DETAILED ACTION
1. Applicant’s response filed on 11/25/2025 has been entered and made of record.
Claim Status
Claims(s) 1, 4, 7-8, 11, 14, 17-19, and 24-27 are currently amended.
No claim(s) have been added.
Claim(s) 5, 10, 15, and 20-23 have been previously cancelled.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19, and 24-27 are currently pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks (Page 12-16), filed on 11/15/2025, regarding Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. § 102 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. For further details, please refer to the below explanation.
The Applicant states, “However, Abdelghaffar merely teaches that different sets of receiving antennas (for example, a set of antennas or a subset of the set of antennas) may be used by the UE to receive information from the base station, but does not disclose anything about how to obtain the antenna configured associated with the channel state information reporting, let alone calculating any configuration of antenna switching according to the number of receiving antennas.”
The Examiner respectfully disagrees that Abdelghaffar does not teach how to obtain the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting. Abdelghaffar discloses in [Pg. 11, ¶00118], “The UE 115 may thus be configured to activate or deactivate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration based on receiving the channel state information reference signal. In some examples, the UE 115 may maintain the antenna configuration (e.g., number of active or inactive antennas) until it receives the channel state information reference signal.” This detail discloses the way Abdelghaffar obtains the antenna configuration associated with the channel measurement and reporting via channel state information reference signal which may change the number of active antennas (i.e., normal and low power mode).
Additionally, Abdelghaffar also discloses on [Pg. 12, ¶0120], “For example, the UE 115 may receive a channel state information reference signal using the antenna configuration, and transmit a channel state information report in accordance with the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.” And on [Pg. 12, ¶0122], “Here, the UE 115 may be configured with a channel state information report, where the UE 115 may report multiple channel state information (e.g., a channel quality indicator, a precoding matric indicator, a rank indicator, or a combination thereof) depending on the number of activated antennas (e.g., normal power mode, low power mode).”
Given the above disclosures, the 35 U.S.C. §102 Rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-14, 16-19, and 24-27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abdelghaffar et al. (US 2021/0111775 A1), hereinafter “Abdelghaffar”.
Regarding claim 1, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for switching an antenna switching configuration, performed by a terminal and comprising:
receiving a channel state information (CSI) measurement report request related to switching of the antenna switching configuration, wherein the CSI measurement report request is configured to indicate a measurement resource of CSI measurement configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 13, ¶0129], “… the UE 115 may select, based on the capability, a first power mode or a second power mode to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels, or a combination thereof, and activate of deactivate receive antennas of the antenna configuration based on the selected power mode. The UE 115 may switch between the first power mode and the second power mode based on one or more receiving the channel state information reference signal or receiving a channel state information trigger report.”);
performing CSI measurement to obtain a CSI measurement report, wherein the CSI measurement report comprises configuration information of antenna switching (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “… UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report …”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122-123], “In some examples, the feedback message may include an indication of the normal power mode or the low power mode. … the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”), and the configuration information of antenna switching is calculated according to a number of receiving antennas of the terminal (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0118], “The UE 115 may thus be configured to activate or deactivate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration based on receiving the channel state information reference signal. In some examples, the UE 115 may maintain the antenna configuration (e.g., number of active or inactive antennas) until it receives the channel state information reference signal.”); and
reporting the CSI measurement report to a network device (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 13, ¶0135], “… transmit, based on the channel state information reference signal, a channel state information report in accordance with the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”).
Regarding claim 2, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the configuration information of antenna switching comprises:
at least one channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the antenna switching configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “The UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report including one or more of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, a rank indicator, or a combination thereof.”); or
at least one set of CQI and rank indicator (RI) corresponding to the antenna switching configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “The UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report including one or more of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, a rank indicator, or a combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 3, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the CSI measurement report further comprises at least one of:
an expected number of receiving antennas;
an expected number of transmitting antennas; or
an antenna switching configuration expected to switch to (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122-123], “In some examples, the feedback message may include an indication of the normal power mode or the low power mode. … the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”).
