Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy (US 20150207400) in view of Dreiguerst (US 5434770)
Shenoy discloses
1. A power conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of power conversion circuits (i.e. converter phases 4-1 to 4-4 circuits) each comprising supplying DC power to a common load apparatus (Shenoy, par. 18-19: Any suitable form of DC-DC converter phase architecture can be used;
a control circuit (16) configured to control the power conversion circuits (Shenoy, par. 19-22); and
a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits, wherein the cooling device comprises at least one flow path for a coolant, the flow path being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits
(Shenoy is silent to a transformer and the cooling device claimed;
Dreiguerst discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising a cooling system and inverter modules (Fig. 1, 5). “Each module includes a transformer which has a cooling manifold for actively circulating a liquid coolant (such as water) to cool the transformer core as well as selected circuit elements. Here, electrical conductors connecting various circuit components comprise hollow, electrically conductive tubes (such as copper tubes). The coolant circulates through the electrically conductive tubes and serves to carry away heat. The windings of the transformers also comprise coolant filled electrically conductive tubes for carrying away excess heat … The coolant is circulated from a supply portion of manifold 520 to a return portion of manifold 522”; Fig. 1, c3: 25-39, c10-11: 61-15;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Dreiguerst to provide a regulated output voltage and to provide temperature control to the power conversion circuit; it would have also been obvious that the cool air generated by the cooling system of Dreiguerst would have a largest thermal contact with the transformer and related circuit), and
wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control circuit operates one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, the one power conversion circuit comprising the transformer having a largest thermal contact area with the flow path, and stops operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits (Shenoy discloses “thermal balancing circuit 22 may preferentially implement the phase sequence modification operation only at low or light load requirements”, which implies that i.e. converter phases can be activated or turned on for operation while the others are switched off; par. 26, 34, 39, 40-43; Dreifuerst, Summary, c8: 5-15: “plurality of modular series resonant half bridge inverters ("modules") connected in parallel. Any number of such modules may be so connected for easy power scaling. Each series resonant inverter acts as a current source. A novel control scheme for selectively activating selected ones of the modules … voltage references can be controlled by computer and easily adjusted for the different loads placed across the supply output in accordance with techniques which are well known”).
Shenoy discloses
10. A method for controlling a power conversion apparatus, the power conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of power conversion circuits (i.e. converter phases 4-1 to 4-4 circuits) each comprising a transformer and supplying DC power to a common load apparatus (Shenoy, par. 19-22); and a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits,
(Shenoy is silent to a transformer and the cooling device claimed;
Dreiguerst discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising a cooling system and inverter modules (Fig. 1, 5). “Each module includes a transformer which has a cooling manifold for actively circulating a liquid coolant (such as water) to cool the transformer core as well as selected circuit elements. Here, electrical conductors connecting various circuit components comprise hollow, electrically conductive tubes (such as copper tubes). The coolant circulates through the electrically conductive tubes and serves to carry away heat. The windings of the transformers also comprise coolant filled electrically conductive tubes for carrying away excess heat … The coolant is circulated from a supply portion of manifold 520 to a return portion of manifold 522”; Fig. 1, c3: 25-39, c10-11: 61-15;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Dreiguerst to provide a regulated output voltage and to provide temperature control to the power conversion circuit; it would have also been obvious that the cool air generated by the cooling system of Dreiguerst would have a thermal contact with the transformer and related circuit.)
wherein the cooling device comprises at least one flow path for a coolant, the flow path being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits, wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control method includes the steps of: operating one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, the one power conversion circuit comprising the transformer having a largest thermal contact area with the flow path, and stopping operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits (Shenoy discloses “thermal balancing circuit 22 may preferentially implement the phase sequence modification operation only at low or light load requirements”, which implies that i.e. a converter is turned on for operation while the others are switched off; par. 26, 39, 43).
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy (US 20150207400)/ Dreiguerst (US 5434770) in view of Koltuniak (US 3749981)
Re claim 2.1, Shenoy is silent to wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other.
