DETAILED ACTION
Examiner acknowledges receipt of Applicant’s Request for Continued Examination (RCE) filed 12/22/2025.
In the RCE, Applicant amended claims 1, 2, 5, 6, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17, 21, and 23.
Claims 1, 2, 5-13, and 16-23 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see page 23, filed 9/19/2025, with respect to the objections to the specification but they are not persuasive. Specifically, it appears that the amendment to the specification removes some, but not all, of the instances of “Error! Reference source not found”. For example, in the amendments to the Specification filed 9/19/2025, lines 5-6 of [0052] replaced “Error! Reference source not found” with “Error! Reference source not found”. Similar errors are found in [0055], for example. Further, [0057] appears to have introduced additional instances of “Error! Reference source not found”, in addition to replacing existing instances with the same language.
Examiner has fully considered Applicant's arguments, see pages 9-11, filed 12/22/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 and 35 U.S.C. 103 but they are not persuasive.
In particular, Applicant asserts that Jung ’442 does not disclose the new limitation of “identifying, by the UE, one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states based on a TCI state used for receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying the single DCI”. Applicant argues that Jung ’442 discloses a QCL relationship between the PDCCH and PDSCH based on predefined rules.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. First, as noted below, the support for this limitation in the original disclosure is unclear. Second, the limitation requires identifying one of the TCI states based on a TCI state used for receiving a PDCCH carrying the DCI. Jung ’442 discloses this in in [0442], for example, which indicates that when at least one symbol of the first PDSCH is within timeDurationForQCL of the PDCCH/DCI, a default spatial QCL is applied instead of the first TCI state. This default special QCL is the QCL parameter used to receive the PDCCH. As indicated throughout, the QCL parameters that comprise the default spatial QCL are TCI states. That is, the TCI states comprise QCL parameters – see [0265] “the QCL parameters…of the TCI states”. Thus, the UE identifies a TCI state among the plurality of TCI states (the first TCI state) based on the QCL parameters/TCI state used for receiving the PDCCH.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
At the end of [0052] of the specification, a reference to a table/figure/document shows the following error message “Error! Reference source not found.”. The same error occurs in a total of 32 locations in the specification (see [0055], [0057], etc.). These errors should be corrected.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1, 2, 5-13, and 16-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement.
The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 23: the support for the new limitation “identifying, by the UE, one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states based on a TCI state used for receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying the single DCI” in the original disclosure is unclear.
Claims 2, 5-11, 13, and 16-22 depend from one of the above claims and are thus similarly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) as including new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11-13, 16-20, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jung ’442 et al (US 2021/0321442).
Regarding claim 1: Jung ’442 discloses a method of enhancing spatial coverage for user equipment (UE) for 5G New Radio (NR) from 52.6 GHz and above, the method comprising:
receiving, by the UE, a single Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) (disclosed throughout; see Figure 16 and [0437], for example, which illustrate a plurality of TCI states (#1, #2, #3, and #4) received via a DCI; these TCI states correspond one-to-one to (and the DCI is scheduling) the first through fourth PDSCHs);
determining, by the UE, a plurality of Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states based on the single DCI (disclosed throughout; see Figure 16 and [0437], for example, which illustrate a plurality of TCI states (#1, #2, #3, and #4) received via a DCI),
wherein the plurality of TCI states corresponds one-to-one to the plurality of scheduled PDSCHs (disclosed throughout; see [0437], which indicate that these TCI states correspond one-to-one to the first through fourth PDSCHs);
identifying, by the UE, one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states based on a TCI state used for receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying the single DCI (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0442], for example, when at least one symbol of the first PDSCH is within timeDurationForQCL of the PDCCH/DCI, a default spatial QCL is applied instead of the first TCI state; this default special QCL is the QCL parameter used to receive the PDCCH; as indicated throughout, the QCL parameters that comprise the default spatial QCL are TCI states; that is, the TCI states comprise QCL parameters; see [0265] “the QCL parameters…of the TCI states”; thus, the UE identifies a TCI state among the plurality of TCI states (the first TCI state) based on the QCL parameters/TCI state used for receiving the PDCCH);
wherein the PDCCH and at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs are associated with a same Quasi-CoLocation (QCL) information (disclosed throughout; see [0241]-[0242], for example, which discloses that the same QCL may be associated with the PDCCH and at least one PDSCH); and
performing, by the UE, channel estimation based on the plurality of TCI states (disclosed throughout; see [0182], for example, which discloses that the UE performs channel estimation based on these TCI states).
