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 1, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Williamson, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a buffer device for buffering labels. See paragraphs 267, disclosing:
[0026] As will be appreciated, when the brake 23 is actuated, there will be a momentary stoppage in the movement of that portion of the web 12 between the brake 23 and the vacuum drum 40, but not a corresponding stoppage of movement of that portion of the web 12 between the feed roller 21 and the supply roll 10. In order to insure that tension is placed continually on the web 12 in the area between the feed roller 21 and supply roll 10, the dancer roller 27, mounted on the pivotedly mounted dancer arm 28, is moveable relative to the idler rollers 26 and 29 in order to take up any slack resulting from the momentary stoppage caused by the brake 23. A leather belt 17 passes around the supply roll 10 and engages the rolled web on the supply roll 10 to place some resistance to rotation of the supply roll 10 as is well known in the art. One end of the belt 17 is affixed to the frame 16 and the other end of the leather belt is affixed to a tension means, such as a spring which is itself affixed to the frame 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a buffer device for buffering labels in order to take up any slack resulting from the momentary stoppage.
Claim(s) 4, 5 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1), Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) (and optionally in view of Baumli (US 20040177931 A1) and/or Sindermann (US 20050034423 A1), and/or Williamson (US 20030010433 A1)) as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 above, and further in view of Achhammer (US 20100152883 A1).
As to claim 4, Vignali does not disclose wherein: the device has at least one automated guided vehicle, and at least one of the auxiliary unit modules has a coupling for coupling to the at least one automated guided vehicle; and/or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is configured as an automated guided vehicle.
Achhammer however discloses and/or makes obvious wherein: the device has at least one automated guided vehicle (“transport unit 23”), and/or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is configured as an automated guided vehicle. See paragraph 0041, disclosing “It is also possible that an automatic transport of furnishing units 14 in need of maintenance and/or repair can also be directly transported from apparatus 10 into maintenance area 24 via a transport unit 23.” See also paragraph 0044, disclosing “By means of this error message, furnishing unit 14 uncouples itself automatically and transports itself into maintenance area 24 via transport unit 23.” See paragraph 0045, disclosing “Specifically defect unit 26 uncouples itself off apparatus 10 and transports itself via transport unit 23 into maintenance area 24.” Paragraph 0031 teaches:
[0031] Further error detection would be when for example the furnishing unit would still be situated before operation in the storage area and would send an error message to the storage area. Thus, a functional furnishing unit could connect itself to the apparatus while the defect unit transports itself automatically into the maintenance area for maintenance purposes. The furnishing units located in the maintenance area can automatically transport themselves again into the storage area via the feeding unit after maintenance and repair.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein: the device has at least one automated guided vehicle, and/or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is configured as an automated guided vehicle as taught by Achhammer in order to enable defective unit to transports itself automatically into the maintenance area for maintenance purposes.
Achhammer does not disclose that at least one of the auxiliary unit modules has a coupling for coupling to the at least one automated guided vehicle. However, Carmichael as applied above would make obvious utilizing that at least one of the auxiliary unit modules has a coupling for coupling. See also Figures 1-8, showing docking elements and Figures 9-16, showing an alternative embodiment.
Paragraph 0015 teaches that “It is an object of the present invention to provide a method of docking a modular operative group to a carousel of an article-handling machine for carrying out an operation on a plurality of articles, which meets the afore-mentioned need in a straightforward, low-cost manner.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized that at least one of the auxiliary unit modules has a coupling for coupling to the at least one automated guided vehicle as taught by Carmichael to provide a method of docking a modular operative group in a straightforward, low-cost manner.
As to claim 5, Vignali does not disclose further comprising: a further label conveyor for conveying several further labels along a further circulating conveyor track by use of several further movement devices, wherein the further label conveyor comprises several further module docking stations; wherein at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is movable back and forth between the label conveyor and the further label conveyor for selective connection to one of the several module docking stations and the several further module docking stations.
However, duplication of parts is often obvious. Additionally, Achhammer discloses the use of further locations for maintenance and storage purposes, and thus teaches that at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is movable back and forth from an operating position to a storage or maintenance position.
See paragraphs, disclosing:
[0020] The feeding and withdrawing units for at least two furnishing units are besides operatively connected with an automatically controlled coupling unit. This coupling unit is responsible for coupling the furnishing units to the apparatus and for uncoupling them from therefrom. Furthermore, the automatically controlled feeding and withdrawing units as well as the automatically controlled coupling unit can be connected with a machine control in such a way that the furnishing units are coupled by themselves to the apparatus as soon as signals for the activation of the furnishing units are transmitted from the apparatus.
