DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This action is in response to the application filed on December 22, 2025
Claims 1-7, 17 and 33-35 is under examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in on 01/07/2021.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7, 17 and 33-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by BITAR et al. (US 2016/0262190 A1).
As per claim 1 BITAR teaches a method of a Radio Access Network (RAN) node, the method comprising (Paragraph 0024 As shown in FIG. 2A, environment 200 includes a network 220 that implements a radio access network (RAN) ):
receiving a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message, wherein the RRC message includes a first identifier and a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message (Paragraph 0038, 0049, 0059 the IMSI “311489123456789” included in the NAS message and the PLMN-ID “311489” included in the RRC protocol layer transporting the NAS message. Which then determines that NAS messages from machine UE device 211 should be routed to MMS 250 (for example, based on one or more device IDs in the NAS message or in the lower layer protocols transporting the NAS message, such as the RRC protocol). ), and wherein the NAS message includes a second identifier (Paragraph 0060 identifiers in the NAS message indicating that the message includes encapsulated bearer traffic (e.g., NAS header fields such as the protocol discriminator field, message type field, etc.), and/or identifiers associated with the source of the message (e.g., based on a device ID) that would indicate that messages from the source will include encapsulated data);
comparing the first identifier and the second identifier (Paragraph 0038, 0049 eNodeB 231B may make this determination, for example, by comparing one or more of the device identifiers of machine UE device 211C to a data structure mapping device identifiers to control entity identities. Include additional device identifiers (e.g., a PLMN-ID associated with the machine device) within the lower layer protocols that are providing transport of the NAS message (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, etc.). Serving eNodeB 231 may then determine that the received PLMN-ID and/or IMSI/GUTI is associated with a device that should be treated as a machine device); and
discarding the RRC message in a case where the first identifier is different from the second identifier (Paragraph 0040, 0062 the message may be discarded, the identifier associated with serving eNodeB 231 may be stored, and/or network addresses associated with each (if different than the identifiers), as well as tracking area information. Other information associated with the machine device may also be stored).
As per claim 2 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier and the second identifier are related to a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0029-0031 UE devices 211 may each be associated with an identifier, such as a device name, a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, a device identity (e.g., a country code, a network code, and/or a subscriber identifier), a network address (e.g., an IP version 6 (IPv6) address, a media access control (MAC) address, a port address, etc.), an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), or the like. The associated identifier may be statically assigned to the device (such as a MAC address or IMSI) or may be dynamically assigned (such as an IP address or GUTI). In some implementations, the identifier is configured to provide information that indicates that the device qualifies as a machine device. For example, the public land mobile network ID (PLMN-ID) or other portion of the IMSI code space can be mapped such that the occurrence of certain codes indicates that the device should be treated as a machine device (with a benefit that the PLMN-ID constitutes a portion of both the IMSI and the GUTI). Other code mapping configurations could also be used within other identifier spaces. (As should be evident from this example, the identifier need not uniquely identify the machine device 211, but may simply identify that the machine device 211 should be treated as a machine device.) ).
As per claim 3 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the RAN node is a base station (Paragraph 0024 a radio access network (RAN) 230 implemented through one or more eNodeBs 231-1 through 231-X (hereinafter referred to collectively as “eNodeBs 231,” ).
As per claim 4 BITAR teaches a method of a core network node, the method comprising:
receiving a message, wherein the message includes a first identifier and a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message (Paragraph 0038, 0049, 0059the IMSI “311489123456789” included in the NAS message and the PLMN-ID “311489” included in the RRC protocol layer transporting the NAS message. Which then determines that NAS messages from machine UE device 211 should be routed to MMS 250 (for example, based on one or more device IDs in the NAS message or in the lower layer protocols transporting the NAS message, such as the RRC protocol). ),and wherein the NAS message includes a second identifier(Paragraph 0060 identifiers in the NAS message indicating that the message includes encapsulated bearer traffic (e.g., NAS header fields such as the protocol discriminator field, message type field, etc.), and/or identifiers associated with the source of the message (e.g., based on a device ID) that would indicate that messages from the source will include encapsulated data); comparing the first identifier and the second identifier (Paragraph 0038, 0049 eNodeB 231B may make this determination, for example, by comparing one or more of the device identifiers of machine UE device 211C to a data structure mapping device identifiers to control entity identities. Include additional device identifiers (e.g., a PLMN-ID associated with the machine device) within the lower layer protocols that are providing transport of the NAS message (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, etc.). Serving eNodeB 231 may then determine that the received PLMN-ID and/or IMSI/GUTI is associated with a device that should be treated as a machine device. ); and discarding the NAS message in a case where the first identifier is different from the second identifier (Paragraph 0040, 0062 the message may be discarded, the identifier associated with serving eNodeB 231 may be stored, and/or network addresses associated with each (if different than the identifiers), as well as tracking area information. Other information associated with the machine device may also be stored).