Koltuniak discloses a power supply comprising power modules 22 each includes at least a transformer 76. The power modules 22 are mounted on the uprights 86 with a slight vertical spacing 124 therebetween communicating between the cool and warm air chamber portions 36, 38. In the preferred embodiment, the air flow rate through the modules 24 is slightly greater than the air flow rate through modules 22, 24. However, pressure equalization between the chambers 36, 38 occurs by air flow through the spaces 124. The areas of grills 66, 68 are relatively large so that the required flow rate is achieved at relatively low velocities. Similarly, the air is moved through cooling modules 22 and the chamber portions 36, 38 at a relatively low velocity. The highest negative pressure due to fans 82 is located just upstream of the fans 82, i.e., to the left of the fans as viewed in FIG. 6. However, because the negative pressure zone is inside the module 22, fans 82 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14. Similarly, because the highest negative pressure due to fans 102 is inside the modules 24 just upstream of the fans, i.e., to the right of the fans as viewed in FIG. 7, fans 102 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14 .. (c5: 24-67). See also Figs. 5-7, 9-10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Koltuniak to effectuate and facilitate cooling balance to multiple conversion units.
3.2, wherein the power conversion apparatus comprises three or more power conversion circuits, and wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged such that the one transformer having the largest thermal contact area with the flow path is in thermal contact with at least two other transformers (Koltuniak, c5: 24-60+: indirect water cooling and direct air cooling generate thermal contact through and around the power conversion modules)
Claim(s) 4, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy (US 20150207400)/ Dreiguerst (US 5434770) /Koltuniak (US 3749981) in view of CN744 (CN 204242744)
Re claim 4.1, Shenoy is silent to wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other.
Koltuniak discloses a power supply comprising power modules 22 each includes at least a transformer 76. The power modules 22 are mounted on the uprights 86 with a slight vertical spacing 124 therebetween communicating between the cool and warm air chamber portions 36, 38. In the preferred embodiment, the air flow rate through the modules 24 is slightly greater than the air flow rate through modules 22, 24. However, pressure equalization between the chambers 36, 38 occurs by air flow through the spaces 124. The areas of grills 66, 68 are relatively large so that the required flow rate is achieved at relatively low velocities. Similarly, the air is moved through cooling modules 22 and the chamber portions 36, 38 at a relatively low velocity. The highest negative pressure due to fans 82 is located just upstream of the fans 82, i.e., to the left of the fans as viewed in FIG. 6. However, because the negative pressure zone is inside the module 22, fans 82 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14. Similarly, because the highest negative pressure due to fans 102 is inside the modules 24 just upstream of the fans, i.e., to the right of the fans as viewed in FIG. 7, fans 102 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14 .. (c5: 24-67). See also Figs. 5-7, 9-10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Koltuniak to effectuate and facilitate cooling balance to multiple conversion units.
Shenoy discloses when the first stage 4-1 is deactivated, it is intended to allow this stage 4-1 to cool (par. 33).
Shenoy is silent to a plurality of valves provided in the plurality of flow paths, respectively, and wherein, the control circuit opens one valve provided in the flow path in thermal contact with the transformer of the one power conversion circuit in operation, and closes other valves provided in the flow paths in thermal contact with the transformers of the other power conversion circuits being stopped.
