DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made of the receipt and entry of the amendment filed on 06/19/2026, wherein claims 42, 44, 46-61, 63, 64 and 66-69 are cancelled, new claims 74-80 are added and independent claim 41 is amended.
Election/Restriction
Applicant did not explicitly elect Group of invention and species in the reply on 12/12/2025. The Examiner searched and examined trichloroacetic acid as the therapeutic agent, Carbopol® as the thickening agent, uterine endometrium as the superficial layer species.
Status of Claims
Claims 41, 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are pending and currently under examination in this office action.
Priority
This instant application 18/270,900 filed 07/05/2023 is a 371 of PCT/US2022/012081filed on 01/12/2022, which claims benefit of US provisional application 63/138,556 filed on 01/18/2021.
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Pro application No. 63/138,556 fails to provide adequate support in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application.
It’s noted US provisional application 63/138,556 only discloses the therapeutic agent is used for treatment of tissue inside of the body, including treatment of various body cavities (See page 5). US provisional application 63/138,556 does NOT disclose following subject matter:
composition having pH less than 2 and a viscosity greater than water as recited in claim 41;
the amount of thickening agent greater than 3% as recited in instant claims 41 and 78;
Composition having pH less than zero as recited in new claim 80.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 06/19/2026 is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's remarks filed 06/19/2026 have been fully considered. Any objection and rejection found in the previous Office Action and not repeated herein has been withdrawn in view of amendment and Applicant’s remarks .The text of those sections of Title 35 U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action. As necessitated by the amendment, claims 41, 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are newly rejected under 35 USC § 112 (a) as failing to comply with written description requirement and 112 (b).
Claim Objections
Claim 71 is objected to because of the following informalities:
There is typo error in claim 71, “between over 3mm and 7mm”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Written Description Rejection
Claims 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of instantly claimed method for chemical ablation(newly reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Applicant is directed to the MPEP 2163 and Guidelines for the Examination of Patent Applications Under the 35 U.S.C. 112, 1st "Written Description" Requirement, Federal Register, Vol. 66, No. 4, pages 1099-1111, Friday January 5, 2001.
MPEP 2163.02 states “ Under Vas-Cath, Inc. v. Mahurkar, 935 F.2d 1555, 1563-64, 19 USPQ2d 1111, 1117 (Fed. Cir. 1991), to satisfy the written description requirement, an applicant must convey with reasonable clarity to those skilled in the art that, as of the filing date sought, the inventor was in possession of the invention, and that the invention, in that context, is whatever is now claimed.”
Instant claims are amended to recite a method for chemical ablation of endometrial and myometrial layers of a uterine cavity, comprising applying to tissue a gel-form composition containing trichloroacetic acid and a thickening agent, wherein the therapeutic agent remains on the tissue to penetrate the tissue beyond the superficial layer for ablation of the endometrial and myometrial layers of the uterine cavity, the penetrating of tissue being over 3 millimeters, the viscosity enabling control of flow to target tissue such that upon application to tissue, the composition remains on the target surface within the uterine cavity without spreading to healthy tissue or without leakage for the duration of treatment, enabling penetration beyond the superficial layer.
Instant specification discloses an apparatus/system for delivering therapeutic agents, but only disclosed working example wherein TCA passed through the apparatus/system (See Table 1). There is no working example wherein a gel-form composition comprising TCA in presence of any thickening agent is applied to a tissue or subject for the treatment of chemical ablation. There is no measurement of viscosity for TCA gel formulation comprising TCA and thickening agent. There is no working example wherein composition comprising TCA and any thickening agent remains on the tissue or target surface without leaking/spreading and penetrates a tissue beyond a superficial layer that achieved alleged penetration depth over 3 millimeters. In absence of sufficient working example exhibiting the alleged intended result, instant specification does not provide adequate support for the claimed method for chemical ablation of endometrial and myometrial layers of a uterine cavity. The specification does not clearly allow persons of ordinary skill in the art to recognize that he or she invented what is claimed.
Applicant is reminded that MPEP 2161 II makes clear that “ The written description requirement is separate and distinct from the enablement requirement”.
