DETAILED ACTION
Status
This Office Action is in response to the remarks and amendments filed on 01/23/2026. The abstract objection, specification objection, drawing objection are withdrawn. Claims 12-21 are cancelled. Claims 22-30 are new. Claims 1-11 and 22-30 remain pending for consideration on the merits.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a light guide provided along at least a portion of a perimeter of the cover, the light guide being positioned to receive light from the plurality of light emitters and to output the light, wherein the light guide includes a rounded first region provided to at least partially surround a section of the ice chute” must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2 and 22-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf et al (US 20190093942 A1, hereinafter Scalf) in view of Hwang et al (KR 20140105899 A, hereinafter Hwang) and Chandra et al (US 20190383543 A1, hereinafter Chandra).
Regarding claim 1, Scalf teaches a refrigerator (refrigerator appliance 10) comprising: a cabinet (housing 14) having a storage space (paragraph 0018); a refrigerator door (doors 12/16) configured to open and close the storage space (paragraph 0018); and a dispenser (dispenser 15) provided on the refrigerator door (on door 12, figure 1) and configured to dispense at least one of a liquid or ice (water, paragraph 0019), wherein the dispenser (dispenser 15) includes: a dispenser housing (figure 1) configured to form a space (figure 1).
Scalf teaches the invention as described above but fail to teach a cover protruding into the space from an upper side wall of the dispenser housing; a light guide provided along at least a portion of a perimeter of the cover; the light guide being positioned to receive light from the plurality of light emitters and to output the light.
However, Hwang teaches a cover (panel unit 40) protruding into the space from an upper side wall (upper side portion of dispenser 20, figure 3) of the dispenser housing (dispenser 20); a light guide provided along at least a portion of a perimeter of the cover (as shown on figure 3); the light guide being positioned to receive light from the plurality of light emitters and to output the light (part of the light emitted from the light emitting member 30 is dispersed in various directions and hit in the multiple scattering band 243. Here, to ensure that the number of scattering band 243 is deeply recessed or recessed shape is formed differently from each other, so that the light can be scattered in various directions, paragraph 0031).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the teachings of Scalf to include a cover protruding into the space from an upper side wall of the dispenser housing; a light guide provided along at least a portion of a perimeter of the cover; the light guide being positioned to receive light from the plurality of light emitters and to output the light in view of the teachings of Hwang in order to yield the predictable results of emitting light downward when the user is in range to retrieve a beverage.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach a plurality of light emitters including a first light emitter to output light of a first color and a second light emitter to output light of a second color different from the first color and a controller configured to selectively activate at least one of the plurality of light emitters according to a mode of the dispenser.
However, Chandra teaches a plurality of light emitters (light source 264 may be any suitable device or bulb for projecting visible light to dispenser recess 150, paragraph 0064) including a first light emitter (left light source 264, figure 6) to output light of a first color (blue color, paragraph 0064) and a second light emitter (left light source 264, figure 6) to output light of a second color (red color, paragraph 0064) different from the first color and a controller (controller 190) configured to selectively activate at least one of the plurality of light emitters (light sources 264, figure 6) according to a mode (cooler/warmer water, paragraph 0064) of the dispenser (as further described in paragraph 0064).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include a plurality of light emitters including a first light emitter to output light of a first color and a second light emitter to output light of a second color different from the first color and a controller configured to selectively activate at least one of the plurality of light emitters according to a mode of the dispenser in view of the teachings of Chandra in order to yield the predictable results of indicating the temperature of the water via the color.
Further, it is understood, claim 1 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Regarding claim 2, the combined teachings teach wherein at least one discharge pipe (water chute 23, figure 3 of Hwang) through which a liquid is dispensed (as shown on figure 3 of Hwang) or an ice chute (ice chute 22 of Hwang) through which ice is discharged is provided in the cover (as shown on figure 3 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 22, the combined teachings teach wherein the light guide (light-emitting member 30 of Hwang) is disposed higher than a lower end of the discharge pipe (disposed higher than water chute 23, as shown on figure 3 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 23, the combined teachings teach wherein the light guide (light-emitting member 30 of Hwang) is disposed higher than a lower end of the ice chute (disposed higher than the lower end of ice chute 22, as shown on figure 3 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 24, the combined teachings teach wherein the dispenser (dispenser 142 of Chandra) further includes a lever (actuating mechanism 146 of Chandra) for that is manipulated to request dispensing of the liquid or the ice (paragraphs 0038-0039 of Chandra), the lever (actuating mechanism 146 of Chandra) is disposed lower than the cover (lower than dispenser conduit 200, figure 5 of Chandra), and the light guide (suitable device or bulb from light source 264, paragraph 0064 of Chandra) is disposed higher than an upper end of the lever (as shown on figures 5-6 of Chandra).
