DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I in the reply filed on February 12, 2026 is acknowledged.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The use of the terms IRDye®, Higgins®, VEVO®, MSOT™, InVision™, which are a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 33, and 35 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pitner et al. (US 2020 0009272; cited on IDS filed July 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, Pitner discloses a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising at least one radiation-absorbing component comprising a metallobacteriochlorin (claim 1). Pitner discloses that the bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as copper (Cu) (¶ 80).
Regarding claim 2, Pitner discloses that the photoacoustic imaging contrast can comprise a plurality of different metallobacteriochlorins, each metallobacteriochlorin having a different absorption spectrum in the range of 650-1070 nm (claim 2). Pitner discloses that the bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu (¶ 80).
Regarding claim 3, Pitner discloses that (i) the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent can comprise at least three different metallobacteriochlorins; (ii) each metallobacteriochlorin can have an absorption spectrum with a peak absorption value in the range of 700-950 nm; and (iii) the at least three absorption spectra are substantially non-overlapping in the range of 700-950 nm (claim 3).
Regarding claim 33, Pitner discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient (claim 33).
Regarding claim 35, Pitner discloses a water soluble metallobacteriochlorin (FIG. 7). Pitner discloses that the metallobacteriochlorins can be used as contrast agents and solubilizing groups such as PEG chains can improve the biolabeling efficiency and bioconjugate stability (¶ 49).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 33, and 35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pitner et al. (US 2020 0009272; cited on IDS filed July 5, 2023) in view of Pucelik et al. (Coordination Chemistry Reviews, 2020; cited on IDS filed February 12, 2026).
Regarding claims 1-3, 33, and 35, see the discussion above. Regarding claim 1, Pitner discloses a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising at least one radiation-absorbing component comprising a metallobacteriochlorin (claim 1). Pitner discloses that the bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu (¶ 80). Regarding claim 2, Pitner discloses that the photoacoustic imaging contrast can comprise a plurality of different metallobacteriochlorins, each metallobacteriochlorin having a different absorption spectrum in the range of 650-1070 nm (claim 2). Pitner discloses that the bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu (¶ 80). Regarding claim 3, Pitner discloses that (i) the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent can comprise at least three different metallobacteriochlorins; (ii) each metallobacteriochlorin can have an absorption spectrum with a peak absorption value in the range of 700-950 nm; and (iii) the at least three absorption spectra are substantially non-overlapping in the range of 700-950 nm (claim 3). Regarding claim 33, Pitner discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient (claim 33). Regarding claim 35, Pitner discloses a water soluble metallobacteriochlorin (FIG. 7). Pitner discloses that the metallobacteriochlorins can be used as contrast agents and solubilizing groups such as PEG chains can improve the biolabeling efficiency and bioconjugate stability (¶ 49).
Regarding claim 4, Pitner discloses that iron (Fe) and/or cobalt (Co) metallobacteriochlorins can be used in addition to nickel (Ni) bacteriochlorins to enhance signals for photoacoustic imaging (¶ 48). As discussed above, Pitner further discloses that bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu (¶ 80). Pitner does not disclose the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising at least one Cu-complexed bacteriochlorin in combination with at least one additional metallobacteriochlorin complexed to manganese (Mn), zinc (Zn), Ni, Fe, or Co.
Pucelik discloses that metallobacteriochlorins can be complexed with various metals including Cu, Ni, Fe, and Co, and that the introduction of various metal ions enables tuning of optical and redox properties, which in turn determines their specific application (page 13, col.2 ¶ 2; page 14, Fig. 16 and Table 3; page 15, col. 2, ¶ 3; page 16, Fig. 19 and Table 5).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contrast agent of Pitner to include Cu-complexed bacteriochlorin in addition to bacteriochlorins complexed with other metals such as Ni, Fe, and Co in order to adjust optical and redox properties of the agent. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Pucelik teaches that metallobacteriochlorins can be complexed with various metals and that these metals ions determine the characteristics of the resulting contrast agent. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the combination of different metal-complexed metallobacteriochlorins based on the specific requirements of the intended application. Accordingly, applying the teaching of Pucelik to the contrast agent of Pitner constitutes no more than the predictable use of prior art elements according to their established functions, thus rendering claim 4 obvious.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-4, 33, and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 5 of U.S. Patent No. US 12,042,548 (cited on PTO-892) in view of Pitner et al. (US 2020 0009272; cited on IDS filed July 5, 2023) and Pucelik et al. (Coordination Chemistry Reviews, 2020; cited on IDS filed February 12, 2026).
