DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noguchi (US 2008/0287627 A1) in view of Sano (US 2011/0034639 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noguchi teaches a crosslinked perfluoroelastomeric composition and molded articles formed therefrom (Abstract), wherein said compositions have a first curable perfluoropolymer and a second curable perfluoropolymer, both of which have contain perfluoroalkylvinyl ether monomers (Abstract).
Noguchi teaches the incorporation of optional fillers in amounts up to 30 parts per 100 parts of the curable perfluoropolymer resins ([0099]), curatives including organic peroxides ([0053]) in amounts ranging between 0.3 and 10 parts per 100 parts of perfluoropolymer resins ([0088]), and a crosslinking agent, which preferably comprises a material which is crosslinkable with the cure site groups present in the perfluoropolymers in the formulation ([0134]), in amounts ranging from 0.3 to 10 parts per 100 parts by weight of the elastomer ([0147]). In each case, the amounts taught by Noguchi overlap or are identical to the claimed amounts, establishing prima facie cases of obviousness.
Noguchi differs from claim 1 because it is silent with regard to the specific incorporation of 2,5-dimethyl2-,5-bis(tert-butylperoxy)hexane and/or triallyl isocyanurate.
In the same field of endeavor, Sano teaches a fluororubber sealing material (Abstract), containing an organic peroxide crosslinker ([0050]) and a polyfunctional monomer for crosslinking ([0056]-[0057]), wherein the organic peroxide may be of 2,5-dimethyl-2,5-bis(tert-butylperoxy)hexane ([0053]) and the polyfunctional monomer may be triallyl isocyanurate ([0058]). It is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents known in the art as suitable for the same purpose (see MPEP 2144.06), and Noguchi and Sano are both directed to sealing materials (c.f. [0002] of Noguchi and Abstract of Sano). It therefore would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to utilize 2,5-dimethyl2-,5-bis(tert-butylperoxy)hexane and triallyl isocyanurate within the formulation of Noguchi, as taught by Sano, as Sano recognizes them, respectively, as suitable organic peroxide / crosslinking materials for fluororubber compositions for sealing applications.
Regarding claims 2-3, Noguchi is silent with regard to the claimed glass transition temperature range and peak shape. Nevertheless, Noguchi teaches a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, having all of the same components. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The claimed glass transition temperature range and peak shape characteristics will therefore necessarily be present in Noguchi, as applied above.
Regarding claim 5, Noguchi is silent with regard to the claimed swollen volume percentage characteristics. Nevertheless, Noguchi teaches a composition which is structurally identical to the claimed composition, having all of the same components. Products of identical chemical compositions cannot have mutually exclusive properties. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, a prima facie case of obviousness has been established. See MPEP 2112.01. The swollen volume percentage characteristics will therefore necessarily be present in Noguchi, as applied above.
Regarding claims 6 and 7, Noguchi teaches the molding and formation of sealing members, including O-rings, from cured versions of the inventive composition ([0044]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see applicant’s remarks, filed March 17, 2026, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-7 under 35 USC 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made under 35 USC 103 in view of Noguchi and Sano, as described above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOSHUA CALEB BLEDSOE/Examiner, Art Unit 1762
/ROBERT S JONES JR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1762