DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
In response to amendment filed on 7/23/2026, claims 1, 4, 6 and 9-10 are amended, claims 3 and 7 are cancelled. Claims 1- 2, 4- 6 and 8- 10 are pending for examinations.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) filed in the remarks on 3/11/2026 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended independent claim; hence examiner believes that the scope has been changed, therefore new references have been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1- 2, 4, 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2023/0122730 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394699 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Guo states a terminal (see Fig. 8, #804 ) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive a sidelink signal from a terminal that autonomously selects a resource (in context with Fig. 5 and [0049], pls see [0058]… communication flow 800 between a UE 804 (e.g., the UE 104, 350, 404, 604a, 604b) and a base station 802. At 806, the UE 804 decodes the SCI 801a, 801b, etc. that it receives for sidelink communication from other UEs (e.g., UE 840, 842, etc.). The UE 804 obtains the resource reservation information for the sidelink communications from the SCI 801a, 801b, etc. At 808, the UE generates and maintains a mapping of the reserved resources based on the received resource reservation information in each of one or more SCI (e.g., SCI 801a, 801b, etc.)); and
a transmitter configured to transmit information based on the sidelink signal to a base station in response to a predetermined condition (see Fig. 8, #809, 810 where #802 as a Base Station; see [0058]… reservation information in each of one or more SCI (e.g., SCI 801a, 801b, etc.), such as described in connection with FIG. 7. At 810, the UE may submit part or all information comprised in the mapping to the base station as described above. As described above, the base station 802 may configure the UE 804 for the report and/or may send a trigger to the UE 804 to provide the report, as illustrated at 809. As illustrated at 812, the base station 802 may allocate sidelink resources to the UE 804 and/or to other served UEs based on the combined resource reservation information received in the report 810. For example, the base station 802 may allocate resources that avoid the other reserved resources; further see claims 1- 13 specifically about claims 7- 13 trigger to report i.e. RRC signaling see claim 9 for trigger; now refer to [0062]… The trigger may comprise at least one of RRC signaling or DCI format. The DCI format may further comprise a sidelink grant format. In addition, the RRC signaling or the DCI may indicates a signal measurement threshold, where the UE may be configured to report the information comprised in the mapping based on meeting the signal measurement threshold);
wherein the information identifies a first resource that is unable to be used at a future time point or a first resource that was unable to be used at a past time point (as described above in [0058] regarding reserved resources; further see Fig. 7 "reserved resources 702" and resources "reserved by multiple cells and/or UEs 706" — resources that SCI reservations mark as occupied/unavailable for others, typically for a future slot (sidelink reservations announce upcoming resource use); further see claims 1- 13),
wherein the information indicates that the first resource is to be used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource or has been used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource (as stated above Fig. 5 and [0049] (i.e. The SCI reservation itself is the Mode-2 UE's own announcement of a resource it intends to use ("reserve a resource to transmit direct data," Fig. 5/508) — this is exactly what's captured and reported in the mapping)).
wherein the information indicates a reservation of the first resource by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource (already discussed above in context with Fig. 5 and [0049] refer to [0058] resource reservation information; further see claims 1- 13 about specifically see claims 1- 4). But Guo is silent about
wherein the predetermined condition comprises a condition that at least part of the first resource be allocated to the terminal.