CN744 discloses [0015] A temperature control cooling transformer, comprising: several with cooling oil tank of transformer 1, 2, return oil pipeline 3, a temperature control switch 4, a hydraulic pump 5 and an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6. the transformer 1 of the oil port is respectively provided with an oil pipe 11 and the pipeline 2 is connected with the transformer 1 of the oil port are respectively provided with an oil pipe 12 and oil return pipe 3 is connected with the output end of the hydraulic oil pump 5 connected with the pipeline 2, oil inlet end of the hydraulic oil pump 5 connected with a tank 51. the return oil pipeline (3) is connected with the tank 51, the temperature control switch 4 are respectively set on the 1 surface of the cooling oil tank of the transformer, detecting transformer temperature of 1, the electromagnetic hydraulic valve (6) are respectively set on the oil pipe, the temperature control switch 4 is respectively connected with an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6 and hydraulic pump 5 between the linear connection. temperature control switch 4 detecting that the transformer 1 of the temperature limit, trigger the hydraulic oil pump 5 and an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6, so that the cooling oil tank of the transformer oil to accelerate the flow and circulation, quickly reducing temperature of 1 transformer to prevent temperature from damaging. [0017] Furthermore, the electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6 is a normally closed hydraulic valve, the amount of transformer oil of transformer temperature of 1 normal, closing the oil pipe 12 and kept in the cooling tank, carrying out the conventional transformer of radiating, and all are normal temperature of 1, the hydraulic pump 5 is also closed and save the power consumption.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of CN744 by incorporating a cooling tank and valves for cooling the transformers. As mentioned earlier, since it is intended for the deactivated stage to cool in Shenoy and the cooling oil from cooling tank to alleviate of the transformer in operation, it would have also been obvious to close the valve for flow path to deactivated transformer so that the cooling tank remains cool to provide cooling temperature control for the ones that are operational.
Re claim 6. 5, see discussion regarding claims above
Shenoy discloses
7. A power conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of power conversion circuits (i.e. converter phases 4-1 to 4-4 circuits) each comprising supplying DC power to a common load apparatus;
a control circuit (16) configured to control the power conversion circuits; and
a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits, wherein the cooling device comprises: a plurality of flow paths for a coolant, the flow paths being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits; and
(Shenoy is silent to a transformer and the cooling device claimed;
Dreiguerst discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising a cooling system and inverter modules (Fig. 1, 5). “Each module includes a transformer which has a cooling manifold for actively circulating a liquid coolant (such as water) to cool the transformer core as well as selected circuit elements. Here, electrical conductors connecting various circuit components comprise hollow, electrically conductive tubes (such as copper tubes). The coolant circulates through the electrically conductive tubes and serves to carry away heat. The windings of the transformers also comprise coolant filled electrically conductive tubes for carrying away excess heat … The coolant is circulated from a supply portion of manifold 520 to a return portion of manifold 522”; Fig. 1, c3: 25-39, c10-11: 61-15;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Dreiguerst to provide a regulated output voltage and to provide temperature control to the power conversion circuit; it would have also been obvious that the cool air generated by the cooling system of Dreiguerst would have a thermal contact with the transformer and related circuit.
Shenoy is silent to wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other.
Koltuniak discloses a power supply comprising power modules 22 each includes at least a transformer 76. The power modules 22 are mounted on the uprights 86 with a slight vertical spacing 124 therebetween communicating between the cool and warm air chamber portions 36, 38. In the preferred embodiment, the air flow rate through the modules 24 is slightly greater than the air flow rate through modules 22, 24. However, pressure equalization between the chambers 36, 38 occurs by air flow through the spaces 124. The areas of grills 66, 68 are relatively large so that the required flow rate is achieved at relatively low velocities. Similarly, the air is moved through cooling modules 22 and the chamber portions 36, 38 at a relatively low velocity. The highest negative pressure due to fans 82 is located just upstream of the fans 82, i.e., to the left of the fans as viewed in FIG. 6. However, because the negative pressure zone is inside the module 22, fans 82 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14. Similarly, because the highest negative pressure due to fans 102 is inside the modules 24 just upstream of the fans, i.e., to the right of the fans as viewed in FIG. 7, fans 102 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14 .. (c5: 24-67). See also Figs. 5-7, 9-10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Koltuniak to effectuate and facilitate cooling balance to multiple conversion units.)