Regarding claim 4, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein performing the CSI measurement to obtain the CSI measurement report comprises at least one of:
for a network device supporting a single transport receive point (TRP) (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 8, ¶0094], “Each access network entity 140 may communicate with UEs 115 through one or more access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). … In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be … or consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105).”), performing the CSI measurement based on a channel measurement resource corresponding to the TRP to calculate the configuration information of antenna switching to obtain the CSI measurement report (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122], “…the base station 105 may transmit a channel state information reference signal, which the UE 115 may receive and measure on one or more antennas within one or more antenna arrays or antenna panels.”); or
for a network device supporting a plurality of TRPs (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 8, ¶0094], “Each access network entity 140 may communicate with UEs 115 through one or more access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). … In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and ANCs) …”), determining a plurality of TRPs participating in joint transmission based on a predefined multi-TRP transmission hypothesis or a multi-TRP transmission mode configured by the network device through signaling (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0114], “As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 115 may activate all of the antennas 305 (e.g., for channel measurement and reporting, physical channel reception). In some examples, the UE 115 may change between bandwidth part 310 to a downlink bandwidth part 325. In some examples, the downlink bandwidth part 310 may occupy more time or frequency resources compared to the downlink bandwidth part 325. In other examples, the downlink bandwidth part 310 may occupy fewer time or frequency resources compared to the downlink bandwidth part 325.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 5, ¶0072], “The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 over one or more carriers. … a carrier used for a communication link 125 may include a portion of a radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., a bandwidth part (BWP)) that is operated according to one or more physical layer channels for a given radio access technology …”); and
respectively performing at least one of: the CSI measurement based on channel measurement resource corresponding to the plurality of TRPs participating in the join transmission to calculate the configuration information of antenna switching respectively corresponding to the plurality of TRPs participating in the join transmission, or joint CSI measurement based on the channel measurement resources corresponding to the plurality of TRPs participating in the joint transmission to calculate the configuration information of antenna switching, to obtain the CSI measurement report (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 8, ¶0099], “… the multiple signals may be, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. … Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Fig. 1], UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with one TRP, UE 115 interacting with two BS 105s, and UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with two TRPs (145)).
Regarding claim 6, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein calculating the configuration information of antenna switching comprises:
calculating the configuration information of antenna switching according to a calculation rule and a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0116], “… the UE 115 may support on demand channel state information measurement and reporting with adaptive receive antennas for power saving operations to mitigate channel state information reporting mismatch between the base station 105 or the UE 115.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0117], “In some examples, the UE 115 may select, based on the capability 205, the normal power mode or the low power mode to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels, or a combination thereof. Based on the selection, the UE 115 may activate or deactivate one or more antennas of the antenna configuration.”).
Regarding claim 7, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 6, wherein the calculation rule comprises one of:
For a group of different numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to different antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal, respectively calculating the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0117], “When operating in the normal power mode, the UE 115 may use a set of antennas (e.g., receive antennas of the antenna configuration) to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels (e.g., PDSCHs), or a combination thereof from the base station 105. Alternatively, when operating in the low power mode, the UE 115 may use a subset of the set of antennas compared to the normal power mode to receive the channel state information reference signals, or the physical data channels, or a combination thereof.”);
For one or a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to an antenna switching capability configuration not greater than the configuration information on a current bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal, respectively calculating the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0119], “Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may switch between the normal power mode or the low power mode based on a bandwidth part switching occasion. … in some examples, the UE 115 may activate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration when the normal power mode is selected. … may deactivate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration when low power mode is selected, …”);
For pre-configured or specific one or a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to the antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal, respectively calculating the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0121], “Here, the UE 115 may be configured with two channel state information reports with each one corresponding to different power modes of the UE 115, as well as a number of activated antennas relating to the antenna configuration.”); or
For a number of receiving antennas corresponding to the antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal corresponding to a predefined switching strategy, calculating the configuration information of antenna switching (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11-12, ¶0120], “The UE 115 may thus according to the capability 205 relating to the antenna configuration perform channel measurement and reporting, etc.”).
Regarding claim 8, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein obtaining the CSI measurement report comprises:
Receiving a signaling configuration about a reporting mode, and according to the signaling configuration, comprising, in the CSI measurement report, at least one of: the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to each TRP participating in the joint transmission, or the configuration information of antenna switching obtained from the joint CSI measurement (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122], “…the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Fig. 1], UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with one TRP, UE 115 interacting with two BS 105s, and UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with two TRPs (145)); or
According to a predetermined reporting mode of the terminal, comprising, in the CSI measurement report, at least one of: the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to one or a plurality of TRPs participating in the joint transmission, or the configuration information of antenna switching obtained from the joint CSI measurement.