However Lee teaches in [0202] about For example, the proposal rule below proposes assistance information that a UE reports to a base station (ASS_INFO), under the situation that a mode in which the SL transmission resource is scheduled (directly) by a base station (within a pre-configured resource pool) (e.g., LTE MODE 3, NR MODE 1) and a mode in which a UE independently selects an SL transmission resource within a pre-configured resource pool (e.g., LTE MODE 4, NR MODE 2) are simultaneously performed, in order to mitigate overlap/collision (in the time domain) between the two mode-related SL transmission resources. Here, for example, it may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to the gNB when a UE performs NR MODE1 and LTE MODE 4 at the same time, and may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to an eNB when a UE performs LTE MODE 3 and NR MODE 2 at the same time. Here, for example, if the proposal rule below is applied, a base station may schedule a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource, considering ASS_INFO received from a UE, so as not to overlap (as much as possible) with a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource (selected/reserved by a UE); further see [0203] For example, based on information on how many LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resources are left (until the point of deciding whether to perform reselection/reservation) selected/reserved by a UE (and/or information about how much of the counter value related to the number of allowed transmissions for selected/reserved LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resource-based message/packet (e.g., MAC PDU, TB) is left). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Guo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the predetermined condition comprises a condition that at least part of the first resource be allocated to the terminal; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 2, Guo in view of Lee states as per claim 1, wherein Lee teaches the terminal includes a processor configured to determine whether the information based on the sidelink signal is to be transmitted to the base station, by comparing resource allocation information of a sidelink transmission received from the base station with information of a resource that is to be used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource; see [0202- 0203] see [0202] about For example, the proposal rule below proposes assistance information that a UE reports to a base station (ASS_INFO), under the situation that a mode in which the SL transmission resource is scheduled (directly) by a base station (within a pre-configured resource pool) (e.g., LTE MODE 3, NR MODE 1) and a mode in which a UE independently selects an SL transmission resource within a pre-configured resource pool (e.g., LTE MODE 4, NR MODE 2) are simultaneously performed, in order to mitigate overlap/collision (in the time domain) between the two mode-related SL transmission resources. Here, for example, it may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to the gNB when a UE performs NR MODE1 and LTE MODE 4 at the same time, and may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to an eNB when a UE performs LTE MODE 3 and NR MODE 2 at the same time. Here, for example, if the proposal rule below is applied, a base station may schedule a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource, considering ASS_INFO received from a UE, so as not to overlap (as much as possible) with a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource (selected/reserved by a UE); further see [0203] For example, based on information on how many LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resources are left (until the point of deciding whether to perform reselection/reservation) selected/reserved by a UE (and/or information about how much of the counter value related to the number of allowed transmissions for selected/reserved LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resource-based message/packet (e.g., MAC PDU, TB) is left).
Regarding claim 4, Yasukawa states a base station (see Fig. 8, #802 as a BS and #804 as an UE second terminal) comprising:
a receiver configured to receive, from a second terminal via uplink, information based on a sidelink signal transmitted from a first terminal that autonomously selects a resource (in context with Fig. 5 and [0049], pls see Fig. 8, #809, 810 where #802 as a Base Station; see [0058]… reservation information in each of one or more SCI (e.g., SCI 801a, 801b, etc.), such as described in connection with FIG. 7. At 810, the UE may submit part or all information comprised in the mapping to the base station as described above. As described above, the base station 802 may configure the UE 804 for the report and/or may send a trigger to the UE 804 to provide the report, as illustrated at 809. As illustrated at 812, the base station 802 may allocate sidelink resources to the UE 804 and/or to other served UEs (i.e. other UE as a first terminal) based on the combined resource reservation information received in the report 810. For example, the base station 802 may allocate resources that avoid the other reserved resources; further see claims 1- 13 specifically about claims 7- 13 trigger to report i.e. RRC signaling see claim 9 for trigger; now refer to [0062]… The trigger may comprise at least one of RRC signaling or DCI format. The DCI format may further comprise a sidelink grant format. In addition, the RRC signaling or the DCI may indicates a signal measurement threshold, where the UE may be configured to report the information comprised in the mapping based on meeting the signal measurement threshold); and
a processor configured to perform scheduling of a sidelink transmission for the second terminal, based on the information based on the sidelink signal (see Fig. 8 and [0058].. As described above, the base station 802 may configure the UE 804 for the report and/or may send a trigger to the UE 804 to provide the report, as illustrated at 809. As illustrated at 812, the base station 802 may allocate sidelink resources to the UE 804 and/or to other served UEs based on the combined resource reservation information received in the report 810. For example, the base station 802 may allocate resources that avoid the other reserved resources.),
wherein the information identifies a first resource that is unable to be used at a future time point or a first resource that was unable to be used at a past time point (as described above in [0058] regarding reserved resources; further see Fig. 7 "reserved resources 702" and resources "reserved by multiple cells and/or UEs 706" — resources that SCI reservations mark as occupied/unavailable for others, typically for a future slot (sidelink reservations announce upcoming resource use); further see claims 1- 13),
wherein the information indicates that the first resource is to be used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource or has been used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource (as stated above Fig. 5 and [0049] (i.e. The SCI reservation itself is the Mode-2 UE's own announcement of a resource it intends to use ("reserve a resource to transmit direct data," Fig. 5/508) — this is exactly what's captured and reported in the mapping)).
