DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-25, 40-42 are under examination.
Response to Applicants Arguments/Amendments
The amendments to the claims have resulted in the withdrawal of both the claim objections and 112 indefiniteness rejections. The art rejections are maintained. Because terminal disclaimers have not been filed regarding the obviousness double patenting rejections, those rejections are maintained in this office action.
Claim Interpretation Section
The term “cell cluster” is not defined in the specification so it will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, a cluster is “a number of similar things that occur together.” A cell layer can be considered a cell cluster because it is composed of cells that occur/are clustered together.
The term “aggregate” is not defined in the specification so it will be given the broadest reasonable interpretation. According to the Merriam-Webster dictionary, an aggregate can be “formed by collection of units or particles into a body, mass, or amount.” A cell layer can be considered an aggregate because it is a collection of cells.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1,3-12,14-20,23-24, 40, and 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Feyeux (US 20190330589)
Feyeux discloses a three-dimensional cellular microcompartment comprising at least one external hydrogel layer and inside said external layer at least one layer of cells and/or at least one cellular base layer (Abstract, Paragraphs 7-22 of Feyeux). The Feyeux reference does not expressly state that the cells contain mutations. However, the Feyeux reference manufactures the same three-dimensional cellular microcompartment as claimed, uses an apoptosis inhibitor (RHO/ROCK), encapsulates the same cell types as applicants invention, and applies a hydrogel coating (Abstract and Paragraphs 7-22 of Feyeux). The conditions and cells used in the Feyeux reference are the same as disclosed in applicants’ specification, therefore, Feyeux’s cell mutation level would be expected to be the same as the mutation level and mutation type recited in the instant set of claims. Feyeux also teaches that multiple cellular microcompartments may be assembled (Abstract of Feyeux) as in instant Claims 1,3-8,23-24. Feyeux teaches that the cells are organized in the form of a tissue/micro-tissue (Paragraphs 77-78; Applications Section of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 9. Feyeux discloses that the cellular microcompartment comprises an internal lumen (Abstract and Paragraphs 7-8,23, 25-26, and Figure 1 of Feyeux) as in instant Claims 10 and 15. Feyeux does teach the presence of an inner cell layer, an extracellular matrix layer, and an outer hydrogel layer (Paragraph 7 of Feyeux). Paragraph 8 of Feyeux further states that cell culture medium is present in between the cells/cell layer and the hydrogel outer layer; the cell culture medium is considered an isotonic solution as in instant claims 11-12, and 15. Feyeux discloses that the cells are human/animal cells (Paragraph 1 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 14. Feyeux discloses teaches that the cells are human pluripotent cells (Paragraphs 1-4 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 16. Feyeux teaches that the system is closed (Paragraph 25 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 17. Feyeux discloses that the outer layer comprises alginate (Paragraph 27 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 18. Feyeux discloses that the shape may be an ovoid or a tube (Paragraph 40 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 19. Feyeux discloses that the microcompartment is between 1 and several thousand cells per microcompartment (Paragraph 43 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 20. Feyeux discloses that at least one microcompartment is the 3D cellular microcompartment (Paragraphs 1 and 43 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 24. Feyeux discloses wherein the at least one layer of cells and/or at least one cellular base layer being produced by encapsulating one or more clusters of cells. A cluster is a number of similar things that occur together. Therefore, a cluster of cells is composed of cells that occur together (cell layer) (Paragraphs 8-22 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 40. Feyeux teaches wherein each cell cluster comprises an aggregate of at least two cells (a cell layer) (Paragraphs 8-22 of Feyeux) as in instant Claim 42.
The reference anticipates the claim limitations.
Response to Applicants Arguments/Amendments
Applicants argue that Feyeux does not expressly disclose that “less than 20% of the total population of cells present in the microcompartment are cells having at least one mutation.” Applicants further argue, “the Examiner appears to rely on inherency conclusion and states that the conditions and cells used in the Feyeux are the same, therefore, Feyeux’s cell mutation level would be expected to be the same.”