Regarding claims 1 and 33, claim 1 of the ‘548 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient, wherein the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprises at least one radiation-absorbing component comprising a metallobacteriochlorin. The claims of the ‘548 does not disclose that the metallobacteriochlorin is complexed to Cu or Mn. As discussed above, Pitner discloses that bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu (¶ 80). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the metallobacteriochlorin of the ‘548 to be complexed with Cu. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make these modifications and reasonably would have expected success because Pitner teaches bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to select metal ions complexed with bacteriochlorins based on the specific requirements of the intended application.
Regarding claim 2, claim 5 of the ‘548 recites the contrast agent comprises a plurality of different metallobacteriochlorins, each metallobacteriochlorin having a different absorption spectrum in the range of 650-1070 nm.
Regarding claim 3, the claims of the ‘548 does not disclose that the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprises at least three different metallobacteriochlorin, each metallobacteriochlorin has an absorption spectrum with a peak absorption value in the range of 700-950 nm, wherein the spectra are non-overlapping. As discussed above, Pitner discloses that (i) the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent can comprise at least three different metallobacteriochlorins; (ii) each metallobacteriochlorin can have an absorption spectrum with a peak absorption value in the range of 700-950 nm; and (iii) the at least three absorption spectra are substantially non-overlapping in the range of 700-950 nm (claim 3). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent of the ‘548 by including three different metallobacteriochlorins having absorption spectrums in the range of 700-950 nm that do not overlap, as taught by Pitner, in order to improve the characteristics of the agents.
Regarding claim 4, the claims of the ‘548 does not disclose that the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising at least one Cu-complexed bacteriochlorin in combination with at least one additional metallobacteriochlorin complexed to Mn, Zn, Ni, Fe, or Co. As discussed above, Pitner discloses that Fe and/or Co metallobacteriochlorins can be used in addition to Ni bacteriochlorins to enhance signals for photoacoustic imaging (¶ 48). Pitner further discloses that bacteriochlorins can be complexed to metals such as Cu (¶ 80). Pucelik discloses that metallobacteriochlorins can be complexed with various metals including Cu, Ni, Fe, and Co, and that the introduction of various metal ions enables tuning of optical and redox properties, which in turn determines their specific application (page 13, col.2 ¶ 2; page 14, Fig. 16 and Table 3; page 15, col. 2, ¶ 3; page 16, Fig. 19 and Table 5). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contrast agent of the ‘548 to include Cu-complexed bacteriochlorin in addition to bacteriochlorins complexed with other metals such as Ni, Fe, and Co, as taught by Pitner and Pucelik, in order to adjust optical and redox properties of the agent. Further, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the combination of different metal-complexed metallobacteriochlorins based on the specific requirements of the intended application.
Regarding claim 35, the claims of the ‘548 does not disclose that the contrast agent is water soluble and can be PEGylated. As discussed above, Pitner discloses that the contrast agent comprising metallobacteriochlorin can be water soluble (FIG. 7) and that solubilizing groups such as PEG chains can improve the biolabeling efficiency and bioconjugate stability (¶ 49). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contrast agent of the ‘548 to be water soluble and PEGylated, as taught by Pitner, in order to improve the solubility and stability of the agent.
