DETAILED ACTION
Status
In response to the amendment filed on 11/11/2025, claims 1, 3, 4, 9-11, 13, 15, 19, and 20 have been amended, and claims 2, 8, 12, and 14 are cancelled. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-11, 13, and 15-20 are pending and under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 08/18/2025 and 01/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,624 in view of Korean Application No. 20120088314A. Claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,624 recite all limitations of claim 1 of the subject application except that “a dry cleaning module configured to clean at least part of the operation surface in a dry cleaning manner; a driving unit configured to drive the cleaning head in a direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus; a vibrator configured to substantially reciprocate in a direction substantially perpendicular to a moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus; and a movable area substantially reciprocating along a direction substantially perpendicular to the moving direction of the cleaning apparatus”.
However, Korean Application No. 20120088314A discloses, in fig. 2, a robot cleaner comprises a suction fan module (70), an agitator (80), and a dust container (60) to form a dry cleaning module and a drive device 200 as the recited driving unit to clean the surface (Sun English translation, p. 4:11-31) and the driving platform comprises a the crank mounting part 240 as the recited vibrator (fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic cleaning apparatus of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,624 to provide the dry cleaning module, the driving unit, and the vibrator as taught by Korean Application No. 20120088314A. It allows a single robot to conduct the dry vacuuming and the scrubbing wet mopping. A user does not have to utilize two robots to operate two different types of cleaning.
In addition, Korean Application No. 20120088314A discloses the mop mounting plate 100 is reciprocated in the front and rear direction, instead of the perpendicular direction (Sun English translation, p. 4:29-31). However, the drive device 200, the mop mounting plate 100, and the crank mounting part 240 can be disposed in 90 degrees so that the attached mop 300 can be reciprocated in the direction perpendicular to the moving direction of the robot. The reciprocation of the mop in the perpendicular direction may provide equal pressure to the floor for uniform cleaning compared with the front and rear direction reciprocation. When the mop moves in the rearward direction, it may have less cleaning effect than the mop moving in the forward direction. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic cleaning apparatus of Application No. 18/276863 to provide the driving unit to drive the cleaning head in the direction perpendicular to the moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus. It has been held that shifting position of a part would be unpatentable unless it modifies the operation of the device. MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Claim 1 of the Subject Application
Claim 1 of US Patent No. 12,193,624
An automatic cleaning apparatus, comprising:
An autonomous cleaning device, comprising:
a mobile platform configured to move automatically on an operation surface;
a mobile platform, configured to move autonomously on a cleaning surface;
a cleaning module disposed on the mobile platform and comprising:
a cleaning module, disposed on the mobile platform and comprising:
a wet cleaning module configured to clean at least part of the operation surface in a wet cleaning manner,
a wet cleaning module, configured to clean at least part of the cleaning surface in a wet cleaning mode;
wherein the wet cleaning module comprises:
wherein the wet cleaning module comprises:
a cleaning head configured to clean the operation surface, and
a cleaning head, configured to clean the cleaning surface;
a driving unit configured to drive the cleaning head to reciprocate along a target surface, the target surface being a part of the operation surface
a driving unit, configured to drive the cleaning head to conduct a reciprocating movement on a target surface, the target surface being a part of the cleaning surface;
wherein the cleaning head comprises:
wherein the cleaning head comprises
a fixed area connected to a bottom of the supporting platform and configured to clean at least part of the operation surface along movement of the supporting platform: a movable area connected to the cleaning substrate and substantially reciprocating under driving of the cleaning substrate.
a movable section and a fixed section located at different positions in a horizontal extension plane of the cleaning head, the movable section being connected to the cleaning base plate, and the fixed section being connected to the support platform.
Claim 2 of US Patent No. 12,193,624
wherein the driving unit comprises:
the driving unit further comprises:
a driving platform connected to a bottom surface of the mobile platform and configured to provide a driving force, wherein the driving platform comprises a vibrator
a driving platform, connected to a bottom surface of the mobile platform and configured to provide a driving force;
a supporting platform detachably connected to the driving platform and configured to support the cleaning head, wherein the supporting platform comprises a cleaning substrate, freely movably disposed on the supporting platform and substantially reciprocating relative to the supporting platform under vibration of the vibrator,
the support platform, connected to the driving platform
Claim 3 of the Subject Application
Claim 3 of US Patent No. 12,193,624
the driving platform comprises a motor disposed on a side of the driving platform close to the mobile platform and outputting power by a motor output shaft; and a driving wheel connected to the motor output shaft
the driving unit further comprises: a driving wheel, configured to perform a swing motion under driving of a motor, thereby driving the cleaning base plate to conduct the substantially reciprocating movement.