a plurality of valves provided in the plurality of flow paths, respectively, and wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control circuit operates one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, stops operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits (Shenoy discloses “thermal balancing circuit 22 may preferentially implement the phase sequence modification operation only at low or light load requirements”, which implies that i.e. a converter is turned on for operation while the others are switched off; par. 26, 39, 43),
opens one valve provided in the flow path in thermal contact with the transformer of the one power conversion circuit in operation, and closes other valves provided in the flow paths in thermal contact with the transformers of the other power conversion circuits being stopped
(Shenoy is silent to the valves as claimed;
CN744 discloses [0015] A temperature control cooling transformer, comprising: several with cooling oil tank of transformer 1, 2, return oil pipeline 3, a temperature control switch 4, a hydraulic pump 5 and an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6. the transformer 1 of the oil port is respectively provided with an oil pipe 11 and the pipeline 2 is connected with the transformer 1 of the oil port are respectively provided with an oil pipe 12 and oil return pipe 3 is connected with the output end of the hydraulic oil pump 5 connected with the pipeline 2, oil inlet end of the hydraulic oil pump 5 connected with a tank 51. the return oil pipeline (3) is connected with the tank 51, the temperature control switch 4 are respectively set on the 1 surface of the cooling oil tank of the transformer, detecting transformer temperature of 1, the electromagnetic hydraulic valve (6) are respectively set on the oil pipe, the temperature control switch 4 is respectively connected with an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6 and hydraulic pump 5 between the linear connection. temperature control switch 4 detecting that the transformer 1 of the temperature limit, trigger the hydraulic oil pump 5 and an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6, so that the cooling oil tank of the transformer oil to accelerate the flow and circulation, quickly reducing temperature of 1 transformer to prevent temperature from damaging. [0017] Furthermore, the electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6 is a normally closed hydraulic valve, the amount of transformer oil of transformer temperature of 1 normal, closing the oil pipe 12 and kept in the cooling tank, carrying out the conventional transformer of radiating, and all are normal temperature of 1, the hydraulic pump 5 is also closed and save the power consumption.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of CN744 by incorporating a cooling tank and valves for cooling the transformers. As taught in Shenoy, an activated phase can reach a temperature that requires cooling and a thermal balancing plan may be implemented, which includes periodic or load or phase transition (par. 39-40). Thus, allowing the oil to cool the phase with transformer while it is activated, and to close the valve allowing it to cool would have been obvious over the prior art teachings since activated phase at high temperature needs cooling and deactivated phase can be cooled by itself without the need of oil to cool unless it reaches a temperature that can destroy the transformer but this should be rare since oil circulation already provided during activation for temperature control.
8.1, wherein the power conversion apparatus comprises three power conversion circuits, and wherein each of the three power conversion circuits converts each single-phase AC power of three-phase AC power supplied from a three-phase AC power supply, into DC power (Dreiguerst, Fig. 1; Koltuniak, c4: 1-30)
12. A method for controlling a power conversion apparatus, the power conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of power conversion circuits (i.e. converter phases 4-1 to 4-4 circuits) each comprising a transformer and supplying DC power to a common load apparatus; and a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits, wherein the cooling device comprises: a plurality of flow paths for a coolant, the flow paths being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits; and
a plurality of valves provided in the plurality of flow paths, respectively wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control method includes the steps of: operating one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, stopping operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits, opening one valve provided in the flow path in thermal contact with the transformer of the one power conversion circuit in operation, and closing other valves provided in the flow paths in thermal contact with the transformers of the other power conversion circuits being stopped
(Shenoy is silent to the valves as claimed;
CN744 discloses [0015] A temperature control cooling transformer, comprising: several with cooling oil tank of transformer 1, 2, return oil pipeline 3, a temperature control switch 4, a hydraulic pump 5 and an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6. the transformer 1 of the oil port is respectively provided with an oil pipe 11 and the pipeline 2 is connected with the transformer 1 of the oil port are respectively provided with an oil pipe 12 and oil return pipe 3 is connected with the output end of the hydraulic oil pump 5 connected with the pipeline 2, oil inlet end of the hydraulic oil pump 5 connected with a tank 51. the return oil pipeline (3) is connected with the tank 51, the temperature control switch 4 are respectively set on the 1 surface of the cooling oil tank of the transformer, detecting transformer temperature of 1, the electromagnetic hydraulic valve (6) are