Regarding claim 25, the combined teachings teach wherein the light guide (suitable device or bulb from light source 264, paragraph 0064 of Chandra) includes a rounded first region (rounded portion of conduit 200, figure 5 of Chandra) provided to at least partially surround a section of the ice chute (surrounding outlet 212, figure 5 of Chandra).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf as modified by Hwang and Chandra, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Orita (US 20160046508 A1, hereinafter Orita) and Laible et al (US 20160161169 A1, hereinafter Laible).
Regarding claim 3, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach further comprising: a ultraviolet (UV) light emitter configured to output UV light into the discharge pipe, wherein the mode of the dispenser includes a normal mode in which the UV light emitter does not operate and a sterilization mode in which the UV light emitter operates, wherein the dispenser further includes a lever for that is manipulated to request dispensing of the liquid or the ice, and wherein the controller turns on the first light emitter of the plurality of emitters in the sterilization mode such that the first color is output through the light guide.
However, Orita teaches further comprising: a ultraviolet (UV) light emitter (the ultra violet light emitting source 55 disposed downward of the inlet-side pipe line 56, it is possible to irradiate ultraviolet light to the inner wall surface of the inlet-side pipe line 56, and also to the inner wall surface of the outlet-side pipe line 57, paragraph 0063) configured to output UV light into the discharge pipe (as described in paragraph 0063), wherein the mode of the dispenser (water dispenser, paragraph 0063) includes a normal mode (an automatic control device configured to turn off the cooling device 25, paragraph 0037) in which the UV light emitter does not operate (interpreted when the cooling device 25 is off, the sterilization is not occurring) and a sterilization mode (when cold water is allowed to pass, paragraphs 0044-0046 and 0063) in which the UV light emitter operates (as described in paragraphs 0044-0046 and 0063), wherein the dispenser (paragraphs 0037-0038) further includes a lever (operating lever 45) for that is manipulated to request dispensing of the liquid or the ice (as described in paragraph 0044), and wherein the controller (timer control, paragraph 0050) turns on the first light emitter of the plurality of emitters (ultra violet light emitting source 55) in the sterilization mode (it is possible to turn on and off the ultra violet light emitting source 55 regularly by the timer control, paragraph 0050 and as further described in paragraph 0063) such that a first color (interpreted as ultraviolet light) is output through the light guide (body 54, paragraph 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include further comprising: a ultraviolet (UV) light emitter configured to output UV light into the discharge pipe, wherein the mode of the dispenser includes a normal mode in which the UV light emitter does not operate and a sterilization mode in which the UV light emitter operates, wherein the dispenser further includes a lever for that is manipulated to request dispensing of the liquid or the ice, and wherein the controller turns on the first light emitter of the plurality of emitters in the sterilization mode such that the first color is output through the light guide in view of the teachings of Orita in order to yield the predictable results of an ultra violet light emitting source which irradiates ultraviolet light to the body and water source.
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach turns on the second light emitter of the plurality of emitters such that the second color is output through the light guide when a manipulation of the lever is detected in the normal mode.
However, Laible teaches turns on the second light emitter of the plurality of emitters (a light source, paragraph 0017) such that the second color is output through the light guide (interpreted as the color of light for the light source illuminating the recess 20, paragraph 0046) when a manipulation of the lever (dispensing lever, paragraph 0017) is detected in the normal mode (into which the medium to be dispensed is introduced, paragraph 0017).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include turns on the second light emitter of the plurality of emitters such that the second color is output through the light guide when a manipulation of the lever is detected in the normal mode in view of the teachings of Laible in order to yield the predictable results of improving the visibility conditions.
Further, it is understood, claim 3 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…configured to...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf, as modified by Hwang, Chandra, Orita and Laible, as applied to claim 3 above, and in further view of Roh et al (KR 20180028777 A, hereinafter Roh).
Regarding claim 4, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the cover includes a first body having a rounded region; and a second body provided below the first body, and wherein the light guide includes a rounded first region provided at a boundary between the first body and the second body.
However, Roh teaches wherein the cover (water outlet 100, figure 5) includes a first body (rounded portion of water outlet 100, figure 5) having a rounded region (as shown on figure 5); and a second body (handle portion 120, figure 5) provided below the first body (as shown on figure 5), and wherein the light guide (light source 140) includes a rounded first region provided (rounded portion of lighting source 140, as shown on figure 5) at a boundary (in between rounded portion of water outlet 100 and handle 120, figure 5) between the first body (rounded portion of water outlet 100, figure 5) and the second body (handle portion 120, figure 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include wherein the cover includes a first body having a rounded region; and a second body provided below the first body, and wherein the light guide includes a rounded first region provided at a boundary between the first body and the second body in view of the teachings of Roh in order to yield the predictable results of providing light along the rounded circumference of the water nozzle.
