Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-8, 14, and 16-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 110130758 to Yang et al (hereinafter Yang) in view of US 2018/0187956 to Kim et al (hereinafter Kim), USP 11774165 to Oh, and USP 3664619 to Heidrich et al (hereinafter Heidrich).
Yang discloses (Claim 1). A refrigerator comprising: a cabinet 1 having a storage space; a refrigerator door 2 rotatably connected to the cabinet 1 by a hinge apparatus 3 and configured to open and close the storage space; a guide housing 42 configured to guide at least one of a wire or a pipe 5, through which a liquid flows, between the cabinet 1 and the refrigerator door 2, the at least one of the wire or the pipe 5 entering the refrigerator door 2 through a door opening 2112 that is spaced apart from a rotational axis (defined by first hinge shaft 31) of the refrigerator door 2, wherein the guide housing 42 includes a plurality of housing segments 421,422 that are rotatably connected to each other, wherein the plurality of housing segments 421,422 include a first housing segment 421 rotatably connected to the refrigerator door 2, wherein the first housing segment 421 includes (such as shown in Fig. 2) a horizontal extension section and vertical extension section 4211 extending from the horizontal extension section; wherein a first one 422 of the housing segments includes a lower hinge extension provided at a lower surface of the first one of the housing segments, and a second one 421 of the housing segments is adjacent to the first one of the housing segments 422 and includes a hinge hole 4215 provided in a lower surface of the second one of the housing segments and connected to the lower hinge extension; wherein the hinge extension includes a hinge body extending from the first one of the housing segments toward the second one of the housing segments, and a hinge pin 4222 protruding from the hinge body and extending through the hinge hole 4215; wherein the hinge pin 4222 includes one or more protrusions protruding in a horizontal direction; (Claim 8). The refrigerator of claim 1, a cabinet guide 83 which is fixed to the cabinet; (Claim 14). The refrigerator of claim 1, wherein the one or more protrusions are provided at a first side of the hinge hole 4215, and the hinge body is provided at a second side of the hinge hole 4215 opposite to the first side.
The differences being that Yang fails to clearly disclose the limitations in (i) Claim 1 of wherein two or more of the plurality of housing segments extend in a common direction when the refrigerator door is closed, and wherein a flange is provided around a region of the vertical extension section, and the flange is seated on the refrigerator door; (ii) Claim 1 of an upper hinge extension provided at an upper surface of the first one of the housing segment, and a hinge hole provided in an upper surface of the second housing segment and connected to the upper hinge extension; (iii) Claim 1 of a second housing segment rotatably connected to the first housing segment and a third housing segment rotatably connected to the second housing segment; (iv) Claim 1 of wherein the hinge pin protrudes from the hinge body in a vertical direction and includes one or more protrusions protruding in a horizontal direction; (v) Claims 2-3; (vi) Claims 5-7; Claim 8 of the third housing segment is movably connected to the cabinet guide; and Claims 16-17.
Kim discloses a refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 having a storage space; a refrigerator door 20 rotatably connected to the cabinet by a hinge apparatus and configured to open and close the storage space; and a guide housing 130 configured to define a pathway that guides at least one of a wire or a pipe 170, through which liquid flows, between the cabinet and the refrigerator door, the at least one of the wire or the pipe entering the refrigerator door 20 through a door opening that is spaced apart from a rotational axis of the refrigerator door 20; wherein the guide housing extends in a straight line form and perpendicular to a width direction of the refrigerator door when the refrigerator door is closed; a cabinet guide 110 which is fixed to the cabinet and to which the guide housing is movably connected.
