DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DuBois USPGPub 20190313669.
Regarding claims 1, 3 and 10, DuBois teaches a formulation comprising [1139]:
sweeteners rebaudioside A; rebaudioside C; a glycosylated steviol glycoside as recited in claim 2
flavor modifying compound 3-[(4-amino-2,2-dioxido-1H-2,1,3-benzothiadiazin-5-yl)-oxy]-2,2-dimethyl-N-propylpropanamide (3rd structure in claim 3)
DuBois discloses that siratose can be present in the disclosed composition at a concentration of 0.1-3000 ppm[0131] It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was filed to have included the high potency sweetener siratose in the embodiment of [1139] of DuBois because DuBois recognizes the suitability of providing high potency sweetener at this concentration in the invention disclosed. The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie obviousness determination. (“Reading a list and selecting a known compound to meet known requirements is no more ingenious than selecting the last piece to put in the last opening in a jig-saw puzzle.” Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) See also In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) (selection of a known plastic to make a container of a type made of plastics prior to the invention was held to be obvious)) (MPEP 2144.07)
The proportion of siratose disclosed by DuBois encompasses the proportions recited in claims 1 and 10. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990) Therefore, DuBois renders obvious claims 1, 3 and 10.
Regarding claims 4-8, DuBois teaches using the formulation in beverages such as energy drinks with added caffeine. [0268-0269]
Regarding claims 9, 13 and 14, the composition of DuBois comprises the same components as claimed and disclosed by applicant and therefore must satisfy the functional limitations of claims 9, 13 and 14. Additionally, 3-[(4-amino-2,2-dioxido-1H-2,1,3-benzothiadiazin-5-yl)-oxy]-2,2-dimethyl-N-propylpropanamide is identified by DuBois as a sweetness enhancer. [1236]
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18271406 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the reference application teaches a formulation comprising siratose and one or more additional sweeteners as recited in present claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 18271412 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of the reference application teaches a formulation comprising luo han guo (fruit, powder, or extracts) (which inherently comprise siratose) and one or more additional sweeteners as recited in present claim 1.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 16 July 2026 regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant asserts on page 6 of the remarks that there is no motivation to remove luo han fruit concentrate from the embodiment disclosed in [1139] of DuBois with a reasonable expectation of success. This assertion is misplaced. The embodiments in [1139] does not require “removal” of luo han fruit concentrate, instead, [1139] includes embodiments that do not have luo han fruit concentrate present since each element disclosed in [1139] is disclosed in the alternative. As such, the expectation of success is reasonable since the embodiment relied on in the rejection above is fairly disclosed by DuBois.
Applicant’s request on page 7 of the remarks that the double patenting rejections be held in abeyance is acknowledged.
Conclusion
/Michele L Jacobson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1793