[0021] One storage area and all storage areas of the furnishing units respectively can in addition be coupled with a further apparatus for furnishing articles, and be operationally connected with the further apparatus via a further automatically controlled feeding and withdrawing unit.
[0022] The furnishing unit can be a labeling unit. However, it is quite possible that several furnishing units can be several labeling units, which are designed for different labeling types and/or different labeling methods, too.
[0023] Furthermore, a furnishing unit can be one or several printing units. These printing units can be designed for example in such a way that the labels are printed directly before applying them onto the articles and containers respectively. Thus, white labels can be completely printed before they are applied. This is advantageous since the user is flexible when it comes to the design of the label image. A further possibility when using printing units is that the user can replenish the already printed labels with additional images or signs.
Paragraph 0040 discloses:
[0040] The schematic view of FIG. 1 shows a typical application for the usage and interaction of apparatus 10 for furnishing articles with storage area 20 for furnishing units 14 (shown in FIG. 2). Embodiments for different furnishing units 14 are described in more detail according to the following FIGS. 2 and 3. The apparatus for furnishing articles can be for example a labeling unit or the like, which can be provided with different furnishing units 14. The furnishing units can be provided along or on the periphery of conveying unit 12, for example on the periphery of a bottle carrousel in a variable manner. For rebuilding apparatus 10 furnishing and printing units respectively 14, 18 (shown in FIG. 2) can be variably coupled and uncoupled and transported by means of suitable feeding and withdrawing units 22 from storage area 20 to conveying unit 12 of apparatus 10. There, they can be coupled and uncoupled therefrom respectively and transported into storage area 20. In the embodiment, storage area 20 can be for example a depot with several similar and/or different furnishing units 14 being ready. The furnishing units can optionally be kept in this depot only in readiness and be transported to and fro and exchanged respectively between storage area 20 and apparatus 10 by means of the feeding and withdrawing unit 22. Optionally, storage area 20 can also be provided with an additional maintenance area 24, which can be connected with storage area 20 via further feeding and withdrawing units 22. It is possible that the maintenance area can serve as a automatic transport of furnishing units 14 in need of maintenance and/or repair (shown in FIG. 3) and/or for the usage of such furnishing units 14 by flawless and maintained furnishing units 14 respectively. It is also possible that an automatic transport of furnishing units 14 in need of maintenance and/or repair can also be directly transported from apparatus 10 into maintenance area 24 via a transport unit 23.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize further comprising: a further label conveyor for conveying several further labels along a further circulating conveyor track by use of several further movement devices, wherein the further label conveyor comprises several further module docking stations; wherein at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is movable back and forth between the label conveyor and the further label conveyor for selective connection to one of the several module docking stations and the several further module docking stations by duplicating of the conveyor of Vignali and docking stations of Carmichael to make use of storage and maintenance locations as suggested by Achhammer which would enable defective unit to transports itself automatically into the maintenance area for maintenance purposes.
As to claim 20, Vignali does not disclose wherein the at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is movable back and forth between the label conveyor and the further label conveyor by use of rollers and/or by use of an automated guided vehicle.
Achhammer however discloses and/or makes obvious the use of an automated guided vehicle (“transport unit 23”). See paragraph 0041, disclosing “It is also possible that an automatic transport of furnishing units 14 in need of maintenance and/or repair can also be directly transported from apparatus 10 into maintenance area 24 via a transport unit 23.” See also paragraph 0044, disclosing “By means of this error message, furnishing unit 14 uncouples itself automatically and transports itself into maintenance area 24 via transport unit 23.” See paragraph 0045, disclosing “Specifically defect unit 26 uncouples itself off apparatus 10 and transports itself via transport unit 23 into maintenance area 24.” Paragraph 0031 teaches:
[0031] Further error detection would be when for example the furnishing unit would still be situated before operation in the storage area and would send an error message to the storage area. Thus, a functional furnishing unit could connect itself to the apparatus while the defect unit transports itself automatically into the maintenance area for maintenance purposes. The furnishing units located in the maintenance area can automatically transport themselves again into the storage area via the feeding unit after maintenance and repair.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein: the device has at least one automated guided vehicle, and/or at least one of the auxiliary unit modules is configured as an automated guided vehicle as taught by Achhammer in order to enable defective unit to transports itself automatically into the maintenance area for maintenance purposes.