Oh discloses a refrigerator 1 comprising: a cabinet 10 having a storage space; a refrigerator door 20 rotatably connected to the cabinet 10 by a hinge apparatus 40 and configured to open and close the storage space; and a guide housing 80 configured to define a pathway that guides at least one of a wire or a pipe 701,801, through which liquid flows, between the cabinet 10 and the refrigerator door 20, the at least one of the wire or the pipe entering the refrigerator door 20 through a door opening 223 that is spaced apart from a rotational axis of the refrigerator door 20; a cabinet guide 83 which is fixed to the cabinet and to which the guide housing is movably connected; wherein the guide housing 80 includes a plurality of housing segments 81,82,74,75 that are rotatably connected to each other, wherein the plurality of housing segments 81,82 include a first housing segment 81,74,75 rotatably connected to the refrigerator door 20, wherein the first housing segment 81,74,75 includes (such as shown in Figs. 13, 16-17) a horizontal extension section 81 and vertical extension section 752 extending from the horizontal extension section 81, wherein two or more of the plurality of housing segments extend in a common direction when the refrigerator door is closed, and wherein a flange (top portion of 75 (such as shown in Figs. 13 & 16-17) and 74) is provided around a region of the vertical extension section 752, and the flange is seated on the refrigerator door 20 (such as shown in Figs. 16-17); wherein the plurality of housing segments of the guide housing extend in a straight line form when the refrigerator door is closed; wherein, when the refrigerator door is closed, each of the plurality of housing segments is positioned to extend perpendicular to a width direction of the refrigerator door (such as shown in Fig. 15); wherein a first one 81 of the housing segments includes an upper hinge extension provided at an upper surface of the first one of the housing segments and including a hinge body 811 extending from the first one of the housing segments toward a second one 82 of the housing segments, and a hinge pin 811a protruding from the hinge body 811 and extending through an upper hinge hole provided in an upper surface of the second one of the housing segments, wherein the hinge pin 811a protrudes from the hinge body 811 in a vertical direction and includes one or more protrusions protruding in a horizontal direction (see attached marked-up copy of Fig. 16); wherein each of the housing segments have a cylindrical shape.
Heidrich shows that it is well-known in the art to provide a guide housing configured to guide a wire, which guide housing includes a plurality of housing segments that are rotatably connected to each other; wherein a first housing segment includes a first contact surface and a first inclined surface extending from the first contact surface, a second housing segment includes a second contact surface and a second inclined surface extending from the second contact surface, wherein, when the housing segments are in a first position, the first contact surface contacts a front surface of the second housing segment, the first inclined surface is spaced apart from the front surface of the second housing segment, the second contact surface contacts a front surface of a third housing segment, and the second inclined surface is spaced apart from the front surface of the third housing segment, and when housing segments are in a second position, the first inclined surface of the first housing segment is relatively closer to the front surface of the second housing segment, and the second inclined surface of the second housing segment is relatively closer to the front surface of the third housing segment than when the housing segments are in the first position; wherein a first one of the housing segments includes a hinge body provided at each an upper surface and a lower surface of the first one of the housing segments, and a second one of the housing segments is adjacent to the first one of the housing segments and includes a hinge hole 13 provided in each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the second one of the housing segments and connected to a corresponding one of the hinge body, a hinge pin 12 protruding from the hinge body and extending through a corresponding one of the hinge holes 13.
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Kim, Oh and Heidrich, to modify Yang to include the limitations in (i) Claim 1 of wherein two or more of the plurality of housing segments extend in a common direction when the refrigerator door is closed, and wherein a flange is provided around a region of the vertical extension section, and the flange is seated on the refrigerator door; (ii) Claim 1 of the housing segments having a cylindrical shape in order to prevent lines provided therein from being displaced therefrom, and an upper hinge extension provided at an upper surface of the first one of the housing segment, and a hinge hole provided in an upper surface of the second housing segment and connected to the upper hinge extension; (iii) Claim 1 of a second housing segment rotatably connected to the first housing segment and a third housing segment rotatably connected to the second housing segment; (iv) Claim 1 of wherein the hinge pin protrudes from the hinge body in a vertical direction and includes one or more protrusions protruding in a horizontal direction; (v) Claims 2-3: Claim 2 of wherein the plurality of housing segments of the guide housing extend in a straight line form when the refrigerator door is closed; Claim 3 of wherein, when the refrigerator door is closed, each of the plurality of housing segments is positioned to extend perpendicular to a width direction of the refrigerator door; (vi) Claim 7 of wherein: the first housing segment includes a first contact surface and a first inclined surface extending from the first contact surface, the second housing segment includes a second contact surface and a second inclined surface extending from the second contact surface, when the refrigerator door is closed, the first contact surface contacts a front surface of the second housing segment, the first inclined surface is spaced apart from the front surface of the second housing segment, the second contact surface contacts a front surface of the third housing segment, and the second inclined surface is spaced apart from the front surface of the third housing segment, and when the refrigerator door is opened, the first inclined surface of the first housing segment is relatively closer to the front surface of the second housing segment, and the second inclined surface of the second housing segment is relatively closer to the front surface of the third