DETAILED ACTION
The following is non final office action in response to applicant’s remarks/amendment filed on 04/13/2026 for response of the office action mailed on 01/12/2026. Independent claims 17, 22 and 27 are amended. Claims 1-16 were cancelled previously. Therefore, claims 17-31 are pending and addressed below.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
In event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claims 17-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LI et al. (2023/0284141 as reported in earlier office action, See PTO-892, mailed on 08/18/2025), LI hereinafter, in view of Alireza Babaei (2021/0307108), Babaei hereinafter, further in view of Maleki et al. (2023/0309108), Maleki hereinafter.
Re. claims 17 and 22, LI teaches a method (Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0032/¶0041-¶0049) performed by a User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 9) for saving power (¶0006), and a User Equipment (UE) (Fig. 9) for saving power (¶0041-¶0049), the UE comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 9, 910); and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 9, 909) coupled to the at least one processor processors (Fig. 9, 910), and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Fig. 9 & ¶0228-¶0229), cause the UE to: receive, a Base Station (BS), control information that includes a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation field, wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates a PDCCH skipping function that that causes the UE to skip monitoring a PDCCH for a duration; (Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0006: ¶0009 - an energy saving indication method is provided, where the method is performed by a terminal and includes: receiving first downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI), where the first DCI includes: a first indication; determining a PDCCH monitoring behavior based on the first DCI, where the first indication is used to indicate at least one of the following: switching to a target search space group or skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0047 - the first indication includes a 1 bit, where when the 1 bit is a first value, it indicates switching to the target search space group, and when the 1 bit is a second value, it indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0049 - the first indication includes a 1 bit, and bit fields of the 1 bit are: ‘0’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘1’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, or vice versa. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0053 - first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect. See snapshot below)
Yet, LI does not expressly teach starting to monitor the PDCCH, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a Scheduling Request (SR) is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and is determined to be pending.
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses starting to monitor the PDCCH, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a Scheduling Request (SR) is transmitted on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and is determined to be pending. (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0189 - even if UE has received a DCI-based indication for PDCCH skipping, the UE may keep monitoring the PDCCH while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer are running; a scheduling request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; Fig. 38-77 & ¶0193 - if the UE sends the SR and the SR is pending when the UE is applying the PDCCH skipping by following the DCI-based indication which was received before sending the SR, the UE may ignore the DCI-based indication and keep the PDCCH monitoring.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Yet, LI and Babaei do not expressly teach starting to skip monitoring the PDCCH at the beginning of a slot, that is after a last symbol of the reception of the control information, based on the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field;
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses starting to skip monitoring the PDCCH at the beginning of a slot, that is after a last symbol of the reception of the control information, based on the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field; (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - a new DCI formats, e.g., similar to DCI format 2-6, can be defined to explicitly indicate to the wireless device 30 that it can stop PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - the PDCCH monitoring indication comprises a bit field indicating that the wireless device 30 can skip PDCCH monitoring for Ts slots, after a delay of D. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0063 - the delay D may comprise a predetermined amount of time considered sufficient for PDCCH decoding. The value of the delay D can be given in a slot or in a symbol manner and can depend on the numerology of the bandwidth part (BWP) and wireless device capability. In addition, the delay D may also consider the location of the last symbol of the PDCCH monitoring occasion in a slot or the PDCCH monitoring case configured by the network to the wireless device. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0130 - the wireless device 30 determines the delay and/or start of the suspension interval by rounding the delay D to match the start of the next time slot following the end of the absolute time period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption associated with control channel monitoring by the wireless devices, in turns, extends battery lifetime of the the wireless devices operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Maleki)
Re. Claim 18, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claim 17.
LI further teaches wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field is further used to indicate a search space (SS) set group switching function. (Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0006: ¶0009 - an energy saving indication method is provided, where the method is performed by a terminal and includes: receiving first downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI), where the first DCI includes: a first indication; determining a PDCCH monitoring behavior based on the first DCI, where the first indication is used to indicate at least one of the following: switching to a target search space group or skipping PDCCH monitoring. ¶0031 - FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of first DCI indicating search space group switching according to an embodiment of this application; Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0047 - the first indication includes a 1 bit, where when the 1 bit is a first value, it indicates switching to the target search space group, and when the 1 bit is a second value, it indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0148 - the first indication is used to indicate switching to the first search space group, the second indication is used to indicate that the first time interval may be 10 ms… Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0149 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE may use the first search space group to monitor the PDCCH within 10 ms after the first indication takes effect, and switch to the default search space group to continue to monitor the PDCCH after 10 ms.)
