DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5, 7 and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention and specie, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/29/25.
In electing specie 1, where the outlet conduit is conical, inclined radially inward from an upstream end to a downstream end, the limitations of claim 5 do not read on the elected specie as claim 5 requires a cylindrical wall with a substantially uniform cross section. Therefore, claim 5 is also withdrawn. The examiner spoke with applicant’s attorney, Lily Ho on 10/9/25 to confirm that claim 5 is not elected and that claim 5 should be withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 8 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausen et al. US 5,753,120 in view of Ouweleen et al. WO2018/156489 (US 11,724,220 will be referenced as the US equivalent).
Claims 1-4, Clausen teaches a filter cartridge comprising: a filter housing (12) including an outer wall defining an internal volume, a filter element (30) positioned along a longitudinal axis of the filter cartridge within the internal volume, the filter element comprising: a filter media (70) and an end cap (72) coupled to a top end of the filter media, the end cap including a filter element outlet conduit (100) extending axially from an inner rim of the end cap away from the filter media and an end cap ledge (on 80) extending radially outwards from an outer periphery of the end cap, a first sealing member (84) disposed radially and at least partially on the end cap ledge, the first sealing member having an upper axially sealing surface and an opposite lower axial sealing surface capable of forming an axial seal in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis and a second sealing member (104) disposed on a radially outward surface of the first element outlet conduit, the second sealing member is configured to form a radial seal in a direction perpendicular to the longitudinal axis (fig. 3). Clausen does not teach the first sealing member disposed radially between the outer wall of the filter housing and the outer periphery of the end cap.
Ouweleen teaches a filter cartridge comprising: a filter housing (108) including an outer wall (108) defining an internal volume, a filter element (110) positioned along a longitudinal axis of the filter cartridge within the internal volume, the filter element comprising: a filter media (116) and an end cap (112) coupled to a top end of the filter media, the end cap including a filter element outlet conduit (at 124) extending axially from an inner rim of the end cap away from the filter media, and an end cap ledge (408) extending radially outwards from an outer periphery of the end cap, a first sealing member (122) disposed radially between the outer wall of the filter housing and the outer periphery of the end cap and at least partially on the end cap ledge, the first sealing member having an upper axial sealing surface and an opposite lower axial sealing surface configured to form an axial seal in a direction parallel to the longitudinal axis, at least a first portion of the lower axial sealing surface sealing against the end cap, and a second sealing member (124) disposed at the filter element outlet conduit, a first housing ledge (306) defined on an inner surface of the outer wall of the filter housing proximate to the end cap ledge, the first sealing member disposed at least partially on the first housing ledge, at least a second portion of the lower axial sealing surface sealing against the filter housing, and the end cap and the filter housing forming a groove (formed by 304, 306, 406, 408) receiving the first seal member, the groove defined by the outer wall, the first housing ledge, the end cap ledge and the outer periphery of the end cap, a plurality of detents (at 308) formed on the inner surface of the filter housing below the first housing ledge, and a plurality of indents (at 410) formed on an outer peripheral surface of the end cap ledge, the plurality of indents formed at locations corresponding to the plurality of detents such that each of the plurality of detents is inserted into a corresponding indent of the plurality of indents when the filter element is disposed in the filter housing, and a second housing ledge (310) extending radially inwards form the inner surface of the filter housing below the first housing ledge, at least a portion of the end cap ledge being disposed on the second housing ledge when the filter element is disposed in the filter housing (fig. 1-4). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the housing ledge and end cap ledge of Ouweleen because it allows a keying feature to prevent unauthorized filter elements to be used with the housing as well and prevents free rotation of the filter element with respect to the filter housing (col. 5, lines 24-34).
Claims 8 and 10, Clausen and Ouweleen further teaches the first sealing member has a rectangular cross section (Clausen, fig. 3; Ouweleen, fig. 1); and the end cap further comprises a plurality of openings (Clausen, 90; Ouweleen, 120) defined proximate to and radially inwards of the outer periphery of the end cap (Clausen, fig. 3, 5; Ouweleen, fig. 1-4).
Claim 6, Clausen in view of Ouweleen teaches the filter cartridge of claim 1 but does not teach the outlet conduit comprising a conical wall. The recitation of the outlet conduit having a conical wall that is inclined radially inward from an upstream to a downstream end is a recitation of the relative shape of the conduit. The configuration of the apparatus is a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration is significant, In re Dailey, 149 USPQ 47 (1966). Paragraph 51 discusses the reasons for a conical outlet conduit. However, one of ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the reduced insertion force is dependent not on the shape of the outlet conduit of the filter cartridge but rather on the conical shape of the head outlet conduit.
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Clausen et al. US 5,753,120 in view of Ouweleen et al. WO2018/156489 (US 11,724,220 will be referenced as the US equivalent) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Ardes US 2018/0326328.
Clausen in view of Ouweleen teaches the cartridge of claim 1 but does not teach the recited plurality of protrusions.
Ardes teaches a filter cartridge comprising: a filter housing (2) defining an internal volume, a filter element (3) disposed within the internal volume, the filter element comprising: a filter media (30) and an end cap (31) coupled to a top end of the filter media, the top end positionable proximate to a filter head an end cap ledge (at 34) extending radially outwards from an outer periphery of the end cap, a first sealing member (33) disposed around the outer periphery of the end cap at least partially on the end cap ledge, wherein the first sealing member forms an axial seal between the end cap and the filter head when the filter cartridge is coupled to the filter head, the end cap further comprises a plurality of protrusions (35) formed on the outer periphery of the end cap axially upwards of the end cap ledge, the plurality of protrusions structured to secure the first sealing member to the outer periphery (fig. 1-7 and 11). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the protrusions of Ardes because they provide a reliable carrying along of the seal during removal of the housing and filter insert (par 44, 55).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BENJAMIN M KURTZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1779