As shown in the table above, claims 1 and 3 of the subject application claims subject matter that is different, but not patentably distinct, from the subject matter of claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,624 in view of Korean Application No. 20120088314A. Thus, claims 1and 3 are anticipated by claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 12,193,624 and a patent to claims 1 and 3 would, necessarily, extend the right to exclude granted by U.S. Patent No. 12,193,624. See In re Goodman.
Drawings
In response to the drawing objection made in the previous non-final office action dated on 08/11/2025, Applicant has submitted replacement sheet of fig. 11. The drawing objection has been withdrawn.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 10, and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the term may be amended as “in a direction substantially perpendicular to [[a]]the moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus” in lines 15-16, and “along [[a]]the direction substantially perpendicular to the moving direction of the cleaning apparatus” in lines 24-25.
Claim 10 has been amended to be dependent from claim 1. Claim 20 also depends from claim 1 and is identical with claim 10. Examiner advises canceling either claim 10 or claim 20.
Appropriate correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a dry cleaning module configured to clean …”, “a wet cleaning module configured to clean …”, “a cleaning head configured to clean …”, and “a driving unit configured to drive the cleaning head …”, “a driving platform … configured to provide a driving force”, and “a supporting platform … configured to support the cleaning head” in claim 1, and “a passive lifting module” in claim 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim limitation “the dry cleaning module is connected to the mobile platform by a passive module” in claim 18 invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. Specification discloses when the cleaning apparatus encounters an obstacle, the dry cleaning module may pass over the obstacle more conveniently by the lifting module (¶ 00101). Thus, it is not clear how the passive lifting module makes the dry cleaning module to pass over the obstacle. For examination purpose the examiner has interpreted that any mechanism that raises the cleaning apparatus depending on a floor situation satisfies the claim limitations.
Therefore, the claims are indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claim 18, the phrase “the dry cleaning module is connected to the mobile platform by a passive lifting module” lacks written description requirement. Specification of the instant application explain the passive lifting module allows the dry cleaning module to pass over the obstacle more when the cleaning apparatus encounters an obstacle (¶ 00101). However, it does not provide what components make the passive lifting module. Therefore, the phrase lacks the written description.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 9-11, 13, 15, 16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun et al. (KR 20120088314A, cited on 08/22/2023 IDS, hereinafter Sun), in view of Eou (KR 20140123682A).
Regarding claim 1, Sun discloses an automatic cleaning apparatus (fig. 1, robot cleaner), comprising:
a mobile platform configured to move automatically on an operation surface (Sun English translation p. 3:26, a main body 1 [corresponds to the recited mobile platform] moves itself on a surface); and
a cleaning module disposed on the mobile platform (fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 4:11-19, a suction fan module 70, a suction port 86, and an agitator 80 for dry cleaning; figs. 8-9 and p. 9:1, a mop 300 mounted on a mop mounting plate 100 can be used for wet cleaning) and comprising:
a dry cleaning module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The dry cleaning module includes a roller brush, a dust box, a fan, and an air outlet (¶ 0090)) configured to clean at least part of the operation surface in a dry cleaning manner (fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 4:11-28, a suction fan module 70, an agitator 80, and a dust container 60 form a dry cleaning module to clean the surface. Sun does not disclose explicitly an air outlet, but a vacuum cleaner exhausts sucked air out of the cleaner); and
a wet cleaning module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The wet cleaning module includes a cleaning head 410 and a driving unit 420 (¶ 0096)) configured to clean at least part of the operation surface (Sun English translation, p. 4:29-30 and 11:16-20, a mop 300 attached to a mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head] is moved by a drive device 200 [corresponds to the recited driving unit] to clean the floor as the robot cleaner moves), wherein the wet cleaning module comprises:
a cleaning head (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The cleaning head includes a movable area 412, a fixed area 411, and a flexible connection part 413, and a sliding buckle 414 (¶ 0032-40)) configured to clean the operation surface (Sun English translation, p. 4:29-30 and 11:22-24, a mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head], which includes a mop 300 [corresponds to the recited movable area], frame portions 170 [correspond to the recited fixed area], a Velcro member [corresponds to the recited flexible connection part], and hook member 150 [corresponds to the recited sliding buckle], reciprocates to clean the floor), and