Regarding claim 9, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 4, wherein the predefined multi-TRP transmission hypothesis comprises one of:
A multi-TRP transmission mode of a most recently scheduled downlink channel (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0114], “As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 115 may activate all of the antennas 305 (e.g., for channel measurement and reporting, physical channel reception). In some examples, the UE 115 may change between bandwidth part 310 to a downlink bandwidth part 325. In some examples, the downlink bandwidth part 310 may occupy more time or frequency resources compared to the downlink bandwidth part 325. In other examples, the downlink bandwidth part 310 may occupy fewer time or frequency resources compared to the downlink bandwidth part 325.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 5, ¶0072], “The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 over one or more carriers. … a carrier used for a communication link 125 may include a portion of a radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., a bandwidth part (BWP)) that is operated according to one or more physical layer channels for a given radio access technology …”); or
A multi-TRP transmission mode of a predefined downlink channel.
Regarding claim 11, Abdelghaffar discloses a method for switching an antenna switching configuration, performed by a network device and comprising:
Sending to a terminal a channel state information (CSI) measurement report request related to switching of the antenna switching configuration, wherein the CSI measurement report request is configured to indicate a measurement resource of CSI measurement configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 13, ¶0129], “… the UE 115 may select, based on the capability, a first power mode or a second power mode to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels, or a combination thereof, and activate of deactivate receive antennas of the antenna configuration based on the selected power mode. The UE 115 may switch between the first power mode and the second power mode based on one or more receiving the channel state information reference signal or receiving a channel state information trigger report.”);
Receiving a CSI measurement report sent by the terminal, wherein the CSI measurement report comprises configuration information of antenna switching (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “… UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report …”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122-123], “In some examples, the feedback message may include an indication of the normal power mode or the low power mode. … the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”), and the configuration information of antenna switching is calculated according to a number of receiving antennas of the terminal (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0118], “The UE 115 may thus be configured to activate or deactivate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration based on receiving the channel state information reference signal. In some examples, the UE 115 may maintain the antenna configuration (e.g., number of active or inactive antennas) until it receives the channel state information reference signal.”); and
Changing the antenna switching configuration of the terminal based on the CSI measurement report (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0123], “The base station 105 may schedule channel state information reference signals, physical channels according to the indication.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0118], “For example, the UE 115 may switch between the normal power mode or the low power mode based on receiving a channel state information reference signal from the base station 105.”).
Regarding claim 12, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the configuration information of antenna switching comprises:
At least one channel quality indicator (CQI) corresponding to the antenna switching configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “The UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report including one or more of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, a rank indicator, or a combination thereof.”); or
At least one set of CQI and rank indicator (RI) corresponding to the antenna switching configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “The UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report including one or more of a channel quality indicator, a precoding matrix indicator, a rank indicator, or a combination thereof.”).
Regarding claim 13, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein the CSI measurement report further comprises at least one of:
An expected number of receiving antennas for the terminal;
An expected number of transmitting antennas for the terminal; or
An antenna switching configuration expected by the terminal to switch to (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122-123], “In some examples, the feedback message may include an indication of the normal power mode or the low power mode. … the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”).
