DETAILED ACTION
1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This action is responsive to amendments filed on 01/27/2026. Claims 1-5, 10-11, 14-17 are currently amended. Claims 1-17 are pending for examination.
Response to Arguments
2. Applicant’s arguments filed on 01/27/2026 with respect to claims 1-4, 9-17 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground of rejection necessitated by applicant’s amendment. Wherein the amended claim limitations have changed the scope. Therefore, the examiner did new ground of rejection using Su (US 2019/0239254 A1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
4. Claims 1-4, 9-16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2019/0239254 A1) in view of Kang (US 2022/0183072 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 14, 15 and 17, Su teaches a method performed by a network node (eNodeB/base station), the method comprising:
transmitting, to a user equipment (UE), system information (SIB 2) including cell specific random-access configuration information including a respective (1st and 2nd) physical random-access channel (PRACH) configuration ([0129], For each of cells, eNodeB will signal one of the PRACH configurations (by broadcasting the index of the PRACH configuration in SIB2) to be used by devices/UEs attempting random access in that cell. Wherein [0153], Fig. 9, at 910-- processing agent {of UE—[0151] } receives an index I.sub.LBL identifies 1st configuration and index I.sub.NLBL identifies 2nd configuration that has been broadcast by a base station.)(Hence the base station transmits SIB 2 including cell specific RA configuration info including 1st and 2nd PRACH configuration.), the respective(1st and 2nd) physical random-access channel (PRACH)configuration including identifier information (index I.sub.LBL & index I.sub.NLBL) to identify the respective (1st and 2nd) PRACH configuration corresponding to a group of UEs (link-budget-limited UE & non-link-budget-limited UE) ( [0153], index I.sub.LBL identifies 1st configuration for transmission of PRACH by link-budget-limited UE devices and index I.sub.NLBL identifies 2nd configuration for transmission of PRACH by non-link-budget-limited UE devices.);
receiving, from the UE, signalling at initiation of a random-access procedure, the signalling including a random-access preamble ([0130], at initiation of RA procedure, the UE transmits preamble.) transmitted using random-access resources based on the respective (1st and 2nd) PRACH configuration ([0154], Fig. 9, at 915—when the UE device is as link budget limited, the UE transmits the PRACH { preamble format and allowable time resources—[0129]; [0157]} based on the 1st configuration and when the UE device is as non- link budget limited, the UE transmits the PRACH { preamble format and allowable time resources—[0129]; [0157]} based on the 2nd configuration, to the base station.)(Hence the base station receives from the respective UE, a RA preamble transmitted using RA resources based on 1st and 2nd /respective PRACH configuration.); and
Su teaches a random-access procedure.
Su does not teach in random access procedure, communicating with the network node to continue the random-access procedure.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches in random access procedure,
transmitting, to the network node(Base Station), signalling at initiation of a random-access(CFRA) procedure, the signalling including the random-access preamble ( [0523], FIG. 16, a method for a UE to perform a random access procedure, wherein [0524], step S1610-- the UE transmits a PRACH preamble to a base station, for a contention-free RACH procedure (CFRA).); and
communicating with the network node (Base Station) to continue the random-access (CFRA) procedure ( [0534], step S1620, the UE receives a random access response (RAR) from the base station, for the contention-free RACH procedure.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kang and apply them on the teaching of Su to provide a method of performing a random access procedure in a wireless communication system (Kang; [0001]).