a driving unit (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The driving unit includes a driving platform (¶ 0099)) configured to drive the cleaning head to reciprocate along a target surface, the target surface being a part of the operation surface (fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 4:29-30 and 5:1-25, a drive device 200 [corresponds to the recited driving unit], which includes a motor 210, a crank mounting part 240, and a crank 230 among others, drives the mop mounting plate 100 to reciprocate on the floor), wherein the driving unit comprises:
a driving platform (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The driving platform includes a motor, a vibrator, and a connecting rod (¶ 0015-20)) connected to a bottom surface of the mobile platform and configured to provide a driving force (fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 5:1-25, a motor 210, a crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator], and a crank 230 [corresponds to the recited connecting rod] form a driving platform to provide a reciprocating motion. The driving platform are coupled to a bottom surface of the main body 1), wherein the driving platform comprises a vibrator (fig. 2, the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator] is disposed); and
a supporting platform (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). The supporting platform includes a cleaning substrate, a removal button, at least one assembly area (¶ 0024-30)) detachably connected to the driving platform and configured to support the cleaning head (fig. 2, a slider 250 [corresponds to the recited cleaning substrate], a guide rail 260 and slots 270 [correspond to the recited assembly area. It is sized and shaped to receive the mop mounting plate 100] form a supporting platform; Sun English translation, p. 7:21-24, a screw or the like is used to couple the slider 250, which is a part of the supporting platform, to the crank mounting portion 240, which is a part of the driving platform. Thus the screw is also used for removal of the components. The supporting platform is coupled to the driving platform and supports the mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head]), wherein the supporting platform comprises: a cleaning substrate freely movably disposed on the supporting platform and substantially reciprocating relative to the supporting platform under vibration of the vibrator (fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 7:21-24, a slider 250 [corresponds to the recited cleaning substrate] makes a reciprocating motion as the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator] transfers motion from the disc 220 [corresponds to the recited driving wheel]),
wherein the cleaning head comprises: a movable area connected to the cleaning substrate and reciprocating under driving of the cleaning substrate (fig. 9 and Sun English translation, p. 11:20-12:4, a mop 300 spanning between a pair of rotatable shaft portions 180 forms the recited movable area, and is connected to the slider 250 [corresponds to the recited cleaning substrate] through connection to mop mounting plate 100 at fastening grooves 115 and reciprocates along the floor surface as shown in fig. 2); and
a fixed area connected to a bottom of the supporting platform and configured to clean at least part of the operation surface along movement of the supporting platform (Sun English translation, p. 11:20-12:4, the mop mounting plate 100A [corresponds to the recited cleaning head] comprises two or more frame parts 170 [corresponds to the recited fixed area] including fastening grooves 115 as shown in fig. 9, and are connected to the supporting platform, comprising the guide rail 260 and slots 270, through connection to the slider 250 as shown in fig. 2. The mop mounting plate 100A, which has the frame parts 170 and the mop 300 on the same plane with respect to the operation surface, reciprocates with respect to the floor surface to clean the floor surface. Examiner notes that claim recites the fixed area is configured to clean the operation surface. The frame parts 170 support the mop 300 and is configured to clean at least part of the surface. Claim also does not recite the fixed area and the movable area of the cleaning head clean different parts of the operation surface, thus the fixed area and the movable area can move together to clean the operation surface).
Assuming arguendo, that the frame parts 170 are not the fixed area of the cleaning head, Eou teaches, in an analogous automatic cleaning apparatus, a fixed area connected to a bottom of the supporting platform and configured to clean at least part of the operation surface along movement of the supporting platform (fig. 6, a cleaning head of a wet mopping cleaner comprises a vibration plate 91 [corresponds to the recited movable area] and contact plates 92 [correspond to the recited fixed area]; Eou English translation, p. 7:15-20, a mop attached to the plates 92 cleans an operation surface. The fixed area and the movable are of Eou can be applied to a bottom of the Sun’s cleaner to have the recited areas for cleaning).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning head of Sun to provide the fixed area as taught by Eou. The Eou’s cleaning head requires one large mop for cleaning a floor surface. It does not require multiples mops separately for the fixed area and the movable area of the cleaning head.
