DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 20170011357 A, of which a copy of the Korean document with an English abstract was provided with the Information Disclosure Statement dated July 5, 2023, and with a machine translation provided with the restriction requirement mailed January 27, 2026, and further in view of WO 2021/172879 A1, of which a copy of the document with an English abstract was provided with the Information Disclosure Statement dated July 5, 2023, and with a machine translation provided with this Office Action.
Regarding independent claim 1, KR ‘357 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium secondary battery (abstract; pages 2-6 of the translation under DESCRIPTION-OF-EMBODIMENTS); and Figure 2b), in which the negative electrode includes the following structural features:
a lithium substrate (lithium metal base (110)) – see page 3 of translation and Figure 2b; and
a lithium compound (lithium sulfide (120)) formed inside of the lithium substrate (110) – see page 3 of translation and Figure 2b.
KR ‘357 fails to teach the new limitation that the lithium compound comprises at least one selected from LiNO3, LiF, LiCl, Li2CO3, and Li2O (absent of Li2S from cancelled claim 2).
However, WO ‘879 discloses a lithium metal-based negative electrode (see abstract; and pages 4 and 5 of translation under the heading DISCLOSURE TECH-PROBLEM), in which the lithium metal-based negative electrode includes a lithium nitride on the surface of the lithium substrate, in order to provide a protection layer on at least one surface of the lithium metal layer (see abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply a lithium compound or any variant related to lithium nitride of the lithium metal-based negative electrode, as taught by WO ‘879, onto the surface of the lithium substrate to replace the lithium sulfide disclosed by KR ‘357, in order to provide a protection layer on at least one surface of the lithium metal layer (WO ‘879; abstract; and pages 4 and 5 of translation under the heading DISCLOSURE TECH-PROBLEM). With regard to the types of lithium-containing materials that are suitable for use, it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Regarding claim 3, and in addition to the combined teachings of KR ‘357 and WO ‘879 disclosing/suggesting the limitations of independent claim 1, KR ‘357 discloses that the lithium compound is contained in an amount between 1% to 50% by volume based on the total volume of the lithium electrode (see the paragraph bridging pages 2 and 3 of translation), wherein 1% to 50% by volume has substantial overlap with an amount between 0% and 30% by weight (see page 3 of translation). In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that optimization of the ranges of % by volume and % by weight would be advantageous for enhancing the effect of preventing lithium dendrites, thereby improving stability of the lithium secondary battery (see abstract of KR ‘357). With regard to the ranges of % by volume and % by weight of the lithium compound based on the total volume and the total weight of the lithium electrode, respectively, these ranges would be anticipated and/or obvious since these ranges would be readily contemplated by one of ordinary skill in the art. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the obviousness of the ranges of % by volume and % by weight in view of KR ‘357, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05. “In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claims 4 and 5, and in addition to the combined teachings of KR ‘357 and WO ‘879 disclosing/suggesting the limitations of independent claim 1, KR ‘357 discloses that the lithium substrate (110) would be thin as to optionally be in the form of a lithium foil (2), as shown in Figure 1 (see page 1 of translation under BACKGROUND-ART), wherein the lithium substrate (110) has a thickness of 1µm to 100 µm, which overlaps a large portion of the claimed range of 5µm to 500 µm. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that optimization of the range of thickness of the lithium substrate would be advantageous for enhancing the effect of preventing lithium dendrites, thereby improving stability of the lithium secondary battery (see abstract of KR ‘357). With regard to the range of thickness of the lithium substrate, this range would be anticipated and/or obvious since this range would be readily contemplated by one of ordinary skill in the art. In this instance, one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the obviousness of the range of thickness in view of KR ‘357, as set forth in MPEP 2144.05. “In the case where claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Moreover, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to choose the instantly claimed ranges through process optimization, since it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. See In re Boesch, 205 USPQ 215 (1980).
Regarding claims 8-10, and in addition to the combined teachings of KR ‘357 and WO ‘879 disclosing/suggesting the limitations of independent claim 1, KR ‘357 discloses a lithium secondary battery (200) that includes a positive electrode (cathode (220)) that includes sulfur, the negative electrode (anode (210)) of claim 1, a separator (230), and an electrolyte solution, wherein the lithium secondary battery (200) is a lithium-sulfur secondary battery (see the last full paragraph on page 3 of translation; and Figure 4).
Response to Arguments
The examiner acknowledges the applicants’ amendment received by the USPTO on July 29, 2026. The amendment overcomes the prior objections to the abstract and specification. Although the applicants’ amendments to independent claim 1 overcome the prior 35 USC 102(a)(1) and 35 USC 102/103 rejections set forth in the non-final Office Action mailed April 30, 2026, a new 35 USC 103 rejection is provided for all claims of record in view of the new reference to Jung et al. (WO 2021/172879 A1). Claims 6 and 7 remain withdrawn from consideration as drawn to a non-elected invention. The applicants have cancelled claim 2. Claims 1, 3-5, and 8-10 are currently under consideration in the application.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to claims 1, 3-5, and 8-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection includes a new secondary reference to Jung et al. (WO 2021/172879 A1), as also provided in the newly underlined portions of the above 35 USC 103 rejection, and thus does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicants' amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEVIN P KERNS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1735 August 19, 2026