DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
The claims filed on 1/2/2026 are entered and acknowledge. Claims 21, 23, 27, 29, 31-32, 37, and 39 are amended. Claims 21-40 are currently pending in the instant application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 1/13/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 21 and 31 have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 21-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tabares et al Pub. No.: (US 2020/0120039 A1) (hereinafter “Tabares”) in view of Xia et al Pub. No.: (US 2010/0235509 A1) (hereinafter "Xia”) and Lee et al Pub. No.: (US 2023/0370330 A1) (hereinafter "Lee”).
With respect to claim 21: Tabares discloses a wireless transmit/receive unit (WTRU), the WTRU comprising:
a processor, the processor configured to (microprocessors [0038]);
receive a first message from a first network node, wherein the first message indicates a list of hardware resource identifiers for one or more hardware resources, and wherein a hardware resource of the one or more hardware resources is associated with a respective hardware criterion for an application that executes on the WTRU (client launches a web user interface to request a list of resources the client device is permitted to access, the client device receives the list from the broker based on the access criteria [0022], [0042-0044], [0047], [Fig. 1], [Fig. 6]. Examiner interprets broker/server resources as hardware resources providing virtualization platforms such as Virtual apps and desktops [0022]);
send a second message to a second network node, wherein the second message indicates a request to establish a data session, and wherein the second message indicates a resource identifier for the selected hardware resource (client device sends a request message to the broker servers for instructions on how to launch one of the broker resource identified in the list of resources, the client device then sends a request to connect with the broker resource [0022], [0045], [0049], [Fig. 1], [Fig. 6]);
receive a third message from the second network node, wherein the third message indicates configuration information to access the selected hardware resource, and wherein the third message is received in response to the request to establish the data session (Client device sends a connection request to the broker resource, the broker resource determines whether the client device has permission to access the resource along with a duration. The broker resource uses the instructions to establish a connection with the client device [0022], [0044-0046], [Fig. 1], [Fig. 6]);
However, Tabares does not explicitly disclose select the hardware resource from the one or more hardware resources based on the hardware criterion;
wherein the configuration information comprises an address of an edge device associated with the hardware resource;
Xia discloses select the hardware resource based on the hardware criterion (selecting resources based on the required resource on a customer terminal, wherein the resources is any physical or virtual component withing a computer system [0024-0025]. Resources selected may also be based on the version requested by the customer terminal [0040], [0043]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabares in view of Xia in order to select hardware resources based on the hardware criteria;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable the customer terminal to accurately and rapidly obtain the required resources over a network to improve work efficiency of resource acquisition [Xia: 0058];
Additionally, Xia discloses customer terminal obtains resource ID of the required resource and address information of resource storage where the required resource is stored [301 of Fig. 3], [0038];
However, Tabares-Xia does not explicitly disclose wherein the configuration information comprises an address of an edge device associated with the hardware resource;
Lee discloses wherein the configuration information comprises an address of an edge device associated with the hardware resource (edge data configuration information transmitted by the edge data network configuration server to the UE includes edge computing enabler server address [0134-0149], [0196-0197], [Fig. 4], [Fig. 6]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabares-Xia in view of Lee in order to receive configuration information comprises an address of an edge device associated with the resource;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable a user equipment to connect to an edge server for service [Lee: 0134].
With respect to claim 22: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
Tabares discloses wherein the processor is further configured to send a fourth message using the data session, wherein the fourth message comprises data for the selected hardware resource (client sends a message to the broker resource for the resource based on the resource information [0022], [0044-0045], [0047-0049], [Fig. 1], [Fig. 6]).
With respect to claim 23: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
Tabares discloses wherein the processor is further configured to receive a fifth message, wherein the fifth message indicates a third network node associated with the selected hardware resource (establishing a connection between at least a first broker resource and the client device while the broker server is unavailable [0049]. However, it is generic and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to repeat or apply and use a known technique (e.g. sending multiple messages) in order to yield predictable results. In this case, Tabares provides a system capable of providing many messages beyond 4 messages to a plurality of server resources for the selected hardware resource.
Furthermore, Xia also discloses if one resource storage does not have the requested resource, then the customer terminal will receive a new resource list indicating a new path information to request from another resource storage that may have the requested resource. Therefore, multiple message may be received dependent on which resource storage contain the requested resource.
With respect to claim 24: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 23 as set forth above.
