DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities: Both claims 1 and 20 comprise more than 1 sentence. The second to last line of the claims comprises 1 period along with the last line of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 11-19, the Office points outs that the applicant does not provide any information on how the different values are obtained. The Office points out that the depending on the method used to measure HOMO and LUMO and triplet energy the obtained value can be different and under one method that compounds could meet the applicant’s claimed energy limitations, but under a method that values would not. It has been shown in the prior art that the method used can have a significant effect on the HOMO and LUMO value of a compound.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 14, 16, and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shiomi et al. (WO 2020/235558), where Shiomi et al. (US 2022/0238815) (hereafter “Shiomi”) is used as the English equivalent.
Regarding claims 1, 3-7, 9, 14, 11, 16, and 18-20, Shiomi teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer (25 nm thick), a hole blocking layer (10 nm thick), an electron transporting layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0638]-[0647]) (claims 1, 16, and 20). Shiomi teaches that the light emitting layer is composed of a host material, a TADF material, and a fluorescent dopant (paragraph [0642]) (claims 1 and 20). Shiomi teaches that the host material has the following structure,
or
, which inherently meets the applicant’s HOMO and LUMO limitations (paragraphs [0634], [0642], and [0662]) (claims 3-5 and 11). Shiomi teaches that the host material can also be the following materials,
,
, and
(paragraph [0143]) (claims 6 and 11, compounds A-10, A-11, and A-12). Shiomi teaches that the hole blocking layer is composed of
, which is similar to applicant’s compound H-5, and the hole blocking material of Shiomi would inherently have an electron migration rate of not less than 5 x 10-6 cm2/Vs (paragraphs [0636] and [0643]) (claims 7, 9, and 14). The structure of the hole blocking layer and the electron transporting layer would inherently meet the applicant’s claims electron migration rate limitation between the two layers (claims [0643] and [0644]) (claim 18). The device of Shiomi comprising the hole blocking layer, electron transporting layer (applicant’s first electron transfer layer), and electron injection layer (applicant’s second transfer layer) meet the applicant’s claimed triplet energy relationship (paragraphs [0643]-[0645]) (claim 19).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiomi et al. (WO 2020/235558), where Shiomi et al. (US 2022/0238815) (hereafter “Shiomi”) is used as the English equivalent, as applied to claims 1, 3-7, 9, 11, 14, 16, and 18-20 above, and further in view of Suh et al. (US 2019/0296243) (hereafter “Suh”).
Regarding claims 2, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, and 17, Shiomi does not limit the material of the hole blocking layer or the electron transporting layer (paragraph [0349] and [0543]).
Shiomi does not specifically teach where the hole blocking layer is composed of one of the applicant’s claimed invention or where electron transporting layer meets applicant’s formula 2.
Suh teaches an electroluminescent device comprising a hole blocking layer and an electron transporting layer (paragraph [0156]-[0167]). Suh teaches that the electron transporting layer can be composed of
(same as applicant’s compound H-9) and when this compound is used instead of ET-A (same as the electron transporting material of Shiomi that device has improved efficiency (paragraphs [0151]-[0160]) (claim 2). Suh also teaches that the hole blocking layer can be composed of spirobifluorene compounds, such as
,
, or
(same as applicant’s compounds H-21, H-20, and H-19) (paragraphs [0091] and [0162]-[0167]) (claims 8 and 10). Suh teaches that using these compounds as hole blocking materials leads to increases in device efficiency (paragraph [0166]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Shiomi, so the hole blocking layer is compounds of
,
, or
, and the electron transporting layer is composed of
as taught by Suh. The motivation would have been to improve efficiency of the device. This would lead to a device where the hole blocking layer and the light emitting layer electronic properties would inherently meet the applicant’s claimed invention (claims 12, 13, 15 and 17).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Shiomi et al. (US 2024/0188428) teaches host materials that meet the applicant’s claimed formula.
Cha et al. (US 2021/0050528) teaches triazine compounds for use in electroluminescent device.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759