Claims 41, 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention (newly applied as necessitated by amendment).
Claim 41 is amended with limitations that are generally narrative and replete with ambiguous, relative and functional terms that lack reasonably ascertainable boundaries, e. g. “enhancing ablation of the layers”, “enabling control of flow”, “enabling penetration beyond the superficial layer”, etc. The limitation of a thickening agent to provide “a viscosity greater than a viscosity of water” and “the viscosity enabling control of flow...” are indefinite. It’s not clear what objective value of viscosity would enable the said control of flow and enable the penetration beyond the superficial layer. One of ordinary skilled in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the extent/scope of the claimed viscosity.
Claim 41 recites “chemical ablation of endometrial and myometrial layers of a uterine cavity, comprising applying to tissue a gel-form composition containing a therapeutic agent in the form of a trichloroacetic acid as an active ingredient in an aqueous solution...”. Uterine cavity is a hollow space lined with endometrium and myometrium is the muscular wall of the uterus, not a layer of the uterine cavity. It’ not clear what tissue is the gel form composition is applied to.
“the therapeutic agent remaining on the tissue to penetrate the tissue beyond the superficial layer” is very confusing. “the superficial layer” lacks antecedent base and it’s not clear what tissue the therapeutic agent remains on and what tissue is beyond the superficial layer.
As such, the lack of clarity render claim 41 indefinite, since the limitations do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired.
Claims 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are rejected due to dependency on claim 41.
Further, claims 43, 45, 71, 75 and 76 recite “the agent” while claim 41 recites “therapeutic agent “ and “thickening agent”. It’s not clear which “agent” in these dependent claims refers to.
Claim 70 depends on claim 61 which is now cancelled. Claim 71 depends on claim 48 which is now cancelled. If the base claim has been canceled, a claim which is directly or indirectly dependent thereon should be rejected as incomplete. See MPEP 608.01(n).
Claim 70 is amended to recite wherein the viscosity exceeds a viscosity of CO2 gas. New claim 74 recites the viscosity exceeds a viscosity of saline utilized for injection into the cavity in a uterine cavity check. It’s not clear what concentration of saline and viscosity thereof is utilized for injection into the cavity in a uterine cavity check. The term “exceeds” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite because viscosity of CO2 gas and saline vary significantly at different temperature, pressure, concentration, etc. which are not specified in the claims. In absence of specified/definite viscosity value against which instant claimed composition can be compared, one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
Claims 73 recites the composition is applied to conform to a target surface of the uterine cavity. Claim 76 recites the composition is applied to conform to an outer tissue layer of the uterine cavity. It’s not clear what degree of conformity is required. The claims do not provide an objective standard to determine the applied composition sufficiently “conform” to the surface and or outer tissue layer of the uterine cavity. It’s also not clear what an outer tissue layer in claim 76 is referred to.
Claim 75 recites “after a period of time”. It’s not clear how long is “a period of time”, minutes, hours, days or months?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 41, 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hendriks et al. (US20130210776A1) in view of Shikhman et al. ( US20180133446A1, hereafter “Shikhman’ 446”, corresponding to US 10485962 B2, Applicant’s IDS dated 11/10/2023) and Kucukozkan et al. (International Journal of Gynecology & Obstetrics Volume 84, Issue 1, January 2004, pages 41-46 https://doi.org/10.1016/S0020-7292(03)00337-0, Chemical ablation of endometrium with trichloroacetic acid)(reapplied as necessitated by amendment).
Hendriks teaches composition comprising active agent (e.g. trichloroacetic acid TCA) and at least one thickener, an applicator comprising aforementioned composition and method of treating variety of lesions with aforementioned composition, e.g. skin hyperpigmentation, acne, keratosis pilaris, actinic keratosis, mouth ulcers, eyelid xanthelasma, etc. (See abstract, Examples 1-8, claims 1-15).
Regarding the active agent, Hendriks teaches composition comprises trichloroacetic acid TCA in the range of 0.1-50% w/w and concentrations higher than 50% TCA w/w are also effective (See [0008][0017])(which also read on instant claim 77 and 79). Hendriks teaches TCA effective for treating disorder caused by HPV (See [0004]).