Sun still does not disclose explicitly a wet cleaning module configured to clean in a wet cleaning manner.
Sun does not disclose the mop 300 is wetted for cleaning. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic cleaning apparatus of Sun to provide the wet cleaning because a user may selectively install wet mop pad to provide enhanced floor cleaning not typically collected by agitator/brush suction alone.
Sun also does not disclose the cleaning head is reciprocated in a direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the vibrator configured to substantially reciprocate in a direction substantially perpendicular to a moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus, and the movable area substantially reciprocating along a direction substantially perpendicular to the moving direction of the cleaning apparatus.
Sun discloses the mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head] is reciprocated in the front and rear direction, instead of the perpendicular direction (Sun English translation, p. 4:29-31).
Eou teaches, in an analogous automatic cleaning apparatus, the cleaning head is reciprocated in a direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus, the vibrator configured to substantially reciprocate in a direction substantially perpendicular to a moving direction of the automatic cleaning apparatus, and the movable area substantially reciprocating along a direction substantially perpendicular to the moving direction of the cleaning apparatus (figs. 4-5 and Eou English translation, p. 4:4-20, a wet mopping cleaner comprises a vibration plate 60 for vibrating a cleaning cloth D. The vibration plate vibrates in a left-right direction, or in a direction perpendicular to the moving direction of the cleaner. A vibrator 80 vibrates a vibration plate 91 [corresponds to the recited movable area] in direction perpendicular to a moving direction of the cleaner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic cleaning apparatus of Sun to reciprocate the cleaning head in the recited direction as taught by Eou in order to provide frictional force for effective cleaning of a floor (Eou English translation, p. 7:15-20).
Regarding claim 3, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the driving platform further comprises:
a motor disposed on a side of the driving platform close to the mobile platform and outputting power by a motor output shaft (Sun fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 5:6-11, the motor 210 is disposed at a side of the crank mounting part 240 and the crank 230. A shaft of the motor 210 is connected to the disc 220 to rotated the disk unit); and
a driving wheel connected to the motor output shaft and being of an asymmetrical structure, wherein an end of the vibrator is connected to the driving wheel through a pivot, and a rotation center of the driving wheel does not coincide with a pivot center of the pivot. (Sun figs. 2 and 8, the disc 220 [corresponds to the recited driving wheel] is connected to the motor 210. An end of the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator] is connected to the disc 220 through a pivot, which is a connecting end of a crank 230 to the disc 220. A rotation center of the disc 220 does not coincide with a pivot center).
Regarding claim 4, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 3, wherein the vibrator is disposed on a side of the driving platform opposite to the motor, and connected to the driving wheel (Sun fig. 2, the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator] is disposed away from the motor, and is connected to the disc 220 [corresponds to the recited driving wheel] through the crank 230. Fig. 15 of the instant application shows a connecting rod 4214 is connected to the vibrator 4213. The crank 230 of Sun is equivalent to the connecting rod of the instant application).
Regarding claim 5, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 4, wherein the driving platform further comprises: a connecting rod extending along an edge of the driving platform, and connecting the driving wheel and the vibrator such that the vibrator extends to a preset position (Sun fig. 2, the crank 230 [corresponds to the recited connecting rod] connects the disc 220 [corresponds to the recited driving wheel] and the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator]. The crank mounting part 240 moves within a determined range of distance).
Regarding claim 6, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 5, wherein the vibrator extends perpendicular to the connecting rod (Sun fig. 2, the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator] extends perpendicular to the crank 230 [corresponds to the recited connecting rod]. The crank 230 is disposed horizontally and the crank mounting part 240 is connected vertically to the crank 230), but does not disclose the vibrator is a rod-like structure.
However, specification of the instant application is silent as to why the vibrator has to be the rod-like structure. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the vibrator to be other than the rod-like structure since applicant has not disclosed that by doing so produces any unexpected results and it appears that the crank mounting part of Sun would perform equally in transferring reciprocal motion from the driving platform to the supporting platform.
