DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 19, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The rejection overcomes Applicant’s arguments because the claimed sidelink positioning procedure is not relied on Li alone, but is expressly taught by Zhao and properly combined with Li’s WTRU framework and selection criteria. While Li establishes a WTRU-centric environment in which devices possess and can evaluate capabilities, PLMN affiliation, QoS context, and location information, Zhao explicitly teaches inter-WTRU sidelink assistance, including a first WTRU initiating assistance over a sidelink, receiving messages from other WTRUs, and functionally selecting assisting devices from among multiple candidates in a D2D/V2X sidelink context. Contrary to Applicant’s characterization, Zhao’s sidelink assistance inherently involves a requesting/receiving exchange between terminals and necessitates identifying a subset of candidate WTRUs for assistance, which directly corresponds to requesting sidelink positioning support, receiving responses, and determining a set of A-WTRUs. Li supplies the concrete selection bases recited in the claim, capabilities, PLMN association, QoS considerations, and location. While Zhao supplies the missing sidelink-based inter-WTRU request/response and assistant-selection mechanism. The combination does not require impermissible hindsight or architectural reconstruction, but instead applies Zhao’s known sidelink assistance techniques within Li’s disclosed WTRU environment to achieve predictable improvements in positioning accuracy, reliability, and resource efficiency, thereby fully addressing Applicant’s arguments and supporting the obviousness of the claimed limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4, 6-11, 13-14, 16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li et al. (US 20240121047 A1) in view of Zhao et al. (US 20210306999 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li et al. teaches a method performed by a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) (Paragraph 156, The passage establishes a WTRU as an entity capable of performing wireless communication methods), the method comprising: wherein the one or more messages include information indicating at least one of: capabilities supported by the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 35, 41, 99–101, The passage explicitly details different UE/WTRU capabilities related to signaling, tracking, and transmission behavior); a serving PLMN of the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 97, 166, Network identifiers associated with WTRUs show PLMN association information that can be conveyed between devices); and a location of the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 177, WTRUs are disclosed as determining and having access to their geographic location, which can be reported in messages), wherein the determination is based on: one or more quality of service (QoS) requirements of a positioning service of the first WTRU (Paragraph 97, 166, Network identifiers and authentication context support selecting WTRUs associated with the same PLMN); the PLMN of a candidate A-WTRU matching a PLMN of the first WTRU (Paragraph 35, 41, The disclosure teaches evaluating WTRUs based on their supported technical capabilities); the capabilities supported by the one or more candidate A-WTRUs; and the location of the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 177, WTRU location information enables selection based on relative position).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach requesting sidelink positioning support from one or more candidate assistant WTRUs (A-WTRUs); receiving one or more messages from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs; determining, a set of A-WTRUs from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs.
However, Zhao et al. teaches requesting sidelink positioning support from one or more candidate assistant WTRUs (A- WTRUs) (Paragraph 36-38, “sidelink positioning support” encompasses transmitting auxiliary information to assist another WTRU over a sidelink. The passage shows a first terminal initiating an assistance operation); receiving one or more messages from the one or more candidate A- WTRUs (Paragraph 43, 45, explicitly discloses a first terminal receiving sidelink messages transmitted by another terminal); determining, a set of A-WTRUs from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 31, 36, 38, The passage describes multiple terminal devices (WTRUs) directly communicating with each other over sidelinks and explicitly assisting, selecting, and allocating resources for other terminals, which functionally requires identifying and determining a subset of other terminal devices from among multiple candidate terminals for inter-WTRU communication and assistance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide requesting sidelink positioning support from one or more candidate assistant WTRUs (A-WTRUs); receiving one or more messages from the one or more candidate A- WTRUs; determining, a set of A-WTRUs from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs as taught by Zhao et al. in the system of Li et al., so that it would enable the first WTRU to efficiently select suitable assistant WTRUs that best satisfy positioning service requirements while improving positioning accuracy, reliability, and resource utilization in sidelink-assisted positioning scenarios.
Regarding claim 3, Li et al. teaches on a condition that each of the A-WTRUs of the determined set are within coverage of a network, the determined synchronization source is a base station (Paragraph 157-159, The cited paragraphs collectively teach that when A-WTRUs are located within the coverage area of a network, they communicate with a base station in the RAN, and that base station provides the necessary connection and synchronization).
Regarding claim 4, Li et al. teaches on a condition that at least one of the A-WTRUs of the determine set is not within coverage of a network, the determined synchronization source is any WTRU (Paragraph 116, 121, 126, 131, Not QCL-ed beams from different cells represent WTRUs outside network coverage. In such cases, the gNB selects any available WTRU (beam/TRP) to provide TRS).
Regarding claim 6, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU sends information to the determined set of A-WTRUs for receiving a Sidelink (SL) Positioning Synchronization Signal (SLPSS) transmission (Paragraph 132, 140, 144, These passages describe sending configuration/timing information so selected devices transmit synchronization signals (TRS/SS burst), which corresponds to the first WTRU sending information to A-WTRUs for receiving an SLPSS transmission).