Regarding the thickening agent, Hendriks teaches variety of thickeners, e.g. polysaccharide thickener, crosslinked acrylic acid polymer and polysiloxanes, or mixtures thereof at various concentration (See [0018]-[0021], Examples 1-8). Hendriks teaches the thickener provides the composition with an increased viscosity, making it easier to focus the active ingredient on the intended location, preventing the spreading of the composition to locations where its action is not desired. Also, the thickener improves the time the active ingredient remains on a treated surface, improving the efficacy of the composition, etc. (See [0011], [0052]).
Regarding the pH limitation, Hendriks teaches composition has a pH below 4, e.g. pH <2 ( See [0016], Examples 1-8). Hendriks explicitly teaches embodiments wherein pH<2 (See Example 4).
Regarding the viscosity limitation of claim 41, 70 and 74, Hendriks teaches various viscosity, e.g. the composition has a viscosity of at least 3000 mPas as measured using rotary viscometry at 25 degree (See [0012]-[0015], Examples 2-7, claims 2-4)(which is considered as greater than viscosity of water and exceeds CO2 and saline as recited in claim 70 and 74).
Regarding claims 45 and 72, Hendriks teaches composition may be applied by using a suitable applicator and applicator device comprising the composition (See [0014], [0024], [0044]-[0045], claim 13).
Regarding claim 65, Hendriks teaches the thickener comprises Carbopol® which shows an excellent stability in the presence of TCA, allowing for colorless compositions, or excellent color control in case the composition comprises a colorant. Carbopol polymers, also called carbomers, are polymers of acrylic acid cross-linked with polyalkenyl ethers or divinyl glycol (See [0019][0021], claim 10 ). Hendriks further teaches Carbopol allows for an excellent control of the viscosity of the formulation, in the range of 0.5-3% w/w (See [0022], claim 11)(which also reads on instant claim 41). Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
Hendriks collectively method of treating variety of conditions at different tissue/locations with composition comprising trichloroacetic acid (TCA) and thickener.
Hendriks is silent about chemical alation of endometrial and myometrial layers of uterine cavity.
Shikhman’ 446 teaches a system/apparatus and method for delivering therapeutic agents to a patient, e.g. a uterine cavity for endometrial ablation(See [0002], [0015], [0044], claims 1-20).
Shikhman’ 446 teaches the therapeutic agent is a chemical agent for endometrial ablation (See [0013]) and explicitly teaches trichloroacetic acid (TCA) or derivative delivered into uterine cavity for chemical endometrial ablation, wherein TCA causes chemical cauterization on contact with tissue, but does not spread beyond where it is directly applied (See [0044])(which reads on instant claim 41).
Regarding claims 43, 45, 72 and 75, Shikhman’ 446 teaches the therapeutic agent is preferably injected at a controlled pressure to maximize the surface of exposure of the endometrium to the agent while preventing leakage to other areas (See [0012]-0013], claims 1, 3, 5, 9, 13 and 15-16). Shikhman’ 446 also teaches use of CO2 and/or saline in the pressure control system (See [0069], [0073])(which reads on claim 70 and 74). Shikhman’ 446 teaches the agent /liquid evacuated after cavity check/test is complete(See 0072]).
Regarding claims 73 and 76, Shikhman’ 446 teaches dispensing member can be configured so that it conforms to the contour /shape of the uterus (See [0064]).
The difference between Shikhman’ 446 and instant claimed invention is the composition comprising thickener agent which was already taught by Hendriks.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of instant invention to incorporate the composition comprising TCA and thickening agent taught by Hendriks as the therapeutic agent in the method of chemical endometrial ablation taught by Shikhman’ 446, together with exploration/optimization based on general knowledge of tissue treatment (e.g. endometrial ablation, etc.), and arrive at the instantly claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success. Before the effective filing date of instant claimed invention, it was already known TCA could be delivered to uterine cavity for endometrial ablation through a pressurized system/apparatus as taught by Shikhman’ 446. Hendriks teaches composition comprising trichloroacetic acid (TCA) and thickener (e.g. Carbopol) in various amount and variety of viscosity. Trichloroacetic acid (TCA) is a well-established chemical cauterizing agent in dermatology and gynecology as taught by Hendriks and Shikhman’ 446. A person of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to combine the teachings of Hendriks and Shikhman’ 446 because Hendriks teaches the composition comprising TCA and thickeners could provide desired viscosity for TCA to remain at target tissue.