However, Tabares-Xia does not explicitly disclose wherein the third network node is an edge configuration server;
Lee discloses wherein the third network node is an edge configuration server (an edge configuration server provided to a user equipment for authentication [0264]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabares-Xia in view of Lee in order to have an edge configuration server;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable the configuration of a user equipment to include triggering conditions [Lee: 0266].
With respect to claim 25: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
Tabares discloses wherein the configuration information indicates at least one of a configuration identification, a reference to an access token, a reference to a broker object, a handle associated with a time stamp counter, a flags register, a reference to a buffer, an access to a call, an access to a fault code, or an access to an operation (information about the broker resource includes transaction block identifiers [0043], and transaction data includes instructions how to establish a connection, resource identifiers, user identifiers, authorization durations [0031]).
With respect to claim 26: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
Tabares discloses wherein the request indicates a user intent, and wherein the user intent is mapped to the selected hardware resource (client device sends a request message to the broker servers for instructions on how to launch one of the broker resource identified in the list of resources [0022], [0042-0043], [0047]. User’s intent to access the selected broker resource).
With respect to claim 27: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
However, Tabares does not explicitly disclose wherein the processor is further configured to send initialization information to the first network node, wherein the initialization information indicates at least one of a location of the WTRU, a WTRU identification, or the respective hardware criterion;
Xia discloses wherein the processor is further configured to send initialization information to the network, wherein the initialization information indicates at least one of a location of the WTRU, a WTRU identification, or the hardware criterion (request message includes resource identification and version of the resource required by the customer terminal [0011], [0043]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabares in view of Xia in order to send initialization information to the network, wherein the initialization information indicates at least one of a location of the WTRU, a WTRU identification, or the hardware criterion;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable the customer terminal to accurately and rapidly obtain the required resources over a network to improve work efficiency of resource acquisition [Xi: 0058].
With respect to claim 28: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
However, Tabares does not explicitly disclose wherein a location of the WTRU is associated with at least one of a geographical coordinate, a network location, a distance from the WTRU, a distance within a network, or a number of hops;
Xia discloses wherein a location of the WTRU is associated with at least one of a geographical coordinate, a network location, a distance from the WTRU, a distance within a network, or a number of hops (updating the path of the resource storage location, wherein the customer terminal may be a resource storage [0045]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabares in view of Xia in order to wherein the location of the WTRU is associated with a network location;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable the customer terminal to accurately and rapidly obtain the required resources over a network to improve work efficiency of resource acquisition [Xi: 0058].
With respect to claim 29: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
However, Tabares does not explicitly disclose wherein the respective hardware criterion is at least one of a quality of service associated with the application, a quality of service associated with the data session, a performance requirement for the hardware resource, a memory requirement for the hardware resource, or a context associated with the application;
Xia discloses wherein the respective hardware criterion is at least one of a quality of service associated with the application, a quality of service associated with the data session, a performance requirement for the hardware resource, a memory requirement for the hardware resource, or a context associated with the application (customer terminal requesting the particular version of the resource according to its configuration for best performance [0058]);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Tabares in view of Xia in order to have a hardware criterion of at least one of a quality of service associated with the application, a quality of service associated with the data session, a performance requirement for the hardware resource, a memory requirement for the hardware resource, or a context associated with the application;
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated because it would enable the customer terminal to accurately and rapidly obtain the required resources over a network to improve work efficiency of resource acquisition [Xi: 0058].
With respect to claim 30: Tabares-Xia-Lee discloses the WTRU of claim 21 as set forth above.
Tabares discloses wherein the hardware resource identifier is further selected based on a context associated with the application, and wherein the context is at least one of a number of hops between the WTRU and the first network node, a network condition, a processor utilization associated with the WTRU, a memory utilization associated with the WTRU, a number of players in a game, an image to be displayed, a color of a display background, a scenery, a number of objects available to a player, a viewing direction, a time of day, a location, or an audience rating (a time of day when the user is authorized to access a broker resource [0045]).
Additionally, Xia also discloses updating the resource path based on a location of the resource [0045].
With respect to claims 31-40, they do not teach or further define over the limitations in claims 21-30, respectively. Therefore claims 31-40 are rejected for the same reasons as set forth in claims 21-30.
Conclusion
/T. D./
Examiner, Art Unit 2446
/BRIAN J. GILLIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2446