Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/28/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 6-8 of the Applicant’s Response, Applicant: “In contrast, the presently claimed invention expressly requires that a UE receives a sidelink RRC message from another UE, and that the message includes both DRX configuration information and latency range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) information for sidelink CSI reporting. Agiwal contains no disclosure, suggestion, or teaching of such a sidelink RRC message-either in structure or in function-and therefore fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed features. Accordingly, Applicant respectfully believes that the Examiner's reliance on Agiwal paragraphs [0110] and [0154] is misplaced“.
Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s argument. Agiwal expressly discloses a “UE sharing its SL DRX configuration with peer UE using RRC signaling” (p110). Agiwal expressly discloses “the value of the timer (e.g., sl-CSI-ReportTimer) is the same as the latency requirement of the SL-CSI reporting indicated by sl-Laten-cyBoundCSI-Report configured by RRC, sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report value is sent by UE 1 to UE2 using RRC signaling” (p154). Thus Agiwal expressly discloses the limitation “wherein the sidelink RRC message includes information for configuring the sidelink DRX and latency range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) information for a sidelink channel status information (CSI) report”.
In view of the above discussions the rejection of claims 16, 17, 19-21, 23-27, and 29-34 still stands.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 16-17, 19-21, 23-27, 29-31, and 33 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Agiwal et al. (US 2024/0049341) (“Agiwal”).
For claims 16 and 26; Agiwal discloses: receiving a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message from another UE (paragraph 110: Each UE of a unicast connection may share its SL DRX configuration with peer UE using RRC signaling); configuring sidelink discontinuous reception (DRX) using information included in the sidelink RRC message (paragraph 162: SL DRX for the unicast connection between UE 1 and UE 2 may be configured (S920). For example, each UE may obtain parameters associated with DRX); and monitoring reception of sidelink control information using the sidelink DRX configuration (paragraph 156-157: UE 2 generates SL MAC PDU carrying CSI report MAC CE, and [0157] UE 2 transmit SCI 1(i.e. 1.sup.st stage SCI) in PSCCH resource, transmits SCI 2 (i.e., 2.sup.nd stage SCI) in PSSCH resource and SL MAC PDU in PSSCH resource); wherein the sidelink RRC message includes information for configuring the sidelink DRX and latency range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) information for a sidelink channel status information (CSI) report (paragraph 154: the value of the timer (e.g., sl-CSI-ReportTimer) is the same as the latency requirement of the SL-CSI reporting indicated by sl-Laten-cyBoundCSI-Report configured by RRC, sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report value is sent by UE 1 to UE2 using RRC signaling).
For claims 17, 25, and 27; Agiwal discloses: wherein the sidelink DRX configuration is configured for each pair of source and destination for a sidelink unicast mode (paragraph 73: A PC5-RRC connection is a logical connection between two UEs for a pair of Source and Destination Layer-2 IDs which is considered to be established after a corresponding PC5 unicast link is established as specified in TS 23.287. There is one-to-one correspondence between the PC5-RRC connection and the PC5 unicast link).
For claims 19 and 29; Agiwal discloses: wherein the monitoring reception of the sidelink control information is performed at an active time set to be between a time of transmission of a sidelink channel status information request to the another UE and a time of reception of the sidelink channel status information report in an event of receiving the sidelink channel status information report (paragraph 172-175: UE 1 may monitor PSCCH/PSSCH while the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running, even if none of On duration timer/inactivity timer/retransmission timer is running (S970). In an embodiment, active time for SL DRX operation may include the time while On duration timer is running; inactivity timer is running; or retransmission timer is running; or the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running).
For claims 20 and 30; Agiwal discloses: wherein monitoring reception of the sidelink control information is performed at an active time set to be during a latency range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink channel status information report in an event of not receiving the sidelink channel status information report (paragraph 154: the value of the timer (e.g., sl-CSI-ReportTimer) is the same as the latency requirement of the SL-CSI reporting indicated by sl-Laten-cyBoundCSI-Report configured by RRC, sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report value is sent by UE 1 to UE2 using RRC signaling) (paragraph 172-175: UE 1 may monitor PSCCH/PSSCH while the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running, even if none of On duration timer/inactivity timer/retransmission timer is running (S970). In an embodiment, active time for SL DRX operation may include the time while On duration timer is running; inactivity timer is running; or retransmission timer is running; or the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running).