Regarding claim 12: Jung ’442 discloses an apparatus, the apparatus being a User Equipment (UE) comprising a processor (see processor 21-05 of Figure 22, for example), communications circuitry (see receiver 21-00 and transmitter 21-10 of Figure 22, for example), and a memory comprising instructions which, when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to (see [0617]-[0622], for example):
receive a single Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) (disclosed throughout; see Figure 16 and [0437], for example, which illustrate a plurality of TCI states (#1, #2, #3, and #4) received via a DCI; these TCI states correspond one-to-one to (and the DCI is scheduling) the first through fourth PDSCHs);
determine a plurality of Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states based on the single DCI (disclosed throughout; see Figure 16 and [0437], for example, which illustrate a plurality of TCI states (#1, #2, #3, and #4) received via a DCI),
wherein the plurality of TCI states corresponds one-to-one to the plurality of scheduled PDSCHs (disclosed throughout; see [0437], which indicate that these TCI states correspond one-to-one to the first through fourth PDSCHs);
identify one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states based on a TCI state used for receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying the single DCI (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0442], for example, when at least one symbol of the first PDSCH is within timeDurationForQCL of the PDCCH/DCI, a default spatial QCL is applied instead of the first TCI state; this default special QCL is the QCL parameter used to receive the PDCCH; as indicated throughout, the QCL parameters that comprise the default spatial QCL are TCI states; that is, the TCI states comprise QCL parameters; see [0265] “the QCL parameters…of the TCI states”; thus, the UE identifies a TCI state among the plurality of TCI states (the first TCI state) based on the QCL parameters/TCI state used for receiving the PDCCH);
wherein the PDCCH and at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs are associated with a same Quasi-CoLocation (QCL) information (disclosed throughout; see [0241]-[0242], for example, which discloses that the same QCL may be associated with the PDCCH and at least one PDSCH); and
perform channel estimation based on the plurality of TCI states (disclosed throughout; see [0182], for example, which discloses that the UE performs channel estimation based on these TCI states).
Regarding claims 2 and 13: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations that the plurality of TCI states are determined for a multi-Transmission and Reception Point (TRP) environment (disclosed throughout; see [0417], for example, which discloses that the TCI states are received in a system where “a plurality of TRPs transmit a plurality of PDSCHs to a specific UE”).
Regarding claims 5 and 16: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations of determining, by the UE based on a time offset between a reception of the single DCI and a reception of a PDSCH of the plurality of scheduled PDSCHs being equal to or greater than a threshold, that a first Demodulation Multiplexing Reference Signal (DM-RS) port of the PDSCH and a second DM-RS port of the PDCCH are Quasi-CoLocated with one or more reference signals (RSs) in the plurality of TCI states (disclosed throughout; see [0241]-[0242], for example, which discloses that when the scheduling timing offset between the PDCCH (which includes the DCI) and the PDSCH is greater than a threshold (timeDurationForQCL), the PDSCH and corresponding PDSCH DMRS port use the same QCL assumption).
Regarding claims 6 and 17: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations of determining, by the UE based on a time offset between a reception of the single DCI and a reception of a PDSCH of the plurality of scheduled PDSCHs being less than a threshold, that a Demodulation Multiplexing Reference Signal (DM-RS) port of the PDSCH is quasi co-located (QCLed) with a DM-RS port of the current received single DCI or a DM-RS Port of a current TCI state (disclosed throughout; see [0240], for example, which discloses that when the scheduling timing offset between the PDCCH (which includes the DCI) and the PDSCH is less than a threshold (timeDurationForQCL), the UE determines that DMRS port of the PDSCH using a QCL parameter associated with the current received DCI (the latest slot)).
Regarding claims 7 and 18: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations of enabling beam refinement or multi-beam reception based on one or more Channel State Information-Reference Signal (CSI-RS) reports (disclosed throughout; see at least [0108], which discloses that the beam management (refinement) is based on CSI-RS reporting).
Regarding claims 8 and 19: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations that a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB), a common control resource set (CORESET), and a channel state information-reference signal/tracking reference signal (CSI-RS/TRS) have a matching subcarrier spacing (SCS) (disclosed throughout; see [0383], for example, which discloses that the “multi-TRPs may include the same SCS” and the “multi-TRPs for NC-JT may have the same SSB carrier”; further, see [0524], for example, which indicates that the TRPs are configured with an SSB, CORESET and CSI-RS index; these TRPs thus have an SSB, CORESET, and CSI-RS with a matching SCS).