housing segment than when the refrigerator door is closed with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility, and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 5, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang, as modified in view of Heidrich, to meet the limitation recited therein of wherein, when the refrigerator door is opened, the third housing segment performs at least one of a linear movement or a rotational movement with respect to the cabinet, the second housing segment rotates relative to the third housing segment, and the first housing segment rotates with respect to the second housing segment with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility, and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 6, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang, as modified in view of Heidrich, to meet the limitation recited therein of wherein, when the refrigerator door is opened, the second housing segment rotates with respect to the third housing segment in a rotational direction, and the first housing segment rotates with respect to the second housing segment in the rotational direction with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility, and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 8, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang, as modified in view of Heidrich, to meet the limitation recited therein of the third housing segment is movably connected to the cabinet guide with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility, and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 16, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang, as modified in view of Heidrich, to meet the limitation recited therein of wherein a length of the third housing segment is greater than respective lengths of the first housing segment and the second housing segment with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Regarding Claim 17, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Yang, as modified in view of Heidrich, to meet the limitation recited therein of wherein, when the refrigerator door is opened at a maximum angle, the first housing segment is positioned in front of the hinge apparatus, and the second housing segment is positioned at a lateral side of the hinge apparatus with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang, as modified, as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of CN 103648846 to Nagayasu et al (hereinafter Nagayasu).
Yang, as modified, discloses all the elements as discussed above except for the limitations recited in claims 10-11.
However, Nagayasu discloses a guide housing configured to guide at least one wire, wherein the guide housing includes a first housing section 76 and a second housing section 78 coupled to the first housing section 76, and wherein the first housing section 76 and the second housing section 78 entirely surround a section of the wire guided by the guide housing; wherein one of the first housing section 76 and the second housing section 78 includes a hook, and wherein another one of the first housing section 76 and the second housing section 78 includes a hook slot to which the hook is coupled (Figs. 6-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious and well within the level of one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, in view of Nagayasu, to modify Yang, as modified, to include the limitations in Claims 10 and 11 of each of the first to third housing segments includes a lower housing section and an upper housing section coupled to the lower housing section, and wherein the lower housing section and the upper housing section entirely surround a section of at least one of the wire or the pipe guided by the guide housing; wherein one of the lower housing section and the upper housing section includes a hook, and wherein another one of the lower housing section and the upper housing section includes a hook slot to which the hook is coupled with a reasonable expectation of success in order to increase the overall versatility and aesthetic of the guide housing of the refrigerator.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/22/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In response to applicant’s arguments that Oh and Heidrich fail to cure the deficiencies of Yang such that the prior art of record fails to teach or fairly suggest the limitations in claim 1 of a hinge extension provided at each an upper surface and a lower surface of the first one of the housing segments, and a hinge hole provided in each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the second one of the housing segments and connected to a corresponding one of the hinge extensions, the examiner respectfully take the position that (i) Oh discloses a first one 81 of the housing segments includes an upper hinge extension provided at an upper surface of the first one of the housing segments and including a hinge body 811 extending from the first one of the housing segments toward a second one 82 of the housing segments, and a hinge pin 811a protruding from the hinge body 811 and extending through an upper hinge hole provided in an upper surface of the second one of the housing segments, wherein each of the housing segments have a cylindrical shape; (ii) Heidrich discloses a first one of the housing segments includes a hinge body provided at each an upper surface and a lower surface of the first one of the housing segments, and a second one of the housing segments is adjacent to the first one of the housing segments and includes a hinge hole 13 provided in each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the second one of the housing segments and connected to a corresponding one of the hinge body, a hinge pin 12 protruding from the hinge body and extending through a corresponding one of the hinge holes 13. Therefore, Yang, as modified in view of Oh and Heidrich, meets the claimed limitations of wherein a first one of the housing segments includes a hinge extension provided at each an upper surface and a lower surface of the first one of the housing segments, and a second one of the housing segments is adjacent to the first one of the housing segments and includes a hinge hole provided in each of an upper surface and a lower surface of the second one of the housing segments and connected to a corresponding one of the hinge extensions, wherein one of the hinge extensions includes a hinge body extending from the first one of the housing segments toward the second one of the housing segments, and a hinge pin protruding from the hinge body and extending through a corresponding one of the hinge ole holes.
Conclusion
HVT
February 27, 2026
/HANH V TRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637