As per claim 5 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the first identifier and the second identifier are related to a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0029-0031 UE devices 211 may each be associated with an identifier, such as a device name, a subscriber identity module (SIM) card, a device identity (e.g., a country code, a network code, and/or a subscriber identifier), a network address (e.g., an IP version 6 (IPv6) address, a media access control (MAC) address, a port address, etc.), an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), or the like. The associated identifier may be statically assigned to the device (such as a MAC address or IMSI) or may be dynamically assigned (such as an IP address or GUTI). In some implementations, the identifier is configured to provide information that indicates that the device qualifies as a machine device. For example, the public land mobile network ID (PLMN-ID) or other portion of the IMSI code space can be mapped such that the occurrence of certain codes indicates that the device should be treated as a machine device (with a benefit that the PLMN-ID constitutes a portion of both the IMSI and the GUTI). Other code mapping configurations could also be used within other identifier spaces. (As should be evident from this example, the identifier need not uniquely identify the machine device 211, but may simply identify that the machine device 211 should be treated as a machine device.) ).
As per claim 6 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 4 or 5, further comprising: sending a message to request to discard a message including the second identifier in a case where the first identifier is different from the second identifier (Paragraph 0040 the identifier associated with serving eNodeB 231 may be stored, and/or network addresses associated with each (if different than the identifiers), as well as tracking area information. ).
As per claim 7 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the core network node is an Access and Mobility Management Function (AMF) (Paragraph 0016 The example network further includes a Core Network infrastructure that implements control systems to achieve network management (such as access control, mobility management and resource allocation) and transport systems to provide data transport (such as packet routing and transmission)).
8-16. (canceled)
As per claim 17 BITAR teaches a Radio Access Network (RAN) node comprising(Paragraph 0024 As shown in FIG. 2A, environment 200 includes a network 220 that implements a radio access network (RAN) ): at least one memory; and at least one hardware processor coupled to the at least one memory, wherein the at least one hardware processor is configured to: receive a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message (Paragraph 0038, 0049, 0059 the IMSI “311489123456789” included in the NAS message and the PLMN-ID “311489” included in the RRC protocol layer transporting the NAS message. Which then determines that NAS messages from machine UE device 211 should be routed to MMS 250 (for example, based on one or more device IDs in the NAS message or in the lower layer protocols transporting the NAS message, such as the RRC protocol)), wherein the RRC message includes a first identifier and a Non-Access-Stratum (NAS) message, and wherein the NAS message includes a second identifier (Paragraph 0060 identifiers in the NAS message indicating that the message includes encapsulated bearer traffic (e.g., NAS header fields such as the protocol discriminator field, message type field, etc.), and/or identifiers associated with the source of the message (e.g., based on a device ID) that would indicate that messages from the source will include encapsulated data); compare the first identifier and the second identifier(Paragraph 0038, 0049 eNodeB 231B may make this determination, for example, by comparing one or more of the device identifiers of machine UE device 211C to a data structure mapping device identifiers to control entity identities. Include additional device identifiers (e.g., a PLMN-ID associated with the machine device) within the lower layer protocols that are providing transport of the NAS message (e.g., Radio Resource Control (RRC) protocol, etc.). Serving eNodeB 231 may then determine that the received PLMN-ID and/or IMSI/GUTI is associated with a device that should be treated as a machine device. ); and discard the RRC message in a case where the first identifier is different from the second identifier (Paragraph 0040, 0062 the message may be discarded, the identifier associated with serving eNodeB 231 may be stored, and/or network addresses associated with each (if different than the identifiers), as well as tracking area information. Other information associated with the machine device may also be stored).
18-32. (canceled)
As per claim 33 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first identifier is a first Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) or a first Temporary Mobile Subscription Identifier (TMSI), wherein the second identifier is a second GUTI or a second TMSI, and wherein the first identifier and the second identifier are same at time when a user equipment (UE) sends another RRC message corresponding to the RRC message (Paragraph 0029, 0032 a media access control (MAC) address, a port address, etc.), an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), or the like. The associated identifier may be statically assigned to the device (such as a MAC address or IMSI) or may be dynamically assigned (such as an IP address or GUTI). Communications between MMS 250 and machine devices 211 use LTE non-access stratum (NAS) messages for both control and data transport. For example, a machine device 211 attempting to establish a connection to network 220 may send one or more uplink NAS message to MMS 250 in an RRC message to eNodeB 231 to request a connection).