Shikhman’ 446 and Hendriks are silent about the penetration depth into the tissue as recited in claims 41 and 71. The penetration depth is construed as the intended function/result of active step of applying the composition comprising the therapeutic agent which does not necessarily further limit the method claim. As stated in MPEP 2111.04: In Hoffer v. Microsoft Corp., 405 F.3d 1326, 1329, 74 USPQ2d 1481, 1483 (Fed. Cir. 2005), the court noted that a "‘whereby clause in a method claim is not given weight when it simply expresses the intended result of a process step positively recited.’" Id. (quoting Minton v. Nat’l Ass’n of Securities Dealers, Inc., 336 F.3d 1373, 1381, 67 USPQ2d 1614, 1620 (Fed. Cir. 2003)). Further, the penetration efficacy is the property of the therapeutic agent (TCA). Kucukozkan teaches endometrial ablation by 95% TCA may readily be performed as an alternative treatment method in the management of dysfunctional uterine bleeding DUB(See abstract). A skilled artisan would have known to explore the concentration of TCA (and thickening agent ) and control the penetration depth through experimentation/ optimization based on the general knowledge of TCA and endometrial ablation to achieve optimum treatment outcome. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention based on the combined teachings of prior art and general knowledge of TCA and tissue treatment/chemical ablation . Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered, but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). Although Hendriks is silent about use of TCA for chemical ablation, Shikhman’ 446 explicitly teaches TCA could be delivered to uterine cavity for endometrial ablation through a pressurized system/apparatus. Hendriks explicitly teaches the thickener provides the composition with an increased viscosity, making it easier to focus the active ingredient on the intended location, preventing the spreading of the composition to locations where its action is not desired. Also, the thickener improves the time the active ingredient remains on a treated surface, improving the efficacy of the composition, etc. A skilled artisan would be motivated to apply Hendriks gel formulation of TCA comprising thickener for chemical ablation and reasonably expect TCA gel with desired viscosity would remain on the target surface without leaking/spreading to healthy tissues during treatment.
Regarding the component of TCA formulation, Applicant argues Hendriks teaches away from TCA concentrations over 50% , stating TCA concentrations over 50% were found to significantly increase the chance of skin irritation... (Remarks, page 11-13).
RESPONSE: Applicant’s argument is fully considered, but NOT persuasive. Please note “teaching away” can be a high bar and is usually not met by mere disclosure of alternatives or even a description that some teaching is somewhat inferior. MPEP § 2143(E) and §2143.01(I); In re Gurley, 27 F.3d 551 (Fed. Cir. 1994); In re Fulton, 391 F.3d 1195, 1201 (Fed. Cir. 2004); Galderma Labs. v. Tolmar, Inc., 737 F.3d 731, 738 (Fed. Cir. 2013); Bayer Pharma AG v. Watson Labs., Inc., 874 F.3d 1316, 1327 (Fed. Cir. 2017). Citing In re Gurley and In re Fulton, the Federal Circuit reiterated the proper standard for teaching away as follows: a reference will teach away when it suggests that the developments flowing from its disclosures are unlikely, reasonably, to produce the objective of the applicant’s invention. A statement that a particular combination is not a preferred embodiment does not teach away absent clear discouragement of that combination. See Syntex (U.S.A.) LLC v. Apotex, Inc., 407 F.3d 1371, 1380 (Fed. Cir. 2005).