Regarding claim 5, the combined teachings teach wherein the first region of the light guide (rounded portion of lighting source 140, as shown on figure 5 of Roh) is provided to at least partially surround an outside (as shown on figure 5 of Roh) of the ice chute (water nozzle 110, as shown on figure 5 of Roh, corresponding to the ice chute 22 of Hwang).
Regarding claim 6, the combined teachings teach wherein the first region of the light guide includes (rounded portion of lighting source 140, as shown on figure 5 of Roh) includes an outer circumferential surface exposed to the space formed by dispenser housing (as illustrated below on figure 5 of Roh) and an inner circumferential surface positioned opposite to the outer circumferential surface (as illustrated below on figure 5 of Roh).
The combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein at least a portion of the inner circumferential surface is uneven to scatter light emitted from the inner circumferential surface.
However, the Applicant has not disclosed that having “an uneven portion is provided on the inner circumferential surface” does anything more than produce the predictable result of emitting light downwards. Since it has been held that changes in shape has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced, [In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966)], see MPEP 2144.04 IV B, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date, to modify the illustrated inner circumferential surface of Park to comprise of an uneven portion and meet the claimed limitations in order to provide the predictable results of emitting light downwards.
Regarding claim 9, the combined teachings teach wherein the first body (user interface 19 of Scalf) includes one or more buttons to receive an input (water button, as shown on figure 1 of Scalf) related to selecting at least one of the liquid (as shown on figure 1 of Scalf) or the ice to be dispensed (ice button, as shown on figure 1 of Scalf).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf, as modified by Hwang, Chandra, Orita, Laible and Roh, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Bird (US 20160209108 A1, hereinafter Bird).
Regarding claim 7, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the light guide further includes a second region that extends at an incline relative to a horizontal direction from the first region; and a pair of third regions extending from the second region toward the plurality of light emitters.
However, Bird teaches wherein the light guide (light pipe 172) further includes a second region (region where section 182 is located, as shown on figure 4) that extends at an incline (figure 4) relative to a horizontal direction from the first region (as shown on figure 4); and a third region (interpreted as the upper portion of pipe leader section 182 extending towards the light source 176, as shown on figure 4) extending from the second region (region where section 182 is located, as shown on figure 4) toward the plurality of light emitters (light source 176).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include wherein the light guide further includes a second region that extends at an incline relative to a horizontal direction from the first region; and a pair of third regions extending from the second region toward the plurality of light emitters in view of the teachings of Bird in order to yield the predictable results of directing the light towards the light pipe.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf, as modified by Hwang, Chandra, Orita, Laible and Roh, as applied to claim 4 above, and in further view of Yoo et al (KR 20150043812 A, hereinafter Yoo).
Regarding claim 8, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein at least a portion of the UV light emitter is located in an area formed within the first region of the light guide.
However, Yoo teaches wherein at least a portion (as shown on figure 4) of the UV light emitter (ultraviolet light UV emitted by the ultraviolet light source 270 is irradiated to the water stored in the water reservoir 250 so that advanced oxidized water is produced in the water reservoir 250 so that the highly oxidized water itself is pure water which has remained therein and has already been removed or chlorine-free to produce offensive odor, paragraph 0018) is located in an area formed within the first region of the light guide (in an area formed on the rear portion of protective film 280, as shown on figure 4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include wherein at least a portion of the UV light emitter is located in an area formed within the first region of the light guide in view of the teachings of Yoo in order to yield the predictable results for producing highly oxidized water purified with clean water can be used as drinking water.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf as modified by Hwang and Chandra, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Yoon (KR 200322784 Y1, hereinafter Yoon).
Regarding claim 10, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the dispenser further includes a lever and manipulated by a user to initiate dispensing of the liquid or the ice, wherein the dispenser housing includes a rear wall having a recessed region in which the lever is accommodated, and wherein a front surface of the lever is aligned with another region of the rear wall outside of the recessed region when the lever is not manipulated.