respectively set on the oil pipe, the temperature control switch 4 is respectively connected with an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6 and hydraulic pump 5 between the linear connection. temperature control switch 4 detecting that the transformer 1 of the temperature limit, trigger the hydraulic oil pump 5 and an electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6, so that the cooling oil tank of the transformer oil to accelerate the flow and circulation, quickly reducing temperature of 1 transformer to prevent temperature from damaging. [0017] Furthermore, the electromagnetic hydraulic valve 6 is a normally closed hydraulic valve, the amount of transformer oil of transformer temperature of 1 normal, closing the oil pipe 12 and kept in the cooling tank, carrying out the conventional transformer of radiating, and all are normal temperature of 1, the hydraulic pump 5 is also closed and save the power consumption.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of CN744 by incorporating a cooling tank and valves for cooling the transformers. As taught in Shenoy, an activated phase can reach a temperature that requires cooling and a thermal balancing plan may be implemented, which includes periodic or load or phase transition (par. 39-40). Thus, allowing the oil to cool the phase with transformer while it is activated, and to close the valve allowing it to cool would have been obvious over the prior art teachings since activated phase at high temperature needs cooling and deactivated phase can be cooled by itself without the need of oil to cool unless it reaches a temperature that can destroy the transformer but this should be rare since oil circulation already provided during activation for temperature control..
Claim(s) 5, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy (US 20150207400) in view of Dreiguerst (US 5434770) /Koltuniak (US 3749981)
Shenoy discloses
5. A power conversion apparatus comprising:
three or more power conversion circuits (i.e. converter phases 4-1 to 4-4 circuits) each comprising supplying DC power to a common load apparatus;
a control circuit (16) configured to control the power conversion circuits (Shenoy, par. 19-22); and
a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits, wherein the cooling device comprises at least one flow path for a coolant, the flow path being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits, wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other
(Shenoy is silent to a transformer and the cooling device claimed;
Dreiguerst discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising a cooling system and inverter modules (Fig. 1, 5). “Each module includes a transformer which has a cooling manifold for actively circulating a liquid coolant (such as water) to cool the transformer core as well as selected circuit elements. Here, electrical conductors connecting various circuit components comprise hollow, electrically conductive tubes (such as copper tubes). The coolant circulates through the electrically conductive tubes and serves to carry away heat. The windings of the transformers also comprise coolant filled electrically conductive tubes for carrying away excess heat … The coolant is circulated from a supply portion of manifold 520 to a return portion of manifold 522”; Fig. 1, c3: 25-39, c10-11: 61-15;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Dreiguerst to provide a regulated output voltage and to provide temperature control to the power conversion circuit; it would have also been obvious that the cool air generated by the cooling system of Dreiguerst would have a thermal contact with the transformer and related circuit
), and
wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control circuit operates one power conversion circuit of the three or more power conversion circuits, the one power conversion circuit comprising the transformer in thermal contact with at least two other transformers, and stops operations of other power conversion circuits of the three or more power conversion circuits (Shenoy discloses “thermal balancing circuit 22 may preferentially implement the phase sequence modification operation only at low or light load requirements”, which implies that i.e. a converter is turned on for operation while the others are switched off; par. 26, 39, 43).
11. A method for controlling a power conversion apparatus, the power conversion apparatus comprising:
a plurality of power conversion circuits (i.e. converter phases 4-1 to 4-4 circuits) each comprising a transformer and supplying DC power to a common load apparatus; and a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits,
(Shenoy is silent to a transformer and the cooling device claimed;
Dreiguerst discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising a cooling system and inverter modules (Fig. 1, 5). “Each module includes a transformer which has a cooling manifold for actively circulating a liquid coolant (such as water) to cool the transformer core as well as selected circuit elements. Here, electrical conductors connecting various circuit components comprise hollow, electrically conductive tubes (such as copper tubes). The coolant circulates through the electrically conductive tubes and serves to carry away heat. The windings of the transformers also comprise coolant filled electrically conductive tubes for carrying away excess heat … The coolant is circulated from a supply portion of manifold 520 to a return portion of manifold 522”; Fig. 1, c3: 25-39, c10-11: 61-15;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Dreiguerst to provide a regulated output voltage and to provide temperature control to the power conversion circuit; it would have also been obvious that the cool air generated by the cooling system of Dreiguerst would have a thermal contact with the transformer and related circuit.)
