Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e), was filed in this application after final rejection. Since this
application is eligible for continued examination under 37 CFR 1.114, and the fee set
forth in 37 CFR 1.17(e) has been timely paid, the finality of the previous Office action
has been withdrawn pursuant to 37 CFR 1.114. Applicant's submission filed on
03/20/2026 has been entered.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s representative field arguments on 03/20/2026 with respect to independent claim 1 has been considered and are not persuasive. Specifically, applicant presented arguments on Pages 12-13 that the prior art of YANG does not teach “receiving a target signaling; wherein the target signaling is configured to instruct the terminal to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback on the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI.”
Examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
First, applicant argues that YANG fails to disclose “receiving a target signaling; wherein the target signaling is configured to instruct the terminal to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback on the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI.” Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
YANG discloses receiving an A/N triggering DCI that signals timing-A and timing-D, where the UE performs A/N feedback for a slot group corresponding to the indicated timing information. See [0158]-[0159]. YANG further discloses combining A/N feedback when the A/N triggering DCI is the same as the DL grant DCI. See [0162]. The claim merely requires signaling that instructs HARQ-ACK bundling feedback and does not require the signaling to define a PDSCH group exclusively based on PDSCHs scheduled by the same DCI.
Second, applicant’s arguments on Pages 10-12 that the prior art of Zeng does not teach the PDSCH group feedback mechanism “wherein feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, comprises: determining all the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being correctly decoded, and feeding back one ACK for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is successful; and determining any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded, and feeding back one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed.”
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in view of new grounds of rejection.
Therefore, as shown above the combination of YANG and CHEN teaches the limitation of independent claims 11 and 13.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities:
- In claim 4, line 1, "claim 3" should be changed to 'claim 1'.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,4-14 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YANG et al. (US 2022/0304027 A1; hereinafter "YANG"), in view of CHEN et al. (US 2022/0360373 A1: hereinafter “CHEN”).
Regarding claim 1, YANG teaches a hybrid automatic repeat request acknowledgment (HARQ-ACK) feedback method (FIG. 16), performed by a terminal (FIG. 16 UE), the method comprising:
obtaining at least one physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) group by grouping at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by a target downlink control information (DCI) ([0152] In FIG. 12B, UE receives a PDSCH scheduled by DCI having DAI=00 in a slot #n, [0273] each PDSCH belongs to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups); wherein each PDSCH group comprises at least two target PDSCHs ([0152] three PDSCHs corresponding to consecutive DAI (downlink assignment index) values (i.e., DAI=00/01/11), [0273] each PDSCH belongs to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups);
receiving a target signaling ([0158] through A/N triggering DCI 1) timing-A and 2) timing-D may be signaled, [0273] a UE receives DCI for scheduling a PUSCH from a base station (FIG. 16 S1604)); wherein the target signaling is configured to instruct the terminal to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback on the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group). In this case, a A/N payload is mapped in a slot index order belonging to a corresponding slot group, [0162] when A/N triggering DCI is the same as DL grant DCI, a UE operates to transmit (at the same time) by combining A/N feedback through the time indicated by timing-A); and
feeding back one piece of HARQ-ACK information ([0130] a HARQ-ACK feedback (hereinafter, A/N)) for target PDSCHs belonging to a same PDSCH group, wherein the HARQ-ACK information comprises one or more bits ([0155] [0159]; a UE transmits A/N for PDSCHs reception corresponding to all or some HARQ process IDs (HpIDs) at a time through the slot group that a A/N payload is mapped).
However, YANG does not expressly teach wherein feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, comprises: determining all the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being correctly decoded, and feeding back one ACK for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is successful; and determining any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded, and feeding back one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed.
