DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 11 August 2026 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhou et al. (CN 202889042).
Regarding claim 1, Zhou teaches a wheel (hub) motor structure comprising:
a stator 2 which is formed in a disc shape 22 and in which a plurality of slots (not numbered) are disposed along a circumference of the stator, wherein wires (not numbered) are wound in the plurality of slots;
a rotor 3 which is disposed to surround an outer side of the stator 2 in a radial direction, of which a central axis is positioned collinearly with a central axis of the stator, and which is rotatably coupled with respect to the stator;
a left (first) cover 43 coupled to one surface of the rotor to cover one surface of the stator;
a right (right) cover 53 coupled to the other surface of the rotor to cover the other surface of the stator;
a disc brake 7 coupled to any one of the left cover 43 and the right cover such that the any one of the left cover and the right cover is interposed between the stator 2 and the disc brake 7;
a coupling shaft 1 which passes through and is coupled to each of a central portion of the stator 2, a central portion of the left cover 43, and a central portion of the right cover 53, and a central portion of the disc brake 7; and
an oil seal 42, 52 disposed in a space between the coupling shaft 1 and any one of the left cover 43 and the right cover 53 to seal the space, wherein the rotor includes a motor ring (collar/ring) 32 formed in a ring shape and a wheel ring (rotor) 31 which is formed in a ring shape and of which an outer circumferential surface is tightly coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the motor ring 32, and
heat radiating fins (ribs) 438, 538 extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover 43 and the right cover 53, each of the heat radiating fins having one end disposed adjacent to a through hole through which the coupling shaft 1 passes and being positioned inside the disc brake 7 in the radial direction (Figs.2&4).
Regarding claim 5, a dust cap (sealing wall) 434, 534 is coupled to any one of the left cover 43 and the right cover 53 with the oil seal interposed therebetween and disposed to surround the oil seal (Fig.4).
Regarding claim 9, a harness (lead) 65 which includes a plurality of wires wired from the stator passes through the coupling shaft 11, and extends in a direction away from the stator (Figs.1&4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7 & 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (US 6,278,216), Huang et al. (CN 212518623) & Zhu (CN 107154697).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches a wheel motor structure comprising:
a stator 4 which is formed in a disc shape and in which a plurality of slots (grooves) are disposed along a circumference of the stator, wherein wires (phase windings) are wound in the plurality of slots;
a rotor 3 which is disposed to surround an outer side of the stator in a radial direction, of which a central axis is positioned collinearly with a central axis of the stator, and which is rotatably coupled with respect to the stator;
a left cover (shell) 11’ coupled to one surface of the rotor to cover one surface of the stator;
a right cover 11 coupled to the other surface of the rotor to cover the other surface of the stator;
a disc brake 8 coupled to any one of the left cover 11’ and the right cover such that the any one of the left cover and the right cover is interposed between the stator and the disc brake;
a coupling shaft 2 which passes through and is coupled to each of a central portion of the stator 4, a central portion of the left cover 11’, and a central portion of the right cover 11, and a central portion of the disc brake 8…;
wherein the rotor 3 includes a motor ring (casing) 12 formed in a ring shape and a wheel (yoke) ring 31 which is formed in a ring shape and of which an outer circumferential surface is tightly coupled to an inner circumferential surface of the motor ring 12…; [and]
a through hole (not numbered) through which the coupling shaft 2 passes…” (Figs.1,4 & 13).
Li does not teach “an oil seal disposed in a space between the coupling shaft [2] and any one of the left cover [11’] and the right cover [11] to seal the space” or “heat radiating fins extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover [11’] and the right cover [11], each of the heat radiating fins having one end disposed adjacent to a through hole through which the coupling shaft [2] passes and being positioned inside the disc brake [8] in the radial direction.”
But, regarding the first difference, Huang teaches a wheel motor structure including an oil seal (not numbered) disposed in a space between a coupling shaft 02 and any one of the left cover and the right cover, adjacent bearings, to provide a sealed motor structure based on oil cooling (English translation, p.7; Fig.1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Li with an oil seal disposed in a space between the coupling shaft and any one of the left cover and the right cover to seal the space since Huang teaches this would have provided a sealed motor structure suitable for oil cooling.
Regarding the second difference, Zhu teaches a hub motor for an electric bicycle wheel including a housing comprising left and right covers (end caps) 40, 50 and heat radiating/absorbing fins (heat sinks/ribs) 43, 53 extending in the radial direction formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover, each of the heat radiating fins having one end disposed adjacent to a through hole through which a coupling shaft 10 passes, the ribs providing heat exchange and dissipation with the external environment (English translation, pp.4-5; Figs.1-3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Li & Huang with heat radiating fins extending in the radial direction are formed to protrude from both side surfaces of each of the left cover and the right cover, each of the heat radiating fins having one end disposed adjacent to a through hole through which the coupling shaft passes and being positioned inside the disc brake in the radial direction, since Zhu teaches this would have provided heat exchange and dissipation with the external environment.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches a permanent magnet 32 disposed on an inner circumferential surface of the wheel ring 31 (Figs.1&4).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches a plurality of permanent magnets 32 disposed along the inner circumferential surface of the wheel ring 31 (Figs.1&4).
