DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 10/27/2025. Claims 1-13 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claims 14-19 are canceled by the applicant.
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 5 and 10 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments. Specifically, the applicant’s arguments “It is respectfully submitted that neither Ren nor Hill nor their combination disclose or mention determining line of sight (LOS) information related to a reference signal being received by an AN from a UE in a direct path” are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection. See 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (EP 3866494) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US 20220312153) rejection below for details.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well.
Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-3 and 5-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (EP 3866494) (hereinafter Ren) in view of MANOLAKOS et al. (US 20220312153) (hereinafter MANOLAKOS).
Regarding claim 1:
As shown in figures 1-10, Ren discloses a method of operating an access node (AN) (see LMU in figure 1), the method comprising
receiving, from a wireless communication device (UE) (see target user equipment (UE) in figure 1), on a radio channel, a reference signal,
determining a reception property of the reference signal (in par 0078, Ren teaches “The processing module 702 is configured to measure the location reference signal transmitted by the target user equipment”. Please note that the processing module 702 is a component of LMU. See par 0076-0082. Also see step 106 in figure 1);
determining an identifier of the reference signal from the reference signal (in par 0034, Ren teaches “The beam information of the UL-RS may include the information such as the beam identifier and the beam direction of the UL-RS”. In par 0078, Ren teaches “The processing module 702 is configured to measure the location reference signal transmitted by the target user equipment according to the assistance locating information to obtain locating measurement information of the target user equipment”), wherein the identifier is associated with a transmission property of the reference signal (beam information interpreted to be transmission property. See par 0010, 0030, 0034) par 0010, 0030, 0034, 0056, 0081, 0084); and
providing (S107 in figure 1), to a location server node (LN) (see location server in figure 1), a message indicative of the reception property of the reference signal and the identifier of the reference signal (in par 0049, Ren teaches “ S107: the LMU transmits a measurement response (MEASUREMENT RESPONSE) to the locating server, where the measurement response carries the locating measurement information of the target user equipment and the measured beam information of the location reference signal (such as SRS)”) (par 0049-0051, 0081-0084).
Ren discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching determining line of sight (LOS) information related to the reference signal being received by the AN from the UE in a direct path; and the LOS information.
However, MANOLAKOS in the same field of endeavor teaches determining line of sight (LOS) information related to the reference signal being received by the AN from the UE in a direct path (see direct path in figure 5); and the LOS information (in par 0011 MANOLAKOS teaches “a wireless network node includes means for receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) on a link from the UE to the wireless network node; means for determining a line of sight (LOS) condition associated with the link”. Also see abstract, par 0007, 0013, 0119, 0121, 0191, 0233, 0257, 0281, 0305). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use line of sight (LOS) information as taught by MANOLAKOS to modify the system and method of Ren in order to choose those particular links for positioning and to avoid receiving and processing the reference signals from the links for which the LOS confidence/probability is low to achieve power saving gains (par 0126) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 2:
Ren further discloses wherein the reception property of the reference signal comprises an estimated angle of arrival of the reference signal (in par 0010, Ren teaches “The beam information of the reference signal may include one or more of: the beam identifier of the reference signal, the beam direction of the reference signal, the beam width of the reference signal, the beam intensity of the reference signal, etc., and may also include the transmission time of the reference signal, etc”. Beam direction of reference signal interpreted to be an estimated angle of arrival of the reference signal. Also see par 0030, 0034, 0041-0048).
Regarding claim 3:
Ren further discloses wherein the reception property of the reference signal comprises a coefficient measurement of a first path of the reference signal (in par 0010, Ren teaches “The beam information of the reference signal may include one or more of: the beam identifier of the reference signal, the beam direction of the reference signal, the beam width of the reference signal, the beam intensity of the reference signal, etc., and may also include the transmission time of the reference signal, etc”. Beam direction of reference signal interpreted to be a coefficient measurement of a first path of the reference signal. Also see par 0030, 0034, 0041-0048).
Regarding claim 5:
As shown in figures 1-10, Ren discloses a method of operating a wireless communication device (UE) (see target user equipment (UE) in figure 1), wherein the method comprises
transmitting, on a radio channel, a reference signal using a transmission property associated with an identifier of the reference signal (in par 0078, Ren teaches “The processing module 702 is configured to measure the location reference signal transmitted by the target user equipment”), wherein the transmitted reference signal is indicative of the identifier of the reference signal (in par 0034, Ren teaches “The beam information of the UL-RS may include the information such as the beam identifier and the beam direction of the UL-RS”. Also, see par 0010, 0030, 0034) par 0010, 0030, 0034, 0056, 0081, 0084).
Ren discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the transmitted reference signal comprises information for use by an operatively associated access node (AN) in operative communication with the UE for the AN to determine line of sight (LOS) information being received by the AN from the UE in a direct path.