As per claim 34 BITAR teaches the method according to claim 4, wherein the first identifier is a first Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) or a first Temporary Mobile Subscription Identifier (TMSI), wherein the second identifier is a second GUTI or a second TMSI, and wherein the first identifier and the second identifier are same at time when a user equipment (UE) sends a Radio Resource Control (RRC) message corresponding to the NAS message (Paragraph 0029, 0032 a media access control (MAC) address, a port address, etc.), an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), or the like. The associated identifier may be statically assigned to the device (such as a MAC address or IMSI) or may be dynamically assigned (such as an IP address or GUTI). Communications between MMS 250 and machine devices 211 use LTE non-access stratum (NAS) messages for both control and data transport. For example, a machine device 211 attempting to establish a connection to network 220 may send one or more uplink NAS message to MMS 250 in an RRC message to eNodeB 231 to request a connection).
As per claim 35 BITAR teaches the RAN node according to claim 17, wherein the first identifier is a first Globally Unique Temporary Identifier (GUTI) or a first Temporary Mobile Subscription Identifier (TMSI), wherein the second identifier is a second GUTI or a second TMSI, and wherein the first identifier and the second identifier are same at time when a user equipment (UE) sends another RRC message corresponding to the RRC message (Paragraph 0029, 0032 a media access control (MAC) address, a port address, etc.), an international mobile subscriber identity (IMSI), a globally unique temporary identifier (GUTI), or the like. The associated identifier may be statically assigned to the device (such as a MAC address or IMSI) or may be dynamically assigned (such as an IP address or GUTI). Communications between MMS 250 and machine devices 211 use LTE non-access stratum (NAS) messages for both control and data transport. For example, a machine device 211 attempting to establish a connection to network 220 may send one or more uplink NAS message to MMS 250 in an RRC message to eNodeB 231 to request a connection).
Response to Argument(s)
Applicant's argument(s) filed on December 22, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection is maintained.
In the remarks, at page 7 the Applicant argues in substance that:
Remark:
(A) “Thus, Applicant respectfully submits that BITAR fails to disclose the above elements of claim 1, in particular, "comparing the first identifier and the second identifier; and" "discarding the RRC message in a case where the first identifier is different from the second identifier."....”
Response: In response, Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s representative’s assertions. The Examiner has thoroughly reviewed Applicants' representative’s arguments but firmly believes that the cited reference to reasonably and properly meet the claimed limitation. Applicant’s representative’s are reminded that the Examiner is entitled to give the broadest reasonable interpretation to the language of the claims. Examiner appreciates applicant’s representative’s explanation however, Bitar explicitly states that as part of the registration operation for machine UE device MDME may signal to eNodeB 231B that future uplink user data messages from machine device 211C should be routed to MGW 252B. Likewise, MDME 251 may signal to MGW 252B that future downlink user data messages to machine device 211C should be routed to eNodeB 231B. This direct communications path 580 may avoid the need to maintain bearer/session information for each machine UE device 211, thereby eliminating (discarding) the signaling overhead associated with maintaining bearers/sessions. .... Example from Bitar (Paragraph 0062 associations between machine UE device 211 and serving eNodeB 231 to determine whether a special communications path exists for forwarding the message. If there are no associations stored in the data structure, the message may be discarded. Otherwise, the downlink user data message may then be sent to the serving eNodeB 231 using the special communications path (Step 670) and delivered to machine device 211 over the access network. In the context of previously described examples, the user data message may be encapsulated by MMS 250 in a downlink NAS message directed to machine UE device 211 and sent to serving eNodeB 231 over the S1-MME interface (e.g., utilizing the SCTP connection). Serving eNodeB 231 then forwards the downlink NAS message to machine device 211 using conventional NAS message forwarding processes.)
Therefore Bitar reference teaches the claim limitation as currently presented.
Examiner’s Note
Examiner is open for discussion if the applicant’s representative need further clarifications.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL
Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SYED ALI whose telephone number is (571)270-3681. The examiner can normally be reached on M-F. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Asad Nawaz can be reached on 571-272-3988. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov . Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SYED ALI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2468