Regarding claim 5, Huang teaches a dust cap (oil seal protection cover) 03 coupled to any one of the left cover 04 and the right cover with the oil seal interposed therebetween and disposed to surround the oil seal (Fig.1).
Regarding claim 6, Huang teaches a through hole (not numbered) formed in a portion of the dust cap 03 to allow a space between the dust cap and the oil seal to communicate with an outer space of the dust cap (Figs.5-6).
Regarding claim 7, Huang teaches a gasket (sealing ring) 11 which is positioned between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, is tightly coupled to each of the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, and seals a space between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover (Figs.3&17-18).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches a harness which includes a plurality of wires (not numbered, in grooves 21, 22) wired from the stator, passes through the coupling shaft 2, and extends in a direction away from the stator (Fig.1). Huang teaches a similar structure.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou or the combination of Li, Huang & Zhu as applied to claim 1, further in view of Yin (CN 105515244).
Neither Zhou nor the combination of Li, Huang & Zhu further teach the inner circumferential surface of the motor ring and the outer circumferential surface of the wheel ring are coupled in “a welding manner.”
But, Yin teaches a magnetic steel ring structure of a wheel hub 2 of an electric vehicle motor, comprising a magnetic steel ring 1 installed on the wheel hub where the magnetic steel ring and the wheel hub are fixedly connected by welding, to integrate parts, improve efficiency and reduce cost and product defect rate (English translation, pp.2-3; Figs.1-2).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to couple the inner circumferential surface of the motor ring and the outer circumferential surface of the wheel ring of Zhou or the combination of Li, Huang & Zhu by welding since Yin teaches this would have been desirable to integrate the parts, improve efficiency & reduce cost and product defect rate.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou as applied to claim 1, further in view of Huang.
Zhou does not further teach “a gasket which is positioned between the rotor [3] and any one of the left cover [43] and the right cover [53], is tightly coupled to each of the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, and seals a space between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover.”
But, Huang teaches a wheel motor structure comprising: a stator 06, a rotor 05, a left (first) cover 04 coupled to one surface of the rotor to cover one surface of the stator; a right (second) cover 08 coupled to the other surface of the rotor to cover the other surface of the stator (Fig.1); and a gasket (sealing ring) 11 which is positioned between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, is tightly coupled to each of the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, and seals a space between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover (Fig.3). Huang’s sealing ring provides sealing and improves waterproof performance of the motor (abstract, English translation p.5).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to provide Zhou with a gasket which is positioned between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, is tightly coupled to each of the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, and seals a space between the rotor and any one of the left cover and the right cover, since Huang teaches a sealing ring would have provided sealing and improved waterproof performance of the motor
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou & Huang or
Li, Huang & Zhu as applied to claim 7 above, further in view of Akamatsu et al. (US Pat.Pub.2013/0307320).
The combinations of Zhou & Huang or Li, Huang & Zhu do not further teach a sealant applied on a periphery of the gasket.
But, Akamatsu teaches an in-wheel motor including a motor case body 22aa and a lid 22ab, with a sealing member formed by a gasket (e.g., O-ring 22e) provided between the case and the lid to provide sealing (¶[0015]; ¶[0038]; Fig.1). Further, the sealing member also comprises a sealant (liquid gasket) on the periphery as the sealing member (¶[0016]).
It would thus have been obvious before the effective filing date to apply a sealant on the periphery of the gasket of Zhou & Huang or Li, Huang & Zhu since Akamatsu teaches a sealant on a periphery would have provided sealing.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhou or the combination of Li, Huang & Zhu as applied to claim 9, further in view of Bao (CN 201319539).
Neither Zhou nor the combination of Li, Huang & Zhu further teach a sealant is applied on a portion of the harness close to the coupling shaft.
But, Bao teaches an electric bicycle hub motor comprising a motor wiring harness 4 penetrates to the outside of the motor via a hole 12 in the motor coupling shaft 11, wherein a sealant (e.g., waterproof glue) is applied on a portion of the harness close to the coupling shaft to prevent external liquid from entering the motor interior (English translation, p.2; Fig.1).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date to apply a sealant on a portion of the harness close to the coupling shaft of Zhou or the combination of Li, Huang & Zhu since Bao teaches this would have prevented external liquid from entering the motor interior.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to amended claim 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BURTON S MULLINS whose telephone number is (571)272-2029. The examiner can normally be reached 9-5. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/BURTON S MULLINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834