Re. claim 27, LI teaches a Base Station (BS) (Fig. 10) for saving power (¶0006/¶0017), the BS comprising: at least one processor (Fig. 10, 1004); and at least one non-transitory computer-readable medium (Fig. 10, 1005) coupled to the at least one processor processors (Fig. 10, 1004), and storing one or more computer-executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor (Fig. 10 & ¶0232-¶0235), cause the BS to: transmit, to a User Equipment (UE), control information that includes a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) monitoring adaptation field, wherein: the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates a PDCCH skipping function that causes the UE to skip monitoring a PDCCH for a duration (Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0010: ¶0012 - an energy saving indication method is provided, where the method is performed by a network side device and includes: sending first DCI, where the first DCI includes a first indication, and the first DCI is used for a terminal to determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior, where the first indication is used to indicate at least one of the following: switching to a target search space group or skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0047 - the first indication includes a 1 bit, where when the 1 bit is a first value, it indicates switching to the target search space group, and when the 1 bit is a second value, it indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0049 - the first indication includes a 1 bit, and bit fields of the 1 bit are: ‘0’ indicates switching to the target search space group, ‘1’ indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring, or vice versa. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0053 - first DCI further includes a second indication, where the second indication is used to indicate a first time interval (for example, duration), and the terminal may determine a PDCCH monitoring behavior within the first time interval and/or after the first time interval based on the first DCI. Fig.2-3 & Fig.6 & ¶0155 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE skips PDCCH monitoring of the PDCCH monitoring period with a time length of 5 search space groups 1 after the first indication takes effect. See snapshot below).
Yet, LI does not expressly teach the monitoring of the PDCCH is started, by the UE, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a Scheduling Request (SR) is received on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and is determined to be pending.
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses the monitoring of the PDCCH is started, by the UE, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a Scheduling Request (SR) is received on a Physical Uplink Control Channel (PUCCH) and is determined to be pending (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0189 - even if UE has received a DCI-based indication for PDCCH skipping, the UE may keep monitoring the PDCCH while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer are running; a scheduling request is sent on PUCCH and is pending; Fig. 38-77 & ¶0193 - if the UE sends the SR and the SR is pending when the UE is applying the PDCCH skipping by following the DCI-based indication which was received before sending the SR, the UE may ignore the DCI-based indication and keep the PDCCH monitoring).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Yet, LI and Babaei do not expressly teach the monitoring of the PDCCH is started to be skipped, by the UE, at the beginning of a slot, that is after a last symbol of the transmission of the control information, based on the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field;
However, in the analogous art, Maleki explicitly discloses the monitoring of the PDCCH is started to be skipped, by the UE, at the beginning of a slot, that is after a last symbol of the transmission of the control information, based on the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field; (Fig. 1-5 & ¶0047 - a new DCI formats, e.g., similar to DCI format 2-6, can be defined to explicitly indicate to the wireless device 30 that it can stop PDCCH monitoring. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0048 - the PDCCH monitoring indication comprises a bit field indicating that the wireless device 30 can skip PDCCH monitoring for Ts slots, after a delay of D. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0063 - the delay D may comprise a predetermined amount of time considered sufficient for PDCCH decoding. The value of the delay D can be given in a slot or in a symbol manner and can depend on the numerology of the bandwidth part (BWP) and wireless device capability. In addition, the delay D may also consider the location of the last symbol of the PDCCH monitoring occasion in a slot or the PDCCH monitoring case configured by the network to the wireless device. Fig. 1-5 & ¶0130 - the wireless device 30 determines the delay and/or start of the suspension interval by rounding the delay D to match the start of the next time slot following the end of the absolute time period.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system to include Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption associated with control channel monitoring by the wireless devices, in turns, extends battery lifetime of the the wireless devices operating in the wireless communication system. (¶0002-¶0004, Maleki)
Re. Claims 23 and 28, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claims 22 and 27.
LI further teaches wherein the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field indicates the PDCCH skipping function and a search space (SS) set group switching function. (Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0006: ¶0009 - an energy saving indication method is provided, where the method is performed by a terminal and includes: receiving first downlink control information (Downlink Control Information, DCI), where the first DCI includes: a first indication; determining a PDCCH monitoring behavior based on the first DCI, where the first indication is used to indicate at least one of the following: switching to a target search space group or skipping PDCCH monitoring. ¶0031 - FIG. 5 is a schematic diagram of first DCI indicating search space group switching according to an embodiment of this application; Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0047 - the first indication includes a 1 bit, where when the 1 bit is a first value, it indicates switching to the target search space group, and when the 1 bit is a second value, it indicates skipping PDCCH monitoring. Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0148 - the first indication is used to indicate switching to the first search space group, the second indication is used to indicate that the first time interval may be 10 ms… Fig.2-3 & Fig.5 & ¶0149 - based on the first indication and the second indication in the first DCI, the UE may use the first search space group to monitor the PDCCH within 10 ms after the first indication takes effect, and switch to the default search space group to continue to monitor the PDCCH after 10 ms.).)