However, MANOLAKOS in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the transmitted reference signal comprises information for use by an operatively associated access node (AN) in operative communication with the UE for the AN to determine line of sight (LOS) information being received by the AN from the UE in a direct path (see direct path in figure 5) (in par 0011 MANOLAKOS teaches “a wireless network node includes means for receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) on a link from the UE to the wireless network node; means for determining a line of sight (LOS) condition associated with the link”. Also see abstract, par 0007, 0013, 0119, 0121, 0191, 0233, 0257, 0281, 0305). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use line of sight (LOS) information as taught by MANOLAKOS to modify the system and method of Ren in order to choose those particular links for positioning and to avoid receiving and processing the reference signals from the links for which the LOS confidence/probability is low to achieve power saving gains (par 0126) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 6:
Ren further discloses wherein the reference signal carries the identifier (in par 0034, Ren teaches “The beam information of the UL-RS may include the information such as the beam identifier and the beam direction of the UL-RS”).
Regarding claim 7:
Ren further discloses wherein one or more resource elements used for transmitting the reference signal are indicative of the identifier of the reference signal (par 0002, 0017, 0059, 0070-0071, 0074).
Regarding claim 8:
Ren further discloses obtaining, from a location server node (LN) (see location server in figure 1) or from a serving AN, a message indicative of the transmission property associated with the identifier (in par 0034, Ren teaches “The beam information of the UL-RS may include the information such as the beam identifier and the beam direction of the UL-RS”. Also, see par 0010, 0030, 0034) par 0010, 0030, 0034, 0056, 0081, 0084).
Regarding claim 9:
Ren further discloses providing, to a location server node (LN) (see location server in figure 1) a message indicative of the transmission property associated with the identifier (see par 0010, 0030, 0034) par 0010, 0030, 0034, 0056, 0081, 0084).
Regarding claim 10:
As shown in figures 1-10, Ren discloses a method of operating a location server node (LN) (see location server in figure 1), the method comprising,
obtaining, from one or more access nodes (ANs) (see serving base station in figure 1) a message (S104 in figure 1) indicative of a reception property of a reference signal (beam information interpreted to be transmission property of a reference signal. See par 0010, 0030, 0034) par 0010, 0030, 0034, 0056, 0081, 0084) and an identifier of the reference signal (in par 0034, Ren teaches “The beam information of the UL-RS may include the information such as the beam identifier and the beam direction of the UL-RS”);
determining, from the identifier of the reference signal, a transmission property of the reference signal and a wireless communication device (UE) associated with the reference signal (par 0010, 0030, 0034, 0056, 0081, 0084); and
determining a position estimate of the UE based on the reception property and the transmission property of the reference signal (see S105-S108 in figure 1) (par 0037-0053).
Ren discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching determining line of sight (LOS) information related to the reference signal being received by the AN from a wireless communication device (UE) associated with the reference signal in a direct path.
However, MANOLAKOS in the same field of endeavor teaches determining line of sight (LOS) information related to the reference signal being received by the AN from a wireless communication device (UE) associated with the reference signal in a direct path (see direct path in figure 5) (in par 0011 MANOLAKOS teaches “a wireless network node includes means for receiving, from a user equipment (UE), a reference signal for positioning (RS-P) on a link from the UE to the wireless network node; means for determining a line of sight (LOS) condition associated with the link”. Also see abstract, par 0007, 0013, 0119, 0121, 0191, 0233, 0257, 0281, 0305). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use line of sight (LOS) information as taught by MANOLAKOS to modify the system and method of Ren in order to choose those particular links for positioning and to avoid receiving and processing the reference signals from the links for which the LOS confidence/probability is low to achieve power saving gains (par 0126) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claim 11:
Ren further discloses wherein the position estimate comprises an orientation of the UE (the beam direction of the target user equipment interpreted to be an orientation of the UE. See par 0025).
Regarding claim 12:
Ren further discloses determining a quality of the position estimate (in par 0054, Ren teaches “The locating server can combine the beam direction and beam intensity of the SRS detected by the LMU with the UL RTOA measurement value to calculate the position of the UE in the locating algorithm, thereby improving the locating accuracy and reliability of the Observed Time Difference of Arrival (OTDOA) locating method”. Locating accuracy and reliability interpreted to be a quality of the position estimate).
Regarding claim 13:
Ren further discloses wherein the transmission property of the reference signal comprises at least one of:
- a spatial filter for transmitting the reference signal;
- a beam width information (par 0010, 0019, 0041);
- a beam pattern; and/or
- a beam forming codebook.
8. Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ren in view of MANOLAKOS as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of HILL et al. (US 20220393748) (hereinafter HILL).
Regarding claim 4:
Ren and MANOLAKOS disclose all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the reception property of the reference signal comprises a statistical property of an estimated angle of arrival of the reference signal.
However, HILL in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the reception property of the reference signal comprises a statistical (measurement report) property of an estimated angle of arrival of the reference signal (par 0074). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use measurement report (statistical property) as taught by HILL to modify the system and method of Ren in order to provide the measurement report that is indicative of at least one receive property of the DL reference signals measured at the UE (par 0074) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al. (US 12085637) discloses a method and an apparatus for positioning a terminal device including generating, by a terminal device, a first message, where the first message includes one or more pieces of first time difference information, and the first time difference information includes a first time difference and information about a first positioning reference signal pair corresponding to the first time difference, where the first positioning reference signal pair includes a first uplink positioning reference signal and a first downlink positioning reference signal that have an association relationship, and the first time difference is a time difference between a sending time point of the first uplink positioning reference signal and a receiving time point of the first downlink positioning reference signal; and sending, by the terminal device, the first message to a network device.
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631