Regarding claim 7, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU sends the SLPSS transmission to the determined set of A-WTRUs to synchronize the SL Positioning Reference Signals (SL-PRSs) for the determined set of A-WTRUs (Paragraph 132, 140, 144, 150, Allocation ensures proper synchronization for the receiving UEs, aligning with the function of SLPSS in preparing A-WTRUs for SL-PRS use).
Regarding claim 8, Li et al. teaches the SLPSS transmission is one of a SL- PRS, Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS), Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS), or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (Paragraph 40, Lists DMRS, PTRS, CSI-RS, and PSS/SSS (SLSS), showing coverage of SL-PRS, thus teaching all enumerated types).
Regarding claim 9, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU determines a periodicity of the SLPSS transmission based on a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement of a positioning service associated with the determined set of A-WTRUs (Paragraph 35, 98, 110. 115. 154. The passages show that a WTRU can determine signal periodicity from configuration, and since periodicity is configurable based on QoS needs, it can be set to meet the positioning service’s QoS for the determined A-WTRUs).
Regarding claim 10, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU sends the SLPSS transmission using the determined periodicity (Paragraph 98, Describes the WTRU transmitting a signal at a set periodicity, satisfying sending the SLPSS using the determined periodicity).
Regarding claim 11, Li et al. teaches a first wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU) comprising: a transmitter; a receiver; and a processor; wherein the one or more messages include information indicating at least one of: capabilities supported by the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 35, 41, 99–101, The passage explicitly details different UE/WTRU capabilities related to signaling, tracking, and transmission behavior); a serving PLMN of the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 97, 166, Network identifiers associated with WTRUs show PLMN association information that can be conveyed between devices); and a location of the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 177, WTRUs are disclosed as determining and having access to their geographic location, which can be reported in messages), wherein the determination is based on at least one of: one or more quality of service (QoS) requirements of a positioning service of the first WTRU (Paragraph 97, 166, Network identifiers and authentication context support selecting WTRUs associated with the same PLMN); the PLMN of a candidate A-WTRU matching a PLMN of the first WTRU (Paragraph 35, 41, The disclosure teaches evaluating WTRUs based on their supported technical capabilities); the capabilities supported by the one or more candidate A-WTRUs; and the location of the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 177, WTRU location information enables selection based on relative position).
Li et al. does not explicitly teach request sidelink positioning support from one or more candidate assistant WTRUs (A-WTRUs); receive one or more messages from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs; wherein the processor is configured to determine a set of A-WTRUs from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs.
However, Zhao et al. teaches request sidelink positioning support from one or more candidate assistant WTRUs (A-WTRUs) (Paragraph 36, “sidelink positioning support” encompasses transmitting auxiliary information to assist another WTRU over a sidelink. The passage shows a first terminal initiating an assistance operation); receive one or more messages from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 43, 45, explicitly discloses a first terminal receiving sidelink messages transmitted by another terminal); wherein the processor is configured to determine a set of A-WTRUs from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs (Paragraph 31, 36, 38, The passage describes multiple terminal devices (WTRUs) directly communicating with each other over sidelinks and explicitly assisting, selecting, and allocating resources for other terminals, which functionally requires identifying and determining a subset of other terminal devices from among multiple candidate terminals for inter-WTRU communication and assistance).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide request sidelink positioning support from one or more candidate assistant WTRUs (A-WTRUs); receive one or more messages from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs; wherein the processor is configured to determine a set of A-WTRUs from the one or more candidate A-WTRUs as taught by Zhao et al. in the system of Li et al., so that it would enable the first WTRU to efficiently select suitable assistant WTRUs that best satisfy positioning service requirements while improving positioning accuracy, reliability, and resource utilization in sidelink-assisted positioning scenarios.
Regarding claim 13, Li et al. teaches on a condition that each of the A-WTRUs of the determined set are within coverage of a network, the determined synchronization source is a base station (Paragraph 157-159, The cited paragraphs collectively teach that when A-WTRUs are located within the coverage area of a network, they communicate with a base station in the RAN, and that base station provides the necessary connection and synchronization).
Regarding claim 14, Li et al. teaches on a condition that at least one of the A-WTRUs of the determine set is not within coverage of a network, the determined synchronization source is any WTRU (Paragraph 116, 121, 126, 131, Not QCL-ed beams from different cells represent WTRUs outside network coverage. In such cases, the gNB selects any available WTRU (beam/TRP) to provide TRS).
Regarding claim 16, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU sends information to the determined set of A-WTRUs for receiving a Sidelink (SL) Positioning Synchronization Signal (SLPSS) transmission (Paragraph 132, 140, 144, These passages describe sending configuration/timing information so selected devices transmit synchronization signals (TRS/SS burst), which corresponds to the first WTRU sending information to A-WTRUs for receiving an SLPSS transmission).
