Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 25 May 2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Claims 19-20 and 29-30 are amended.
Claim 21 and 31 are canceled.
Claims 19-20, 23-30, and 33-38 are presently pending.
Applicant's arguments filed 12 May 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
.Regarding Applicant’s arguments that Oyman fails to disclose or teach both selection of a subset of assets of asset groups and transmission of a viewport change message (see Remarks, pgs. 9-10), the Examiner disagrees. Applicant points to Oyman [Figs. 7-9] and [0043-46] and [0071] as disclosing viewport analysis locally at the client and requesting corresponding segments requests. However, Examiner draws attention to Oyman [0091-93] and [0226-230] disclose that a client device based on viewport information at a specific time, may provide an indication message to a server (i.e., the sending device of the claimed invention) wherein such indication signals the viewport within a 3D or 2D region and specifies the viewport coordinates within the coordinate system (where it would be inferably understood that such messages could be utilized to indicate a change in viewport at a different point in time. See MPEP 2144.01). As such, Oyman also discloses ‘sending, to the sending device, a viewport change message including information indicative of the viewport of the receiving device’. Therefore, the combined teachings of Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose, teach, and suggest all of the limitations of the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-20, 23-30, and 33-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 19 (and similarly Claim 29) recite “sending, to the sending device, an asset selection message including a request for at least the subset of assets…” and “sending, to the sending device, a viewport change message including information indicative of the viewport of the receiving device”. A review of the Specification shows [Fig. 23] and [Fig. 30] with respective descriptions in [0202] and [0224] describe respective V3C and GPCC selection messages that may be sent by a client device that define assets that a client device may request from a server. [Fig. 25] and [Fig. 32] with respective descriptions in [0204] and [0226] describe respective V3C and GPCC messages that a client device may send to a server describing the viewport position coordinates of the client device. [0209] and [0233-234] of the specification explains that these messages are sent respectively in a client-based streaming approach where the client itself determines the assets it requires due to a viewport change or alternatively in a server-based streaming approach where the server determines which assets to provide the client based on the client’s current viewport information. While there is obviously support for these two different messages in alternative embodiments (i.e., client-based vs. server-based), there is insufficient support in the Specification to suggest that Applicant had possession of usage of both messages in a single embodiment.
Claims 20, 23-28, 30, and 33-38 are rejected as being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 19-20, 23, 28-30, 33, and 38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyman et al. (US 2021/0006614 A1) (of record, hereinafter Oyman), in view of Hinds et al. (US 2019/0028691 A1) (of record, hereinafter Hinds), further in view of Kitazato (US 2018/0192084 A1) (of record, hereinafter Kitazato), and further in view of Yip et al. (US 2021/0099754 A1) (of record, hereinafter Yip).
Regarding Claim 19, Oyman discloses a method implemented in a receiving device for streaming Motion Picture Experts Group (MPEG) media content, [Fig. 9; ABST; 0021-22: adaptive mechanisms for distributing point cloud content based on MPEG technologies] the method comprising:
receiving, from a sending device, [Figs. 2, 7-9] an asset group message including asset descriptor data describing one or more asset groups that are available to be streamed, [Figs. 7-9; 0042-45: V-PCC wherein viewport indications for a video may be provided by means of a Media Presentation Description (MPD); 0067-70: server 704 may provide MPD to a client 706] wherein the asset descriptor data includes a field indicating respective data types associated with each asset of the one or more asset groups; [0035-37: V-PCC bitstream information includes various encoded type information such as occupancy, geometry, attribute, patch, etc.]
determining, based on a viewport of the receiving device, a subset of the assets of the identified one or more asset groups that correspond to one or more spatial regions or tiles associated with the viewport; [Figs. 7-9; 0043-46, 0071: client 706 obtains viewpoint information from a user device and parses MPD to determine the specific AdaptationSet and Representation covering the viewport information and issues a request for the associated segments accordingly]
sending, to the sending device, an asset selection message including a request for at least the subset of assets of the identified one or more asset groups that are available to be streamed, wherein the asset selection message includes a respective unique asset identifier associated with each of the requested subset of assets; [Figs. 7-9; 0043-46, 0071: client 706 obtains viewpoint information from a user device and parses MPD to determine the specific AdaptationSet and Representation covering the viewport information and issues a request for the associated segments accordingly; 0045: MPD fragments are requested by fragment URLs; 0050-66, 0219-221: viewports may be identified relative positionings as well as point cloud object identifiers (i.e., some respective identifier exists for each corresponding viewport V-PPC object)]
sending, to the sending device, a viewport change message including viewport information indicative of the viewport of the receiving device. [0091-93, 0226-230: user equipment may send feedback message to server indicated a selected viewport for the client, wherein the feedback message contains one or more syntax elements to indicate the spherical coordinate system as well as a point cloud object identifier and context information, or 2D viewport coordinates]
receiving, from the sending device, a packet flow comprising one or more packets; [Figs. 7-9; 0045, 0072: server 704 may provide segments requested by client 706 over network 710; 0117-118, 0175: where systems may provide content over packet-based networks encoded in any transport protocol] and
processing the one or more packets to recover at least a portion of the requested subset of assets of the one or more asset groups. [Figs. 7-9; 0037-41, 0045, 0072: server 704 may provide segments requested by client 706 over network 710 to be subsequently received and decapsulated by the client; 0117-118, 0175: where systems may provide content over packet-based networks encoded in any transport protocol]