Claims 1-4, 33, and 35 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. US 11,904,026 (cited on PTO-892) in view of Pitner et al. (US 2020 0009272; cited on IDS filed July 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘026 recites a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising at least one radiation-absorbing component, wherein the at least one radiation-absorbing component comprises a metallobacteriochlorin, and metal is selected from the group consisting of Cu and Mn.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the ‘026 recites the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising a plurality of different metallobacteriochlorins, metallochlorins, or combinations thereof wherein each metallobacteriochlorin or metallochlorin has a different absorption spectrum in the range of 650-1070 nm and is complexed to Cu, Mn, Zn, Ni, Fe, or Co.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of the ‘026 recites the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent wherein (i) the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprises at least three different metallobacteriochlorins or metallochlorins; (ii) each metallobacteriochlorin or metallochlorin has an absorption spectrum with a peak absorption value in the range of 700-950 nm; and (iii) the at least three absorption spectra are substantially non-overlapping in the range of 700-950 nm.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the ‘026 recites the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent wherein the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprises at least one Cu-complexed bacteriochlorin and/or Cu-complexed chlorin, and at least one additional metallobacteriochlorin or metallochlorin complexed to a metal selected from the group consisting of Mn, Zn, Ni. Fe, and Co.
Regarding claim 33, claim 6 of the ‘026 recites a pharmaceutical composition comprising the photoacoustic image contrast agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient.
Regarding claim 35, the claims of the ‘026 does not disclose that the contrast agent is water soluble and can be PEGylated. As discussed above, Pitner discloses that the contrast agent comprising metallobacteriochlorin can be water soluble (FIG. 7) and that solubilizing groups such as PEG chains can improve the biolabeling efficiency and bioconjugate stability (¶ 49). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contrast agent of the ‘026 to be water soluble and PEGylated, as taught by Pitner, in order to improve the solubility and stability of the agent.
Claims 1-4, 33, and 35 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 18/581,223 (US 2025 0099629; cited on PTO-892) in view of Pitner et al. (US 2020 0009272; cited on IDS filed July 5, 2023).
Regarding claim 1, claim 1 of the ‘223 recites a photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising at least one radiation-absorbing component, wherein the at least one radiation-absorbing component comprises a metallobacteriochlorin, a metallochlorin, a derivative thereof, or any combination thereof, wherein the metallobacteriochlorin, the metallochlorin, or the derivative thereof is complexed to Cu and Mn.
Regarding claim 2, claim 2 of the ‘223 recites the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprising a plurality of different metallobacteriochlorins, metallochlorins, derivatives thereof, or combinations thereof, wherein each metallobacteriochlorin, metallochlorin, or derivative thereof has a different absorption spectrum in the range of 650-1070 nm and is complexed to Cu or Mn.
Regarding claim 3, claim 3 of the ‘223 recites the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent wherein (i) the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprises at least three different metallobacteriochlorins , metallochlorins, and/or derivatives thereof; (ii) each metallobacteriochlorin, metallochlorin, and/or derivative thereof has an absorption spectrum with a peak absorption value in the range of 700-950 nm; and (iii) the at least three absorption spectra are substantially non-overlapping in the range of 700-950 nm.
Regarding claim 4, claim 4 of the ‘223 recites the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent wherein the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent comprises at least one Cu-complexed bacteriochlorin, Cur-complexed chlorin, and/or derivative thereof, and at least one additional metallobacteriochlorin, metallochlorin, and/or derivative thereof complexed to a metal selected from the group consisting of Mn, Zn, Ni. Fe, and Co.
Regarding claim 33, the claims of the ‘223 does not disclose that a pharmaceutical composition comprising the photoacoustic image contrast agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient. As discussed above, Pitner discloses a pharmaceutical composition comprising the photoacoustic imaging contrast agent and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient (claim 33). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the contrast agent of the ‘223 to prepare a pharmaceutical composition with a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier, diluent, or excipient, as taught by Pitner, for pharmaceutical applications.
Regarding claim 35, the claims of the ‘223 does not disclose that the contrast agent is water soluble and can be PEGylated. As discussed above, Pitner discloses that the contrast agent comprising metallobacteriochlorin can be water soluble (FIG. 7) and that solubilizing groups such as PEG chains can improve the biolabeling efficiency and bioconjugate stability (¶ 49). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the contrast agent of the ‘223 to be water soluble and PEGylated, as taught by Pitner, in order to improve the solubility and stability of the agent.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
/JONG HWAN BAEK/Examiner, Art Unit 1618
/Michael G. Hartley/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1618