The structure in the claim is a 3D cellular microcompartment comprising at least one external hydrogel layer and inside the external hydrogel layer, there is at least one layer of cells and/or at least one base layer, wherein less than 20% of the total population of cells present in the microcompartment are cells having at least one mutation.
The Feyeux reference discloses the same structures as applicant in both the recited claims and applicants’ specification. Feyeux discloses a 3D culture system in which the structure of the cell is controlled by the 3D encapsulated structure. Feyeux’s structure/process involves taking pluripotent stem cells and encapsulating them with a culture medium that contains RHO/RHOCK pathway inhibitors (apoptotic inhibitors) (Paragraph 13 of Feyeux). Then encapsulating this structure within a hydrogel layer (Paragraph 14 of Feyeux). This structure with the hydrogel layer is placed in a culture medium with apoptotic inhibitors and cultured. The apoptotic inhibitors are subsequently rinsed/removed and then the structure with the hydrogel layer containing the cells is cultured again in culture medium (Paragraphs 19-22 of Feyuex).
In the instant specification, applicant also uses a 3D culture system (Page 1 of Applicants’ specification). Page 4 of this specification establishes that unwanted cell mutation is possible by following a specific process to make the claimed 3D cellular microcompatment. Applicants’ process on page 4 which is reproduced below: encapsulates the cells with apoptotic inhibitors, exposes the cells to the same hydrogel layer and has the same exposure to apoptotic inhibitors in culture. Since the cells, the cellular compartment, and apoptotic inhibitors are disclosed in Feyeux, it would be expected that Feyeux would also provide cells an environment with a reduced rate of mutation. The instant claims are not reciting components that are not taught by Feyeux so the instant claims cannot be distinguished from the teachings of Feyeux.
Applicants further argue that the reduction of cell mutation is due to the encapsulation of cell clusters. With the exception of the new claims 40-42, there is no mention of the term “clusters” in the instant set of claims. Furthermore, applicants specification states that the invention can work on single cells and/or at least one cluster of cells (Page 4 of Applicants’ specification). According to the specification, applicants process can protect cells in clusters and single isolated cells when forming a 3D microcompartment.
Furthermore, as mentioned above, the terms “cell cluster” and “aggregate” can be interpreted so broadly that they encompass structures such as cell layers which are collections of cells. Cell layers are taught in Feyeux (Paragraph 9 of Feyeux).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,3-12,14-24, and 40-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feyeux (US 20190330589)
Feyeux applies as above to teach claims 1,3-12,14-20,23-24,40, and 42. Feyeux teaches that the cells can be allowed to grow and divide to achieve a population of two cells to about a thousand cells (Paragraph 57 of Feyeux). The number of cells present would be controlled by the number of cell divisions permitted in the encapsulated cells. MPEP § 2144.05 (II) states the following: Generally, differences in concentration or temperature will not support the patentability of subject matter encompassed by the prior art unless there is evidence indicating such concentration or temperature is critical. “[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation.” In reAller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955) (Claimed process which was performed at a temperature between 40°C and 80°C and an acid concentration between 25% and 70% was held to be prima facie obvious over a reference process which differed from the claims only in that the reference process was performed at a temperature of 100°C and an acid concentration of 10%.); see also Peterson, 315 F.3d at 1330, 65 USPQ2d at 1382 (“The normal desire of scientists or artisans to improve upon what is already generally known provides the motivation to determine where in a disclosed set of percentage ranges is the optimum combination of percentages.”); In reHoeschele, 406 F.2d 1403, 160 USPQ 809 (CCPA 1969) (Claimed elastomeric polyurethanes which fell within the broad scope of the references were held to be unpatentable thereover because, among other reasons, there was no evidence of the criticality of the claimed ranges of molecular weight or molar proportions.). For more recent cases applying this principle, see Merck & Co. Inc.v.Biocraft Lab. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 10 USPQ2d 1843 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 975 (1989); In reKulling, 897 F.2d 1147, 14 USPQ2d 1056 (Fed. Cir. 1990); and In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 43 USPQ2d 1362 (Fed. Cir. 1997); Smith v. Nichols, 88 U.S. 112, 118-19 (1874) (a change in form, proportions, or degree “will not sustain a patent”); In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929) (“It is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions.”). See also KSR Int' l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416 (2007) (identifying “the need for caution in granting a patent based on the combination of elements found in the prior art.”).
