DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 05 July 2023 & 05 September 2023 have been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-4 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang et al. (KR 20120112114) in view of Gabrys (US 7,750,515).
Regarding claim 1, Jiang teaches a wheel motor structure comprising:
a stator 110 which is formed in a disc shape and in which a plurality of slots (not numbered) are disposed along a circumference of the stator, wherein wires (not shown) are wound in the plurality of slots;
a rotor 112 which is disposed to surround an outer side of the stator in a radial direction, of which a central axis is positioned collinearly with a central axis of the stator, and which is rotatably coupled with respect to the stator;
a left cover 106L coupled to one surface of the rotor to cover one surface of the stator;
a right cover 106R coupled to the other surface of the rotor to cover the other surface of the stator;
a coupling shaft (axle) 50 which passes through and is coupled to each of a central portion of the stator, a central portion of the left cover, and a central portion of the right cover; and
an oil seal 130L disposed in a space between the coupling shaft 50 and any one of the left cover and the right cover to seal the space…
wherein the rotor 112 includes a motor ring (rim) 102 formed in a ring shape and a wheel ring (not numbered) which is formed in a ring shape and of which an outer circumferential surface is tightly coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the motor ring 102 (Fig.3).
Jiang does not teach “heat radiating fins extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover.”
But, Gabrys teaches a motor-generator including a left and right cover (end plates) 43, 44 and heat radiating fins 124-125 & 126-127 extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover, to increase heat absorption and improve heat dissipation (c.7:61-c.8:5; Fig.5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Jiang’s left and right covers with heat radiating fins extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover since Gabrys teaches this would have increased heat absorption and improved heat dissipation.
Regarding claim 3, in Jiang a permanent magnet (not shown) is disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the wheel ring (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, in Jiang a plurality of permanent magnets are disposed along the inner circumferential surface of the wheel ring (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 9, in Jiang a harness which includes a plurality of wires 148 wired from the stator, passes through the coupling shaft, and extends in a direction away from the stator (Fig.1).
Claims 1, 3-7 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Huang et al. (CN 212518623) in view of Kinoshita et al. (US 5,789,833).
Regarding claim 1, Huang teaches a wheel motor structure comprising:
a stator 06 which is formed in a disc shape and in which a plurality of slots (not shown) are disposed along a circumference of the stator, wherein wires (coils) are wound in the plurality of slots (Fig.1);
a rotor 05 which is disposed to surround an outer side of the stator in a radial direction, of which a central axis is positioned collinearly with a central axis of the stator, and which is rotatably coupled with respect to the stator (Fig.1);
a left (first) cover 04 coupled to one surface of the rotor to cover one surface of the stator;
a right (second) cover 08 coupled to the other surface of the rotor to cover the other surface of the stator (Fig.1);
a coupling shaft 02 which passes through and is coupled to each of a central portion of the stator, a central portion of the left cover, and a central portion of the right cover (Fig.1); and
an oil seal (not numbered, in first end cover 04) disposed in a space between the coupling shaft 02 and any one of the left cover 04 and the right cover to seal the space (Fig.1),
wherein the rotor includes a motor ring 05 formed in a ring shape and a wheel ring (not numbered) which is formed in a ring shape and of which an outer circumferential surface is tightly coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the motor ring (Figs.1&21-22).
Huang does not teach “heat radiating fins extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover.”
But, Kinoshita teaches a motor including a left and right cover (bearing brackets) 22 and heat radiating/absorbing fins 21A/21B and 23A/23B extending in the radial direction formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover, to improve cooling (abstract; c.6:8-18 & c.6:33-50; Fig.1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide the left and right covers of Huang with heat radiating fins extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover since Kinoshita teaches this would have improved cooling.
Regarding claim 3, in Huang a permanent magnet (not shown) is disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the wheel ring (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 4, Huang does not explicitly teach a plurality of permanent magnets disposed along the inner circumferential surface of the wheel ring, but this would have been an obvious matter of duplicating parts of an invention.
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches a dust cap (oil seal protection cover) 03 coupled to any one of the left cover 04 and the right cover with the oil seal interposed therebetween and disposed to surround the oil seal (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches a through hole (not numbered) is formed in a portion of the dust cap 03 to allow a space between the dust cap and the oil seal to communicate with an outer space of the dust cap (Figs.5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches a gasket (sealing ring) 11 which is positioned between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, is tightly coupled to each of the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, and seals a space between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover (Figs.3&17-18).
Regarding claim 9, in Huang a harness which includes a plurality of wires (lead-out wire) 01 wired from the stator 06, passes through the coupling shaft 02, and extends in a direction away from the stator (Figs.1&4).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Jiang & Gabrys or Huang & Kinoshita as applied to claim 1, further in view of Yin (CN 105515244).
The combinations do not further teach the inner circumferential surface of the motor ring and the outer circumferential surface of the wheel ring are coupled in “a welding manner.”
But, Yin teaches a magnetic steel ring structure of a wheel hub 2 of an electric vehicle motor, comprising a magnetic steel ring 1 installed on the wheel hub where the magnetic steel ring and the wheel hub are fixedly connected by welding, to integrate parts, improve efficiency and reduce cost and product defect rate (English translation, pp.2-3; Figs.1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to couple the inner circumferential surface of the motor ring and the outer circumferential surface of the wheel ring of any of Jiang & Gabrys or Huang & Kinoshita by welding since Yin teaches this would have been desirable to integrate the parts, improve efficiency & reduce cost and product defect rate.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang & Kinoshita as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Akamatsu et al. (US Pat.Pub.2013/0307320).
The combination does not further teach a sealant applied on a periphery of the gasket.
But, Akamatsu teaches a in-wheel motor including a motor case body 22aa and a lid 22ab, with a sealing member formed by a gasket (e.g., O-ring 22e) provided between the case and the lid to provide sealing (¶[0015]; ¶[0038]; Fig.1). Further, the sealing member also comprises a sealant (liquid gasket) on the periphery as the sealing member (¶[0016]).
It would thus have been obvious before the effective filing date to apply a sealant on the periphery of the gasket of Huang & Kinoshita since Akamatsu teaches a sealant on a periphery would have provided sealing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over any of Jiang & Gabrys or Huang & Kinoshita as applied to claim 9, further in view of Bao (CN 201319539).
The combinations do not further teach a sealant is applied on a portion of the harness close to the coupling shaft.
But, Bao teaches an electric bicycle hub motor comprising a motor wiring harness 4 penetrates to the outside of the motor via a hole 12 in the motor coupling shaft 11, wherein a sealant (e.g., waterproof glue) is applied on a portion of the harness close to the coupling shaft to prevent external liquid from entering the motor interior (English translation, p.2; Fig.1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to apply a sealant on a portion of the harness close to the coupling shaft of Jiang & Gabrys or Huang & Kinoshita since Bao teaches this would have prevented external liquid from entering the motor interior.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834