wherein the cooling device comprises at least one flow path for a coolant, the flow path being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits, and wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other,
Shenoy is silent to wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other.
Koltuniak discloses a power supply comprising power modules 22 each includes at least a transformer 76. The power modules 22 are mounted on the uprights 86 with a slight vertical spacing 124 therebetween communicating between the cool and warm air chamber portions 36, 38. In the preferred embodiment, the air flow rate through the modules 24 is slightly greater than the air flow rate through modules 22, 24. However, pressure equalization between the chambers 36, 38 occurs by air flow through the spaces 124. The areas of grills 66, 68 are relatively large so that the required flow rate is achieved at relatively low velocities. Similarly, the air is moved through cooling modules 22 and the chamber portions 36, 38 at a relatively low velocity. The highest negative pressure due to fans 82 is located just upstream of the fans 82, i.e., to the left of the fans as viewed in FIG. 6. However, because the negative pressure zone is inside the module 22, fans 82 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14. Similarly, because the highest negative pressure due to fans 102 is inside the modules 24 just upstream of the fans, i.e., to the right of the fans as viewed in FIG. 7, fans 102 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14 .. (c5: 24-67). See also Figs. 5-7, 9-10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Koltuniak to effectuate and facilitate cooling balance to multiple conversion units.)
wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control method includes the steps of: operating one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, the one power conversion circuit comprising the transformer in thermal contact with at least two other transformers, and stopping operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits (Shenoy discloses “thermal balancing circuit 22 may preferentially implement the phase sequence modification operation only at low or light load requirements”, which implies that i.e. a converter is turned on for operation while the others are switched off; par. 26, 39, 43).
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shenoy (US 20150207400) in view of Ruppert (US 20210036536) Dreiguerst (US 5434770), and Koltuniak (US 3749981)
Shenoy discloses
9. A charging system including:
a power conversion apparatus (Fig. 1); and
a rechargeable battery as the load apparatus common to the plurality of power conversion circuits of the power conversion apparatus, the rechargeable battery being supplied with DC power from the plurality of power conversion circuits for charging (Shenoy is silent to battery; Ruppert discloses it is well known for conversion circuit to charge storage or batteries Fig. 1-3; it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Ruppert to provide power for storage to devices including automobiles)
wherein the power conversion apparatus comprises: a plurality of power conversion circuits each comprising supplying DC power to a common load apparatus;
a control circuit 16 configured to control the power conversion circuits (Shenoy, par. 19-22); and
a cooling device configured to cool the power conversion circuits, wherein the cooling device comprises at least one flow path for a coolant, the flow path being in thermal contact with the transformers of the power conversion circuits, and wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control circuit operates one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, the one power conversion circuit comprising the transformer having a largest thermal contact area with the flow path, and stops operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits
(Shenoy is silent to a transformer and the cooling device claimed;
Dreiguerst discloses a power conversion apparatus comprising a cooling system and inverter modules (Fig. 1, 5). “Each module includes a transformer which has a cooling manifold for actively circulating a liquid coolant (such as water) to cool the transformer core as well as selected circuit elements. Here, electrical conductors connecting various circuit components comprise hollow, electrically conductive tubes (such as copper tubes). The coolant circulates through the electrically conductive tubes and serves to carry away heat. The windings of the transformers also comprise coolant filled electrically conductive tubes for carrying away excess heat … The coolant is circulated from a supply portion of manifold 520 to a return portion of manifold 522”; Fig. 1, c3: 25-39, c10-11: 61-15;
it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Dreiguerst to provide a regulated output voltage and to provide temperature control to the power conversion circuit; it would have also been obvious that the cool air generated by the cooling system of Dreiguerst would have a thermal contact with the transformer and related circuit.