Claim(s) 9-10 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1), Carmichael (EP 3034420 A1) and Kellhammer (US 20140251523 A1) (and optionally in view of Baumli (US 20040177931 A1). and/or Sindermann (US 20050034423 A1) as applied to claim 1, 2, 3, 6, 7, 8, 11, 12, 13, 16, and 17 above, and further in view of Giuliani (US 20200317384 A1).
As to claim 9, Vignali does not disclose wherein: the several movement devices have several rollers which support the several movement devices on the circulating conveyor track.
However, Giuliani discloses using a cam-roller and thus discloses and makes obvious wherein: the several movement devices have several rollers which support the several movement devices on the circulating conveyor track. See paragraph 0058, disclosing:
[0058] As shown in FIG. 2, each label holder 17 preferably comprises: a cart 17a slidingly coupled to second track 16, for example by means of a cam-roller coupling; and an holding device 17b (only schematically shown) fitted to cart 17a and configured to receive and retain one label 2 at a time from receiving station R and to release the same at application station A, in order to apply such label 2 onto the outer lateral surface of the relative article 3 to be labelled and conveyed simultaneously thereat by the corresponding article holder 13.
Additionally, duplication of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.40. In this case, using multiple roller such as cam-rollers would have been an obvious duplication of parts.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein: the several movement devices have several rollers which support the several movement devices on the circulating conveyor track in order to in order to apply the label the outer lateral surface of the relative article to be labelled and conveyed simultaneously thereat by the corresponding article holder.
As to claim 10, Vignali disclose wherein: the several movement devices each have a label holder for holding the labels (“a plurality of label holders or carts 20”);
Vignali does not disclose a roller and thus does not disclose and each of the several movement devices has at least one roller of the several rollers, wherein the at least one roller comprises at least one of:- an upper roller arranged above the label holder and a lower roller arranged below the label holder; - a roller which is arranged such that a pressing torque for pressing the label onto the object can be brought about by supporting this roller on the circulating conveyor track; and - a front roller arranged in front of the label holder with respect to a forward movement direction of the respective movement device, and a back roller arranged behind the label holder with respect to the forward movement direction.
However, Giuliani discloses using a cam-roller and thus makes obvious wherein: the several movement devices each have a label holder for holding the labels; and each of the several movement devices has at least one roller of the several rollers, wherein the at least one roller comprises at least one of:- an upper roller arranged above the label holder and a lower roller arranged below the label holder; - a roller which is arranged such that a pressing torque for pressing the label onto the object can be brought about by supporting this roller on the circulating conveyor track; and - a front roller arranged in front of the label holder with respect to a forward movement direction of the respective movement device, and a back roller arranged behind the label holder with respect to the forward movement direction. See paragraph 0058, disclosing:
[0058] As shown in FIG. 2, each label holder 17 preferably comprises: a cart 17a slidingly coupled to second track 16, for example by means of a cam-roller coupling; and an holding device 17b (only schematically shown) fitted to cart 17a and configured to receive and retain one label 2 at a time from receiving station R and to release the same at application station A, in order to apply such label 2 onto the outer lateral surface of the relative article 3 to be labelled and conveyed simultaneously thereat by the corresponding article holder 13.
Additionally, duplication of parts is often obvious, as well as rearrangement of parts and reversal of parts. MPEP 2144.40. In this case, using multiple roller such as cam-rollers would have been an obvious duplication of parts, and
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized wherein: the several movement devices each have a label holder for holding the labels; and each of the several movement devices has at least one roller of the several rollers, wherein the at least one roller comprises at least one of:- an upper roller arranged above the label holder and a lower roller arranged below the label holder; - a roller which is arranged such that a pressing torque for pressing the label onto the object can be brought about by supporting this roller on the circulating conveyor track; and - a front roller arranged in front of the label holder with respect to a forward movement direction of the respective movement device, and a back roller arranged behind the label holder with respect to the forward movement direction as an obvious duplication of parts and rearrangement of parts and reversal of parts such as the cam roller of Giuliani.
As to claim 14, Vignali discloses wherein: the label conveyor has a planar drive having a base element that forms the circulating conveyor track, and the several movement devices, which are movable over the base element by way of magnetic interaction between the base element and the several movement devices. See, for example, Figure 2.
Vignali, however, does not disclose that the planar drive having a base element is oriented substantially vertically.
However, reversal and rearrangement of parts is obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Giuliani discloses the planar drive having a base element is oriented substantially vertically. See paragraphs 0071-75, disclosing:
[0071] According to the present invention, article holders are controllable along article path P by means of magnetic-inductive interaction and label holders 17 are controllable along label path Q by means of magnetic-inductive interaction.
