DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the RCE filed on 6/18/26.
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-8, 10-11, 17, 19, 23-24 was/were amended.
Claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-11, 14, 16-19, 23-24 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, 19, 23 & 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, US 2021/0314783 Al, in view of Meng, US 2023/0135270 A1.
As to claim 1, Yoo teaches a method performed by a central unit of a base station, the method comprising:
sending, to a distributed unit of the base station, via a F1 interface for connecting the central unit and the distributed unit, a request message for requesting the distributed unit to send a measurement result for at least one of a cell or a beam, wherein the distributed unit is configured to serve a user equipment (UE) (Yoo, page 5, paragraph 130; page 6, paragraph 153; page 7, paragraph 155; page 10, paragraph 171; i.e., [0153] The CU 810 and the DU 820 may exchange necessary information through an Fl interface; [0155] the base station may receive a measurement report on the carrier. The base station may select an SpCell and an S Cell based on the measurement report; [0171] deployment information may be transmitted to the CU by the DU through an Fl interface between the CU and the DU. The IE relating to the cell deployment information may be included in the Fl SETUP REQUEST message and transmitted. The DU configuration update message may include configuration information (e.g., a served cell information IE) relating to a cell in the DU);
receiving from the distributed unit, via the F1 interface, a response message sent in response to the request message, wherein the response message includes the measurement result for the at least one of the cell or the beam (Yoo, page 6, paragraph 153; page 10, paragraph 171 & 173; i.e., [0153] The CU 810 and the DU 820 may exchange necessary information through an Fl interface; [0171] As described in the above example, the cell deployment information may be transmitted to the CU by the DU through an Fl interface between the CU and the DU. the Fl SETUP REQUEST message and transmitted. The DU configuration update message may include configuration information (e.g., a served cell information IE) relating to a cell in the DU; [0173] the base station may receive a measurement report. The base station may select a PCell or a PSCell based on the measurement report).
But Yoo failed to teach the claim limitation wherein sending to the distributed unit, via the F1 interface, a configuration update message including information associated with the F1 interface, wherein the information includes at least a list of at least one cell which is affected by interference, and a list of at least one beam which is affected by interference.
However, Meng teaches the limitation wherein sending to the distributed unit, via the F1 interface, a configuration update message including information associated with the F1 interface, wherein the information includes at least a list of at least one cell which is affected by interference, and a list of at least one beam which is affected by interference (Meng, page 6, paragraph 61 & 63; i.e., [0061] The network discovery information may be reported as a list of interfering cell IDs and corresponding interference levels. After the transmission pattern is determined, the first device 410 transmits 515 a first message indicative of the transmission pattern to each of the second device; [0063] the information about carrier sensing may be provided by the second device 420 via the Fl interface).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo to substitute TSN from Meng for real time service from Yoo to support the TSC in the 5G unlicensed spectrum (Meng, page 1, paragraph 3).
As to claim 2, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the measurement result includes uplink (UL) communication measurements (Yoo, page 12, paragraph 197; i.e., [0197] the communication unit 1210 may transmit an uplink signal. The uplink signal may include a random access-related signal (e.g., a random-access preamble (RAP) (or messages)).
As to claim 9, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1,wherein the sending the request message is performed in response to receiving a UE measurementYoo, page 10, paragraph 173; i.e., [0173] the base station may receive a measurement report. The base station may select a PCell or a PSCell based on the measurement report).
Claim(s) 19, 23 & 24 is/are directed to a method and system claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 19, 23 & 24 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, US 2021/0314783 Al, in view of Meng, US 2023/0135270 A1, and further in view of Singh, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 2019/0386759 A1.
As to claim 16, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein sending at least one of: a list of at least one cell which is affected by interference: and at least one recommended action to a respective central unit of at least one other base station over an Inter- base station interface, in a case where it is determined that interference in cells under control of the at least one other base
However, Singh teaches the limitation wherein sending at least one of: a list of at least one cell which is affected by interference: and at least one recommended action to a respective central unit of at least one other base station over an Inter- base station interface, in a case where it is determined that interference in cells under control of the at least one other base (Singh, page 7, paragraph 62; i.e., [0062] response to these queries includes the list of all the interference sources detected in the specified filters. In some variations, the output engine 170 optionally determines and outputs one or more recommended corrective actions for mitigating the interference as part of the provided analysis output).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute MME from Singh for RAT from Yoo-Meng to reduce expensive, time-consuming, inefficient (Singh, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 17, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein using the measurement result to generate at least one of: a list of UEs for which handover is recommended, a list of cells/beams that require capacity improvement and, a list of potential interference source cells/beams.
