Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang US 20230337287 in view of BOROUJENI US 20220053574
1. A random access method applied to a terminal, the method comprising:
transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) (Yang: [0083, 0094] fig. 8 - Msg1 (PRACH): This is transmitted from a UE to a BS (S710));
receiving a timing pilot signal for responding to the PRACH and detecting a random access response (RAR) message and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for indicating the RAR message, timings of the RAR message and the PDCCH being determined based on a timing of the timing pilot signal (Yang: [0084, 0094] fig. 8 - Msg2 (RAR PDSCH): This is a response message to the Msg1 and is transmitted from the BS to the UE (S720). For Msg2 reception, the UE may perform PDCCH monitoring to check whether there is RA-RNTI-based PDCCH (e.g., CRC of PDCCH is masked with RA-RNTI) within a time window (hereinafter, RAR window) related to the Msg1. When the PDCCH masked with the RA-RNTI is received, the UE may receive an RAR from PDSCH indicated by the RA-RNTI PDCCH); and
transmitting a third message according to the timing pilot signal, the RAR message and the PDCCH, the third message being used for requesting access to a network (Yang: [0085, 0094] fig. 8 - 3) Msg3 (PUSCH): This is transmitted from the UE to the BS (S730). Msg3 is performed based on the UL grant in the RAR);
wherein receiving the timing pilot signal for responding to the PRACH and detecting the RAR message and the PDCCH for indicating the RAR message, includes: detecting, in a case of receiving the timing pilot signal within a preset time window, the RAR message and the PDCCH (Yang: [0083, 0094] The RAR window may start based on a RO transmission time (i.e., PRACH transmission time), and in detail, may start from a first PDCCH opportunity (e.g., a PDCCH search space) for RAR PDCCH monitoring that exists after the RO transmission time. A time interval of the RAR window may be adjusted based on a timer configured by a higher layer (e.g., RRC). While the RAR window (i.e., timer) is running, the UE may monitor the RAR PDCCH for each PDCCH search space, and when the RAR PDCCH for the UE is detected, the RAR window may be terminated…); and
Yang merely discloses the term “the method further comprises: not detecting, in a case of not receiving the timing pilot signal within the preset time window, the RAR message and the PDCCH (Yang: [0094])”
BOROUJENI further teaches wherein the method further comprises: not detecting, in a case of not receiving the timing pilot signal within the preset time window, the RAR message and the PDCCH (BOROUJENI: [0103] attempting to receive and/or decode a PDSCH communication associated with the RAR message at a wrong time location).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Yang’s invention in order to decoding the PDCCH communication to identify a location to receive the RAR (e.g., the PDSCH), as taught by BOROUJENI.
Claim(s) 2-4, 6-7, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang- BOROUJENI in view of MolavianJazi US 20220191940
2. The method according to claim 1, wherein the timing pilot signal satisfies at least one of: that an index of the PRACH satisfies a [[one-to-one relationship]] with the timing pilot signal; or that a random access-radio network temporary identity (RA-RNTI) of the PRACH satisfies a one-to-one relationship with the timing pilot signal (Yang: [0083, 0094]).
Yang merely discloses the term “one-to-one relationship”
MolavianJazi further teaches the term one-to-one relationship (MolavianJazi: [0372])
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Yang’s invention in order to determine two different RA-RNTIs for a one-to-one association with the two PRACHs, as taught by MolavianJazi.
3. The method according to claim 1, wherein the third message includes an index of an optimal timing pilot signal obtained by measurement; and the timing pilot signal satisfies at least one of: that an index of the PRACH satisfies a one-to-many relationship with the timing pilot signal; or that a random access-radio network temporary identity (RA-RNTI) of the PRACH satisfies a one-to-many relationship with the timing pilot signal (Yang: [0083, 0094]; MolavianJazi: [0372]).
4. The method according to claim 3, wherein PDCCHs corresponding to different timing pilot signals are different, and RAR messages indicated by different PDCCHs are different; or PDCCHs corresponding to different timing pilot signals are different, and RAR messages indicated by different PDCCHs are same; or PDCCHs corresponding to different timing pilot signals are the same, and RAR messages indicated by different PDCCHs are same (Yang: [0083, 0094]; MolavianJazi: [0372]).
5. (cancelled)
6. The method according to claim 1, wherein the timing pilot signal is at least one in number; and each timing pilot signal occupies K control channel elements (CCEs), K being an integer greater than 1 (Yang: [0051-0052, 0141]).
7. The method according to claim 6, wherein K is an element in an aggregation level set of the PDCCH; or K is determined according to an aggregation level of the PDCCH; or the CCEs occupied by each timing pilot signal and CCEs occupied by a PDCCH corresponding to each timing pilot signal belong to a same CCE candidate set; and position indexes of the CCEs occupied by each timing pilot signal in the CCE candidate set are same as or different from position indexes of the CCEs occupied by the PDCCH corresponding to each timing pilot signal in the CCE candidate set (Yang: [0051-0052]).