[0072] More specifically, each of first track 14 and second track 16 comprises a respective plurality of individually-excitable solenoids 21 (only schematically shown for second track 16 in FIG. 3) configured to be selectively energized with an electric current in order to produce a magnetic field.
[0073] Each one of article holders 13 and label holders 17 carries, in particular comprises, a permanent magnet 22 configured to be magnetically coupled with the solenoids 21 of the relative first or second track 14, 16, thereby defining the above-mentioned magnetic-inductive interaction.
[0074] In practice, first conveyor 10 and second conveyor 15 are of the linear motor type, the linear motor being defined by the magnetic-inductive interaction between solenoids 21 and permanent magnets 22.
[0075] According to a possible alternative embodiment not shown, first track 14 and second track 16 are provided with a plurality of permanent magnets 22, whilst article holders 13 and label holders 17 comprise the individually-excitable solenoids 21.
See especially Figure 2, below:
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein: the label conveyor has a planar drive having a base element that forms the circulating conveyor track, and the several movement devices, which are movable over the base element by way of magnetic interaction between the base element and the several movement devices as taught by Giuliani as known reversal and rearrangement of the similar parts of Vignali to achieve the similar arrangement of Giuliani.
As to claim 15, Vignali discloses wherein the object conveyor is a conveyor carousel, and the label conveyor extends in an arcuate manner in the application region along an arcuate portion of the conveyor carousel, and is considered capable of operation so that several labels can be applied to the same object.
Vignali does not disclose the additional limitation of wherein the device has at least one of the following features: the base element has an enlarged vertical extension in the application region, so that labels can be applied at different heights; an upper portion of the base element has a curvature in the application region towards the object conveyor, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions; the base element is height-adjustable in the application region;; the several movement devices each carry a setting device which is configured to change an angle of incidence of a label holder with respect to the respective movement device, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions; and the device has a control unit which is configured to operate the several movement devices upstream of the application region so as to rotate about a current movement direction of the respective movement device, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions. However, these elements are listed as “at least one of” alternatives to other limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.
In any event, changes in size and shape is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Making parts adjustable is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. Similarly, Reversal and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. Therefore, it would have been obvious wherein the device has at least one of the following features: the base element has an enlarged vertical extension in the application region, so that labels can be applied at different heights (as a change in size and shape); an upper portion of the base element has a curvature in the application region towards the object conveyor, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions (as a changed in size and shape); the base element is height-adjustable in the application region (by making the element adjustable); the object conveyor is a conveyor carousel, and the label conveyor extends in an arcuate manner in the application region along an arcuate portion of the conveyor carousel, so that several labels can be applied to the same object (as a change in size and shape); the several movement devices each carry a setting device which is configured to change an angle of incidence of a label holder with respect to the respective movement device, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions (making parts adjustable); and the device has a control unit which is configured to operate the several movement devices upstream of the application region so as to rotate about a current movement direction of the respective movement device, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions (reversal and rearrangement of parts).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein the device has at least one of the following features: the base element has an enlarged vertical extension in the application region, so that labels can be applied at different heights; an upper portion of the base element has a curvature in the application region towards the object conveyor, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions; the base element is height-adjustable in the application region; the object conveyor is a conveyor carousel, and the label conveyor extends in an arcuate manner in the application region along an arcuate portion of the conveyor carousel, so that several labels can be applied to the same object; the several movement devices each carry a setting device which is configured to change an angle of incidence of a label holder with respect to the respective movement device, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions; and the device has a control unit which is configured to operate the several movement devices upstream of the application region so as to rotate about a current movement direction of the respective movement device, so that labels can be applied to conical object portions as obvious changes in size and shape, making parts adjustable, and reversal and rearrangement of parts.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1).