Regarding claims 9 and 20: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations that a non-zero-power channel state information - reference signal / tracking reference signal (CSI-RS/TRS) is transmitted with a paging channel in a paging monitoring occasion and the CSI-RS/TRS is quasi co-located (QCLed) with a synchronization signal/physical broadcast channel block (SSB) and a Demodulation Multiplexing Reference Signal (DM-RS) port of the PDCCH and the plurality of scheduled PDSCHs (disclosed throughout; for example, Jung ’442 discloses a CSI-RS (such as an NZP CSI-RS indicated in Table A-1) is QCLed with an SSB (the SS PBCH blocks in [0091], for example (“tci-StatesPDCCH (simply referred to as a transmission configuration indicator (TCI) state) field may include one or more synchronization signal (Ss)/physical broadcast channel (PBCH) blocks quasi co-located (QCLed) with the demodulation reference signal (DMRS) transmitted in the corresponding control region or the indexes of channel state information reference signals (CSI-RSs)”); further, Jung ’442 discloses in [0368] that “the UE applies the QCL assumption indicated by the TCI field in the PDCCH (or DCI) to the PDSCH DMRS port”; See also [0241]-[0242], for example).
Regarding claims 11 and 22: Jung ’442 discloses the limitations of determining a beam failure detection based on an aperiodic channel state information-reference signal (CSI-RS) (disclosed throughout; see [0514], for example, which discloses that the CSI-RSs for beam failure detection may include aperiodic CSI-RSs).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jung ’442 et al (US 2021/0321442) in view of Jung ’754 et al (US 2023/0319754).
Regarding claim 23: Jung ’442 discloses an apparatus, the apparatus being a next generation Node B (gNB) comprising:
a processor (see processor 22-05 of Figure 23, for example),
communications circuitry (see receiver 21-00 and transmitter 21-10 of Figure 22, for example), and
a memory comprising instructions which, when executed by the processor cause the apparatus to (see [0624]-[0627], for example):
transmit to another apparatus. a single Downlink Control Information (DCI) scheduling a plurality of Physical Downlink Shared Channels (PDSCHs) (disclosed throughout; see Figure 16 and [0437], for example, which illustrate a plurality of TCI states (#1, #2, #3, and #4) received via a DCI; these TCI states correspond one-to-one to (and the DCI is scheduling) the first through fourth PDSCHs), so as to enable the other apparatus to:
determine a plurality of Transmission Configuration Indication (TCI) states (disclosed throughout; see Figure 16 and [0437], for example, which illustrate a plurality of TCI states (#1, #2, #3, and #4) received via a DCI),
identify one TCI state among the plurality of TCI states based on a TCI state used for receiving a Physical Downlink Control Channel (PDCCH) carrying the single DCI (disclosed throughout; as indicated in [0442], for example, when at least one symbol of the first PDSCH is within timeDurationForQCL of the PDCCH/DCI, a default spatial QCL is applied instead of the first TCI state; this default special QCL is the QCL parameter used to receive the PDCCH; as indicated throughout, the QCL parameters that comprise the default spatial QCL are TCI states; that is, the TCI states comprise QCL parameters; see [0265] “the QCL parameters…of the TCI states”; thus, the UE identifies a TCI state among the plurality of TCI states (the first TCI state) based on the QCL parameters/TCI state used for receiving the PDCCH),
wherein the PDCCH and at least one of the plurality of PDSCHs are associated with a same Quasi-CoLocation (QCL) information (disclosed throughout; see [0241]-[0242], for example, which discloses that the same QCL may be associated with the PDCCH and at least one PDSCH), and
perform channel estimation based on the plurality of TCI states (disclosed throughout; see [0182], for example, which discloses that the UE performs channel estimation based on these TCI states).
Jung ’442 does not explicitly disclose the limitation of transmit a paging message, wherein a scheduling request (SR) procedure is initiated based on the paging message. However, Jung ’754 discloses transmitting a paging message to a UE that initiates a SR procedure (the transmission of an SR by the UE). For example, see [0163], for example, which states that the “UE can request the RAN and CN to stop paging upon receiving a paging message by responding with a SR that includes a stop paging indication”. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Jung ’442 to transmit a paging message that initiates an SR procedure. The rationale for doing so would have been to enable the UE to request that the paging stop when the paging is not required by the UE as suggested by Jung ’754.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Robert C. Scheibel
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/Robert C Scheibel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467 February 12, 2026