Regarding claim 9, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the cleaning substrate comprises: an assembly notch disposed at a position in contact with the vibrator, the vibrator being assembled in the assembly notch in response to determining that the supporting platform is connected to the driving platform (Sun fig. 2, a notch is shown in the slider 250 [corresponds to the recited cleaning substrate] for receiving the crank mounting part 240 [corresponds to the recited vibrator], which is the part of the driving platform).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejections of claim 1, wherein the supporting platform further comprises: a removal button configured to detachably connect the supporting platform to the driving platform (fig. 2 and Sun English translation, p. 7:21-24, a screw or the like is used to couple the slider 250, which is a part of the supporting platform, to the crank mounting portion 240, which is a part of the driving platform. Thus the screw works as a removal button to be utilized for removal of the components).
Regarding claim 11, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the supporting platform further comprises: at least one assembly area disposed on the supporting platform and configured to assemble the cleaning head (Sun fig. 2, the slots 270 [correspond to the recited assembly area] are sized and shaped to receive the mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head] on the supporting platform).
Regarding claim 13, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein a bonding layer is disposed on a side of the movable area connected to the cleaning substrate, and the movable area is connected to the cleaning substrate by the bonding layer (Sun English translation, p. 9:1-5, the area spanned by the mop 300 [corresponds to the recited movable area] is mounted to a bottom surface of the mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head] with a Velcro member and is connected to the slider 250 [corresponds to the recited cleaning substrate]. Therefore, a side of the mop 300 has either hook fasteners or loop fasteners [correspond to the recited bonding layer]).
Regarding claim 15, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the cleaning head further comprises: a flexible connection part disposed between the fixed area and the movable area and configured to connect the fixed area and the movable area (Sun English translation, p. 9:1-5, a Velcro member [corresponds to the recited flexible connection part] is disposed between the frame portions 170 [corresponds to the recited fixed area] and the mop 300 [corresponds to the recited movable area] to connect them).
Regarding claim 16, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 13, wherein the cleaning head further comprises: a sliding buckle extending along an edge of the cleaning head and detachably mounted on the supporting platform (fig. 5 and Sun English translation, p. 9:22-23, a hook member 150 [corresponds to the recited sliding buckle] extends along an edge of the mop mounting plate 100 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head] and detachably mounted to the supporting platform through the slider 250 [corresponds to the recited cleaning substrate]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Eou, as applied to claim 5 above, and in further view of Burch, Jr. et al. (US 6615436, hereinafter Burch).
Regarding claim 7, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 5, but does not disclose the driving platform comprises a vibration-buffering device disposed on the connecting rod.
Burch teaches, in a cleaning tool field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the driving platform comprises a vibration-buffering device disposed on the connecting rod (fig. 1 and col. 8:5-10, a power cleaning tool comprises a vibration damper 110 [corresponds to the recited vibration-buffering device] on a drive rod 100).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the driving platform of Sun as modified by Eou to provide the vibration-buffering device as taught by Burch in order to isolate the vibration caused by the rotation of a wheel/drum. It helps reducing the transferring of vibration and increasing the tool to operate at higher speeds (Burch col. 9:19-25).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Eou, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Xie et al. (WO 2020125774A1, hereinafter Xie).
Regarding claim 17, Sun as modified by Eou teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose a lifting module is disposed between the cleaning module and the mobile platform.
Xie teaches, in an analogous automatic cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, a lifting module is disposed between the cleaning module and the mobile platform (figs. 5-6 and Xie English translation, p. 27:36-28:27, a robot cleaner having a mopping module 310 [corresponds to the recited cleaning module] comprises a connection assembly 120 [corresponds to the recited lifting module]. The connection assembly is disposed between the mopping module and the body of the cleaner).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic cleaning apparatus of Sun as modified by Eou to provide the lifting module as taught by Xie so that the mop can be raised from the ground when it is not in use. This way a dirty mop does not touch a cleaned floor surface (Xie English translation, p. 28:17-22).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Eou and Xie, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Li et al. (US 2017/0296010, hereinafter Li).
Regarding claim 18, Sun as modified by Eou and Xie teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 17, but does not disclose the dry cleaning module is connected to the mobile platform by a passive lifting module (this element is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f). However, specification, ¶ 00101, does not state what components make the active lifting module as discussed in 112(b) rejection).
Li teaches, in an analogous floor cleaner field of endeavor, the dry cleaning module is connected to the mobile platform by a passive lifting module (¶ 0043, a cleaning device comprises a brush 11 as a dry cleaning device. The brush moves up and down with the changing surface level of the ground, thus it can pass over an obstacle on the ground).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the automatic cleaning apparatus of Sun as modified by Eou and Xie to provide the passive lifting module as taught by Li so that the cleaner is not damaged by running over the obstacles.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sun in view of Eou and Xie, as applied to claim 17 above, and in further view of Fischer et al. (US 2014/0068885, hereinafter Fischer).