Specially for Claim 15, Su teaches a network node (BS 102-Fig. 4) comprising: a controller (404-Fig. 4—[0111]) and a transceiver(430-Fig. 4;[0110] ), wherein the controller is configured to:
Specially for Claim 17, Su teaches a user equipment (UE) (UE 106-Fig. 3) comprising: a controller (302-Fig. 3—[0106]) and a transceiver(330-Fig. 4;[0102] ), wherein the controller is configured to:
Regarding claims 11 and 16, Su teaches A method performed by a network node (base station), the method comprising:
selecting, from a plurality of physical random-access channel (PRACH) configurations, a PRACH configuration to be used by a user equipment (UE) in a contention free random-access (CFRA) procedure ( [0183], Fig. 11, at 1110-- an index is broadcasted by a base station, wherein the index identifies 1st configuration for transmission of a PRACH, wherein the configuration {is selected from PRACH configurations} has a conventionally-defined set of allowable subframes for transmission of the PRACH.)(),
wherein the PRACH configuration is selected based on a PRACH configuration previously (conventionally) used by the UE in a random-access procedure ([0183], Fig. 11, wherein the configuration {is selected from PRACH configurations} has a conventionally-defined set of allowable subframes for transmission of the PRACH by non-link-budget limited UE devices), and
wherein the PRACH configuration includes identifier information (index I.sub.LBL) to identify the PRACH configuration corresponding to a group of UEs (link-budget-limited UE) ( [0153], index I.sub.LBL identifies 1st configuration for transmission of PRACH by link-budget-limited UE devices.);
signalling, to the UE, a random-access preamble to be used in the CFRA procedure ([0130], at initiation of RA procedure, the UE transmits preamble.) based on the PRACH configuration ( [0154], Fig. 9, at 915—when the UE device is as link budget limited, the UE transmits the PRACH { preamble format and allowable time resources—[0129]; [0157]} based on the 1st configuration, to the base station.);
wherein the random-access preamble is transmitted using random-access resources based on the PRACH configuration corresponds to the group of UEs (link-budget-limited UE) ([0154], Fig. 9, at 915—when the UE device is as link budget limited, the UE transmits the PRACH { preamble format and allowable time resources—[0129]; [0157]} based on the 1st configuration, to the base station), and
wherein the group of UEs (link-budget-limited UE) corresponds to a group identified based on the identifier information (index I.sub.LBL) and in which the UE is located ([0129) ([0153], index I.sub.LBL identifies 1st configuration for transmission of PRACH by link-budget-limited UE devices.);
Su teaches random access procedure.
Su does not teach contention free random-access (CFRA) procedure.
Su does not teach CFRA procedure, wherein receiving, from the UE, signalling for initiating the CFRA procedure, the signalling including the random-access preamble; and communicating with the UE to continue the CFRA procedure.
However, in an analogous art, Kang teaches a CFRA procedure ([0561]), wherein receiving, from the UE, signalling for initiating the CFRA procedure, the signalling including the random-access preamble ( [0560], FIG. 17, a method for a base station to perform a random access procedure, wherein [0561], step S1710—the base station receives a PRACH preamble from a UE, for a contention-free RACH procedure (CFRA). ); and
communicating with the UE to continue the CFRA procedure ([0571], step S1720, the BS transmits a random-access response (RAR) to the UE, for the contention-free RACH procedure.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Kang and apply them on the teaching of Su to provide a method of performing a random-access procedure in a wireless communication system (Kang; [0001]).
Specially for Claim 16, Ohara teaches a network node (BS 102-Fig. 4) comprising:
a controller (404-Fig. 4—[0111]) and a transceiver(430-Fig. 4;[0110]), wherein the controller is configured to:
Regarding claim 2, Su further teaches wherein the respective(1st and 2nd) PRACH configuration is associated with a characteristic or a capability(not selected) of respective UEs corresponding to the groups of UEs (link-budget-limited UE & non-link-budget-limited UE) ( [0153], index I.sub.LBL identifies 1st configuration for transmission of PRACH by link-budget-limited UE devices and index I.sub.NLBL identifies 2nd configuration for transmission of PRACH by non-link-budget-limited UE devices.).
Regarding claim 3, Su further teaches further comprising: transmitting, to the UE, first information(signal) indicating the respective (1st and 2nd) PRACH configuration is associated with each characteristic or capability (not selected) of the UE ( [0129], For each of cells, eNodeB will signal one of the PRACH configurations (by broadcasting the index of the PRACH configuration in SIB2) to be used by devices/UEs attempting random access in that cell. Wherein [0153], Fig. 9, at 910-- processing agent {of UE—[0151] } receives an index I.sub.LBL identifies 1st configuration for transmission of PRACH by link-budget-limited UE devices and index I.sub.NLBL identifies 2nd configuration for transmission of PRACH by non-link-budget-limited UE devices that has been broadcast by a base station.).
Regarding claim 4, Su further teaches wherein the first information(signal) is transmitted with the cell specific random-access configuration information ([0129], For each of cells, eNodeB will signal one of the PRACH configurations (by broadcasting the index of the PRACH configuration in SIB2) to be used by devices/UEs attempting random access in that cell. So obvious cell specific.).
Regarding claim 9, Su further teaches wherein the system information is transmitted using information elements (IEs) of a system information block type 1 (SIB1) ([0142]; [0129]).