However, Yoon teaches wherein the dispenser (dispenser, abstract) further includes a lever (silicon plate 7, figure 2) and manipulated by a user (when the user uses the cup, paragraph 0015) to initiate dispensing of the liquid or the ice (when pressed, the signal from the switch 8 placed behind it is output to the microcomputer to operate the pump 9 so that the water stored in the drinking water storage container 10 is discharged into the cup, paragraph 0015), wherein the dispenser housing (as shown on figure 2) includes a rear wall (as shown on figure 2) having a recessed region (rear wall of dispenser having an recess portion in which silicon plate 7 is located, as shown on figure 2) in which the lever is accommodated (as shown on figure 2), and wherein a front surface of the lever is aligned with another region of the rear wall (front surface of silicon plate 7 forms a same surface as the rear wall of the dispenser housing, as shown on figure 2) outside of the recessed region when the lever is not manipulated (as shown on figure 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include wherein the dispenser further includes a lever and manipulated by a user to initiate dispensing of the liquid or the ice, wherein the dispenser housing includes a rear wall having a recessed region in which the lever is accommodated, and wherein a front surface of the lever is aligned with another region of the rear wall outside of the recessed region when the lever is not manipulated in view of the teachings of Yoon in order to yield the predictable results of operating the water stored in the drinking water storage container so that water is discharged to the cup.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Scalf as modified by Hwang and Chandra, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Shi et al (US 20190186812 A1, hereinafter Shi).
Regarding claim 11, the combined teachings teach the invention as described above but fail to teach wherein the cover includes a first body protruding into the space from the upper side wall of the dispenser housing; and a second body rotatably provided below the first body, and wherein a user rotates the second body to select an amount of the liquid to be dispensed.
However, Shi teaches wherein the cover (as shown on figure 6) includes a first body (body of water discharge housing 53) protruding into the space from the upper side wall of the dispenser housing (as shown on figure 6); and a second body (water discharge nozzle 28) rotatably (as described in paragraph 0008) provided below the first body (as shown on figure 6), and wherein a user rotates the second body (paragraph 0038) to select an amount of the liquid to be dispensed (the actuator can be attached to the water discharge nozzle by a mechanical linkage such that the amount of rotation of the water discharge nozzle is correlated to the amount of the rotation of the elongate body. The water discharge nozzle can be rotatably mounted to a support structure mounted to the surface of the refrigerator, paragraph 0008, therefore interpreted as when the actuator is rotated then the nozzle would also be rotated therefore also capable of controlling the amount of water dispensed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person skilled in the art before the effective fling date of the invention to modify the refrigerator in the combined teachings to include wherein the cover includes a first body protruding into the space from the upper side wall of the dispenser housing; and a second body rotatably provided below the first body, and wherein a user rotates the second body to select an amount of the liquid to be dispensed in view of the teachings of Shi in order to yield the predictable results of allowing the nozzle to be rotated when the actuator allows the water to be dispensed.
Further, it is understood, claim 11 includes an intended use recitation, for example “…capable of...”. The applicant is reminded that a recitation with respect to the manner which a claimed apparatus is intended to be does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the structural limitations of the claims, as is the case here. While features of an apparatus may be recited either structurally or functionally, the claims are directed to an apparatus must be distinguished from the prior art in terms of structure rather than function.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 26-30 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
Regarding claim 26, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Kempfle et al (US 20170131024 A1). The prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone, or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein the dispenser further includes a lighting printed circuit board (PCB) on which plurality of light emitters is installed, and a horizontal distance between a curvature center of the first region and the lighting printed circuit board (PCB) is greater than a radius of the first region”. The closest prior art, Kempfle teaches a plurality of LEDs 25 arranged side by side are provided as the lamp of the interior lighting arrangement 10, which LEDs 25 in particular are arranged on a printed circuit board 26. The LEDs 25 or the printed circuit board 26 are/is fastened on the lateral wall portion 22 such that the LEDs 25 shine their light laterally into the surface 24 of the curved wall portion 23 designed as a reflector.
Regarding claim 29, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Bird (US 20160209108 A1). The prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone, or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein a radius of the first region is less than a distance between the pair of third regions”. The closest prior art, Bird teaches the light pipe 172 includes both a light pipe ring 180 extending around the outer perimeter of the dispenser tube 144 and a pipe leader section 182 extending outwardly from the light pipe ring 180 along at least a portion of an exposed length 184 of the dispenser tube 144.
Regarding claim 30, the subject matter which is considered to distinguish from the closest prior art of record, Bird (US 20160209108 A1). The prior art of record when considered as a whole, alone, or in combination, neither anticipates nor renders obvious “wherein a diameter of the first region is greater than a distance between the pair of third regions”. The closest prior art, Bird teaches the light pipe 172 includes both a light pipe ring 180 extending around the outer perimeter of the dispenser tube 144 and a pipe leader section 182 extending outwardly from the light pipe ring 180 along at least a portion of an exposed length 184 of the dispenser tube 144.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DARIO ANTONIO DELEON/Examiner, Art Unit 3763
/JERRY-DARYL FLETCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763