In an analogous art, CHEN teaches wherein feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0057] discloses HARQ-ACK information corresponding to N PDSCHs, [0076] discloses that a plurality of HARQ-ACKs are included in the HARQ-ACK information, [0115] discloses feeding back HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a plurality of PDSCHs), comprises:
determining all the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being correctly decoded, and feeding back one ACK for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is successful ([0053] discloses that if a PDSCH is correctly decoded, a corresponding HARQ-ACK is ACK, [0143] discloses a case in which all HARQ-ACKs corresponding to PDSCHs 1 to 4 are ACK, thereby teaching that successful decoding of all target PDSCHs results in ACK feedback); and
determining any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded, and feeding back one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed ([0053] if a PDSCH is mistakenly decoded, a HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH is NACK, [0080] at least one SPS PDSCH feeds back NACK, and [0116], [0122] disclose that HARQ-ACK information includes at least one piece of NACK information, thereby teaching that unsuccessful decoding of at least one target PDSCH results in NACK feedback).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ-ACK bit as taught by CHEN within the system of YANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the effectiveness of the CSI reporting by reducing a quantity of times (CHEN [0100]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0152], [0273]) comprises: determining a number of PDSCHs comprised in each PDSCH group according to configuration indication of the target signaling ([0145] A counter Downlink Assignment Index (c-DAI) informs in which order a PDSCH corresponding to DL grant DCI is scheduled. A total-DAI (t-DAI) informs of the total number of PDSCHs scheduled up to the present slot. Accordingly, a UE operates to transmit A/N for PDSCHs corresponding to a c-DAI values from an initial c-DAI value to received last t-DAI value, [0152] a UE generates A/N information only for reception of three PDSCHs corresponding to consecutive DAI values); and
obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI according to the number of PDSCHs comprised in each PDSCH group ([0273] each PDSCH belongs to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups. A PDSCH group to which a PDSCH belongs is determined based on the current PDSCH group ID/index in DCI scheduling the corresponding PDSCH).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein the target DCI is configured to instruct the terminal whether to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback on the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0155] a UE transmits A/N for PDSCHs reception corresponding to all or some HARQ process IDs (HpIDs) at a time, [0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group). In this case, a A/N payload is mapped in a slot index order, [0162] when A/N triggering DCI is the same as DL grant DCI, a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a bundling window and for a slot group through the time indicated by timing-A).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0152], [0273]) comprises:
determining to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback according to the target DCI, and determining a number of PDSCHs comprised in each PDSCH group according to indication of the target DCI ([0145] A counter Downlink Assignment Index (c-DAI) informs in which order a PDSCH corresponding to (DL grant) DCI is scheduled. A total-DAI (t-DAI) informs of the total number of PDSCHs scheduled up to the present slot. Accordingly, a UE operates to transmit A/N for PDSCHs corresponding to a c-DAI values from an initial c-DAI value to received last t-DAI value, [0155] a UE transmits A/N for PDSCHs reception corresponding to all or some HARQ process IDs (HpIDs) at a time); and
obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI according to the number of PDSCHs comprised in each PDSCH group ([0273] each PDSCH belongs to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups. A PDSCH group to which a PDSCH belongs is determined based on the current PDSCH group ID/index in DCI scheduling the corresponding PDSCH).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0152], [0273]) comprises:
determining to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback according to a protocol agreement, and obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0155] a UE transmits A/N for PDSCHs reception corresponding to all or some HpIDs at a time, [0273] each PDSCH belongs to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups. A PDSCH group to which a PDSCH belongs is determined based on the current PDSCH group ID/index in DCI scheduling the corresponding PDSCH).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein, feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0155], [0159]), comprises:
feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information on resources comprised in a target physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0129] for DL data (e.g., PDSCH) reception, HARQ-ACK feedback operation based on PUCCH transmission of a UE is essential, [0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group). In this case, a A/N payload is mapped, [0279] A/N feedback transmission (through PUSCH) is indicated to a UE).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches configuring both a first HARQ-ACK feedback mode based on code block groups and a second HARQ-ACK feedback mode based on PDSCH groups ([0144] this A/N feedback configuration/transmission method is referred to as “Type-1 A/N codebook, [0153] Pooling-Based A/N Feedback Method in FIG. 13, [0158] In the case of proposed method 1, through A/N triggering DCI a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group), [0162] when A/N triggering DCI is the same as DL grant DCI, a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a bundling window and for a slot group through the time indicated by timing-A); and
using one of the first HARQ-ACK feedback mode ([0144] Type-1 A/N codebook) or the second HARQ-ACK feedback mode ([0158] proposed method 1) as a target HARQ-ACK feedback mode according to a protocol agreement ([0163] indicated through a DCI) ([0162] when A/N triggering DCI is the same as DL grant DCI, a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a bundling window and for a slot group through the time indicated by timing-A, [0163] timing-A=K and timing-D=L are indicated through a corresponding DCI, a UE operates to transmit by combining A/N feedback through a slot #(n+K));
wherein obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0152], [0273]) comprises:
determining the target HARQ-ACK feedback mode being the second HARQ-ACK feedback mode ([0158] proposed method 1) ([0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group), [0170] a feedback ID is signaled through A/N triggering DCI. A UE transmits A/N feedback for a slot group corresponding to a feedback ID), and
obtaining the at least one PDSCH group by grouping the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0152] for reception of three PDSCHs corresponding to consecutive DAI values, [0273] each PDSCH belongs to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups. A PDSCH group to which a PDSCH belongs is determined based on the current PDSCH group ID/index in DCI scheduling the corresponding PDSCH).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein, feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0155], [0159]), comprises:
determining a persistent scheduling duration of the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being less than or equal to a channel coherence duration ([0145] A counter Downlink Assignment Index (c-DAI) informs in which order a PDSCH corresponding to (DL grant) DCI is scheduled. A total-DAI (t-DAI) informs of the total number of PDSCHs scheduled up to the present slot. Accordingly, a UE operates to transmit A/N for PDSCHs corresponding to a c-DAI values from an initial c-DAI value to received last t-DAI value, [0374] a processing time may be insufficiently scheduled compared to the minimum processing time that a UE can support), and
feeding back the one piece of HARQ-ACK information for the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0155] a UE transmits A/N for PDSCHs reception corresponding to all or some HARQ process IDs (HpIDs) at a time, [0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group). In this case, a A/N payload is mapped).