Oyman fails to explicitly disclose a method implemented in a receiving device for streaming Motion Picture Experts Group (MPEG) Media Transport Protocol (MMTP) media content; receiving, from the sending device, an MMTP packet flow comprising one or more MMTP packets; and processing the one or more MMTP packets to recover at least a portion of the requested subset of assets of the one or more asset groups. (Emphasis on the particular elements of the limitations not explicitly disclosed by Oyman – namely the specific use of the MPEG Media Transport Protocol)
Hinds, in analogous art, teaches a method implemented in a receiving device for streaming Motion Picture Experts Group (MPEG) Media Transport Protocol (MMTP) media content; receiving, from the sending device, an MMTP packet flow comprising one or more MMTP packets; and processing the one or more MMTP packets to recover at least a portion of the requested subset of assets of the one or more asset groups. [0076-77, 0094-95: wherein provision of point cloud information for 360-degree video that allows for changes in point-of-view (e.g., the viewport changes for the 360-degree video of Oyman above) may be implemented in any existing MPEG technologies including DASH, MMT, etc.]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Oyman with the teachings of Hinds to specify streaming via MPEG Media Transport protocol (i.e., MMT/MMTP) as it is known existing MPEG-based technology that may support streaming of 360-degree video. [Hinds – 0095-96]
Oyman and Hinds fail to explicitly disclose each of the one or more MMTP packets that include respective packet identifiers; identifying the one or more MMTP packets based on the respective packet identifiers to retrieve one or more Media Processing Units (MPUs), each of the one or more MPUs comprising one of the unique asset identifiers associated with one of the requested subset of assets; and processing, based on the unique asset identifiers, the one or more MPUs to recover at least a portion of the requested subset of assets of the one or more asset groups.
Kitazato, in analogous art, teaches ach of the one or more MMTP packets that include respective packet identifiers; [0204, 0246, 0252, 0259, 0289: MMTP packets are associated with unique packet identifiers]
identifying the one or more MMTP packets based on the respective packet identifiers to retrieve one or more Media Processing Units (MPUs), each of the one or more MPUs comprising one of the unique asset identifiers associated with one of the requested subset of assets; [Fig. 4; 0094-95: where a receiver in an MMTP system may receive an MMTP stream and demultiplex the received signal; 0119-121, 0204, 0246, 0252, 0259: MMTP packets are identified according to packet identifiers, and each MMTP packet is encoded as MPUs comprising data according to asset identifiers] and
processing, based on the unique asset identifiers, the one or more MPUs to recover at least a portion of the requested subset of assets of the one or more asset groups. [0119-121, 0138: assets are processed according to asset identifiers in respective MPUs]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Oyman and Hinds with the teachings of Kitazato to specify processing the MMTP packets according to respective identifiers, MPUs, and asset identifiers as such elements are known to manage the production of content and configuration of broadcast transport data within the MMT format. [Kitazato – 0002-4]
Oyman, Hinds, and Kitazato fail to explicitly disclose wherein the asset descriptor data includes at least a first field identifying the one or more asset groups, and a second field indicating respective data types associated with assets of the one of more asset groups. (Emphasis on the particular elements of the limitations not explicitly disclosed by Oyman, Hinds, and Kitazato – namely the two fields in the asset descriptor data as claimed)
Yip, in analogous art, teaches wherein the asset descriptor data includes at least a first field identifying the one or more asset groups, and a second field indicating respective data types associated with assets of the one of more asset groups. [0215-228, 0236: with respect to Table 5, VPCCAssetGroupMessage is signaled by an MMT transmitting entity (such as that of Oyman, Hinds, and Kitazato above), where such a group message includes an asset_group_id field, as well as a data_type field for signaling VPCC data type assets from the provided asset list]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Oyman, Hinds, and Kitazato with the teachings of Yip to specify first and second fields within asset descriptor data indicating asset group identifier and asset data type respectively as it is understood that such a VPCC Asset Group message is a mandatory signaling message required within the MMT protocol when transmitted VPCC encoded content. [Yip – 0217]
Regarding Claim 20, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 19, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Oyman, Hinds, and Kitazato disclose sending, to the sending device, another viewport change message including an indication of a new viewport of the receiving device; [Oyman – Figs. 7-9; 0043-46, 0071: client 706 obtains viewpoint information from a user device and parses MPD to determine the specific AdaptationSet and Representation covering the viewport information and issues a request for the associated segments accordingly; Hinds – 0077, 0095: viewport changes may be determined by various inputs, including relative movement of user HMD, or manual input/rotation] and
receiving another asset group message that includes updated asset descriptor data describing one or more asset groups that are available to be streamed based on the new viewport of the receiving device. [Oyman – Figs. 7-9; 0042-45: V-PCC wherein viewport indications for a video may be provided by means of a Media Presentation Description (MPD); 0047-52: viewport-dependent streaming may provide FOV tiles in high quality, and other tiles in lower quality; 0067-70: server 704 may provide MPD to a client 706; 0074: wherein for live presentations, changes in viewports may be signaled via regular MPD updates; Hinds – 0068: foveated rendering isolates a center tile and areas around the exact center are provided in slightly lower resolution]
Regarding Claim 23, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 19, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Hinds discloses wherein the sent asset selection message includes information identifying an application intended to consume the requested subset of assets. [0088-91: client requests for content may include client profile information which may include description/requirements of the client application itself (i.e., some information identifying the application)]
