DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-5 and 8-10) in the reply filed on March 25, 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
In this instance, the abstract recites the phrase that can be implied “The present disclosure relates to…” (in the 1st line), as well as the legal term “comprised” (in the last line).
The use of the terms “Denka black”, “Ketjen black”, “Kynar”, and “Super P”, which are trade names or marks used in commerce, has been noted in this application (see pages 13 and 14 of the substitute specification). The terms should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the terms should be capitalized wherever they appear or, where appropriate, include proper symbols indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the terms.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR 20170011357 A, of which a copy of the Korean document with an English abstract was provided with the Information Disclosure Statement dated July 5, 2023, and with a machine translation provided with the restriction requirement mailed January 27, 2026.
Regarding independent claim 1, KR ‘357 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery (abstract; pages 2-6 of the translation under DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS); and Figure 2b), in which the negative electrode includes the following structural features:
a lithium substrate (lithium metal base (110)) – see page 3 of translation and Figure 2b; and
a lithium compound (lithium sulfide (120)) formed on a surface and inside of the lithium substrate (110) – see page 3 of translation and Figure 2b.
Regarding claim 2, KR ‘357 discloses that the lithium compound (120) includes Li2S (see page 3 of translation).
Regarding claims 8-10, KR ‘357 discloses a lithium secondary battery (200) that includes a positive electrode (cathode (220)) that includes sulfur, the negative electrode (anode (210)) of claim 1, a separator (230), and an electrolyte solution, wherein the lithium secondary battery (200) is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (see the last full paragraph on page 3 of translation; and Figure 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102/103
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over KR 20170011357 A.
Regarding claim 3, KR ‘357 discloses that the lithium compound (lithium sulfide (120)) is contained in an amount between 1% to 50% by volume based on the total volume of the lithium electrode (see the paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3 of translation), wherein 1% to 50% by volume has substantial overlap with an amount between 0% and 30% by weight (see page 3 of translation). In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that optimization of the ranges of % by volume and % by weight would be advantageous for enhancing the effect of preventing lithium dendrites, thereby improving stability of the lithium secondary battery (see abstract of KR ‘357). With regard to the ranges of % by volume and % by weight of the lithium compound based on the total volume and the total weight of the lithium electrode, respectively, these ranges would be anticipated and/or obvious since these ranges would be readily contemplated by one of ordinary skill in the art. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the obviousness of the ranges of % by volume and % by weight in view of KR ‘357, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05. “In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, KR ‘357 discloses that the lithium substrate (110) would be thin as to optionally be in the form of a lithium foil (2), as shown in Figure 1 (see page 1 of translation under BACKGROUND-ART), wherein the lithium substrate (110) has a thickness of 1µm to 100 µm, which overlaps a large portion of the claimed range of 5µm to 500 µm. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that optimization of the range of thickness of the lithium substrate would be advantageous for enhancing the effect of preventing lithium dendrites, thereby improving stability of the lithium secondary battery (see abstract of KR ‘357). With regard to the range of thickness of the lithium substrate, this range would be anticipated and/or obvious since this range would be readily contemplated by one of ordinary skill in the art. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the obviousness of the range of thickness in view of KR ‘357, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05. “In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Conclusion
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 April 21, 2026