Regarding claim 11, YANG teaches an HARQ-ACK feedback method (FIG. 16), performed by a base station (FIG. 16 Base station), the method comprising:
sending a target DCI for scheduling at least two target PDSCHs ([0152] In FIG. 12B, UE receives a PDSCH scheduled by DCI having DAI=00 in a slot #n, [0273] a base station sends at least one PDSCH to a UE (FIG. 16 S1602), and each PDSCH may belong to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups); and sending a target signaling ([0158] through A/N triggering DCI 1) timing-A and 2) timing-D may be signaled, [0273] a base station sends DCI for scheduling a PUSCH to a UE (FIG. 16 S1604)),
wherein the target signaling is configured to instruct a terminal to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback on the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group). In this case, a A/N payload is mapped in a slot index order belonging to a corresponding slot group, [0162] when A/N triggering DCI is the same as DL grant DCI, a UE operates to transmit (at the same time) by combining A/N feedback through the time indicated by timing-A).
However, YANG does not teach receiving, from a terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, wherein the HARQ-ACK information comprises one or more bits; wherein receiving, from the terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, comprises: receiving one ACK for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is successful, wherein the ACK is configured to indicate all the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being correctly decoded; or receiving one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed, wherein the NACK is configured to indicate any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded.
In an analogous art, CHEN teaches receiving, from a terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0057] discloses HARQ-ACK information corresponding to N PDSCHs, [0076] discloses that a plurality of HARQ-ACKs are included in the HARQ-ACK information, [0115] discloses that the UE receives a plurality of PDSCHs and feeds back corresponding HARQ-ACK information), wherein the HARQ-ACK information comprises one or more bits ([0143]-[0144] disclose HARQ-ACK codebooks including ACK/NACK information corresponding to PDSCHs, thereby teaching HARQ-ACK information comprising one or more HARQ-ACK bits);
wherein receiving, from the terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, comprises: receiving one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed ([0053] discloses that if a PDSCH is mistakenly decoded, a HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH is NACK), wherein the NACK is configured to indicate any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded ([0080] discloses that when HARQ-ACKs corresponding to some or all SPS PDSCHs are target HARQ-ACKs, at least one SPS PDSCH feeds back NACK, [0116], [0122] disclose that HARQ-ACK information includes at least one piece of NACK information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ-ACK bit as taught by CHEN within the system of YANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the effectiveness of the CSI reporting by reducing a quantity of times (CHEN [0100]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein the target signaling is further configured to indicate a number of PDSCHs comprised in each PDSCH group ([0145] A counter Downlink Assignment Index (c-DAI) and/or a total-DAI (t-DAI) may be signaled together through (DL grant) DCI. A c-DAI informs in which order a PDSCH corresponding to (DL grant) DCI is scheduled. A t-DAI informs of the total number of PDSCHs scheduled up to the present slot).
Regarding claim 13, YANG teaches an HARQ-ACK feedback method (FIG. 16), performed by a base station (FIG. 16 Base station), the method comprising:
sending a target DCI for scheduling at least two target PDSCHs ([0152] In FIG. 12B, UE receives a PDSCH scheduled by DCI having DAI=00 in a slot #n, [0273] a base station sends at least one PDSCH to a UE (FIG. 16 S1602), and each PDSCH may belong to one of a plurality (e.g., 2) of PDSCH groups);
wherein the target DCI is configured to instruct a terminal to determine whether to perform HARQ-ACK bundling feedback on the at least two target PDSCHs scheduled by the target DCI ([0159] a UE operates to transmit A/N feedback for a slot group (PDSCH reception through the slot group). In this case, a A/N payload is mapped in a slot index order belonging to a corresponding slot group, [0162] when A/N triggering DCI is the same as DL grant DCI, a UE operates to transmit (at the same time) by combining A/N feedback through the time indicated by timing-A).