A review of the specification fails to provide evidence that the claimed concentration of cells within the microcompartments are critical. Absent such evidence, it would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have allowed as many divisions as needed in order to produce the desired amount of cells. An artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in optimizing the concentrations because determining the number of cells desired in the microcompartments were long established in the art as demonstrated by Feyeux (Paragraph 57). Thus, Feyeux renders the cell concentrations, the number of divisions, and the size of the cell cluster recited in claims 20-22 and 41.
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicants argue that the Feyeux reference does not expressly state that wherein less than 20% of the total population of cells present in the microcompartment are cells having at least one mutation. In Feyeux, the same cells are exposed to the same conditions such as a hydrogel layer and also the apoptotic inhibitors as in the instant claims and specification. Therefore, the cells disclosed in Feyeux would be expected to have a lower rate of mutation.
Applicants also argue that, “the examiner appears to conclude that a number of cells present would be controlled by the number of cell divisions permitted in the encapsulated cells.” The number of cells present is affected by the amount of time in culturing. Paragraphs 12-22 of Feyeux lays out the time frame for total culture time. According to the step which teach culturing, combined culturing can be anywhere from 13 to 60 days. This would allow a wide variation in the cell concentration to occur.
Applicants continue to argue, “We disagree with this conclusion because the above-captioned patent application discloses encapsulation of cell cultures which are cell aggregates. Cells in the cluster (aggregate) have cell-to-cell connections with each other by their cell membranes. A cytoskeleton is organized differently in clustered cells in comparison to single cells. In contrast to the present application and as has been already determined by the Examiner, Feyeux encapsulates single cells and does not disclose or suggest encapsulation of cell clusters are presently disclosed and claimed.”
As the examiner discussed above, the previously examined set of claims do not mention clusters/aggregates. Therefore, this argument is not commensurate in scope with the previously examined set of claims because applicants are arguing a limitation that is in only three of the new claims and not the previously examined claims. Furthermore, page 4 of the instant specification even states that the process can be used with single cells and/or cell clusters. Feyeux is still a valid a teaching.
Furthermore, as mentioned above, the terms “cell cluster” and “aggregate” can be interpreted so broadly that they encompass structures such as cell layers which are collections of cells. Cell layers are taught in Feyeux (Paragraph 9 of Feyeux).
Claims 1-10,14,16-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feyeux (US 20190330589) in view of Feyeux II (WO2019224467) . Because Feyeux II is in French, Feyeux (20210123013) will be used as the English translation.
Feyeux applies as above to teach claims 1,3-10,14,16-24. Feyeux does not clearly state that appropriate concentration/volume of the cells within the microcompartment. However, Feyeux II states that the microcompartments can comprise between 10% to 98% of cells by volume (Paragraph 81 of Feyeux II). An artisan would have been motivated to have used microcompartments with such a concentration of cells because Feyeux II states that alginate microcompartments can successfully comprise between 10% to 98% by volume of cells (Paragraph 81 of Feyeux). Because Feyeux II teaches that the alginate microcompartments can hold such a high volume of cells (Paragraph 81 of Feyeux II), there would have been a high expectation for success as in instant Claim 2.