Shenoy is silent to wherein the transformers of the power conversion circuits are arranged so as to be in thermal contact with each other.
Koltuniak discloses a power supply comprising power modules 22 each includes at least a transformer 76. The power modules 22 are mounted on the uprights 86 with a slight vertical spacing 124 therebetween communicating between the cool and warm air chamber portions 36, 38. In the preferred embodiment, the air flow rate through the modules 24 is slightly greater than the air flow rate through modules 22, 24. However, pressure equalization between the chambers 36, 38 occurs by air flow through the spaces 124. The areas of grills 66, 68 are relatively large so that the required flow rate is achieved at relatively low velocities. Similarly, the air is moved through cooling modules 22 and the chamber portions 36, 38 at a relatively low velocity. The highest negative pressure due to fans 82 is located just upstream of the fans 82, i.e., to the left of the fans as viewed in FIG. 6. However, because the negative pressure zone is inside the module 22, fans 82 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14. Similarly, because the highest negative pressure due to fans 102 is inside the modules 24 just upstream of the fans, i.e., to the right of the fans as viewed in FIG. 7, fans 102 cause little, if any, pressure differential between the interior and exterior of the cabinet 14 .. (c5: 24-67). See also Figs. 5-7, 9-10.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of Koltuniak to effectuate and facilitate cooling balance to multiple conversion units.)
a plurality of valves provided in the plurality of flow paths, respectively, and wherein, when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control circuit operates one power conversion circuit of the plurality of power conversion circuits, stops operations of other power conversion circuits of the plurality of power conversion circuits (Shenoy discloses “thermal balancing circuit 22 may preferentially implement the phase sequence modification operation only at low or light load requirements”, which implies that i.e. a converter is turned on for operation while the others are switched off; par. 26, 39, 43),
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Claims 1, 5, 9-11:
Applicant argues that Shenoy does not disclose transformers or at least one flow path for a coolant. Shenoy also does not disclose comparing a load voltage of a load apparatus with a predetermined threshold. Therefore, Shenoy does not disclose that when a load voltage of the load apparatus is equal to or higher than a predetermined threshold, the control circuit operates only one power conversion circuit comprising the transformer having the largest thermal contact area with the flow path.
It is respectfully submitted that Applicant correctly states that Shenoy changes the number of active phases according to demanded output current or load requirements. A very low demanded output current may leave one base phase active. Shenoy, par. 26. With respect to Applicant’s objection regarding threshold, Shenoy further teaches that “Further load increases beyond that serviceable by two of the converter phases 4 results inactivation of yet another converter phase 4 specified by the third phase ID 24-3, and load increases beyond that serviceable by N-1 converter phases 4 results in activation of the last or final (N") converter phase 4. The phase sequence 24 is used in reverse order for deactivation of certain of the converter phases 4, with the converter phase 4 indicated by the N' identifier 24-N being deactivated first, and the subsequent phases 4 being deactivated as needed, with the first or base phase 4 (indicated by the identifier 24-1) remaining on at all times.” As can be seen in Shenoy, when the load is equal to predetermined threshold of a base level, the controller determines that the load is equal or at the lower level, then the base phase is activated. Similarly as the load demands more, the controller 16 determines that it is equal to or at a predetermined threshold level serviceable by corresponding converter phase, then the corresponding phase is activated.
Applicant further argues that Dreifuerst is silent on a thermal contact area of one transformer relative to the thermal contact areas of the other transformers. Dreifuerst is also silent on the transformer having the largest thermal contact area with the cooling manifold. Therefore, Dreifuerst does not disclose operating one inverter module comprising the transformer having the largest thermal contact area with the coolant flow path.
