DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-8, 10, 11, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gorohmaru et al. (US 2019/0019956) (hereafter “Gorohmaru”).
Regarding claims 1-8, 10, 11, and 13-17, Gorohmaru teaches an electroluminescent device comprising an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transporting layer, a light emitting layer, an electron transporting layer, and a cathode (paragraphs [0322]-[0333]) (claims 14-16). Gorohmaru teaches that the hole injection layer is made from a coating composition, which is cured by heat-treating after the layered is formed on the anode (paragraphs [0322]-[0325]) (claims 13-17). Gorohmaru teaches that the coating composition can comprise the following compound and counterion,
,
, or
(paragraphs [0131] and [0337]) (claims 1-8, 10 and 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gorohmaru et al. (US 2019/0019956) (hereafter “Gorohmaru”) as applied to claims 1-8, 10, 11, and 13-17 above.
Regarding claims 9 and 12, Gorohmaru teaches that besides
as the crosslinking/curing group, the group can also be
,
, or
and the groups are substituents for each other (paragraphs [0121] and [0131]).
Gorohmaru does not specifically teach a compound that meets that applicant’s claimed compounds.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the crosslinkable/curing groups in
,
, and
, with
,
, or
. The substitution would have been one preferred crosslinkable/curing group for another crosslinkable/curing group and one would expect the groups to act in a similar manner and Gorohmaru teaches that the groups are substitutes for each other. This would lead to compounds that have the following structure,
,
,
,
,
, and
are a few examples.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Ohshima et al. (WO 2019/212022), Gorohmaru et al. (WO 2019/05931), and Gorohmaru et al. (JP2020-053671) all teach coating composition that comprises a compound that meets applicant’s formula I.
/ANDREW K BOHATY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759