Regarding claim 10, Su further teaches wherein the random- access configuration information is transmitted using at least one of:
a respective prach-RootSequencelndex information element (IE) for each of the respective PRACH configurations (not selected),
a respective ra-ResponseWindow information element (IE) for each of the respective PRACH configurations (not selected),
a respective zeroCorrelationZoneConfig information element (IE) for each of the respective PRACH configurations (not selected),
a respective prach-Configurationindex information element (IE) for each of the respective PRACH configurations (not selected),
a respective RACH-ConfigGeneric information element (IE) for each of the respective PRACH configurations (not selected), or
a respective RACH-ConfigCommon information element (IE)([0142]) for each of the respective(1st and 2nd) PRACH configurations ([0153]; [0129]).
Regarding claim 12, Su further teaches wherein the random-access preamble is signalled to the UE using a rach-ConfigDedicated information element (IE) ([0129); [0142].
Regarding claim 13, Su further teaches wherein the method is performed as part of a handover procedure ([0008]).
5. Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Su (US 2019/0239254 A1) in view of Kang (US 2022/0183072 A1), further in view of Tseng (US 2023/0344508 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Su- Kang do not teach wherein each of at least two of the respective PRACH preamble format per group of UEs is associated with a respective pre-compensation capability of the UE.
However, in an analogous art, Tseng teaches wherein each of at least two of the respective PRACH configuration is associated with a respective pre-compensation capability of the UE ( [0131], “Type 1 RACH resource” is RACH resource configured for UEs {“Type 1 UE”—[0133]}that are capable to perform pre-compensation; and [0132], “Type 2 RACH resource” is RACH resource configured for UEs {“Type 2 UE”—[0134]} that are not capable to perform the pre-compensation.).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tseng and apply them on the teaching of Su- Kang to provide pre-compensation capability of a UE (Tseng; [0133] and [0134]).
Regarding claim 6, Su- Kang do not teach wherein each of the respective pre-compensation capability includes at least one of: a first pre-compensation capability for a UE that has a capability to perform pre- compensation; and a second pre-compensation capability for a UE that does not have a capability to perform pre-compensation.
However, in an analogous art, Tseng teaches wherein each of the respective pre-compensation capability includes at least one of:
a first pre-compensation capability for a UE that has a capability to perform pre- compensation ([0131], “Type 1 RACH resource” is RACH resource configured for UEs {“Type 1 UE”—[0133]} that are capable to perform pre-compensation{i.e. 1st pre-compensation capability.};); and
a second pre-compensation capability for a UE that does not have a capability to perform pre-compensation (not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tseng and apply them on the teaching of Su- Kang to provide pre-compensation capability of a UE (Tseng; [0133] and [0134]).
Regarding claim 7, Su- Kang do not teach wherein each of at least two of the respective pre-compensation capability represents a respective
However, in an analogous art, Tseng teaches wherein each of at least two of the respective pre-compensation capability represents a respective
perform pre-compensation ([0131], “Type 1 RACH resource” is RACH resource configured for UEs {“Type 1 UE”—[0133]}that are capable to perform pre-compensation;); and/or
determine a position of the UE on which pre-compensation is to be based (not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tseng and apply them on the teaching of Su- Kang to provide pre-compensation capability of a UE (Tseng; [0133] and [0134]).
Regarding claim 8, Su- Kang do not teach wherein at least one of the respective PRACH preamble format per group of UEs is associated with at least one of:
a mobility characteristic of the UE,
a rate at which timing advance values for the UE are changing,
a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) capability the UE, and
a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) coverage at the UE.
However, in an analogous art, Tseng teaches wherein at least one of the respective PRACH configuration is associated with at least one of:
a mobility characteristic of the UE (not selected),
a rate at which timing advance values for the UE are changing (not selected),
a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) capability the UE ([0131], “Type 1 RACH resource” is RACH resource configured for UEs {“Type 1 UE”—[0133]}that are capable to perform pre-compensation (e.g., based on their GNSS capability). ), and
a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) coverage at the UE (not selected).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to take the teaching of Tseng and apply them on the teaching of Su- Kang to provide pre-compensation capability of a UE based on GNSS capability (Tseng; [0133] and [0134]).
Conclusion
6. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
7. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MEHEDI S ALEY whose telephone number is (571)270-0439. The examiner can normally be reached Mon, Thus, Fri: 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeffrey M Rutkowski can be reached at 571-270-01215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MEHEDI S ALEY/Examiner, Art Unit 2415
/JEFFREY M RUTKOWSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2415