DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/20/2023, 7/11/2025 and 3/9/2026 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
5. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2010/0159253 A1) to Kirby et al. (hereinafter Kirby).
Kirby is directed toward environmental barrier coatings. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0010] that the barrier coatings have a CMAS mitigation property. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0022] that the EBC layer may comprise a bond coat layer. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0010] that the outer layer coating provides CMAS protection of an AB2O4 material such as at least one of ZnAl2O4. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0030] that the EBC layer may comprise a mullite. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0027] that the EBC may comprise a mixture of mullite and BSAS. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0022] that the bond coat may contain a titanium silicide. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0033] that the substrate may comprise silicon carbide. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0006] that the outer CMAS layer may be from 0.1 mils to 40 mils (2.54 to 1016 microns) that reads on Applicants range of 10 to 2000 microns. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0006] that the EBC layer and bond coat layer may be 0.1 to 6 mils (2.54 to 154 microns) that reads on Applicants range of 10 to 1000 microns and 2 to 500 microns respectively. Kirby discloses each and every element of claims 1-8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2010/0159253 A1) to Kirby et al. (hereinafter Kirby).
Kirby is directed toward environmental barrier coatings. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0010] that the barrier coatings have a CMAS mitigation property. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0022] that the EBC layer may comprise a bond coat layer. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0010] that the outer layer coating provides CMAS protection of an AB2O4 material such as at least one of ZnAl2O4. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0030] that the EBC layer may comprise a mullite. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0027] that the EBC may comprise a mixture of mullite and BSAS. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0022] that the bond coat may contain a titanium silicide. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0033] that the substrate may comprise silicon carbide. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0006] that the outer CMAS layer may be from 0.1 mils to 40 mils (2.54 to 1016 microns) that reads on Applicants range of 10 to 2000 microns. Kirby discloses at paragraph [0006] that the EBC layer and bond coat layer may be 0.1 to 6 mils (2.54 to 154 microns) that reads on Applicants range of 10 to 1000 microns and 2 to 500 microns respectively.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the filing of the disclosure of Kirby to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 1-8.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766