Regarding claim 14, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 11, wherein,
On a condition that the network device supports a single transport receive point (TRP) (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 8, ¶0094], “Each access network entity 140 may communicate with UEs 115 through one or more access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). … In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be … or consolidated into a single network device (e.g., a base station 105).”), the CSI measurement report is obtained according to the configuration information of antenna switching calculated by performing CSI measurement based on a channel measurement resource corresponding to the TRP (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122], “…the base station 105 may transmit a channel state information reference signal, which the UE 115 may receive and measure on one or more antennas within one or more antenna arrays or antenna panels.”); and
On a condition that the network device supports a plurality of TRPs (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 8, ¶0094], “Each access network entity 140 may communicate with UEs 115 through one or more access network transmission entities 145, which may be referred to as radio heads, smart radio heads, or transmission/reception points (TRPs). … In some configurations, various functions of each access network entity 140 or base station 105 may be distributed across various network devices (e.g., radio heads and ANCs) …”), the CSI measurement report is obtained according at least one of:
The configuration information of antenna switching respectively corresponding to TRPs participating in joint transmission, calculated by respectively performing the CSI measurement based on channel measurement resources corresponding to the TRPs participating in the joint transmission; or
The configuration of antenna switching calculated by performing joint CSI measurement based on channel measurement resources corresponding to a plurality of TRPs participating in the joint transmission (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 8, ¶0099], “… the multiple signals may be, for example, be transmitted by the transmitting device via different antennas or different combinations of antennas. … Different spatial layers may be associated with different antenna ports used for channel measurement and reporting. MIMO techniques include single-user MIMO (SU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to the same receiving device, and multiple-user MIMO (MU-MIMO), where multiple spatial layers are transmitted to multiple devices.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Fig. 1], UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with one TRP, UE 115 interacting with two BS 105s, and UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with two TRPs (145));
Wherein the plurality of TRPs participating in the joint transmission are determined by a predefined multi-TRP transmission hypothesis (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0114], “As shown in FIG. 3, the UE 115 may activate all of the antennas 305 (e.g., for channel measurement and reporting, physical channel reception). In some examples, the UE 115 may change between bandwidth part 310 to a downlink bandwidth part 325. In some examples, the downlink bandwidth part 310 may occupy more time or frequency resources compared to the downlink bandwidth part 325. In other examples, the downlink bandwidth part 310 may occupy fewer time or frequency resources compared to the downlink bandwidth part 325.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 5, ¶0072], “The UEs 115 and the base stations 105 may wirelessly communicate with one another via one or more communication links 125 over one or more carriers. … a carrier used for a communication link 125 may include a portion of a radio frequency spectrum band (e.g., a bandwidth part (BWP)) that is operated according to one or more physical layer channels for a given radio access technology …”) or a multi-TRP transmission mode configurated by the network device through signaling.
Regarding claim 16, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the configuration information of antenna switching is calculated according to a calculation rule and a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0116], “… the UE 115 may support on demand channel state information measurement and reporting with adaptive receive antennas for power saving operations to mitigate channel state information reporting mismatch between the base station 105 or the UE 115.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0117], “In some examples, the UE 115 may select, based on the capability 205, the normal power mode or the low power mode to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels, or a combination thereof. Based on the selection, the UE 115 may activate or deactivate one or more antennas of the antenna configuration.”).
Regarding claim 17, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 16, wherein the calculation rule comprises one of:
For a group of different numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to different antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal, respectively calculating the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0117], “When operating in the normal power mode, the UE 115 may use a set of antennas (e.g., receive antennas of the antenna configuration) to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels (e.g., PDSCHs), or a combination thereof from the base station 105. Alternatively, when operating in the low power mode, the UE 115 may use a subset of the set of antennas compared to the normal power mode to receive the channel state information reference signals, or the physical data channels, or a combination thereof.”);
For one or a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to an antenna switching capability configuration not greater than a configuration on a current bandwidth part (BWP) of the terminal, respectively calculating the configuration information of antennas switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0119], “Additionally or alternatively, the UE 115 may switch between the normal power mode or the low power mode based on a bandwidth part switching occasion. … in some examples, the UE 115 may activate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration when the normal power mode is selected. … may deactivate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration when low power mode is selected, …”);
For one or a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to the antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal and not greater than a preset number, respectively calculating the configuration information of antennas switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas;
For pre-configured or specified one or a plurality of numbers of receiving antennas corresponding to the antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal, respectively calculating the configuration information on antennas switching corresponding to different numbers of receiving antennas (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0121], “Here, the UE 115 may be configured with two channel state information reports with each one corresponding to different power modes of the UE 115, as well as a number of activated antennas relating to the antenna configuration.”); or
For a number of receiving antennas corresponding to the antenna switching capabilities supported by the terminal corresponding to a predefined switching strategy, calculating the configuration information of antenna switching (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11-12, ¶0120], “The UE 115 may thus according to the capability 205 relating to the antenna configuration perform channel measurement and reporting, etc.”).
Regarding claim 18, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 14, wherein the CSI measurement report comprises at least one of: the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to one or a plurality of TRPs participating in the joint transmission, or the configuration information of antenna switching obtained from the join CSI measurement (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122], “…the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Fig. 1], UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with one TRP, UE 115 interacting with two BS 105s, and UE 115 interacting with BS 105 with two TRPs (145)).