Re. Claims 19 and 24, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claims 17 and 22.
Yet, LI does not expressly teach forgo applying the PDCCH skipping function in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses forgo applying the PDCCH skipping function in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running. (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0189 - even if UE has received a DCI-based indication for PDCCH skipping, the UE may keep monitoring the PDCCH while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer are running; a scheduling request is sent on PUCCH and is pending).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Re. Claims 20 and 25, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claims 17 and 22.
Yet, LI does not expressly teach wherein monitoring the PDCCH comprises monitoring the PDCCH, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses wherein monitoring the PDCCH comprises monitoring the PDCCH, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running. (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0189 - even if UE has received a DCI-based indication for PDCCH skipping, the UE may keep monitoring the PDCCH while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer are running; a scheduling request is sent on PUCCH and is pending).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Re. Claims 21, 26 and 31, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claims 17, 22 and 27.
Yet, LI does not expressly teach wherein the control information is detected in a UE-specific search space (USS).
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses wherein the control information is detected in a UE-specific search space (USS). (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0306 - The parameter searchSpaceType may indicate whether this is a common search space (present) or a UE specific search space as well as DCI formats to monitor for. The parameter ue-Specific may configure this search space as UE specific search space (USS). Fig. 38-77 & ¶0309 - a set of PDCCH candidates for a wireless device to monitor may be defined in terms of PDCCH search space sets. A search space set may be a common search space (CSS) set or a UE-specific search space (USS) set.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Re. Claim 29, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claim 27.
Yet, LI does not expressly teach wherein the PDCCH skipping function is not applied in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses wherein the PDCCH skipping function is not applied in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running. (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0189 - even if UE has received a DCI-based indication for PDCCH skipping, the UE may keep monitoring the PDCCH while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer are running; a scheduling request is sent on PUCCH and is pending).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Re. Claim 30, LI, Babaei and Maleki teach claim 27.
Yet, LI does not expressly teach wherein the PDCCH is monitored, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running.
However, in the analogous art, Babaei explicitly discloses wherein the PDCCH is monitored, regardless of the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field, in a case that a random access (RA) contention resolution timer is running. (Fig. 38-77 & ¶0189 - even if UE has received a DCI-based indication for PDCCH skipping, the UE may keep monitoring the PDCCH while drx-RetransmissionTimerDL or drx-RetransmissionTimerUL or ra-ContentionResolutionTimer are running; a scheduling request is sent on PUCCH and is pending).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine LI’s invention of a system and a method for energy saving indication in a 5G/NR(New Radio)/6G wireless communication system and Maleki’s invention of a system and a method for reducing power consumption for PDCCH monitoring by wireless devices in a wireless communication system to include Babaei’s invention of a system and a method for enhanced power saving in a 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system, because it provides an efficient mechanism in reducing power consumption of wireless devices by control channel monitoring reduction by the wireless devices in the 5G/NR (New Radio) wireless communication system. (¶0082, Babaei)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments for §103 rejection filed on 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding remarks in pages 6-9 for amended independent claim 17, applicant argues that either LI or Babaei fails to teach, “starting to skip monitoring the PDCCH at the beginning of a slot, that is after a last symbol of the reception of the control information, based on the PDCCH skipping function indicated by the PDCCH monitoring adaptation field”.
Examiner agrees, however, in the analogous art, Maleki (2023/0309108 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference), discloses the limitations of the amended independent claim 17 as mapped in §103 rejection.
For these reasons, it is maintained that the amended independent claim 17 is unpatentable over LI, in view of Babaei, further in view of Maleki (2023/0309108 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
For these reasons, it is maintained that the amended independent claims 22 and 27 are unpatentable over LI, in view of Babaei, further in view of Maleki (2023/0309108 [Wingdings font/0xF3] a new reference).
As all other dependent claims depend either directly or indirectly from the independent claims 17, 22 and 27, similar rationale also applies to all respective dependent claims.
Conclusion
/MOHAMMED S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467