As to claim 24, Vignali discloses a device for labeling objects, wherein the device comprises:
an object conveyor for conveying the objects (such as carousel conveyor 4, see page 6, line 20, disclosing “articles 3 are carried by conveyor 4 with their axes A parallel to axis B and are advanced along path P”);
a label conveyor (label transfer device 7) for conveying several labels along a circulating conveyor track by use of several movement devices (see page 7, line 1, disclosing: “a label transfer device 7 receiving a web 6 of labelling material from the web feeding unit 5 at an input station 8 and adapted to transfer label sheets 2 to carousel conveyor 4 at an application station”);
an application region (application station 9) in which the labels conveyed by the label conveyor can be applied to the objects conveyed by the object conveyor (see page 10, line 6, disclosing: “application station 9 is arranged in correspondence of vertex 24 of track 19 and is substantially tangent to carousel conveyor”); and
at least one auxiliary unit module from the group of:
a cutting device for cutting the labels from a label web (see page 7, line 6, disclosing: “a cutting device 10 for cutting the web 6 of labelling material”),
a printing device for printing on the labels (see page 12, line 20, disclosing: “a printing device 42 (known per se and only schematically shown) for printing given patterns or bar codes on label sheets”),
an adhesive device for applying an adhesive to the labels (see page 12, line 23, disclosing: “a gluing device 43 (known per se and only schematically shown), e.g. a glue sprayer, for applying glue to label sheets 2”),
a service conveyor for unloading movement devices from the label conveyor and loading movement devices onto the label conveyor (see page 13, line 8, disclosing “a closed-loop service conveyor 45 arranged laterally with respect to conveyor 18 in front of branch 23 of track 19”),
at least one label web feed unit for feeding label webs (see page 6, line 25 through to page 7, line 4, disclosing “a web feeding unit 5; - a label transfer device 7 receiving a web 6 of labelling material from the web feeding unit 5 at an input station 8 and adapted to transfer label sheets 2 to carousel conveyor 4 at an application station 9”),
wherein: the label conveyor has a long-stator linear drive, a short-stator linear drive, or a planar drive for magnetically-inductive driving of the several movement devices (See Vignali, page 10, line 17, disclosing:
In the preferred embodiment shown in the enclosed figures, track 19 houses a stator armature formed by a plurality of individually-excitable solenoids 27 (known per se and only schematically shown in figure 2), and carts 20 house respective permanent magnets 28 (known per se and only schematically shown in figures 2 to 4); carts 20 are independently moved along track 19 by individually controlling the solenoids 27.
According to a possible alternative not shown, track 19 may be also provided with the permanent magnets and carts 20 may house the individually-excitable solenoids.
See also the abstract, reciting “the transfer conveyor (18) comprises a closed-loop transfer track (19) and at least two label holders (20, 20', 20'') movable on the transfer track (19) by means of a magnetic-inductive interaction.”.)
See Figure 1, below:
Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels. However, these elements are listed as “at least one of” alternatives to other limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.
Vignali discloses wherein: the printing device (“a printing device 42 (known per se and only schematically shown) for printing given patterns or bar codes on label sheets 2”) is arranged adjacent the circulating conveyor track (see Figure 1, relationship of bock 42 and label transfer device 7), but does not disclose wherein the printing device is arranged for printing of a front side of the label, if the front side of the label is interpreted as a different side than the glue side.
However, reversal of parts and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Vignali discloses that: the printing device is arranged adjacent the circulating conveyor track, and it would have been an obvious reversal and rearrangement of parts wherein: the printing device is arranged wherein the printing device is arranged for printing of a front side of the label, if the front side of the label is interpreted as a different side than the glue side.
As to claim 25, Vignali does not disclose wherein: the printing device is arranged within the circulating conveyor track; and the printing device is arranged for printing through a passage in the circulating conveyor track when printing on the labels, and the printing device is arranged for printing through a gap, a slot, a recess, or a passage opening in the conveyor track when printing on the labels
However, reversal of parts and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04. In this case, Vignali discloses that: the printing device is arranged adjacent the circulating conveyor track, and it would have been an obvious reversal and rearrangement of parts wherein: the printing device is arranged within the circulating conveyor track; and the printing device is arranged for printing through a passage in the circulating conveyor track when printing on the labels, and the printing device is arranged for printing through a gap, a slot, a recess, or a passage opening in the conveyor track when printing on the labels.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein: the printing device is arranged within the circulating conveyor track; and the printing device is arranged for printing through a passage in the circulating conveyor track when printing on the labels; and the printing device is arranged for printing through a gap, a slot, a recess, or a passage opening in the conveyor track when printing on the labels as an obvious reversal and rearrangement of parts such as the printing device of Vignali.
As to claim 26, Vignali does not disclose wherein:a laser printer prints through the passage, or an ink supply line or a print head of an inkjet printer passes through the passage.