Feyeux does not expressly disclose that the microcompartments are arranged in a bioreactor. However, Feyeux II teaches that the assembly of microcompartments can be successfully arranged in a bioreactor (Abstract). It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have arranged the assembly of microcompartments in a bioreactor. An artisan would have been motivated to have placed such an assembly in a bioreactor because such bioreactors can be used to successfully grow the cells within the microcompartments and/or can be used to establish organoids formed from the microcompartments (Abstract of Feyeux II). It is also advantageous to use bioreactors to better control the culture conditions such as the perfusion of fresh culture medium (Paragraph 3 of Feyeux II). Because Feyeux II teaches that the bioreactors can be used to grow cells/the microcompartments (Abstract of Feyeux II), there would have been a high expectation for success as in instant Claim 25.
Feyeux teaches a microcompartment containing cells that is surrounded by an outer hydrogel. Feyeux does not teach the volume of cells within the microcompartments; however, an artisan would have been motivated to have used the cell volume for microcompartments taught by Feyeux II since Feyeux II teaches the appropriate concentration of cells for the microcompartments. An artisan would have been further motivated to have used the bioreactor taught by Feyeux II since the bioreactor can promote cell growth and/or organoid development by carefully controlling the culture conditions that the microcompartments are exposed to. Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in cell culture. Therefore, the level of o0rdianry skill in this art is high.
Response to Arguments Concerning Feyeux II
Applicants argue that Feyeux II does not correct the deficiencies of Feyeux I. Because Feyeux I is not deficient, Feyeux II is not defective.
Claims 1,3-11,13-14,16-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feyeux (US 20190330589) in view of Takebe (US 20170067014)
Feyeux applies as above to teach claims 1,3-11,14,16-24. Feyeux teaches a cellular microcompartment comprising at least one external hydrogel layer and inside said external layer, at least one layer of cells. Between the cells and the hydrogel layer, multiple “intermediate layers” can be found that are composed of both Matrigel (an extracellular matrix component that includes an isotonic solution) and medium (an isotonic solution). Feyeux fails to teach the appropriate Young’s modulus measurement of stiffness/elasticity for these intermediate layers. However, Takebe teaches that an appropriate stiffness/Young’s Modulus measurement for gel like substrates such as Matrigel and mediums is 200kPa or less, more preferably 1-50 kPa (Paragraph 88 of Takebe). The range taught by Takebe encompasses a Young’s modulus range between 0.05 and 3kPa. It would have been obvious to an artisan of ordinary skill at the time of effective filing to have used the stiffness taught by Takebe for supportive gel structures disclosed in Feyeux. An artisan would have been motivated to have used such a stiffness because Takebe teaches that gel substances can adequately support cells with a Young Modulus of 200kPa or less (preferably 1-50 kPa) (Paragraph 88 of Takebe). Because Takebe teaches that gel substances at that Young’s modulus measurement recited in the claims can adequately support cells (Paragraph 88 of Takebe), there would have been a high expectation for success using gel structures such as Matrigel and/or isotonic solutions/media with a Young Modulus of 200 kPa for less as in instant Claim 13.
Feyeux teaches a microcompartment containing cells that is surrounded by an outer hydrogel. Feyeux does not teach the appropriate stiffness/elasticity of the intermediate layers. However, an artisan would have been motivated to have used a Young Modulus of 200kPa or less (preferably 1-50 kPa) since Takebe states that such as stiffness can adequately support cells (Paragraph 88 of Takebe). Given the teachings of the cited references and the level of skill of an ordinary skilled artisan at the time of applicants’ invention, it must be considered, absent evidence to the contrary, that the skilled artisan would have had a reasonable expectation of success in practicing the claimed invention.
All the claimed elements were known in the prior art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combinations would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention (See KSA International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007). People of ordinary skill in the art will be highly educated individuals, possessing advanced degrees, including M.D.s and Ph.D.s. They will be medical doctors, scientists, or engineers. Thus, these people most likely will be knowledgeable and well-read in the relevant literature and have the practical experience in cell culture. Therefore, the level of o0rdianry skill in this art is high.