Regarding claim 17, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU sends the SLPSS transmission to the determined set of A-WTRUs to synchronize the SL Positioning Reference Signals (SL-PRSs) for the determined set of A-WTRUs (Paragraph 132, 140, 144, 150, Allocation ensures proper synchronization for the receiving UEs, aligning with the function of SLPSS in preparing A-WTRUs for SL-PRS use).
Regarding claim 18, Li et al. teaches the SLPSS transmission is one of a SL- PRS, Sidelink Synchronization Signal (SLSS), Demodulation Reference Signal (DMRS), Phase Tracking Reference Signal (PTRS), or Channel State Information Reference Signal (CSI-RS) (Paragraph 40, Lists DMRS, PTRS, CSI-RS, and PSS/SSS (SLSS), showing coverage of SL-PRS, thus teaching all enumerated types).
Regarding claim 19, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU determines a periodicity of the SLPSS transmission based on a Quality of Service (QoS) requirement of a positioning service associated with the determined group of A-WTRUs (Paragraph 35, 98, 110, 115, 149, These together teach determining SLPSS periodicity based on QoS for a positioning service).
Regarding claim 20, Li et al. teaches the transmitter is further configured to send the SLPSS transmission using the determined periodicity (Paragraph 98, 101, These passages teach sending a configured signal (TRS, encompassing SLPSS) at a set periodicity).
Regarding claim 21, Li et al. teaches determining a synchronization offset between the first WTRU and another node (Paragraph 132, 134, 141, In each case, the UE uses TRS (alone or with DMRS) for fine time and frequency tracking, which constitutes measuring and correcting the timing/frequency misalignment with the gNB—i.e., determining a synchronization offset between the first WTRU and another node).
Regarding claim 22, Li et al. teaches the first WTRU determines a synchronization offset between the first WTRU and another node (Paragraph 114, 132, 134, 141, 149, The passage teaches that a WTRU (UE) uses tracking reference signals (TRS), alone or jointly with other reference signals such as DMRS, to perform fine time and frequency tracking with respect to transmissions from another node (e.g., gNB, TRP, panel), thereby determining the timing and/or frequency difference—i.e., the synchronization offset—between the WTRU and that node so it can align for accurate demodulation and data reception).
Regarding claim 23, Li et al. teaches determining, based on a coverage status of each of the one or more determined set of A-WTRUs, a synchronization source (Paragraph, 114, 116, 119, 123, 124, 132, The passages collectively teach that the system evaluates coverage-related conditions (e.g., channel quality, beam/TRP cell association, Doppler spread, delay spread) for each beam in the determined set of A-WTRUs, and then selects the appropriate TRS (synchronization source) based on that evaluation).
Regarding claim 24, Li et al. teaches the processor is further configured to determine, based on a coverage status of each of the one or more determined set of A-WTRUs, a synchronization source (Paragraph 123-131, The passages teach the claim by describing how the system (via the gNB) evaluates multiple candidate beams—analogous to A-WTRUs—using coverage-related criteria such as channel quality, QCL relationships, and other performance metrics, and then selects, updates, or activates the beam that will transmit the TRS. Since the TRS functions as the synchronization source, these decisions constitute determining the synchronization source based on the coverage status of each member of the determined set of A-WTRUs).
Allowable Subject Matter
Looking at the specification some things that could be added to the independent claims that would help get an allowance would be to include how the invention teaches that, in addition to selecting A-WTRUs based on QoS, PLMN, capabilities, and location, the first WTRU could further determine and designate a synchronization source for sidelink positioning based on whether the selected A-WTRUs are in-coverage or out-of-coverage of the network. The invention also discloses coordinating sidelink positioning synchronization by transmitting a dedicated sidelink positioning synchronization signal (SLPSS) to the selected A-WTRUs, rather than relying solely on existing sidelink messaging. The specification further teaches that the synchronization signal used for positioning may be flexibly chosen from multiple sidelink reference or synchronization signal types, such as SL-PRS, SLSS, DMRS, PTRS, or CSI-RS, enabling adaptable positioning accuracy and robustness. Additionally, the first WTRU may determine and control a periodicity for the sidelink positioning synchronization transmissions, where the periodicity itself is dynamically selected based on QoS requirements of the positioning service, allowing tighter synchronization for higher-accuracy positioning use cases. The specification also supports the concept of synchronizing sidelink positioning reference signal transmissions across multiple A-WTRUs, thereby reducing positioning error caused by timing misalignment, especially in mixed coverage scenarios involving both network-synchronized and autonomous WTRUs.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Haghighat et al. (US 20250324402 A1)
Tsai et al. (US 20250039887 A1)
Hasegawa et al. (US 20250015947 A9)
Pan et al. (US 20240237013 A1)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW SHAJI KURIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2464 /IQBAL ZAIDI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2464