wherein the information indicates a reservation of the first resource by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource (already discussed above in context with Fig. 5 and [0049] refer to [0058] resource reservation information; further see claims 1- 13 about specifically see claims 1- 4). But Guo is silent about
a predetermined condition comprising a condition that at least part of the first resource be allocated to the second terminal.
However Lee teaches in [0202] about For example, the proposal rule below proposes assistance information that a UE reports to a base station (ASS_INFO), under the situation that a mode in which the SL transmission resource is scheduled (directly) by a base station (within a pre-configured resource pool) (e.g., LTE MODE 3, NR MODE 1) and a mode in which a UE independently selects an SL transmission resource within a pre-configured resource pool (e.g., LTE MODE 4, NR MODE 2) are simultaneously performed, in order to mitigate overlap/collision (in the time domain) between the two mode-related SL transmission resources. Here, for example, it may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to the gNB when a UE performs NR MODE1 and LTE MODE 4 at the same time, and may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to an eNB when a UE performs LTE MODE 3 and NR MODE 2 at the same time. Here, for example, if the proposal rule below is applied, a base station may schedule a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource, considering ASS_INFO received from a UE, so as not to overlap (as much as possible) with a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource (selected/reserved by a UE); further see [0203] For example, based on information on how many LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resources are left (until the point of deciding whether to perform reselection/reservation) selected/reserved by a UE (and/or information about how much of the counter value related to the number of allowed transmissions for selected/reserved LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resource-based message/packet (e.g., MAC PDU, TB) is left). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Guo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein a predetermined condition comprising a condition that at least part of the first resource be allocated to the second terminal; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Regarding claim 6, Guo states a transmission method performed by a terminal comprising (see Fig. 8, #804 ):
receiving a sidelink signal from a terminal that autonomously selects a resource (in context with Fig. 5 and [0049], pls see [0058]… communication flow 800 between a UE 804 (e.g., the UE 104, 350, 404, 604a, 604b) and a base station 802. At 806, the UE 804 decodes the SCI 801a, 801b, etc. that it receives for sidelink communication from other UEs (e.g., UE 840, 842, etc.). The UE 804 obtains the resource reservation information for the sidelink communications from the SCI 801a, 801b, etc. At 808, the UE generates and maintains a mapping of the reserved resources based on the received resource reservation information in each of one or more SCI (e.g., SCI 801a, 801b, etc.)); and transmitting information based on the sidelink signal to a base station in response to a predetermined condition (see Fig. 8, #809, 810 where #802 as a Base Station; see [0058]… reservation information in each of one or more SCI (e.g., SCI 801a, 801b, etc.), such as described in connection with FIG. 7. At 810, the UE may submit part or all information comprised in the mapping to the base station as described above. As described above, the base station 802 may configure the UE 804 for the report and/or may send a trigger to the UE 804 to provide the report, as illustrated at 809. As illustrated at 812, the base station 802 may allocate sidelink resources to the UE 804 and/or to other served UEs based on the combined resource reservation information received in the report 810. For example, the base station 802 may allocate resources that avoid the other reserved resources; further see claims 1- 13 specifically about claims 7- 13 trigger to report i.e. RRC signaling see claim 9 for trigger; now refer to [0062]… The trigger may comprise at least one of RRC signaling or DCI format. The DCI format may further comprise a sidelink grant format. In addition, the RRC signaling or the DCI may indicates a signal measurement threshold, where the UE may be configured to report the information comprised in the mapping based on meeting the signal measurement threshold);
