DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 5/18/2026 was filed after the mailing date of the Non-Final Rejection on 05/11/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The amended limitations of claim 14 require the emissivity of the absorbing layer to be 1, however the specification does not describe a situation in which the emissivity of the absorbing layer to is 1. Applicant’s specification in [0196] teaches a “substantially high emissivity” or an emissivity “substantially close to 1,” but does not describe “the emissivity of the absorbing layer to is 1.” Additionally, it is unclear what “substantially high or close” is defined as in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6 and 15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee (KR20210155238A) with citations made to attached machine translations.
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Annotated Fig. 3 of Lee
Regarding claim 1, Lee teaches a heating structure, comprising:
a substrate (10) comprising a first surface (outer surface of tank/reservoir 10) and a second surface opposite to the first surface (inner surface of tank/reservoir 10);
a surface plasmon resonance (31, [0043] nanoparticles that generate heat by a surface plasmon resonance phenomenon by receiving light) structure positioned on the first surface (outer surface of tank 10); and
a first reflective layer positioned (42) above the first surface (30) and the SPR structure (31),
and comprising a pass-through area for passing light (Annotated Fig. 3) and a reflective area (Annotated Fig. 3) for reflecting light onto the SPR structure (31), and
a second reflective layer (32) comprising a third surface (Annotated Fig. 3) facing the second surface (10) and a fourth surface opposite to the third surface (Annotated Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 2, Lee teaches the heating structure of claim 1, wherein
the reflective area (Annotated Fig. 3) extends along the first surface (outer surface of tank/reservoir 10, where reflective area extends along a path in accordance with the path of the outer surface of tank/reservoir 10) and at least partially surrounds the substrate (10, Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 3, Lee teaches the heating structure of claim 1, wherein
the reflective area is formed as a continuous surface (Annotated Fig. 3, where reflection is shown to be continuous about the reservoir 10).
Regarding claim 4, Lee teaches the heating structure of claim 1, wherein
the reflective area (Annotated Fig. 3) is apart from the SPR structure (31).
Regarding claim 5, Lee teaches the heating structure of claim 1, wherein the pass-through area (Annotated Fig. 3) comprises an opening (43).
Regarding claim 6, Lee teaches the heating structure of claim 1, wherein
the second surface (inner surface of tank/reservoir 10) forms a hollow portion (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 15, Lee teaches an aerosol generating device (5), comprising:
a light source (20); and
the heating structure (7) according to claim 1, the heating structure (7) configured to receive light from the light source (20).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-9 and 11-13 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20210155238A) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Sunwoo (KR20210078347A) with citations made to attached machine translation.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teaches the heating structure of claim 1, but is silent on wherein the second reflective layer comprises a diffuse reflection feature formed on the third surface while facing the second surface.
Annotated Fig. 16b of Sunwoo
Sunwoo teaches wherein the second reflective layer (Annotated Fig. 16b) comprises a diffuse reflection feature (53) formed on the third surface (Annotated Fig. 16b) while facing the second surface (Annotated Fig. 16b).
Lee and Sunwoo are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of aerosol devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the second reflective layer of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo to have a diffuse reflection feature on the third surface facing the second surface in order to diffuse reflection of light incident from the light source to efficiently generate heat according to the surface plasmon resonance phenomenon in the metal nanoparticles (Sunwoo [0144]).
Regarding claim 8, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 7, but Lee is silent on wherein the substrate further comprises a diffuse reflection feature formed on the second surface while facing the third surface.
Sunwoo teaches the substrate (Annotated Fig. 16b) further comprises a diffuse reflection feature (51) formed on the second surface (Annotated Fig. 16b) while facing the third surface (Annotated Fig. 16b).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified the substrate of Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo to have a diffuse reflection feature on the second surface facing the third surface in order to diffuse reflection of light incident from the light source to efficiently generate heat according to the surface plasmon resonance phenomenon in the metal nanoparticles (Sunwoo [0144]).
Regarding claim 9, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 8, but Lee is silent on the diffuse reflection feature of the substrate and the diffuse reflection feature of the second reflective layer have a same shape.