It is respectfully submitted that Dreifuerst discloses “both the primary and secondary windings of the transformer 500 comprise coolant filled conductive tubes 510. A coolant such as water is forcibly circulated through the tubular windings in order to provide extremely efficient cooling of the transformer … The proximity of the coolant circulating through the conductive tubes has been found to effectively dissipate heat buildup in the diodes … coolant is circulated throughout the circuit … Primary and secondary windings of transformer 600 (a.k.a. 500 in FIG. 5 and 124 in FIGS. 1A, 1B and 1C) comprise wound copper tubes 610 which circulate coolant for efficient heat dissipation” As can be seen, the transformer of Dreifuerst having a largest thermal contact area with a flow path of the cooling device. Thus, the combined teachings of Shenoy and Dreifuerst are considered meeting the current claims.
In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “compare the contact areas of the transformers, identify one transformer as having a greater contact area than the others”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicant further argues that Dreifuerst also does not disclose operating one inverter module and stopping the other inverter modules …
However, Shenoy discloses “controller 16 continues operation by selective activation of further phases 4 as needed … subsequent deactivation of phase 4-2 and then phase 4-1 between time T10 and time X3 in response to a decrease in the demanded current, with the next phase sequence modification at X3 resulting in deactivation of phase 4-4 at X3 and activation of phase 4-2, with phase 4-4 being again activated at time T11 to accommodate a step increase in the demanded output current. This operation continues with periodic phase sequence modification by the thermal balancing circuit 22 in conjunction with phase activation/deactivation by the controller 16 according to the then-current phase sequence 24” (par. 34; see also par. 40-41+).
Dreifuerst discloses that “According to a first aspect of the present invention, a novel power supply uses a multiphase ac input voltage, input rectifiers and an input filter which includes at least one capacitor to produce an intermediate dc voltage. The intermediate dc voltage is applied to a plurality of modular series resonant half bridge inverters ("modules") connected in parallel. Any number of such modules may be so connected for easy power scaling. Each series resonant inverter acts as a current source. A novel control scheme for selectively activating selected ones of the modules reduces voltage "ripple" (rectifier artifact and switching harmonics) in both the input and output filters and thus in the output of the supply. Current requirements for the filters are minimized when an odd number of modules are used. The output of the modules is applied to the primary of an output transformer. A higher voltage is available at the secondary of the transformer and is rectified by an output rectifier and filters by an output filter and then applied to a load. The output filter includes at least one capacitor.” (Summary). Dreifuerst further discloses “The current arid voltage references can be controlled by computer and easily adjusted for the different loads placed across the supply output in accordance with techniques which are well known.” (c8: 5-15).
As can be seen, the combined teachings of Shenoy and Dreifuerst are capable of deactivating or stopping a selective phase or circuit module to accommodate corresponding load requirement.
Applicant further argues that cited references do not disclose the claimed operation of the circuit comprising the transformer having the largest thermal contact area with the flow path.
It is respectfully submitted that the current claim does not recite structural limitations of the inventive flow path and as to how the transformer having largest contact area with the flow path, thus, the flow path in Dreifuerst is considered to meet the claim. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Claims 7 and 12:
Applicant argues that CN744 uses a temperature control switch associated with each transformer. When the temperature of a transformer reaches a temperature limit, the corresponding switch activates a hydraulic pump and an electromagnetic valve. When the transformer temperature is normal, the normally closed valve remains closed. CN7 44 therefore controls each valve according to an individual transformer temperature. It does not control the valves according to whether a power conversion circuit is selected for operation or stopped.
However, as taught in Shenoy, an activated phase can reach a temperature that requires cooling and a thermal balancing plan may be implemented, which includes periodic or load or phase transition (par. 39-40). Thus, allowing the oil to cool the phase with transformer while it is activated, and to close the valve allowing it to cool would have been obvious over the prior art teachings since activated phase at high temperature needs cooling and deactivated phase can be cooled by itself without the need of oil to cool unless it reaches a temperature that can destroy the transformer but this should be rare since oil circulation already provided during activation for temperature control.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Thien T Mai/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2887