For claims 21; Agiwal discloses: transmitting a sidelink radio resource control (RRC) message to a UE (paragraph 110: Each UE of a unicast connection may share its SL DRX configuration with peer UE using RRC signaling); receiving a sidelink channel status information (CSI) request from the UE (paragraph 164-165: UE 1 may transmit PSCCH to UE 2 (S940). PSCCH may include information on resources for PSSCH. [0165] UE 1 may transmit PSSCH to UE 2 (S950) based on the information on resources for PSSCH. UE 1 may send a CSI request to UE 2. The CSI Request may be included in stage 2 (i.e. 2nd stage) SCI); and controlling an operation according to an active time according to sidelink DRX configuration of the UE (paragraph 154: the value of the timer (e.g., sl-CSI-ReportTimer) is the same as the latency requirement of the SL-CSI reporting indicated by sl-Laten-cyBoundCSI-Report configured by RRC, sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report value is sent by UE 1 to UE2 using RRC signaling) (paragraph 172-175: UE 1 may monitor PSCCH/PSSCH while the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running, even if none of On duration timer/inactivity timer/retransmission timer is running (S970). In an embodiment, active time for SL DRX operation may include the time while On duration timer is running; inactivity timer is running; or retransmission timer is running; or the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running).
For claims 23; Agiwal discloses: wherein an active time is set to be between a time of transmission of a sidelink channel status information request and a time of reception of a sidelink channel status information report if the sidelink channel status information report is transmitted according to the sidelink channel status information request (paragraph 172-175: UE 1 may monitor PSCCH/PSSCH while the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running, even if none of On duration timer/inactivity timer/retransmission timer is running (S970). In an embodiment, active time for SL DRX operation may include the time while On duration timer is running; inactivity timer is running; or retransmission timer is running; or the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running).
For claims 24; Agiwal discloses: wherein an active time is set to be during a latency range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink channel status information report in an event of not transmitting the sidelink channel status information report according to the sidelink channel status information request during the latency range (sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report) for the sidelink channel status information report (paragraph 154: the value of the timer (e.g., sl-CSI-ReportTimer) is the same as the latency requirement of the SL-CSI reporting indicated by sl-Laten-cyBoundCSI-Report configured by RRC, sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report value is sent by UE 1 to UE2 using RRC signaling) (paragraph 172-175: UE 1 may monitor PSCCH/PSSCH while the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running, even if none of On duration timer/inactivity timer/retransmission timer is running (S970). In an embodiment, active time for SL DRX operation may include the time while On duration timer is running; inactivity timer is running; or retransmission timer is running; or the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running).
For claims 31 and 33; Agiwal discloses: wherein the another UE performs an operation according to an active time according to the sidelink DRX configuration of the UE (paragraph 154: the value of the timer (e.g., sl-CSI-ReportTimer) is the same as the latency requirement of the SL-CSI reporting indicated by sl-Laten-cyBoundCSI-Report configured by RRC, sl-LatencyBoundCSI-Report value is sent by UE 1 to UE2 using RRC signaling) (paragraph 172-175: UE 1 may monitor PSCCH/PSSCH while the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running, even if none of On duration timer/inactivity timer/retransmission timer is running (S970). In an embodiment, active time for SL DRX operation may include the time while On duration timer is running; inactivity timer is running; or retransmission timer is running; or the timer (e.g., SL CSI Report Timer) is running).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 32 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Agiwal in view of Agiwal et al. (US 12,245,319) (“Agiwal2”).
For claim 32 and 34; Agiwal discloses the subject matter in claim 16 as described above in the office action.
Agiwal does not expressly disclose, but Agiwal2 from similar fields of endeavor teaches: wherein the monitoring reception of the sidelink control information starts or restarts a sidelink DRX inactivity timer at a first symbol after receiving the sidelink control information in an event that the sidelink control information indicates sidelink transmission includes a source L1 ID and a destination L1 ID to be received by the UE (column 15, lines 36-67: UE operation for handling SL DRX inactivity timer is as follows: If 2nd stage SCI indicating a new transmission is received on PSSCH (or SCI indicating a new transmission is received): if the scheduled TB is associated to unicast: if the Destination ID field in the SCI is equal to X least significant bits (e.g. X can be 16 or any other value depending on size (in bits) of Destination ID field in the SCI i.e., if size of Destination ID field in the SCI is P bits then X is equal to P, P is an integer) of any of the Source Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE and Source ID field in the SCI is equal to Y least significant bits (e.g. Y can be 8 or any other value depending on size (in bits) of Source ID field in the SCI i.e., if size of Source ID field in the SCI is K bits then X is equal to K, K is an integer) of any of the Destination Layer-2 ID(s) of the UE for unicast communication: UE starts or restarts corresponding sl-drx-InactivityTimer (if configured) in the first symbol after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception (alternately starts or restarts corresponding sl-drx-InactivityTimer in the first slot after the end of the 2nd stage SCI reception)). Thus it would have been obvious to the person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to implement the signaling as described by Agiwal2 in the SL DRX monitoring as described by Agiwal. The motivation is to improve power usage.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim (US 2021/0044956); Kim discloses the HARQ process ID on the SL channel, bit information representing one or more ACK/NACK feedback information, or L1 ID and/or L2 ID of the source, destination, or destination group may be included in the corresponding MAC CE.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BLANTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466