wherein the information identifies a first resource that is unable to be used at a future time point or a first resource that was unable to be used at a past time point (as described above in [0058] regarding reserved resources; further see Fig. 7 "reserved resources 702" and resources "reserved by multiple cells and/or UEs 706" — resources that SCI reservations mark as occupied/unavailable for others, typically for a future slot (sidelink reservations announce upcoming resource use); further see claims 1- 13),
wherein the information indicates that the first resource is to be used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource or has been used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource (as stated above Fig. 5 and [0049] (i.e. The SCI reservation itself is the Mode-2 UE's own announcement of a resource it intends to use ("reserve a resource to transmit direct data," Fig. 5/508) — this is exactly what's captured and reported in the mapping)).
wherein the information indicates a reservation of the first resource by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource (already discussed above in context with Fig. 5 and [0049] refer to [0058] resource reservation information; further see claims 1- 13 about specifically see claims 1- 4). But Guo is silent about
wherein the predetermined condition comprises a condition that at least part of the first resource be allocated to the terminal.
However Lee teaches in [0202] about For example, the proposal rule below proposes assistance information that a UE reports to a base station (ASS_INFO), under the situation that a mode in which the SL transmission resource is scheduled (directly) by a base station (within a pre-configured resource pool) (e.g., LTE MODE 3, NR MODE 1) and a mode in which a UE independently selects an SL transmission resource within a pre-configured resource pool (e.g., LTE MODE 4, NR MODE 2) are simultaneously performed, in order to mitigate overlap/collision (in the time domain) between the two mode-related SL transmission resources. Here, for example, it may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to the gNB when a UE performs NR MODE1 and LTE MODE 4 at the same time, and may be interpreted as transmitting ASS_INFO to an eNB when a UE performs LTE MODE 3 and NR MODE 2 at the same time. Here, for example, if the proposal rule below is applied, a base station may schedule a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource, considering ASS_INFO received from a UE, so as not to overlap (as much as possible) with a MODE 1 (or MODE 3) transmission resource (selected/reserved by a UE); further see [0203] For example, based on information on how many LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resources are left (until the point of deciding whether to perform reselection/reservation) selected/reserved by a UE (and/or information about how much of the counter value related to the number of allowed transmissions for selected/reserved LTE MODE 4 (and/or NR MODE 2) transmission resource-based message/packet (e.g., MAC PDU, TB) is left). It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Lee with the teachings of Guo to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the predetermined condition comprises a condition that at least part of the first resource be allocated to the terminal; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2023/0122730 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394699 A1) and further in view of WO 2019/130556 A1, hereafter Yasukawa; see IDS filed on 7/7/2023 page 1.
Regarding claim 5, Guo in view of Lee states as per claim 4, but Guo is silent about the base station includes a transmitter configured to transmit a command of stopping the sidelink transmission to the second terminal, based on the resource allocated to the second terminal and the information based on the sidelink signal; however Yasukawa states that the base station allocates, to the user terminal UE in mode 3, a resource selected, on the basis of the channel state information, from among a resource set in which a resource with a high degree of congestion is eliminated from the resource pool. It is obvious here that if all of the resources in the resource pool have high degrees of congestion, the base station does not allocate any resource to the user terminal UE in mode 3, so that the user terminal UE in mode 3 does not transmit an SL signal (corresponding to the feature of "stopping sidelink transmission" in the present application); refer to [0034, 0050, 0100, 0102]. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Yasukawa with the teachings of Guo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the base station includes a transmitter configured to transmit a command of stopping the sidelink transmission to the second terminal, based on the resource allocated to the second terminal and the information based on the sidelink signal; greater way resources can be managed/utilized in the communication system.