However, Singh teaches the limitation wherein using the current measurement data to generate at least one of: a list of UEs for which handover is recommended, a list of cells/beams that require capacity improvement; and, a list of potential interference source cells/beams (Singh, page 7, paragraph 64; i.e., [0064] an interference analysis dashboard of interference events, a root cause or root causes for the event, and corrective actions for mitigating the interference taken and/or recommended).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute MME from Singh for RAT from Yoo-Meng to reduce expensive, time-consuming, inefficient (Singh, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 18, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 17. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein: sending, to the distributed unit, recommendation data indicating at least one recommended action to be taken by the distributed unit to reduce interference levels; and receiving, from the distributed unit, action data indicating action taken by the distributed unit in response to the recommendation data.
However, Singh teaches the limitation wherein sending, to the distributed unit, recommendation data indicating at least one recommended action to be taken by the distributed unit to reduce interference levels; and receiving, from the distributed unit, action data indicating action taken by the distributed unit in response to the recommendation data (Singh, page 10, paragraph 97; i.e., [0097] control the mobile network to change operation to reduce impact of interference. In some implementations, control parameters can include radio transmitter power level parameters. In a first example, if extremal interference is impacting a base station, the base station's radio transmission power level is increased. In a second example, if internal interference (caused by an infrastructure element) is impacting a base station, the infrastructure element causing the interference can be reconfigured to reduce the impact of the interference).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute MME from Singh for RAT from Yoo-Meng to reduce expensive, time-consuming, inefficient (Singh, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 4, 6 & 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 11,665,720 B2 in view of Meng, US 2023/0135270 A1, and further in view of Lei, US 2015/0111575 A1 .
As to claim 4, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first message includes a resource status request message, and wherein the response message includes a resource status update message sent in response to the resource status request message.
However, Lei teaches the limitation wherein the first message includes a resource status request message, and wherein the response message includes a resource status update message sent in response to the resource status request message (Lei, figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute SON from Lei for enhanced base station from Yoo-Meng to meet the demands of higher traffic, conventional systems employ traffic steering mechanisms that offload mobile traffic from a first cell to an overlapping second cell (Lei, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 6, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the request message includes a bitmap including at least one bit indicating to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement result.
However, Lei teaches the limitation wherein the request message includes a bitmap including at least one bit indicating to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement result (Lei, page 5, paragraph 42; i.e., [0042] cell user occupancy indicator can be included as a bit (e.g., sixth bit) in a bitmap provided in the request).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute SON from Lei for enhanced base station from Yoo-Meng to meet the demands of higher traffic, conventional systems employ traffic steering mechanisms that offload mobile traffic from a first cell to an overlapping second cell (Lei, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 14, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein from the distributed unit, a configuration update acknowledgement message indicating at least one action taken by the distributed unit in response to the configuration update message.
However, Lei teaches the limitation wherein from the distributed unit, a configuration update acknowledgement message indicating at least one action taken by the distributed unit in response to the configuration update message (Lei, figure 5).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute SON from Lei for enhanced base station from Yoo-Meng to meet the demands of higher traffic, conventional systems employ traffic steering mechanisms that offload mobile traffic from a first cell to an overlapping second cell (Lei, page 1, paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, US 2021/0314783 Al, in view of Meng, US 2023/0135270 A1, and further in view of Farag, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 11,665,720 B2.
As to claim 10, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation further comprising using the current measurement data to determine an overall interference level in at least one of each cell and/or beam currently under control of the distributed unit.
However, Farag teaches the limitation wherein using the current measurement data to determine an overall interference level in at least one of each cell and/or beam currently under control of the distributed unit (Farag, col 20, lines 9-45; i.e., TCI-state having a level-I CSI-RS as a source RS. These narrower beams can be considered level-2 beams).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute transport channels from Farag for new radio from Yoo-Meng to provide beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications (Farag, col 1, lines 30-33).
