DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Species 1A/1C, embodiment drawn to Figures 1 and 3, and Species 2A, embodiment drawn to Figure 7A, in the reply filed on 11/5/25 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)). The Examine respectfully agrees Species 1A and 1C should be combined, particularly in view of the drawings filed 11/5/25.
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species 1A/1C and Species 2A in the reply filed on 11/5/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 8, 9, 13-17, 19-22, 24, 26, and 27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 11/5/25. The examiner respectfully notes claims 8, 9, 13-17, 19-22, 24, 26, and 27 and directed to the non-elected subject matter of at least Species 1D-1G, embodiments having protective sleeves and corresponding to Figures 8, 9, 12, and 17A-17B, respectively.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Information Disclosure Statement
The accompanying information disclosure statement (IDS) submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the positive recitation of “a camera disposed within sensor base” may have been intended to read as “a camera disposed within the sensor base”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 5-7, 10, and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pandey et al. (7/5/25 IDS Foreign Patent cite No. B, WO 2020/044301 A1, hereinafter Pandey).
For claim 1, Pandey discloses an apparatus for conducting gynecological or proctological exams (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10), comprising inter alia:
a sensor base (1) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10) having a proximal end and a distal end (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10);
a light source (radial luminescence system) disposed within the sensor base (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10);
a camera (7) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10) disposed within sensor base (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10); and
a brush (5) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10) extending from the distal end of the sensor base and adapted to collect samples for testing (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10).
For claim 5, Pandey discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein light from the light source passes through an aperture in the brush (radial luminescence system illuminates through the apertures amongst bristles of brush 5) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10).
For claim 6, Pandey discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the brush is disposed on a brush head removably attached to the distal end of the sensor base (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10).
For claim 7, Pandey discloses the apparatus of claim 6, wherein the brush head is at least partly disposed over the light source and the camera (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10).
For claim 10, Pandey discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the camera is electronically connected to an output (6) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10) adapted to transmit images generated from the camera (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10).
For claim 12, Pandey discloses the apparatus of claim 1, in combination with a power source (power supply unit) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10) and a processor (processor of monitoring unit such as mobile, computer, smart TV) (Figs 1-2) (Pgs 9-10).
Conclusion
The cited prior art made of record on the accompanying PTO-892 and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, relating to means for configuring cell sampling brushes with visualization and illumination.
Jeffrey G. Hoekstra
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3791
/JEFFREY G. HOEKSTRA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791