Response to Applicants Arguments
Applicant argues that Takebe is defective because it does not cure the deficiencies of Feyeux I. Because Feyeux I is not deficient, Takebe is not defective.
Double Patenting
Claim 1,3-8,17-19,40, and 42 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,807,870. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Patent 11,807,870 is a more detailed species of instant claim 1 that possesses a 3D cellular microcompartment comprising at least one hydrogel/external layer, inside said external layer at least one layer of cells/cellular base, and wherein human pluripotent cells are polarized and wherein the cell density is between one and several thousand cells per microcompartment, wherein the cellular microcompartment maintains the central lumen after five days in culture. The microcompartment recited in claim 1 of Patent 11,807,870 has a protective outer hydrogel in place which would prevent the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 2 of Patent 11,807,870. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 3 of Patent 11,807,870. Instant claim 19 corresponds to claim 4 of Patent 11,807,870. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Patent 11,807,870.
Response to Applicants Arguments
Applicants argue that the pending claims are distinct from those claims in Patent 11,807,870 for the same reasons as argued above. The examiner did not find this argument persuasive because the previously examined claims did not require that the cells be in a cluster form. Furthermore, applicants’ specification even states that the invention can be applied to “single cells and/or at least one cluster of cells (Page 4 of the Specification, lines 15-16).”
Claim 1,3-8,14-15,17-19,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,5-9 of copending Application 18/027,203. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 18/027,203 is a more specific species of instant claim 1 since it includes an external hydrogel layer, an internal layer of cells/cell base, and an intermediate layer of an isotonic solution. Claim 1 of Application 18/027,203 has a protective hydrogel which would drastically reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. The human pluripotent cells mentioned in claim 5 of Application 18/027,203 correspond to instant claim 14. Claim 1 of Application 18/027,203 teaches the limitations present in instant claim 15. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 6 of Application 18/027,203. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 7 of Application 18/027,203. Instant claim 19 corresponds to claims 8-9 of Application 18/027,203. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 18/027,203. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-8,10,16-19,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3-4,6-9 of copending Application 18/223,164. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Claim 1 of Application 18/223,164 requires an inner layer of cells, a hydrogel, and a fibrin mesh arranged between the outer layer of hydrogel and the layer of cells. Therefore, claim 1 of Application 18/223,164 is a species of instant claim 1. The hydrogel layer recited in claim 1 of Application 18/223,164 would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 3 of Application 18/223,164. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 4 of Application 18/223,164. Instant claim 19 corresponds to claim 6 of Application 18/223,164. Instant claim 16 corresponds to claim 7 of Application 18/223,164. Instant claim 10 corresponds to claims 8 and 9 of Application 18/223,164. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 18/223,164. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-8,16-18, 20,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3,7-8, and 10 of copending Application 18/270,931. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of 18/270,931 including claim 1 are species of the instant set of claims including instant claim 1 since Application 18/270,931 claims recite a microcompartment containing cells/two cysts on the interior, an exterior hydrogel, and a extracellular matrix element. The hydrogel layer recited in both sets of claims would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 16 corresponds to claim 3 of Application 18/270,931. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 7 of Application 18/270,931. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 8 of Application 18/270,931. Instant claim 20 corresponds to claim 10 of Application 18/270,931. Claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 18/270,931. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-8,17-22,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4,7, and 9 of copending Application 18/374,889. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 18/374,889 recites, “a cellular microcompartment comprising successively, organized around a lumen: at least one layer of human pluripotent cells, wherein the human pluripotent cells are polarized and the inner/apical side of the pluripotent cell layer is adjacent to the lumen; an extracellular matrix layer, and an outer hydrogel layer, wherein the said outer layer thickness is between 5 to 40 µm. This is a species of instant claim 1 because claim 1 of 18/374,889 has all the limitations present in instant claim 1 and also requires an outer layer thickness between 5 to 40 µm.” The hydrogel recited in claim 1 of 18/374,889 protects the cells from developing mutations. The hydrogel layer recited in both sets of claims would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 2 of Application 18/374,889. Instant claim 2 corresponds to claim 3 of Application 18/374,889. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 4 of Application 18/374,889. Instant claim 19 corresponds to claim 7 of Application 18/374,889. Instant claims 20-22 correspond to claim 9 of Application 18/374,889. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 18/374,889. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-8,17, 25, 40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,13,and 17 of copending Application No. 18/853,479. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 18/853,479 recites “A closed 3D cellular microcompartment of ovoid, cylindrical, spheroid, or spherical shape or of substantially ovoid, cylindrical, spheroid or spherical shape, the smallest dimension of which is between 200 and 400 µm, comprising an outer hydrogel layer that delimits an internal part, said internal part comprising, in a medium, between 500 and 5000 lymphocytes forming a grouped 3D culture and having a TNF alpha of less than 100 ng/ml of the medium.” Claim 1 of Application 18/853,479 is a more detailed species of instant claim 1. Like instant claim 1, claim 1 of Application 18/853,479 has an outer hydrogel that would successfully reduce occurrence of mutation in the cells within the microcompartment. The hydrogel layer recited in both sets of claims would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 13 of Application 18/853,479. Instant claim 25 corresponds to claim 17 of Application 18/853,479. Claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 2 of Application 18/853,479 This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-8,40,42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/854,162. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 18/854,162 recites a detailed species of instant claim 1. Claim 1 of Application 18/854,162 recites, “a 3D cellular microcompartment of ovoid, cylindrical, spheroid, or spherical shape or of substantially ovoid, cylindrical, spheroid, or spheroid shape, the smallest dimension of which is between 200 and 400 µm, comprising an outer hydrogel layer that delimits an internal part, said internal part comprising, in a medium, between 500 and 5000 lymphocytes forming a grouped 3D dimensional culture and having a granzyme B content of less than 1 µg/ml of the medium.” Claim 1 of Application of 18/854,162 is a more detailed species of instant claim 1. The hydrogel layer recited in both sets of claims would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 in Application 18/854,163. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/916,118. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 18/916,118 teaches a method of making the composition recited in instant claim 1. Claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 18/916,119. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1,3-8,17-19,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,3-4, and 6 of copending Application No. 19/101,327. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 19/101,327 is actually a species of instant claim 1 since it recites a layer of cells, an outer layer of hydrogel, and a fibrin mesh. The hydrogel layer recited in both sets of claims would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 3 of Application 19/101,327. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 4 of Application 19/101,327. Instant claim 19 corresponds to claim 6 of Application 19/101,327. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 19/101,327. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,3-8,16-19,40 and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1,6,12-15 of copending Application No. 19/129,986. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 19/129,986 is a more detailed species instant claim 1. Claim 1 of Application 19,129,986 recites an outer hydrogel, cells located within the hydrogel, and at least one layer or a mesh of a hydrogel of plant or synthetic origin. The hydrogel layer recited in both sets of claims would significantly reduce the occurrence of mutations (i.e. genetic, epigenetic, functional, oncogenic, and/or other types of recited mutations) as in instant claims 1,3-8. Instant claim 18 corresponds to claim 6 of Application 19,129,986. Instant claim 17 corresponds to claim 12 of Application 19,129,986. Instant claim 19 corresponds to claim 13 of Application 19,129,986. Instant claim 16 corresponds to claims 14-15 of Application 19,129,986. Claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 19,129,986. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,40, and 42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 35 of copending Application No. 19/233,809. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 35 of Application 19/233,809 produces the composition recited in instant claim 1. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 19/233,809. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1,40,42 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application 19/502,277. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of Application 19/502,277 produces the composition recited in instant claim 1. Instant claims 40 and 42 correspond to claim 1 of Application 19/233,809. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
All claims stand rejected.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
LAUREN K. VAN BUREN
Examiner
Art Unit 1638
/Tracy Vivlemore/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1638