DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 01/07/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the English translation of JP2021-001560 application.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
temperature detection unit in claim 1, interpreted as sensor as described in paragraph [55 ] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
a heat generating portion in claim 6, interpreted as heater as described in paragraph [7] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
heating cooking chamber in claim 7, interpreted as chamber as described in Fig. 2 the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
control unit in claim 7, interpreted as processor as described in paragraph [ 27] of the original disclosure, and equivalents thereof
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Mineoka et al., US 20160360577 (hereafter Mineoka).
Regarding claim 1,
A heating cooking apparatus comprising: (abstract)
a housing including an opening (see annotated figure below); a cover portion (1002) including a suction hole portion (1027) and a blow-out hole portion (1028, 1029), the cover portion covering the opening; (Fig. 24)
Partial Fig. 24 in Mineoka
a fan (1019) disposed in the housing and configured to generate a flow of air from the suction hole portion to the blow-out hole portion; (Fig. 24)
a first heater disposed in the housing; (1021 in Fig. 24)
a temperature detection unit disposed in the housing and configured to detect a temperature; (Paragraph [435] teaches temperature sensor 1070.)
and a wall portion (1018b-2) disposed on an upstream side of the temperature detection unit in a direction of the flow of the air. (Fig. 30)
Fig. 30 in Mineoka
Regarding claim 2,
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the wall portion includes a first wall disposed on an upstream side of the temperature detection unit in the direction of the flow of the air, (1018b-2 in Fig. 30)
and a second wall disposed between the first heater and the temperature detection unit. (1097a in Fig. 30)
Regarding claim 7,
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising: a heating cooking chamber configured to accommodate an object to be heated; (chamber 1002 in Fig. 22 in Mineoka)
and a control unit configured to control the fan and the first heater(Fig. 26) based on a detection result of the temperature detection unit, (Paragraph [255] teaches “During the grill cooking, the upper heater 20 and the middle heater 21 are turned ON and OFF based on temperatures detected by the upper inside temperature sensor 370A so that the temperature of the lower space 373B is kept from going over 100° C.”)
wherein the fan suctions the air from an inside of the heating cooking chamber to an inside of the housing through the suction hole portion and blows the air from the inside of the housing to the inside of the heating cooking chamber through the blow-out hole portion. (Fig. 24 in Mineoka)
Regarding claim 8,
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 7, further comprising a second heater disposed in the heating cooking chamber, wherein the control unit controls the second heater based on the detection result of the temperature detection unit. (Paragraph [255] in Mineoka teaches “During the grill cooking, the upper heater 20 and the middle heater 21 are turned ON and OFF based on temperatures detected by the upper inside temperature sensor 370A so that the temperature of the lower space 373B is kept from going over 100° C.”)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mineoka as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Han et al., US 20220039595 (hereafter Han).
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 2, wherein the housing includes a base portion facing the cover portion, (1018b in Fig. 30)
and the first wall includes a main body wall extending from the base portion… (1018b-2 extending from base 1018b in Fig. 30)
and an inclined wall disposed at an end most portion of the main body wall (Fig. 30)
Primary combination of references is silent about a main body wall extending from the base portion toward the cover portion, … the inclined wall inclined toward the cover portion in the direction of the flow of the air.
Han teaches a main body wall extending from the base portion toward the cover portion, ( Han teaches temperature sensor 2 covered by shielding covers 41 and 42 in Fig. 7. Fig. 1 teaches that the shielding cover extends from base towards the cover portion.)
Fig. 1 in Han
… the inclined wall inclined toward the cover portion in the direction of the flow of the air. (Paragraph [33] teaches “The temperature measuring device 2 is located in the space enclosed by the first shielding piece 41 and second shielding piece 42. The included angle between the first shielding piece 41 and second shielding piece 42 is an acute angle.”)