However, the use of laser printers and inkjet printers is well known and conventional for label printing. Additionally, reversal of parts and rearrangement of parts is often obvious. MPEP 2144.04.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilize wherein:a laser printer prints through the passage, or an ink supply line or a print head of an inkjet printer passes through the passage when printing on the labels as an obvious reversal and rearrangement of parts such as the printing device of Vignali.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) as applied to claim 24-26 above, and optionally further in view of Baumli (US 20040177931 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) has been applied to claim 24 above. Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 24, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Baumli, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls. See paragraph 0062, disclosing:
[0062] FIG. 6 shows a schematic drawing of a label applying apparatus 100 for applying the rolls of labels described and shown in FIGS. 1 to 4 over the neck of a bottle. The apparatus includes an automatic splicing means which enables continuous operation of the labelling apparatus 100. The apparatus includes a framework 100A on which various components of the apparatus are mounted including two reel loading stations 102, 104. Each loading station includes a proximity switch, not illustrated, which provides a signal to an operator and/or to a control means 101 when the reel is close to finishing. Each reel 102, 104 has an associated unwind arm, 106, 108 respectively, which feeds web material 110 from the respective reels towards guide means 112, 114.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls in order to enable continuous operation.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) as applied to claim 24-26 above, and optionally further in view of Sindermann (US 20050034423 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) has been applied to claim 24 above. Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 24, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Sindermann, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels. See paragraphs 0096 and 0107, disclosing:
[0096] There is shown in FIG. 8 in a simplified plan view of a labeling machine or station that comprises two alignment modules 34 and 35, a labeling module 36, a printing module 37, and an inspecting module 38. These modules may be examples of aggregates which may be above the base support 1 of the transport device 2.
…
[0107] The function of the `inspecting` module comprises, for example, the checking of the labeling result. This can be an inspection that merely inquires whether a label is present, or it may comprise an expanded inquiry that additionally examines the proper position of the labels. For realization of this function there is also provided use of at least one camera and/or other sensors, with the operation of the sensors encompassing all methods known in the state of the art.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels in order to examine the proper position of labels.
Claim(s) 24-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) as applied to claim 24-26 above, and optionally further in view of Williamson (US 20030010433 A1).
Vignali (WO 2018202320 A1) has been applied to claim 24 above. Vignali discloses most of the unit modules claimed in claim 24, of which at least one is required. Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels.
Williamson, however, discloses that it is known to utilize a buffer device for buffering labels. See paragraphs 267, disclosing:
[0026] As will be appreciated, when the brake 23 is actuated, there will be a momentary stoppage in the movement of that portion of the web 12 between the brake 23 and the vacuum drum 40, but not a corresponding stoppage of movement of that portion of the web 12 between the feed roller 21 and the supply roll 10. In order to insure that tension is placed continually on the web 12 in the area between the feed roller 21 and supply roll 10, the dancer roller 27, mounted on the pivotedly mounted dancer arm 28, is moveable relative to the idler rollers 26 and 29 in order to take up any slack resulting from the momentary stoppage caused by the brake 23. A leather belt 17 passes around the supply roll 10 and engages the rolled web on the supply roll 10 to place some resistance to rotation of the supply roll 10 as is well known in the art. One end of the belt 17 is affixed to the frame 16 and the other end of the leather belt is affixed to a tension means, such as a spring which is itself affixed to the frame 16.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to have utilized a buffer device for buffering labels in order to take up any slack resulting from the momentary stoppage.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 21-23 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Applicant’s remarks filed 1/29/2026 are persuasive to overcome the prior art of record with respect to claims 21-23.
With respect to claim 21 and dependent claims 22-23, the prior art of record does not disclose the full limitation of “wherein the label conveyor has a long-stator linear drive, a short-stator linear drive, or a planar drive, for magnetically-inductive driving of the several movement devices; and wherein the several movement devices each have a pneumatic holder, for holding the labels, and wherein: the label conveyor has a suction line system having a stationary inlet, and a fluid connection between the inlet and the pneumatic holder occurs, during a movement of the respective movement device along the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor, by way of sliding contact to the stationary inlet; and/or the label conveyor has a compressed air line system, having a stationary outlet and a fluid connection between the outlet and the pneumatic holder occurs, during a movement of the respective movement device along the circulating conveyor track of the label conveyor, by way of sliding contact to the stationary outlet” in combination with the other limitations of claim 21.
Conclusion
The examiner can normally be reached M-F 10-6:30.
/GEORGE R KOCH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1745
GRK
1 As also noted in the action, “Vignali does not disclose a camera device for monitoring the several movement devices and/or the labels, a splicing device for connecting ends of two label rolls, and a buffer device for buffering labels. However, these elements are listed as “at least one of” alternatives to other limitations that Vignali does disclose, and therefore, not required to read on the claim.”