However, YANG does not teach receiving, from a terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, wherein the HARQ-ACK information comprises one or more bits; wherein receiving, from the terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, comprises: receiving one ACK for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is successful, wherein the ACK is configured to indicate all the target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being correctly decoded; or receiving one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed, wherein the NACK is configured to indicate any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded.
In an analogous art, CHEN teaches receiving, from a terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group ([0057] discloses HARQ-ACK information corresponding to N PDSCHs, [0076] discloses that a plurality of HARQ-ACKs are included in the HARQ-ACK information, [0115] discloses that the UE receives a plurality of PDSCHs and feeds back corresponding HARQ-ACK information), wherein the HARQ-ACK information comprises one or more bits ([0143]-[0144] disclose HARQ-ACK codebooks including ACK/NACK information corresponding to PDSCHs, thereby teaching HARQ-ACK information comprising one or more HARQ-ACK bits);
wherein receiving, from the terminal, one piece of HARQ-ACK information for target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group, comprises: receiving one negative ACK (NACK) for indicating that an HARQ-ACK result is failed ([0053] discloses that if a PDSCH is mistakenly decoded, a HARQ-ACK corresponding to the PDSCH is NACK), wherein the NACK is configured to indicate any one of target PDSCHs belonging to the same PDSCH group being incorrectly decoded ([0080] discloses that when HARQ-ACKs corresponding to some or all SPS PDSCHs are target HARQ-ACKs, at least one SPS PDSCH feeds back NACK, [0116], [0122] disclose that HARQ-ACK information includes at least one piece of NACK information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a HARQ-ACK bit as taught by CHEN within the system of YANG. One would have been motivated to do so in order to improve the effectiveness of the CSI reporting by reducing a quantity of times (CHEN [0100]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches wherein the target DCI is further configured to indicate a number of PDSCHs comprised in each PDSCH group ([0145] A counter Downlink Assignment Index (c-DAI) and/or a total-DAI (t-DAI) may be signaled together through (DL grant) DCI. A c-DAI informs in which order a PDSCH corresponding to (DL grant) DCI is scheduled. A t-DAI informs of the total number of PDSCHs scheduled up to the present slot).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0552] a computer readable storage medium), wherein the storage medium stores a computer program ([0552] store a program) and the computer program is configured to execute the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claims 1 ([0551] configured to perform).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0552] a computer readable storage medium), wherein the storage medium stores a computer program ([0552] store a program) and the computer program is configured to execute the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claims 11 ([0551] configured to perform).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches an HARQ-ACK feedback device (FIG. 21 first device 100), comprising: a processor (FIG. 21 processor 102); and
a memory (FIG. 21 processor 104) for storing instructions executable by the processor ([0548] store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor 202), wherein the processor is configured to perform the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claim 1 ([0548] for performing methods).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches an HARQ-ACK feedback device (FIG. 21 second device 200), comprising: a processor (FIG. 21 processor 202); and
a memory (FIG. 21 memory 204) for storing instructions executable by the processor ([0549] store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor 202), wherein the processor is configured to perform the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claim 11 ([0549] for performing methods).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium ([0552] a computer readable storage medium), wherein the storage medium stores a computer program ([0552] store a program) and the computer program is configured to execute the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claims 13 ([0551] configured to perform).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of YANG and CHEN, specifically YANG teaches an HARQ-ACK feedback device (FIG. 21 second device 200), comprising: a processor (FIG. 21 processor 202); and
a memory (FIG. 21 memory 204) for storing instructions executable by the processor ([0549] store a variety of information related to an operation of a processor 202), wherein the processor is configured to perform the HARQ-ACK feedback method of claim 13 ([0549] for performing methods).
Conclusion
The following prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 2022/0385412 A1 (ZHANG et al.) discloses a method of determining a Hybrid Automatic Repeat reQuest (HARQ) codebook.
US 2023/0107562 A1 (WANG et al.) discloses an HARQ feedback method, a terminal, and a base station.
US 2023/0164779 A1 (CHUNG et al.) discloses a method for performing uplink/downlink transmission/reception based on a beam linkage state in a wireless communication system.
/T.I./ Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413