DETAILED ACTION
Response to Restriction Requirement
Applicant’s election without traverse electing Group II, claims 10-13, 15-16, and 18 in the reply filed on 2/20/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 30-33, 40, 45, and 50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Objections
1. Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: “4-AP” in line 2 and line 3 should be recited as --- 4-aminopyridine ---. Appropriate correction is required.
2. Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: “4-AP” in line 2 and line 3 should be recited as --- 4-aminopyridine ---. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
1. Claims 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
For example, in the present instance, claim 16 recites the broad recitation “wherein said mammal has a disease, disorder, or condition associated with said hair loss”, and the claim also recites “and optionally wherein said disease, disorder, or condition associated with said hair loss is selected from the group consisting of traction alopecia, alopecia areata, trichotillomania, a skin graft, and a scar” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation.
Claim 18 contains a similar recitation with the term “optionally”.
In the instant case, optionally is used in the same context, and with the same meaning, as the term "preferably."
The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claim(s) 10-13, 15-16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamarkin et al. (WO 2008/110872, Sep. 18, 2008) (hereinafter Tamarkin) (ISR reference) as evidenced by Kornstein (US 2013/0035539, Feb. 7, 2013) (hereinafter Kornstein).
Tamarkin discloses foamable pharmaceutical compositions comprising, among other components a therapeutically effective concentration of at least one active agent selected from the group consisting of a channel agent, a cholinergic agent, and a nitric oxide donor. Tamarkin also discloses methods of treating, alleviating, or preventing a disorder of mammalian subject, comprising administering such a composition to an afflicted target site (satisfies step (a)) (Abstract). Suitable channel agents include potassium channel blockers such as 4-aminopyridine (satisfies active of claim 10) (¶ [0045]). A therapeutically effective concentration of the active agent is to be administered (¶ [0080]). Suitable disorders to be treated include hair loss (¶ [0084]). The foamable compositions are useful in topical foam applications (satisfies claim 13) (¶ [0142]). In some embodiment, at least one composition further comprises an additional active agent other than a channel agent; a cholinergic agent; a nitric oxide donor, or a related agent (satisfies claim 18) (¶ [0278]). The mammals may be humans (satisfies claim 12) (¶ [0293]). By including an effective amount of an appropriate active agent, the compositions are useful in treating a variety of dermatological disorders including trauma or injury to the skin, post-operative or post-surgical skin conditions baldness, alopecia, and scarring (satisfies claim 16) (¶ [0309]).
The prior art is not anticipatory insofar as this combination must be selected from different lists/locations in the reference. It would have been obvious, however, to have formulated a method for increasing hair growth, comprising administering a composition comprising 4-aminopyridine, as instantly claimed, since all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2143 (I)(A).
Regarding claim 10 reciting increasing hair growth and hair regeneration, as evidenced by Kornstein, treating hair loss/thinning involves promoting the maintenance, growth, and restoration of hair (Abstract). Accordingly, where Tamarkin discloses methods of treating, alleviating, or preventing a disorder such as hair loss, they disclose methods for increasing hair growth and/or increasing hair regeneration.
Regarding claim 11, Tamarkin disclosed methods are substantially the same as the instantly claimed methods where Tamarkin discloses methods of treating, alleviating, or preventing a disorder such as hair loss that comprises the administration of an active agent such as 4-aminopyridine. Accordingly when delivering 4-aminopyridine with the vehicles of Tamarkin and applying to hair, it would be reasonable for one of ordinary skill in the art to conclude that the methods of Tamarkin would be effective to increase hair growth by at least 1.5 fold as instantly claimed.
Regarding claim 12, as discussed above, mammals may be humans. Accordingly, utilizing the methods of Tamarkin to treat a human would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 13, as discussed above, Tamarkin’s composition is useful for topical administration. Accordingly, utilizing the methods of Tamarkin for local administration would have been obvious.
Regarding the dosage of 4-aminopyridine recited in instant claim 15, where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. See MPEP 2144.05(II)(A). As discussed above, Tamarkin discloses that a therapeutically effective concentration of the active agent is to be administered. Furthermore, 4-aminopyridine is a suitable active agent for use in the compositions/methods of Tamarkin, which makes amounts thereof a result effective variable, since amounts directly impact the therapeutic effect. Accordingly, it would have taken no more than the relative skills of one of ordinary skill in the art through routine experimentation to have arrived at the claimed dosage of 4-aminopyridine to yield the desired therapeutic profile.
Regarding claim 16, as discussed above, Tamarkin’s composition is useful to treat dermatological disorders such as trauma or injury to the skin, post-operative or post-surgical skin conditions baldness, alopecia, and scarring. Accordingly, utilizing the methods of Tamarkin to treat a disease, disorder, or condition associated with hair loss would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 18, as discussed above, a second composition with a separate active may be used. Accordingly, administering an additional medical treatment in the methods of Tamarkin would have been obvious.
Therefore, the teachings of Tamarkin as evidenced by Kornstein render obvious claims 10-13, 15-16, and 18
Double Patenting
1. Claims 10-13, 15-16, and 18 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-9 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,677 B2 in view of Li et al. (US 2011/0300152, Dec. 8, 2011) (hereinafter Li).
The pending claims differ from the patented claims insofar as reciting a method for treating a mammal having osteoporosis or bone insufficiency etc.
However, Li discloses compositions which can small molecule inhibitors of the SK4 channels and find use in preventing and/or treating various diseases or disorders including bone loss and cancer metastasis (Abstract). Suitable actives include 4-aminopyridine (4-AP) (¶ [0183]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the patented composition into methods for treating a mammal having osteoporosis or bone insufficiency etc. since the active used, 4-aminopyridine, may be used to treat bone loss or cancer metastasis as taught by Li.
2. Claims 10-13, 15-16, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-18 of copending Application No. 18/270,969 in view of Li et al. (US 2011/0300152, Dec. 8, 2011) (hereinafter Li).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting a method for treating a bone loss.
However, Li discloses compositions which can small molecule inhibitors of the SK4 channels and find use in preventing and/or treating various diseases or disorders including bone loss (Abstract). Suitable actives include 4-aminopyridine (4-AP) (¶ [0183]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the copending composition into methods for bone loss since the active used, 4-aminopyridine, may be used to treat bone loss as taught by Li.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
3. Claims 10-13, 15-16, and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-20 of copending Application No. 19/068,442 in view of Li et al. (US 2011/0300152, Dec. 8, 2011) (hereinafter Li).
The pending claims differ from the copending claims insofar as reciting a method for increasing a level of BMP-2 polypeptide and a disease associated with decreased levels of BMP-2 polypeptide such as bone loss, bone cancer, osteoporosis, etc..
However, Li discloses compositions which can small molecule inhibitors of the SK4 channels and find use in preventing and/or treating various diseases or disorders including bone loss and cancer metastasis (Abstract). Suitable actives include 4-aminopyridine (4-AP) (¶ [0183]).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have utilized the copending composition into methods for bone loss since the active used, 4-aminopyridine, may be used to treat bone loss and cancer metastasis as taught by Li.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
Claims 10-13, 15-16, and 18 are rejected.
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 8, 30-33, 40, 45, and 50 are withdrawn.
No claims are allowed.
/A.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1612
/LEZAH ROBERTS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612