Claim(s) 8- 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al. (2023/0122730 A1) in view of Lee et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0394699 A1) and further in view of Zhao et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0007338 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Guo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, but Guo fails to state about wherein the receiver is further configured to receive, from the base station, an allocated resource that is not used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource, wherein the allocated resource is determined by the based station based on the information; however Zhao teaches in [0095] about .. data transmitting unit 602 (i.e. of device here terminal) transmits sidelink data by using the at least two sidelink transmission resources configured by the network side. If there is an unused sidelink transmission resource when ACK sidelink feedback information is received, a following processing mode may be used: indication information is sent to the network side, and the network side acquires the unused sidelink transmission resource according to the indication information, and may reallocate the sidelink transmission resource; or, new sidelink data is transmitted by using the unused sidelink transmission resource, or indication information is sent, the unused sidelink transmission resource is released, and another terminal device may use the sidelink transmission resource by detecting the indication information of the first terminal device. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Guo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein the receiver is further configured to receive, from the base station, an allocated resource that is not used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource, wherein the allocated resource is determined by the based station based on the information; greater way resources can be allocated/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 9, Guo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 4, but Guo fails to state about wherein performing the scheduling of the sidelink transmission comprises allocating a resource that is not used by the first terminal; however Zhao teaches in [0095] about .. data transmitting unit 602 (i.e. of device here terminal) transmits sidelink data by using the at least two sidelink transmission resources configured by the network side. If there is an unused sidelink transmission resource when ACK sidelink feedback information is received, a following processing mode may be used: indication information is sent to the network side, and the network side acquires the unused sidelink transmission resource according to the indication information, and may reallocate the sidelink transmission resource; or, new sidelink data is transmitted by using the unused sidelink transmission resource, or indication information is sent, the unused sidelink transmission resource is released, and another terminal device may use the sidelink transmission resource by detecting the indication information of the first terminal device. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Guo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism wherein performing the scheduling of the sidelink transmission comprises allocating a resource that is not used by the first terminal; greater way resources can be allocated/managed in the communication system.
Regarding claim 10, Guo in view of Lee teaches as per claim 1, but Guo fails to state about allocating, to the terminal performing the transmission method, an allocated resource that is not used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource, wherein the allocated resource is determined by the based station based on the information; however Zhao teaches in [0095] about .. data transmitting unit 602 (i.e. of device here terminal) transmits sidelink data by using the at least two sidelink transmission resources configured by the network side. If there is an unused sidelink transmission resource when ACK sidelink feedback information is received, a following processing mode may be used: indication information is sent to the network side, and the network side acquires the unused sidelink transmission resource according to the indication information, and may reallocate the sidelink transmission resource; or, new sidelink data is transmitted by using the unused sidelink transmission resource, or indication information is sent, the unused sidelink transmission resource is released, and another terminal device may use the sidelink transmission resource by detecting the indication information of the first terminal device. It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill, in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to consider the teachings of Zhao with the teachings of Guo in view of Lee to make system more effective. Having a mechanism allocating, to the terminal performing the transmission method, an allocated resource that is not used by the terminal that autonomously selects a resource, wherein the allocated resource is determined by the based station based on the information; greater way resources can be allocated/managed in the communication system.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Reference Sun et al. (US Pub. No. 2022/0150027 A1) teaches about method for wireless communications by a first user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a plurality of transmissions from a second UE on a plurality of sidelink subchannels; determining at least one resource set for transmitting feedback corresponding to the plurality of transmissions, based on at least one of the plurality of transmissions; and transmitting the feedback corresponding to the plurality of transmissions using the at least one resource set; see claim1 .
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
PARTH PATEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2479
/PARTH PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2479