Regarding claim 19, Sun as modified by Eou and Xie teaches the automatic cleaning apparatus as in the rejection of claim 17, but does not disclose the wet cleaning module is connected to the mobile platform by an active lifting module, wherein the active lifting module comprises a cable gear and a cable wound on the cable gear.
Fischer teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the wet cleaning module is connected to the mobile platform by an active lifting module, wherein the active lifting module comprises a cable gear and a cable wound on the cable gear (¶ 0012, a device for raising or lowering a component of a cleaning machine; fig. 1 and ¶ 0030, a linear actuator actuates movement of a cable 10 for raising or lowering the component wherein the cable 10 is wound on a pulley 108. The linear actuator may comprise a geared system. Thus, the pulley 108 can be the geared system).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning apparatus of Sun as modified by Eou and Xie to provide the active lifting module as taught by Fischer in order to control a position of the mop depending on a cleaning surface type.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues Sun does not disclose the cleaning head comprising the fixed area and the movable area. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Applicant explains the mop mounting plate 100 in Sun is not divided into a fixed area and a movable area, and the mop 300 (designated as the movable area) and the mounting plate 110/fastening grooves 115 (designated as the fixed area) reciprocate together. Applicant asserts therefore the Examiner’s designation of the mop mounting plate 110/fastening grooves 115 as the fixed area is incorrect.
Amended claim 1 recites “a fixed area … configured to clean at least part of the operation surface …; and a movable area … substantially reciprocating along a direction substantially perpendicular to the moving direction of the cleaning apparatus”. The claim does not recite the fixed area and the movable area clean the different parts of the operation surface, nor they move separately. Examiner notes the English translation of Sun reference mixes the reference character 115 as the mop mounting plate and the fastening groove, and Examiner cited paragraphs describing fig. 9 without disclosing the figure number. The mounting plate 110 shown in fig. 9 includes the frame parts 170 as the fixed area and the mop 300 (or the area spanned by the mop) as the movable area. As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the frame parts 170, which are disposed substantially on the same plane, are configured to clean the surface indirectly along movement of the supporting platform while the mop 300 rotates and reciprocates on the surface. Therefore, the mop 300 and the frame parts 170 of Sun teach the recited claim limitations.
Alternatively, Sun teaches there can be two or more frame parts 170 and two or more mops 300 wound between the pair of frame parts (Sun English translation, p. 11:22-24). Thus, there may be multiple cleaning heads which can be designated as the fixed areas and the movable areas.
Additionally, Examiner presents Eou teaches the recited claim limitations. The cleaning head of Eou comprises the contact plate 92 (as the recited fixed area) and the vibration plate 91 (as the movable area). A mop/rag is attached to the contact plate 92 and the vibration plate 91 to clean the operation surface.
Applicant also argues the mop 300 of Sun cannot be the movable area because it is a replaceable consumable element. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Even if the mop 300 is the replaceable element, it is attached to the mop mounting plate 100 and reciprocates to clean the operation surface. Claim 1 does not recites the movable area cannot be the replaceable consumable element.
Regarding 112(b) rejection of claim 18 made in the previous non-final office action dated on 08/11/2025, Applicant explains the passive lifting module refers to floating mechanism such as springs or hinges that do not require power. Although Examiner acknowledges that one of ordinary skill in the art would understand that springs or hinges would not require power and would be common knowledge, there is lack of description regarding what makes the passive lifting module and how it works, e.g. springs or hinges are not disclosed in the drawings or specification as the passive lifting module. To satisfy the definiteness requirement under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, the written description must clearly link or associate the corresponding structure, material, or acts to the claimed function. Telcordia Techs., Inc. v. Cisco Systems, Inc., 612 F.3d 1365, 1376, 95 USPQ2d 1673, 1682 (Fed. Cir. 2010). A bare statement that known techniques or methods can be used would not be a sufficient disclosure to support a means-plus-function limitation. Biomedino, LLC v. Waters Techs. Corp., 490 F.3d 946, 953, 83 USPQ2d 1118, 1123 (Fed. Cir. 2007).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S.J.C./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723