As to claim 11, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation further comprising determining an overall interference level in at least one of one or more neighboring cells or beams.
However, Farag teaches the limitation wherein using the current measurement data to determine an overall interference level in at least one of each cell and/or beam currently under control of the distributed unit (Farag, col 20, lines 9-45; i.e., TCI-state having a level-I CSI-RS as a source RS. These narrower beams can be considered level-2 beams).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute transport channels from Farag for new radio from Yoo-Meng to provide beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications (Farag, col 1, lines 30-33).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, US 2021/0314783 Al, in view of Meng, US 2023/0135270 A1 and Lei, US 2015/0111575 A1, and further in view of Farag, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 11,665,720 B2.
As to claim 7, Yoo-Meng-Lei teaches the method as recited in claim 6. But Yoo-Meng-Lei failed to teach the claim limitation wherein: a first bit of the bitmap indicates to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement result at beam level, and a second bit of the bitmap indicates to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement result at cell level.
However, Farag teaches the limitation wherein a first bit of the bitmap indicates to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement result at beam level, and a second bit of the bitmap indicates to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement result at cell level (Farag, col 20, lines 9-45; i.e., TCI-state having a level-I CSI-RS as a source RS. These narrower beams can be considered level-2 beams), and a second bit of the bitmap indicates to request the distributed unit to provide the current measurement data at cell level (Farag, col 20, lines 9-45; i.e., a TCI-state having SSBs as source RS can be considered level-I beams. Level-I beams can include multiple narrower beams, each corresponding to CSI-RS, with a 15 TCI-state having a level-I CSI-RS as a source RS).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng-Lei to substitute transport channels from Farag for new radio from Yoo-Meng-Lei to provide beamforming gain and support increased capacity, new waveform (e.g., a new radio access technology (RAT)) to flexibly accommodate various services/applications (Farag, col 1, lines 30-33).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 11,665,720 B2 in view of Meng, US 2023/0135270 A1, and further in view of Goldhamer, US 2020/0296696 A1.
As to claim 8, Yoo-Meng teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Yoo-Meng failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the response message includes data representing signal-to-interference signal-to-noise ratio (SINR), which is associated with a communication channel of the UE and which is obtained at least one of a signal-level, beam-level or cell-level.
However, Goldhamer teaches the limitation wherein the response message includes data representing signal-to-interference signal-to-noise ratio (SINR), which is associated with a communication channel of the UE and which is obtained at least one of a signal-level, beam-level or cell-level (Goldhamer, page 5, paragraph 116; i.e., [0116] The PHY measurements can reflect the received power on the bandwidth part or on a channel BWP, received power (for example RSRP) or interference to noise ratio (for example SINR)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Yoo-Meng to substitute MEC from Goldhamer for new radio from Yoo-Meng to increase radio efficiency, as a part of the Uu time-frequency resources in V2X communication will be reserved for receiving the control information from different base stations (Goldhamer, page 1, paragraph 6).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 6-11, 14, 16-19, 23-24 has/have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. Applicant’s arguments include the failure of previously applied art to expressly disclose “sending to the distributed unit, via the F1 interface, a configuration update message including information associated with the F1 interface, wherein the information includes at least a list of at least one cell which is affected by interference, and a list of at least one beam which is affected by interference” (see Applicant’s response, 6/18/26, page 9-10). It is evident from the detailed mappings found in the above rejection(s) that Meng disclosed this functionality (see Meng, page 6, paragraph 61 & 63). Further, it is clear from the numerous teachings (previously and currently cited) that the provision for “sending to the distributed unit, via the F1 interface, a configuration update message including information associated with the F1 interface, wherein the information includes at least a list of at least one cell which is affected by interference, and a list of at least one beam which is affected by interference” was widely implemented in the networking art. Thus, Applicant’s arguments drawn toward distinction of the claimed invention and the prior art teachings on this point are not considered persuasive.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Manssour, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20140119319 A1 discloses interference for each listed cell.
Sha, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20220286214 A1 a list of interference beams.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416