Regarding Claim 28, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 19, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Oyman, Hinds, and Kitazato disclose wherein the asset group message includes information indicating one or more of: a dependency of an asset upon another asset for decoding; an indication of the another asset upon which the asset is dependent; whether the asset has an alternate version; and an identification of the alternate version of the asset. [Oyman – 0042: MPD indicates different bitrates/frame rates/resolutions/codec types, etc. to react to changes of device state; 0213-214: manifest file includes hierarchical levels of different viewports; Hinds – 0013: different quality versions of content may be created and provided to account for network conditions; 0076: hierarchical manifest]
Regarding Claim 29, Claim 29 recites a device that performs the method of Claim 19. As such, Claim 29 is analyzed and rejected similarly as Claim 19, mutatis mutandis. (See also, Oyman [Figs. 2, 11, 13-14] and accompanying descriptions)
Regarding Claim 30, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 29, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 30 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 20 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 33, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 29, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 33 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 23 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 38, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 29, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 38 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 28 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Claim(s) 24-27 and 34-37 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip as applied to claims 19 and 29, respectively above, and further in view of Oh (US 2021/0005006 A1) (of record, hereinafter Oh).
Regarding Claim 24, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 19, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Oyman discloses wherein the asset descriptor data describing the one or more asset groups that are available to be streamed describes video-based point cloud coding (V-PCC) data. [0024, 0032: volumetric video may be represented as point clouds, such as V-PCC architecture]
Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip fail to explicitly disclose volumetric video-based coding (V3C) data.
Oh, in analogous art, teaches volumetric video-based coding (V3C) data. [0079, 0083: V-PCC may be the same as Visual Volumetric Vide-based Coding (V3C)]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip with the teachings of Oh to specify V3C data as it is readily understood that V-PCC and V3C are terms that are complementarily used to Video-based Point Cloud Compression. [Oh – 0083]
Regarding Claim 25, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, Yip, and Oh disclose all of the limitations of Claim 24, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Oyman and Oh disclose wherein the respective data types associated with each asset of the one or more asset groups are one of atlas component data, occupancy component data, geometry component data, attribute component data, dynamic volumetric timed-metadata information, or viewport timed-metadata information. [Oyman – 0035-37: V-PCC bitstream information includes various encoded type information such as occupancy, geometry, attribute, patch, etc.; Oh – 0008-11, 0016-17, 0021: PCC data may carry geometry data and attribute data and occupancy data]
Regarding Claim 26, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 19, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Oyman discloses wherein the asset descriptor data describing the one or more asset groups that are available to be streamed describes video-based point cloud coding (V-PCC) data. [0024, 0032: volumetric video may be represented as point clouds, such as V-PCC architecture]
Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip fail to explicitly disclose geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) data.
Oh, in analogous art, teaches geometry-based point cloud compression (G-PCC) data. [0079-82, 0365: where point cloud video encoders may support V-PCC or geometry-based point cloud compression G-PCC]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the filing date of the invention to modify the method of Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip with the teachings of Oh to specify G-PCC data as it is readily understood that G-PCC is an alternative encoding scheme to V-PCC/V3C for encoding and signaling point cloud data (such as that of Oyman and Hinds). [Oh – 0082]
Regarding Claim 27, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, Yip, and Oh disclose all of the limitations of Claim 26, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Oyman and Oh disclose wherein the respective data types associated with each asset of the one or more asset groups are one of geometry data; attribute data; attribute parameter set data; sequence parameter set data; geometry parameter set data; tile inventory data; frame boundary market data; default data; or three-dimensional spatial region timed metadata information. [Oyman – 0035-37: V-PCC bitstream information includes various encoded type information such as occupancy, geometry, attribute, patch, etc.; Oh – 0008-11, 0016-17, 0021: PCC data may carry geometry data and attribute data and occupancy data]
Regarding Claim 34, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 29, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 34 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 24 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 35, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, Yip, and Oh disclose all of the limitations of Claim 34, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 35 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 25 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 36, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip disclose all of the limitations of Claim 29, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 36 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 26 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Regarding Claim 37, Oyman, Hinds, Kitazato, and Yip, and Oh disclose all of the limitations of Claim 36, which are analyzed as previously discussed.
Furthermore, Claim 37 recites nearly identical limitations as Claim 27 and is rejected similarly as that claim.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Fang et al. (US 2021/0160552 A1); Fang et al. (WO 2020024373 A1) teaches a viewport provision system where a client provides viewport position information to a server, where the server will utilize the received position information to determine the appropriate video information to provide back to the client.
/WILLIAM J KIM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409