Hendriks teaches composition comprising trichloroacetic acid (TCA) in various amount (e.g. 40%) and teaches >50% TCA is effective for treating variety of disease/conditions. TCA concentrations over 50% increase the chance of skin irritation which is desirable feature for chemical endometrial ablation in instant case. A skilled artisan would have known chemical endometrial ablation might require higher concentration of TCA to destroy endometrium layer, e.g. 95% taught by Kucukozkan. Mustafa Kucuk (2005) also teaches 95% TCA is effective endometrial ablation for treatment of dysfunctional uterine bleeding. Thus, application of higher concentration of TCA for chemical endometrial ablation is within the general knowledge of a skilled artisan.
Applicant also argues Hendriks teaches away from composition of greater than 3% w/w thickening agent (Remarks, page 14-15).
RESPONSE: As Applicant agrees, Hendriks teaches embodiments comprising thickening agent carboxymethylcellulose at 4% (Example 3) which is greater than 3%. As elaborated above, reference teaching preferred embodiments/working examples comprising lower than 3% w/w Carbopol® is not considered “teaching away”. Hendriks teaches composition comprising trichloroacetic acid (TCA) and thickener (e.g. Carbopol®) in various amount , at various pH and variety of viscosity. Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. MPEP 2144.05. A skilled artisan would have known to explore/ optimize the TCA gel composition for desired viscosity based on combined teachings of prior art, together with general knowledge of pharmaceutical composition and endometrial ablation to achieve optimum treatment outcome.
Double Patenting
Claims 41, 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-13 of U.S. Patent No. 10485962 B2 in view of Hendriks et al. (US20130210776A1).
Reference claims are directed to an apparatus/system for delivering a therapeutic agent to a uterine cavity of a patient wherein therapeutic agent is a chemical ablative agent in contact with endometrium for endometrial ablation without leakage. Reference claims recite pressured injection system comprising storage unit that read on instant claims 43, 45 and 72.
Reference are silent about the composition comprising thickening agent. It’s common practice to formulate therapeutic agent into composition in the pharmaceutical industry.
The collective teachings of Hendriks is elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Hendriks collectively method of treating variety of conditions at different tissue/locations with composition comprising trichloroacetic acid (TCA) and thickener at variety of viscosity.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the composition comprising TCA and thickening agent taught by Hendriks as the therapeutic agent in the pressured injection system for chemical endometrial ablation taught by reference. Reference claims provide a roadmap for a method of endometrial ablation by utilizing a pressured injection in delivering therapeutic agent into uterine cavity (beyond a superficial level). A skilled artisan would be motivated to combine the teaching of Hendriks and reference claims and reasonably expect TCA composition with desired viscosity could be delivered into uterine cavity (beyond a superficial level) for endometrial ablation and remain at the target area without leakage.
The instant application shares one common inventor/applicant with the reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Claims 41, 43, 45, 65, and 70-80 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11813423B2 in view of Hendriks et al. (US20130210776A1).
Reference claims are directed to an apparatus/system for delivering a pressurized ablation liquid to a uterine cavity of a patient wherein the liquid is a chemical ablative agent in contact with endometrium for endometrial ablation without leakage. Reference claims recite pressure controlled injection system that read on instant claims 43, 45 and 72.
Reference are silent about the liquid/composition comprising thickening agent.
The collective teachings of Hendriks is elaborated in preceding 103 rejection and applied as before. Hendriks collectively method of treating variety of conditions at different tissue/locations with composition comprising trichloroacetic acid (TCA) and thickener at variety of viscosity.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to incorporate the composition comprising TCA and thickening agent taught by Hendriks as the therapeutic agent in the pressured injection system for chemical endometrial ablation taught by reference. Reference claims provide a roadmap for a method of endometrial ablation by utilizing a pressured injection in delivering therapeutic agent into uterine cavity (beyond a superficial level). A skilled artisan would be motivated to combine the teaching of Hendriks and reference claims and reasonably expect TCA composition with desired viscosity could be delivered into uterine cavity (beyond a superficial level) for endometrial ablation and remain at the target area without leakage.
The instant application shares one common inventor/applicant with the reference patent. Based on the continuing data on the record, instant application is not related to the reference patent, thus no 35 USC 121 shield exists.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.M./ Examiner, Art Unit 1628
/JARED BARSKY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1628