Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s “Response to Amendment and Reconsideration” filed on 2/18/2026 has been considered.
Claims 1-6 and 9 are cancelled.
Claims 7-8, 10 are pending in this application and an action on the merits follows.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kerchner (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0054390).
Regarding claim 10, Kerchner teaches a product information processing apparatus being used in a store where a product is purchased, and performing purchase processing of a product, the product information processing apparatus comprising an input/output unit that is oriented upward, and performs at least one of input and output of information relating to a product, wherein the input/output unit includes an input/output face on which the at least one of input and output of information is performed that is oriented upward, (a vertically disposed housing portion 1018 which can project from one end of the horizontally-disposed housing portion in a substantially orthogonal manner, [23]. See Fig. 7 horizontal scanner window 1018 facing upward).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kerchner (U.S. Patent Publication No. 2013/0054390), in view of Levie et.al. (U.S. Patent No. 6,065,679).
Regarding claim 7, Kerchner teaches a plurality of input/output areas being provided in order to perform at least one of input and output of information relating to a product, an opening through which the information relating to the product is output, (See Fig. 7..the horizontal scanning window 1018 positioned on the upper surface of the checkout workstation… EIR terminal 100 can be incorporated into a point-of-sale workstation used by retailers to process purchase transactions involving products bearing decodable indicia, e.g., a UPC symbol, as shown in FIG. 7. The point-of-sale workstation 1010 can include a horizontal countertop 1012 for placement of products to be scanned. EIR terminal 100 provided by a bi-optic scanner 1014 can be mounted within the countertop 1012. The bi-optic scanner 1014 can include a horizontally-disposed housing portion 1016 and a vertically disposed housing portion 1018 which can project from one end of the horizontally-disposed housing portion in a substantially orthogonal manner, [23].
Kerchner does not explicitly teach, however, Levie teaches an arrangement area being provided associated with each of the plurality of input/output areas; and for arranging on which an input/output unit that performs at least one of input and output of information relating to the product via the input/output area is configured to be arranged, wherein the input/output unit is included in at least one of the arrangement areas; covering unit that covers each input/output area associated with each arrangement area in which the input/output is not provided, (the housing of the communications module 100 preferably defines an open-ended slot 106 (I/O area) sized to receive a printer module 108 (arrangement area and I/O unit). The slot 106 is formed between a top portion of the housing and the bottom of the core unit 30. A printer connector 110 is located at an interior end of the slot 106 for providing an electrical connection between the communications module 100 and the printer module. When the printer module is not in use, the slot 106 is preferably enclosed by a plug member 112 (covering unit) that snaps within the slot 106 as shown in FIG. 4.), Col.6 ln 29-39.
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the multiple product information I/O areas though by Kerchner, to include the modular terminal and cover structure of Levie, in order for I/O interfaces to be selectively installed, removed, upgraded depending on merchant requirements, while maintaining usable terminal configuration when a particular interface is not present, (Col.1 ln 10-25).
Regarding claim 8, Kerchner teaches the product information processing apparatus includes a plurality of faces, and at least two of the plurality of input/output areas are provided on mutually different faces, (see 1018, 1024, Fig. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MILENA RACIC/Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627
/FLORIAN M ZEENDER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3627