Sunwoo teaches the diffuse reflection feature (51) of the substrate (Annotated Fig. 16b) and the diffuse reflection feature (53) of the second reflective layer (Annotated Fig. 16b) have a same shape (Fig. 16b).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo to have a diffuse reflection feature of both the substrate and second reflective layer be the same shape in order to diffuse reflection of light incident from the light source to efficiently generate heat according to thesurface plasmon resonance phenomenon in the metal nanoparticles (Sunwoo [0144]).
Regarding claim 11, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 8, but Lee is silent on the diffuse reflection feature of the substrate is formed as a rough surface having a predetermined roughness.
Sunwoo teaches the diffuse reflection feature (51) of the substrate (Annotated Fig. 16b) is formed as a rough surface having a predetermined roughness ([0144] Concave-convex).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo to have the diffuse reflection feature of the substrate be a rough surface with a predetermined roughness in order to diffuse reflection of light incident from the light source to efficiently generate heat according to the surface plasmon resonance phenomenon in the metal nanoparticles (Sunwoo [0144]).
Regarding claim 12, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 7, but Lee is silent on the diffuse reflection feature of the second reflective layer is formed on an entire area of the third surface.
Sunwoo teaches the diffuse reflection feature (53) of the second reflective layer (Annotated Fig. 16b) is formed on an entire area of the third surface (Annotated Fig. 16b).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee to incorporate the teachings of Sunwoo to have the diffuse reflection feature of the second reflective layer to be on the entire area of the third surface in order to diffuse reflection of light incident from the light source to efficiently generate heat according to the surface plasmon resonance phenomenon in the metal nanoparticles (Sunwoo [0144]).
Fig. 4 of Lee
Regarding claim 13, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 7, and Lee teaches further comprising an absorbing layer (17) positioned on the second reflective layer (32, Fig. 4).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20210155238A) and Sunwoo (KR20210078347A) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Geisow (WO2012101393A1).
Regarding claim 10, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 8, but is silent on the diffuse reflection feature of the substrate and the diffuse reflection feature of the second reflective layer at least partially contact each other.
Geisow the diffuse reflection feature (15) of the substrate (3) and the diffuse reflection feature (11) of the second reflective layer (7) at least partially contact each other (Pg. 4 lines 1-3 reflector layer 15, having a textured topography, sandwiched between transparent substrate 7 and transparent layer 17).
Lee, Sunwoo, and Geisow are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of devices having light transmission. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee and Sunwoo to incorporate the teachings of Geisow to have a diffuse reflection feature on the substrate and the second reflective layer be in contact as this enables sufficiently high reflectance of selected wavelengths in accordance with a desired spectral reflectance profile for an application of the structure (Geisow Pg. 3 lines 10-20).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (KR20210155238A) and Sunwoo (KR20210078347A) as applied to claim 13 above, and further in view of Chang (US20170020190A1).
Regarding claim 14, Lee and Sunwoo teach the heating structure of claim 13, but is silent on an emissivity of the absorbing layer is 1.
Chang teaches an emissivity of the absorbing layer is about 1 ([0104] an emissivity that is close to 1).
Lee, Sun, and Chang are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of heating and light transmitting devices. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to have modified Lee and Geisow to incorporate the teachings of Chang to have an emissivity of the absorbing layer to be about 1 so that all incident radiation may be absorbed regardless of frequency or angle of incidence (Chang [0104]).
Lee, Sun, and Chang do not teach an emissivity of the absorbing layer is 1.
However, applicant has not stated the emissivity would provide any unexpected or synergetic results. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the emissivity of as taught by Lee, Sun, and Chang from an emissivity that is close to 1 to an emissivity of the absorbing layer being 1 since it has been held that “[i]n the case where the claimed ranges ‘overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art’ a prima facie case of obviousness exists.”. MPEP 2144.05 I.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 08/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding applicant's argument that Lee does not teach the amended limitation of claim 1, applicant argues that Lee does not teach "a third surface facing the second surface" and instead teach the third surface facing the first surface. However, it is understood that the third surface is facing in the direction of the second surface, where the term "facing" is not understood to be a direct one to one meeting of the second and third surfaces, rather that the third surface is oriented in the direction of the second surface.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ABIGAIL H RHUE/Examiner, Art Unit 3761 10/21/2026
/WOODY A LEE JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3761