Regarding claim 19, Abdelghaffar discloses the method according to claim 18, further comprising:
Sending signaling to the terminal to configure a reporting mode for the terminal to report the configuration information of antenna switching, wherein the reporting mode comprises: comprising, in the CSI measurement report, at least one of: the configuration information of antenna switching corresponding to each TRP participating in the joint transmission, or the configuration information of antenna switching obtained from the joint CSI measurement, and reporting the CSI measurement report (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 13, ¶0129], “The UE 115 may switch between the first power mode and the second power mode based on one or more of receiving the channel state information reference signal or receiving a chance state information trigger report.”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122-123], “In some examples, the feedback message may include an indication of the normal power mode or the low power mode. … the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”).
Regarding claim 24, Abdelghaffar discloses a communication device, comprising:
A transceiver (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 15, ¶0154], “… a transceiver 820 …”);
A memory (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 15, ¶0154], “… memory 830 …”); and
A processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, which is configured to control radio signal transceiving of the transceiver by executing computer executable instructions on the memory (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 15, ¶0154], “… processor 840. These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 845).”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 16, ¶0161], “The code 835 may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as a system memory or other type of memory. In some cases the code 835 may not be directly executable by the processor 40 but may cause a computer (e.g., when compiled and executed) to perform functions described herein.”), and is further configured to:
Receive a channel state information (CSI) measurement report request related to switching of an antenna switching configuration, wherein the CSI measurement report request is configured to indicated a measurement resource of CSI measurement configuration (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 13, ¶0129], “… the UE 115 may select, based on the capability, a first power mode or a second power mode to receive channel state information reference signals, or physical data channels, or a combination thereof, and activate of deactivate receive antennas of the antenna configuration based on the selected power mode. The UE 115 may switch between the first power mode and the second power mode based on one or more receiving the channel state information reference signal or receiving a channel state information trigger report.”);
Perform CSI measurement to obtain a CSI measurement report, wherein the CSI measurement report comprises configuration information of antenna switching (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 10, ¶0110], “… UE 115 may, based on the measurement of the channel state information reference signal, generate and transmit a channel state information report …”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 12, ¶0122-123], “In some examples, the feedback message may include an indication of the normal power mode or the low power mode. … the UE 115 may be configured to enable a bit indication (or multi-bit indication) in a channel state information report. The bit indication may include an indication of an on demand feedback related to the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”), and the configuration information of antenna switching is calculated according to a number of receiving antennas of the terminal (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 11, ¶0118], “The UE 115 may thus be configured to activate or deactivate one or more antennas relating to the antenna configuration based on receiving the channel state information reference signal. In some examples, the UE 115 may maintain the antenna configuration (e.g., number of active or inactive antennas) until it receives the channel state information reference signal.”); and
Report the CSI measurement report to a network device (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 13, ¶0135], “… transmit, based on the channel state information reference signal, a channel state information report in accordance with the antenna configuration associated with the channel state information reporting.”).
Regarding claim 25, Abdelghaffar discloses a communication device, comprising:
A transceiver (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 17, ¶0176], “… a transceiver 1220 …”);
A memory (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 17, ¶0176], “… memory 1230 …”); and
A processor connected to the transceiver and the memory respectively, which is configured to control radio signal transceiving of the transceiver by executing computer executable instructions on the memory, and perform the method according to claim 11 (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 17, ¶0176], “… a processor 1240 … These components may be in electronic communication via one or more buses (e.g., bus 1250).”; also see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 17, ¶0180], “The memory 1230 may store computer-readable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by a process (e.g., process 1240) cause the device to perform various functions described herein.”).
Regarding claim 26, Abdelghaffar discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer-executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions, when being executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 1 (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 16, ¶0161], “The code 835 may be stored in a non-transitory computer-readable medium such as a system memory or other type of memory. In some cases the code 835 may not be directly executable by the processor 40 but may cause a computer (e.g., when compiled and executed) to perform functions described herein.”).
Regarding claim 27, Abdelghaffar discloses a non-transitory computer readable storage medium storing computer executable instructions, wherein the computer-executable instructions when being executed by a processor, cause the processor to perform the method according to claim 11 (see Abdelghaffar [Pg. 17, ¶0180], “The memory 1230 may store computer-readable code 1235 including instructions that, when executed by a process (e.g., process 1240) cause the device to perform various functions described herein.”).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.D./Examiner, Art Unit 2462
/YEMANE MESFIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2462