Fig. 7 in Han
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to design the first wall and inclined angle towards the cover portion as taught in Han in the apparatus in Mineoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The included angle between the angle bisector of the included angle between the first shielding piece 41 and second shielding piece 42 and the wind direction of the wind blown by the fan 3 is greater than or equal to 0 degrees and less than or equal to 20 degrees to reduce the resistance of the shielding cover 4 to the wind blown by the fan 3” as taught in paragraph [34] in Han.
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mineoka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirama et al., US 5378875 (hereafter Hirama).
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a material of the wall portion is a metal, (Paragraph [442] in Mineoka teaches “A metallic heat shielding plate 1097”)
and the temperature detection unit is a thermistor. (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Hirama teaches a thermistor as temperature sensor in abstract.)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a thermistor as temperature sensor as taught in Hirama in the apparatus in Mineoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The thermistor 51 composing the temperature sensor 50 varies in electric resistance by the heat transferred to the metal wall 15. This heat is the heat transferred from one or both of the heated object and wave absorber 12” as taught in column 11, lines 53-56 in Hirama.
Claim(s) 5-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mineoka as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Han et al., US 20220039595 (hereafter Han).
Regarding claim 5,
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 1,wherein the suction hole portion is disposed in a center portion of the cover portion, and the blow-out hole portion is disposed along an outer periphery of the suction hole portion, (Fig. 24 in Mineoka)
the fan is a centrifugal fan (Paragraph [455] teaches “the circulation fan 1019 is a centrifugal fan”) facing the suction hole portion, (Fig. 24 in Mineoka)
and the temperature detection unit and the wall portion are disposed on an outer periphery of the centrifugal fan. (Mineoka is silent about this.
Han teaches that sensor 2 and wall 4 are disposed at an outer periphery of centrifugal fan 3 in Fig. 6.)
Fig. 6 in Han
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to position the temperature sensor and wall on an outer periphery of fan as taught in Han in the apparatus in Mineoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “The fan 3 is a centrifugal fan, where the blades of the centrifugal fan are at an acute angle to the radial direction, so that the wind from the centrifugal fan and the radial direction of the centrifugal fan are at an acute angle; the included angle between the angle bisector of the included angle between the first shielding piece 41 and second shielding piece 42 and the radial direction of the centrifugal fan is greater than or equal to 10 degrees to less than or equal to 80 degrees, to thereby reduce the resistance of the shielding cover 4 to the wind blown by the fan 3” as taught in paragraph [35] in Han.
Regarding claim 6,
The heating cooking apparatus according to claim 5, further comprising… wherein the first heater includes a heat generating portion disposed in the housing and configured to generate heat when a current flows through the heat generating portion, (Mineoka teaches heater 1021 in Fig. 24.)
..an energization unit disposed outside the housing and connected to an external power source, (Primary combination of references is silent about this.
Han teaches heater wiring going out of the fan housing. It is implied that they are connected to an external power source through further wiring and circuit.)
…and a coupling portion coupling the heat generating portion and the energization unit, (Fig. 7 in Han teaches coupling portion.)
Fig. 7 in Han
the heat generating portion is disposed along the outer periphery of the centrifugal fan, (Han teaches heater 1 disposed along the outer periphery of fan 3 in Fig. 6.)
and the coupling portion is closer to the temperature detection unit than the heat generating portion is. ( Paragraph [32] in Han teaches “Where the light-wave tube is in a superior arc, the two ends of the superior arc are two wire-outgoing ends of the light-wave tube, with the temperature measuring device 2 set between the two wire-outgoing ends, to reduce radiation and heating of the temperature measuring device 2 by the light of the light-wave tube.”)
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to position heater and coupling portion as taught in Han in the apparatus in Mineoka. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because “Where the light-wave tube is in a superior arc, the two ends of the superior arc are two wire-outgoing ends of the light-wave tube, with the temperature measuring device 2 set between the two wire-outgoing ends, to reduce radiation and heating of the temperature measuring device 2 by the light of the light-wave tube” as taught in paragraph [32] in Han.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA FERDOUSI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3761