8. (canceled)
9. The method according to claim 1, further comprising: receiving a system message, the system message including at least one of: a relationship between an index of the PRACH and the timing pilot signal; or a relationship between a random access-radio network temporary identity (RA-RNTI) of the PRACH and the timing pilot signal (Yang: [0083, 0094]; MolavianJazi: [0372]).
Regarding claims 10-11, 13-15, 17-18, 20-24, the independent claim and each dependent claim are related to the same limitation set for hereinabove in claims 1-4, 6-7, 9, where the difference used is a “access control, terminal, & NT-CRM” with a processor and a memory (Yang: Referring to FIG. 15, the devices 108, 208 includes a processor 102, a memory 104) and the wordings of the claims were interchanged within the claim itself or some of the claims were presented as a combination of two or more previously presented limitations. This change does not affect the limitation of the above treated claims. Adding these phrases to the claims arid interchanging the wording did not introduce new limitations to these claims. Therefore, these claims were rejected for similar reasons as stated above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu US 20220201770 in view of in view of BOROUJENI US 20220053574
1. A random access method applied to a terminal, the method comprising:
transmitting a physical random access channel (PRACH) (Xu: [0069] Step S101: a terminal device transmits a random access preamble to a network device through message 1 (Msg1));
receiving a timing pilot signal for responding to the PRACH and detecting a random access response (RAR) message and a physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) for indicating the RAR message, timings of the RAR message and the PDCCH being determined based on a timing of the timing pilot signal (Xu: [0071-0073] Step S102: the network device transmits message 2 (Msg2) to the terminal device. After detecting that the terminal device transmits the preamble, the network device transmits a RAR message to the terminal device through Msg2 to inform the terminal device of uplink resource information that can be used for transmitting Msg3, assigning a radio network temporary identity (RNTI) to the terminal device and providing a time advance command etc. to the terminal device. After the terminal device transmits the preamble, a RAR window (RA Response window) is used to monitor to a PDCCH within the RAR window so as to receive a RAR message corresponding to a random access radio network temporary identifier (RA-RNTI). A window length of the RAR window is represented in a number of time slots, and the number of the time slots is configured by high-level signaling ra-ResponseWindow. A time slot length is determined for a reference subcarrier based on a subcarrier interval of a PDCCH common search space set configured for the terminal. The RAR window starts in the PDCCH common search space set configured for the terminal device after transmitting Msg1, and is at a control resource set (CORESET) at an earliest time position where the terminal receives PDCCH after at least one symbol after a last symbol of the RACH occasion where the terminal device transmits a physical random access channel (PRACH), and a symbol length of the at least one symbol corresponds to a subcarrier interval of the PDCCH common search space set); and
transmitting a third message according to the timing pilot signal, the RAR message and the PDCCH, the third message being used for requesting access to a network (Xu: [0077-0079] Step S103: the terminal device transmits Msg3 to the network device. If the terminal device successfully receives the RAR message, the terminal sends Msg3, that is, the PUSCH scheduled by the RAR message. Corresponding to the PUSCH transmission slots scheduled by the RAR message, if the terminal device receives the PDSCH carrying RAR message at time slot n, the terminal transmits the PUSCH of Msg3 at time slot n.sup.n=n+k.sub.2+Δ);
wherein receiving the timing pilot signal for responding to the PRACH and detecting the RAR message and the PDCCH for indicating the RAR message, includes: detecting, in a case of receiving the timing pilot signal within a preset time window, the RAR message and the PDCCH (Xu: [0072-0074] the RAR message has been successfully received, and the UE can stop monitoring the RAR message); and
Xu merely discloses the term “the method further comprises: not detecting, in a case of not receiving the timing pilot signal within the preset time window, the RAR message and the PDCCH (Xu: [0072-0074])”
BOROUJENI further teaches wherein the method further comprises: not detecting, in a case of not receiving the timing pilot signal within the preset time window, the RAR message and the PDCCH (BOROUJENI: [0103] attempting to receive and/or decode a PDSCH communication associated with the RAR message at a wrong time location).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to include the above recited limitation into Xu’s invention in order to decoding the PDCCH communication to identify a location to receive the RAR (e.g., the PDSCH), as taught by BOROUJENI.
Response to Amendment
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4,6-7,9-11,13-15,17-18 and 20-24 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Remark:
The examiner stresses that the claims are too broad and require detail or specialization of the steps as recited in the claims. Alone and as claimed, the limitations are too open.
Examiner has cited particular portions of the references as applied to each claim limitation for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested from the applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
Regarding all other arguments presented by applicant, the arguments are substantially the same as those which have already been addressed above and in the interest of brevity; the Examiner directs the applicant to those responses above.
In addition, an interview could expedite the prosecution.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to Sulaiman Nooristany whose telephone number is 571-270-1929. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday thru Friday: 8:30am to 5:00pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Jeff Rutkowski can be reached on 571-270-1215. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SULAIMAN NOORISTANY/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2415